Mother Trucker now even more powerful – 190 PS!

Nissan has given its Navara and Pathfinder a mid-life facelift. The Navara is basically the pick-up version of the Pathfinder SUV and vice versa. It’s somewhat like the relationship between the Triton and the Pajero Sport, or the Hilux and the Fortuner.

Nearly all body on frame pick-ups have body on frame SUVs as counterparts, including the Isuzu D-MAX. It’s just that the Pathfinder and the Thai-built D-MAX-based Isuzu MU-7 are not sold here in Malaysia.

The ‘mother trucker’ is the largest and most powerful body on frame pick-up you can buy here in Malaysia. The facelift gives it a more powerful engine. The 2.5 litre turbodiesel engine which already packs 174 PS and a massive 403Nm of torque in its current incarnation has actually been upgraded to 190 PS and 450Nm of torque with this new facelift, yet still consumes just 8.5 litres per 100km on the combined cycle while hauling around such a heavy vehicle.

Overseas, there is also a new more powerful diesel option – a new turbodiesel 3.0L V6 with 231 PS and a mind-boggling 550Nm. The V6 engine is quiet and refined and idles at a low 650rpm. As much as 500Nm starts to kick in from 1,500rpm before peak torque of 550Nm is reached at 1,700rpm. You can ride on this 550Nm peak all the way to 2,500rpm. Now that’s a seriously nice engine to be having but I suspect it’s actually a very new and modern engine that needs ‘modern diesel’ so I don’t think it will be available here. In fact it sounds exactly like the new 3.0 V6 that’s going into the European market Infiniti SUVs. But who knows, Tan Chong might surprise us!

And of course you have the cosmetic changes. The overall bumper design remains similiar but if you notice the new bumper is now more rounded and the edges rise up and blend into the wheel arches as one single piece while with the pre-facelift that’s sold here, there seems to be a ‘lower bumper’ piece and another upper piece which joins with the wheel arches.

There are also changes on the inside – revised door trims, new seat fabric, larger storage areas, the addition of chrome highlights, and revised dials. There is also the option for a touch screen system called Nissan Connect Premium complete with a 40GB hard drive for data storage. Our Navara currently uses a 6-CD changer.

Other than the new more powerful engines of course, something else that’s interesting to me is that the Electronic Stability Control that was previously only available on the Pathfinder has now been added to the Navara. The ECU uses feedback from wheel speed sensors, steering angle, and longitudinal and lateral G and yaw rates to anticipate and control wheel slippage.

This means that if Tan Chong’s product planners tick the right boxes on the option sheet, we could potentially have the only pick-up truck in Malaysia with stability control, which would be very good and increase appeal if it were to be used by an average Joe as a lifestyle vehicle.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the new facelifted trucks.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=874]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Littlefire on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:14 am

"The 2.5 liter turbodiesel engine which already packs 174 PS and a massive 403Nm of torque in its current incarnation has actually been upgraded to 190 PS and 450Nm of torque with this new facelift, yet still consumes just 8.5 liters per 100km on the combined cycle while hauling around such a heavy vehicle."

That what i call face-lift… Shame on you Toyota!

• carsenthusiast.blogs on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:23 am

kinda looks luxury

• andymervingeorge.com on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:30 am

*Slurp* I think I know which to choose now!! Just wait for it come to MY… I trust the price will be similar? They cant put too high a price coz currently they are the most expensive for a 2.5l turbodiesel.. we'll see…

• vertigo on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:37 am

the torque already far surpassed my mildly boosted turbocharge petrol engine car.

impressive.

• Auto_crat on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:41 am

For some company, facelift is just a facelift. This one is quite something. Good one Nissan.

• Alvin Ng on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:54 am

Mother trucker sounds so vulgar. Reminds me of mother ….

• FIXER (Member) on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:56 am

The SUV looks quite nice.Actually the best looking pick-up based SUV out there.Very macho and rugged looks with clean lines.The worst for me is the Fortuner,looks weird.As if the body wants to fly.Neither macho nor svelte.The Everest?Too boxy.The Pajero Sport?A little bit to soft looking.

