Maserati GranCabrio company car for Alonso

Ferrari’s highest profile employee, two-time Formula 1 champion Fernando Alonso, has chosen a Maserati GranCabrio as his company car. The Scuderia’s race winner at the season opening Bahrain GP “collected” his new car at the Fiorano track. The fact that he picked Maserati’s big drop top over something from Ferrari’s road car range shows that the ex-Renault man prefers a relaxed driving experience off the track.

Alonso’s stealthy GranCabrio is in “Grigio Granito” body colour, while the Maser’s two-tone cabin upholstery is a combination of Pearl Beige and Bordeaux leather. The car’s canvas top is in the same dark red hue. Alonso, whose wife is a Spanish pop star, was said to be particularly impressed by the space offered by the GranCabrio, which has plush seating for four adults.

Based on the Trident brand’s GranTurismo coupe, the Pininfarina penned cabriolet is powered by a 4.7-litre V8 with 440 bhp/490 Nm mated to a ZF 6-speed automatic gearbox. Its canvas top folds up in only 20 seconds, and is available in six colours. Naza Italia, official importer of Ferrari and Maserati in Malaysia, should be importing this model in the near future. Both the GranTurismo and Quattroporte limo are currently available at the company’s Petaling Jaya showroom.

More images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=983]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=446]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• f1fanatic on Mar 22, 2010 at 10:39 am

alonso is probally the most arrogant f1 driver around. I remembered last year when he was at sepang during the autograph session. He went up the stage, alot of his fan was screaming and with huge banners. Yet he didnt even look at the crowd. What an a**!! I wish massa beat him this session, that would probally end his carrier in the top teams for good.

• Alan Wong on Mar 22, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Cocky people will have to fall big time to learn to be humble…

• haywire on Mar 22, 2010 at 2:34 pm

I would love to get a Maserati as a company car. Not that I will ever get one I guess hehe

• JULIAN_LEE on Mar 22, 2010 at 3:27 pm

BMW better

• theanswer on Mar 22, 2010 at 5:01 pm

cool! my dad only get pv6 for company car.

• this is a damn fine car. I parked next to one before…fooh!

• arch808 on Mar 22, 2010 at 5:26 pm

I wanna be F1 driver too…!

• bean maeko on Mar 22, 2010 at 5:35 pm

coba la ada gamba roof tutup, baruk perfect. Tok, knak imagine… arrogant, its the way if uve already paved somthin significant…

• Rambo on Mar 22, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Norml-lah,some people will get cocky once they bcome famous or rich…Xtualy he's not the only one,remeber Pablo Montoya last time?that guy oso very arrogant. Search his name in YouTube,then u will see the clip how cocky he is…(After that his name really sink in F1,maybe that is Karma,i think…)

• Alanore Chong on Mar 22, 2010 at 6:41 pm

Why dun he choose a Ferrari?

• bobby on Mar 22, 2010 at 7:01 pm

Higher they go, harder they fall.

• kremer on Mar 22, 2010 at 7:02 pm

my company car only…suzuki jimny and nissan vennete..:(…cannot drive faster..maximum 90km/h …boss also fortuner only…:(…i want maserati….:(

• mirror mirror on Mar 22, 2010 at 7:04 pm

i 1 1 2.

• kremer on Mar 22, 2010 at 7:06 pm

forgot to tell…last saturday at sprint highway saw red maserati quartaporte…the sound GGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR….perghhh…..

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Mar 22, 2010 at 8:43 pm

The other day, I saw a maserari swerve and hit a divider on rainy day at PLUS highway. The bumper and lights scattered all over the road. Hmm, what happened to the ABS/Traction control/No-swerve gadgets?????

• the fighter on Mar 22, 2010 at 9:05 pm

alonso is probally the most arrogant f1 driver around. I remembered last year when he was at sepang during the autograph session. He went up the stage, alot of his fan was screaming and with huge banners. Yet he didnt even look at the crowd. What an a**!! I wish massa beat him this session, that would probally end his carrier in the top teams for good.

he's not arrogant….he just to good..

• subhero on Mar 22, 2010 at 11:46 pm

my boss also give me only 2.5 cc turbo engine 4×4 . wah, sound nice ahh.

its just STORM 2004. haa.. its my company car.

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Mar 23, 2010 at 12:10 am

f1fanatic said,

March 22, 2010 @ 2:39 am

alonso is probally the most arrogant f1 driver around. I remembered last year when he was at sepang during the autograph session. He went up the stage…….

—————————————————————-

Agree with u, dah lah muka tak hensem, nak sombong pulak!! IMHO, he doesn't deserve to drive for Scu-Ferrari F1!!!!!!!!!!!!

• kimi_ on Mar 23, 2010 at 1:16 am

So, Alonso use Maserati instead of FERRARI….

HOW about TRULLI OR KOVALAINEN, they use Lotus or Perhaps our lovely

Proton, LOL ???????????????????????????? If choose P1, sure they cant stand with

the power windows prob…LOLOLOL

• Dont judge him just because of one bad experience at Sepang. Give the guy a chance, its not easy always being mobbed by fans 24-7. Sometimes people can get frustrated. Anyway, arrogant guy or not, he's a good driver and thats why Ferrari paid big bucks for him.

• Kington on Mar 23, 2010 at 2:36 am

I REALLY DISLIKE HIM.

His behaviour during his McLaren days was totally intolarable.

• f1fanatic on Mar 23, 2010 at 3:00 am

well i didnt make the asumption that he was arrogant solely from the way he acted. i made it from the way the other drivers acted during the event compared to him. What a jerk.

• lchan on Mar 23, 2010 at 5:27 am

he is arrogant…but he is a very good driver!

• Julie on Mar 23, 2010 at 7:16 am

I love the GranCabrio! I suspect Alonso gets the pick of any Ferrari/Maserati he fancies.

• this is a guy who needs an 'incident' during the singapore night race to win it! what a joke.

First race Vettel was winning… alonso just got lucky…

• Larreal on Mar 23, 2010 at 5:19 pm

Really? I was also there, He was polite to me, he even threw his hat to the fans if I recall, After the Renault drivers, the Toro Rosso drivers came.

• alldisc on Mar 23, 2010 at 6:30 pm

alonso used to be arrogant, i dont blame him as anyone who is capable of beating world no.1 like schumi will feel the same. besides, he was bloody damn young during that time. same goes to juan pablo. same goes to kimi or even felipe massa. michael schumacher is not an easy person to beat.

somehow, i could see alonso is now a different man. he is more sensible and down to earth. the fact that he chose a maserati over a ferrari (both owned by Fiat group) is a testament to that.

he had condemned ferrari in previous years and yet he praises the team now that he is in the same camp. isnt F1 ironic?

• fuyiopo on Mar 24, 2010 at 12:00 am

This car is brilliant in every aspect apart from choosing Alonso as the owner.

• Farhat Haniff on Mar 24, 2010 at 5:29 am

My 19 Y'o friend in germany got the coupe version for his first car…. :S

• d v s on Mar 24, 2010 at 9:59 pm

latest news/rumour is that alonso's also got himself a pearl white Ferrari 458 Italia. Looks like he's getting his pick from both stables!

• Sarbath on May 21, 2012 at 10:51 am

who care he is arrogant or what who give the f***ing h*** ?? He is the top driver in the world and also he is making money with his arrogant but you guys what you have instead of jealousy, making excuse, pathetic, and the list goes on.. Yeah one day he will fall down but at least his name the world already knew it :-) .. He already make a good record in f1 history.. And you guys name ? italian people know you guys name ? spanish people know your god d*** name ?? hahaha none zero.. talk like c***