Honda 3R-C – mass use ‘cub’ of the future?

This is Honda’s only all-new Geneva Concept – the 3R-C which seems to be some kind of three wheeler motorcycle kinda thing that seats only one person. Honda’s concepts seem to be either very close to production or really far off, and this one is of the far off category. It’s their idea of what a future minimal urban transport vehicle for a single person might look like. It does not have a roof so you’ll still get wet in the rain but once the vehicle is parked, the ‘windscreen’ that protects you while you are on the move will fold down and become a cover for the driver’s seat. The two other cars that are Honda’s highlights at its Geneva stand are the production CR-Z and the EV-N that was previously shown in Tokyo 2009. Look after the jump for 4 pix and a video of the 3R-C.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=917]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wan Mohd on Mar 04, 2010 at 9:43 pm

I wonder how you gonna take a corner at 100km/h with this bike?

• Irwan on Mar 04, 2010 at 9:55 pm

wah..concept can be reality?

• endre on Mar 04, 2010 at 9:55 pm

robocop

• vbkcheng on Mar 04, 2010 at 9:56 pm

mean for City moving kau, which you will most probary no chance to reach 80km/h..

• staff on Mar 04, 2010 at 9:58 pm

cannot 'rempit'ing anymore with Honda…

• no need a 100km/h..just going slow and showoff..haha

• glacius_25150 on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:07 pm

how are you going to escape in case of emergency?

• Mysticmind on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:09 pm

tak best layan korner. wahaha..

i don't think 3 tyre are practical all!

why do need extra 1 tyre? 2 arleady enough.

Honda not getting smarter nowadays.

• why want to ride 100km/h in the 1st place?

• is this idea copied from some robotech anime?

• meane on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:30 pm

nice bike.. stable enough for bikers from fall down center of the road and instantly die after a lorry from behind.. erm.. ya, u know what i mean.

• Iskandar on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Take a corner at 100 km/h on a bike ?

With that kind of moronic attitude, patutla ramai mat motor yg mati hina. Terlalu banyak guna tangan pulas throttle sampai otak langsung bersawang tak diguna.

Honda engineers are smart. Unfortunately the buyers of Hinda's kapchais aren't.

• initial R on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Can't "menyelit" when traffic jam… huhuhu

• mok17 on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Design and technology almost same as Piaggio mp3

• Mospeda bike…

• garf

…..if there is mospeda type…for sure many people will buy it…hehe

• mofaz on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:15 pm

heck.. better buy a car than this

• wAzYz on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:16 pm

hehe…new "beca" for the future….

no more "rempit"…

• nick chan on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:32 am

wahhh got roof! im sold

• CayaNunAlif on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:37 am

then.. when the rainy day… it becomes SWIMMING POOL..

• Take corners at 100kmh normal laa woi.. of course when the road is clear..

u who is not a biker don't speak laa…

• think on Mar 05, 2010 at 4:53 am

this future vehicle looks good,if we can produce this type of vehicles ;i think its better to produce by now as it can be a good replacement for motorbikes.this vehicles does not look like a future vehicle,but can be adopted for now

• saki77 on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:02 am

"With that kind of moronic attitude, patutla ramai mat motor yg mati hina. Terlalu banyak guna tangan pulas throttle sampai otak langsung bersawang tak diguna."

Sempit punya komen…hehe

• shawal on Mar 05, 2010 at 2:55 pm

I was wondering why d steering column was so high, now it makes sense, the canopy opens when u ride it…pity….

anyway it still looks awesome!… amazing stuff…but hardly useful , an all-electric bike shubbe more practical and be ridden by 2 ppl..

• lor like this is not the type of motorcycle to be use on city.

if u all see in morning rush hour especially monday in KL there is massive traffic jam happen.

the city motorbike should be compact because need to slip between vehicle in traffic jam,

should go fast because in traffic jam when slipping between vehicle the motorcycle behind u will knock u down if slow.

I am used to ride a bike. Dont compare real motorbike rider with some bunch kid who got their 1st license and decide to showoff on road.

3 wheel and 100km/h will make u queue behind car.

• kh said,

March 4, 2010 @ 3:01 pm

garf

…..if there is mospeda type…for sure many people will buy it…hehe

>> i'm one of 'em.

• three tyre bike is more stable than two..

http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh279/mohdeffe…

• three tyre is more stable than two..

http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh279/mohdeffe…

• pomen_gtr on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:52 pm

aiyyyio….

mati la like this….

main reason people use motorbike in town is to escape from traffic jam caused by huge sum of people going to work bringing their joy and pride 4wheel machine (and ended up being stuck alone in the "wheels") while bike can zooming pass through….

with this???there's no fun while u stuck along with cars…..

• KingSamurai on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:05 pm

can transform to two wheeler when going in between cars? Honda engineers must consider this when it comes to production…

• Viper on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:17 pm

Someone said 3 wheeler is impractical and not good at cornering. In fact, it's not true at all. If anyone of you are familiar with Piaggio MP3, the bike with 3 wheeler, it is excellent with cornering and have absolutely no problem with to corner at 100km/h or more. Having 3 wheels also mean higher stability, easier to ride (good for women) and safer.

This bike is not meant to overtake in between cars and heavy vehicles. It is to commune like a one passenger car. I'm a biker myself, riding a Honda NSR150 SP.

• #

mok17 said,

March 4, 2010 @ 2:41 pm

Design and technology almost same as Piaggio mp3

#

I think it's more like the Canadian Spyder

• Ujang on Mar 06, 2010 at 7:44 am

memandangkan moto ni concept, aku rasa honda boleh cuba lebarkan bhgn bawah supaya boleh dijadikan kenderaan dua alam…cthnya jetski atau snowmobile…alang2 naik sorang biar boleh redah semua tempat….tak payah menyusahkan org…

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 06, 2010 at 8:47 am

My Yamaha Liquid Cool 135 cc can 'tapau' this tri-cycle bike anytime. Can corner at 100 km/hr (subjected to traffic and road condition). Please do not label all motorcyclist as irresponsible 'mat rempits'.

You'll be surprised some of them are good educated people but due to terrific traffic jam, terrible monthly income (due to AP, NAP and triple taxing by the government) and higher cost of living (again due to AP, NAP and quadruple taxing by the government) they are left with no choice but to compromise their very life 'untuk cari makan'. In fact motorcycles are much more reliable than that lousy local made Proton.

• awg1031 on Mar 08, 2010 at 4:46 pm

yup, even my old modenas kriss is better than our local cars..-off topic- hehe

btw, the 'windscreen' will surely cut ur head when u crashed even at low speed.this bike is dangerous n seriously need some changes there..

btw, this bike is not for city riding imho esp in town centre. we bikers use bike for easy manouvering in the city as well as 'cheap' solution for public trans. n cars..even superbikers don't go to work with their bike..most of them took it for free time riding only. so, i think this bike will be for casual ride only

• This is not a motorcycle for a future. Better for a motorcar concept.Can rest your leg because i think it might be like a scooter, fully automatic.