I'll take the Pathfinder anytime for its looks and power.

• wahahaha, TC should bring it here, dumb down some accesories as optional and sell it.

then we can really cement the Navara as the most powerful pick up truck in malaysia. best looking too.

kicks all other 4×4, and even some turboed saloons!

• mcaid on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:19 am

how i met your mother

• kimi^Rules on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:53 am

ayoo..juz bought Mit.Triton (A). if not, sure gonna take this mother truck. anyway love the 2.5 diesel power.

• audio on Mar 11, 2010 at 9:30 am

How I wish Nissan Malaysia can bring in Armada and Titan…

• theanswer on Mar 11, 2010 at 9:36 am

my fren's dad still bought underpowered hilux..too bad.

• if you're looking for a truck and not impressed with certain EMBLEM (Hilux l mean- an underpower, expensive, confusing IMV platform, car thieves favorite)just wait this SUT. Enough power to tap. very carlike amenities

• dark interior is more appropriate then stupid beige in current local Navara.

• This truck is a damn serious s**t!! The current navara is already damn powerfull as if you floored the gas padle, it feels like gonna "Wheelly"!! Yeeeaahhaa!!!

But if the facelifted version comes in, for sure the price will increase (even a bit).. Its will be totally stupid for TCM to just stay at the curent price.. This truck is actually short listed in my "Must-Have List" along with 3.0 TDi D-Max..

Emmm.. any news whether this truck in coming to our shore or not?? : )

• moha3774 on Mar 11, 2010 at 4:55 pm

I saw an Isuzu MU-7 owned by Thai restaurant operator in Subang 2 area…really nice, they should have sold it here…way better than those Toyota and Ford…or even Mitsu's

• Nissan Kaki on Mar 11, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Hi Paul. Any idea when is this facelift navara coming to malaysia? How about nissan thailand? this Godzilla make me slurp slurp. Finally a facelift with increased engine performance,good job nissan!! No rear disk brake??

• pomen_gtr on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:39 pm

how much it will be priced anyway tan??

-just bought 2.5 xtrail….but hey..who knows i might kena ekor..buy navara :lol:

• super trucker …. so regreat buying used vigo …

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:27 pm

i want i want, 450Nm, really impressive!

triton, hilux, D-max, bla bla bla… all are out.

• Yes, mother trucker really kick asses !

• facelift wont be so soon. TC will be launching the 4×2 Navara pretty soon with a slightly cheaper price.

btw, the new C22 replacement is sighted too. park far end with covers on it and 1 unit semi exposed.

• Nice interior. So much better then the current beige one. Will definitely consider buying if the price doesn't exceed 110-115k.

• just me on Mar 11, 2010 at 9:25 pm

wow the pathfinder is cooler than x-trail…

ETCM should consider bring in the pathfinder…

x-trail should only cater to 2.0 SUV market,

while the pathfinder can conquer the 2.5 & 3.0 SUV market becoming the king of SUV! beating the fortuner, pajero sport easily…

• rexis on Mar 11, 2010 at 10:14 pm

What the mother trucker! Facelift only ar?

Toyota already call it new generation.

• The Loner on Mar 11, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Bring the facelift Navara to Malaysia and overkill those overrated and overpriced 4×4 pickups.

• Bloody hell. Just booked 2010 Navara SE. Hopefully, new FL will arrive on time. Waiting list for 2010 is 2 months!

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 12, 2010 at 3:02 am

i own 174 ps manual,,,more than enough power already,,190ps just a waste of money,,,but then again bigger hp means better Mother Trucker,,my personal opinion la.

• kanazai2001 on Mar 12, 2010 at 4:56 am

I checked on TC web, power remain the same for face-lifted version…

is 174PS!!! NOT 190PS!!!

to TC… WHY?! WHY?! WHY?!

