Next-gen Kia Optima cabin sketch revealed!

Kia Optima Interior
Click for enlarged image

First it was the design sketches, then Kia released the official images of its next generation Optima. Now, the Korean carmaker shows us for the first time hints of the D-segment car’s cabin via the sketch you see above. The new Optima, called Magentis in some markets, will be unwrapped at the New York International Auto Show next week.

The dashboard in the sketch isn’t too outlandish, and we believe that it’s a good guide to what we’ll see in the final product. We can see that there are rear air vents and (presumably) leather trim with contrasting stitching. The leather trim also wraps around the instrument binnacle and centre console, which is angled towards the driver, creating a wrap-around driver focussed cockpit one wouldn’t normally associate with a Korean saloon.

The three-pod instruments are “packed” together with air con vents on each side, which looks good, while the steering wheel design is much more stylish than the Forte’s to these eyes. The climate control/audio panel looks very simple, and I can spot a human figure style air con mode control, an idea borrowed from Volvo and also found in the Hyundai Sonata YF.

Looks good to us. What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• apamau on Mar 27, 2010 at 2:25 am

Don't need to think mmuch. this car very fierce and got their own character. BUY !

• sparrow on Mar 27, 2010 at 2:50 am

this is fantastic~

• exlive3 on Mar 27, 2010 at 2:57 am

i like…

• very nice and neat..way to go kia !

• g-spot on Mar 27, 2010 at 3:11 am

kinda similar with the emas interior…i guess…..

• firos on Mar 27, 2010 at 7:19 am

why malaysian people always equate other products with their products like other products imitate you?

• Agree

• k9-47 on Mar 29, 2010 at 2:28 am

i think they like to SS..syok sendiri. dont you feel most G linked org tend to have this?

• Kambing Gurun on Mar 29, 2010 at 4:35 am

Because Malaysian being Malaysian, it's natural to associate with Malaysian product. What's wrong with that?

• and for some reason malaysian doesnt bother if a jap car similar to some euros 1, only KOREAN car -.-

• wan_knox on Mar 27, 2010 at 3:19 am

sketch is always nice.. wait for the real one :)

• I feel that when the real cabin shows up it will probably look bland.

• It looks a little dull… But, it's still just a sketch anyway.

• sexy..

• buy?without looking at the actual exterior?wow…i'm 'amazed'…

• goh c k on Mar 27, 2010 at 4:25 am

ya, it is nice … but when will our Naza bring it in ?

• Kesian….front passenger hot because air-cond vent same like Waja..

• wolfsburg on Mar 27, 2010 at 5:04 am

The spy shot of the interior was leaked as well!!!
    http://www.kia-world.net/index.php/2010/03/24/int…

• Nice..very up mkt, and hv rear aircon vent. Some soo called 7 seaters mpv dun even have rear aircon.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 27, 2010 at 5:18 am

If the KIA KOUP concept interior is any indication, KIA's design seems to translate well into production.

I don't particularly fancy large aircon vents near the steering wheel, with my normal 9 , 3 o'clock hand position, i get frozen knuckles with not much air getting to the rest of me.

The old 80's aircon vent locations were the best, like the Corolla LE and even the Saga with its defused air vents and under steering rack vent.

I do like the concept interior though, has a sense of cohesiveness, not only within the interior but very much the exterior itself and KIA's own design language.

• Paul Tan on Mar 27, 2010 at 6:06 am

Has hints of Audi/Peugeot 5008 in it – the Peugeot also has a very Audi-ish dash.

• ago87 on Mar 27, 2010 at 7:08 am

same like waja type dashboard…pity to back seat passengers…

• Jimmy on Mar 27, 2010 at 7:28 am

Kia and Hyundai: make sure your dealers employ mechanics that are familiar with your vehicles and know how to service your cars properly. Some of them makin repair makin teruk and don't know where the problems are.

• kia is doing really good job nowadays.

• awg1031 on Mar 27, 2010 at 3:38 pm

got fooled by the perspective..nothing new n exciting for me..huuhu..well except for the passenger aircond..

• With HP that Kia and Hyundai engines produce these days, the cars should have rear vent as standard. Anyway the design look are good.

• very very audi-ish

• ynnad on Mar 27, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Hints of the SChreyer Gril on the dash…

• goh c k on Mar 28, 2010 at 12:17 am

Nope! Note the same as waja type! There is certain angles aligned towards the driver for waja type whereas Optima runs it parallel.

• goh c k on Mar 28, 2010 at 12:17 am

Nope! Not* the same as waja type! There is certain angles aligned towards the driver for waja type whereas Optima runs it parallel.

• Justin on Mar 28, 2010 at 1:27 am

Hi Paul, I noticed another very handsome looking Kia called the K7 in a very popular korean drama "IRIS". It has some similar designs with the optima. Not sure if its the same? You can check it out on youtube by typing "Kia K7".

• Andrew Lim on Mar 28, 2010 at 2:30 am

The car is called K7 in Korea and it is already on sale there on my visit to Seoul last 2 weeks. The rear looks like Audi A4 and looking at Peter Schreyer's background I wouldn't be surprised to see some resemblance towards Audi's design.

• Paul Tan on Mar 28, 2010 at 2:36 am

Guys, the K7 is called the Cadenza and it is a different car from the Optima. It is larger and more expensive. The K7/Cadenza replaces the Opirus/Amanti.

• goh c k on Mar 28, 2010 at 5:13 am

Hi, Paul

Any indicative price you have heard or come across and information for this new Optima ?

• goh c k on Mar 28, 2010 at 6:06 am

Just saw a real photo ( clubk5.com ) showing interior of the new Optima, the center console is indeed align certain angles faced towards the driver…. a bit disappointed to this…

• OpenMind on Mar 29, 2010 at 12:10 pm

The design looks good, but let's see the spec of the optima when they shipped in here……I know that it was mentioned in another thread, but you just never….this is what people call, 2-tier country (developing countries)……paying double for lower spec product……..

• AE86 (Member) on Mar 29, 2010 at 5:27 pm

Any idea when will this 3rd generation Kia Optima will be launched at Msia or SG?

The V6 engine will be replaced by the Hyundai Sonata YF 2.4 L4 engine?

• interior looks interesting :-)