• Where got FL version for this navara?? Tat 1 is the current 1 la bro.. The FL not yet announced.. When is it gonna be in m'sia paul?? i'm seriusly considering to buy whether navara or d-max 3.0.. huhuhuhu..

• think on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:11 am

pls bring in the pathfinder suv and don't price it as high as the toyota fortuner or the pajero sport…

• asgard on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:17 am

its MILF seeker now

• brutus on Mar 12, 2010 at 5:26 pm

the Pathfinder will surely make Fortuner and Pajero Sport weep in their pants. price wise will most like be the same given our Malaysian tax friendly SUV bracket.

• fennavara on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:46 pm

I'm driving navara 6 speed… 174 ps is enough lol, damn powerfull on 6 gear also you can see the rpm increase.. best!!! thumb up for navara!!!!

• Jimmy on Mar 12, 2010 at 7:26 pm

No telescopic steering again. Stingy.

• l3ryan on Mar 12, 2010 at 8:40 pm

the front end looks so much nicer in the facelift.

and that engine! 190bhp and 450NM?!? what a beast

• guys, something to share the Navara's Euro NCAP test result & review.

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/nissan_navara/317.a…

• Hembola on Oct 06, 2010 at 7:43 pm

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/nissan_navara_2008_2/319.aspx
      Brother… I don’t think we are getting the older version if we buy it now…
      Please double check before you post..
      Btw, Why Famous Hilux not in the list?

• If they bring in the Pathfinder with stability control, i will seriously consider selling off my 5 month old Pajero Sports.

• Agreed, dark interior looks so much better. Can't wait to get my hands on one. Good thing I waited.

• mirror mirror on Mar 17, 2010 at 9:26 am

I have a auto Navara must say that the gear selection is always too, how to say, powerful, always jump to 2000rpm at a slight touch – high strung gear box.

Anyway, if you study the torque curve you can see that 400Nm peaks quickly and dip just as quickly, so it feels like the engine run out of breath too soon.

But this is one very comfortable truck and i have no regrets buying it. The 3 litre V6 will be the one to die for man.

• Cap Kapak on Mar 27, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Any inside news on when the facelifted Nav will be released in Malaysia? I'm just about to order one.

• nissan yd25 on May 30, 2010 at 3:00 pm

how it upgrade to 190 ps. change what? love it power. and how to choose which is mid-power and high-power and also 190ps. it all the same thing on engine. how to know it horsepower. I mean just engine only that not fix on vehicle.

• hope TCM bring and introduce the Pathfinder……. just see the Prados and Cygnuses roaming, I think the Pathfinders will gain their fans here, too…..

• wow! nissan navara with V6…. will tan chong bring in the beast? love to see it in action here… :-)

• The 3.0 V6 will be the one to die for!! When is this coming to M’sia?

Engine: 3.0-litre turbodiesel, V6
    Transmission: Seven-speed auto, high and low ratio four-wheel-drive
    Power: 228bhp
    Torque: 550Nm
    0-62mph: 9.3 seconds
    Payload: 1,090kg
    Economy/CO2: 30.4mpg/246g/km
    Equipment: Heated leather seats, roof rails, auto headlamps and wipers, cruise control with speed limiter, electric sunroof, multifunction steering wheel

Read more: http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/nissan/navara/17827/nissan-navara-30-v6-tekna#ixzz2LRwU4Qzv

• bruce edwards on May 20, 2013 at 5:51 pm

hope you suckers have better luck than we did .2 timing chains and only done 72k Nissan warranty 100k but they never want to know about their failures. to fix it at Nissan dealer 7k or 16 k if major damage all at 72k didn’t even make their warranted klms, don’t buy a lemon from a conman .it will end up costing more than its worth. I am appaled at Nissan for their response to a well known fault . oh if I had only known before we bought it .61yrs old had heaps of nissans ,never again.will I buy a Nissan lemon wheels buckled /gearbox /now towbar 3000kg capacity only 750kg trailer rear chassis rails have stress fractures in the ends another recall.buyer beware you will lose your hard earned money to these charlotans . d max/ bt50 or nothing.