Suzuki Kizashi Sport unveiled a day before New York show

Suzuki couldn’t wait for the New York Auto Show and has revealed its Kizashi Sport a day ahead of the show’s press day. Instead of a unique performance version like the Swift Sport, the “Sport” in the Kizashi’s name denotes a trim level which can be ordered on GTS and SLS variants. It will be available in the US this August.

Suzuki, which is more famous for small cars and compact 4X4s, counts “near-luxury content” and a “Euro-tuned platform” as this D-segment car’s strengths, pitching the Kizashi as an alternative to the Audi A4 and Acura TSX.

The Sport pack adds on a more muscular front fascia (with chrome accents) and lower grille, side sill extensions, lower body side molding (again with chrome), a slim bootlid spoiler, lightweight 18-inch alloys and a 10 mm lower ride height.

Inside, the Kizashi Sport gets a steering wheel with perforated leather grip and contrasting stitching on the leather seats, shifter boot and emergency brake boot. That’s in addition to the standard 425-watt Rockford Fosgate stereo.

The Kizashi is powered by a 2.4-litre four-cylinder engine with 185 bhp and 230 Nm. In the States, AWD is an option but it’s paired solely to a CVT. Front driven Kizashis can be had with a six-speed manual. Gallery is after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1010]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Aqil Iman on Mar 31, 2010 at 10:53 pm

cool man….rear like accord…what about the price?

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Mar 31, 2010 at 11:09 pm

2.4liter engine produce 180bhp???

even torque was lower than pug 308…

where's proton basher????bash suzuki first before bash proton…

haha :lol:

• consider toyota camry 2.4 only produce 167 hp,the kizashi output is quite strong…the strongest proton engine not even close to tis…

• FYI

Camry 2.4 = 185 bhp / 230 nm

Accord 2.4 = 178 bhp / 224 nm

So this suzuki is ok. Pug 308 is a turbo engine, can't compare leh.

• camry 2.4=185 bhp????go c the official toyota website then u'll understand…

• Philip J. Fry on Apr 01, 2010 at 2:46 am

Comparing to 2.4 NA engines in the current Accord and Camry:

Kizashi 2.4

138kW, 231Nm

Accord 2.4

133kW, 222Nm

Camry 2.4

123kW, 224Nm

• bohtakchek on Apr 01, 2010 at 6:18 am

these jap still prefer to go revving engine… how come they never want to consider turbo charge it, and downsize engine?? turbo charge engine cost higher ka?? like merc 1.8 liter turbo it also same specs with jap 2.4 la…

• mr_3m on Apr 01, 2010 at 3:14 am

so the proton perdana is producing what? 200hp from 2.0 is it?

This is a sedan not a hot hatch… if suzuki wants to get 240hp from 2.4 they can do that without too much hassle… but that is not part of the product parameters… torque is more important here… and they want to come out with a well balanced, all rounded car…

haiyooohhh… btw, what is it with proton anyway, proton got some bashing, and you people who support proton need to retaliate and vent your frustration to other brands/manufacturer ka? What kind of mentality is that?

• hohoho on Apr 01, 2010 at 7:27 am

you are probably 100% right. park one new proton model besides this car and see how people will be drawn to this car. of course to be fair, do not do it here.

• S.Roma on Apr 02, 2010 at 4:20 am

Ya lor…

Y so noob?

Turbo cars, of coz la torque compare to NA car cant win, unless got higher cc…

• FUYOO on Mar 31, 2010 at 11:14 pm

wow,what a cool and stylo design,i bet this is suzuki's best design

but the rear design is quite-weird to me

• GSX-R on 4 wheels….maybe tune for better low end drive-ability hence the low bhp figures

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 31, 2010 at 11:24 pm

The rear looks quite nice and unique. Will stay in my mind for quite some time

• lambov12 on Mar 31, 2010 at 11:26 pm

I prefer the concept version than this … concept version a lot more better looking …

• montana on Mar 31, 2010 at 11:29 pm

2.4liter=180hp ok wat

if 2.4liter=80hp oso quite ok

as long it not proton

hahahaha

• Alpha on Mar 31, 2010 at 11:33 pm

nice.this is very nice.but somehow it looks small for a D-segment.

• perkasa on Mar 31, 2010 at 11:44 pm

hmmmm…nice ICE..

fuel consumption?

• jon joe on Mar 31, 2010 at 11:46 pm

looks really tamed compare to the concept

just like i expected

• not bad… when in malaysia?

• front grille looks like blm….

• kimi_ on Mar 31, 2010 at 11:51 pm

Looks great but i will choose AUDI A4 bcoz of its german tech and the brand……..

When your gf ask you: what car you drive?

Me: AUDI

GF: wow, tats cool and delicious….

OR

Me: SUZUKI

GF: Huh, allright….

EVEN

ME: PROTON

GF: You go home lah, dun even dare to date vif me…..stupid car, a piece of shit (being slap also)

ME: FML and F proton oso ><

• xenogearz on Mar 31, 2010 at 4:17 pm

You’re a Proton basher huh? Well, aren’t you the one who made the brouhaha that The Exora My Unbeatable Family reality show on 8TV is opened to Mandarin-speaking families only? You bash Proton but still ada hati to take part in competition to win Proton Exora…geez

• zaff1984 on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:11 am

funny la kimi…nice joke…hahah…. i hate my iswara, but P1 not that bad la….

• bardraiko on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:52 am

you and your girl "friend" change nationality to germany laaa…if you can see…..the reality is…you cannot afford that A4….just being dreaming again…

if u can see…in germany..AUDI is like a scrap car….think about it..

why you want to compare this PROTON with AUDI…..let it be la bro…PROTON is national branding…..we must support it…even me dont use PROTON car…but atleast i`m proud with it….more forward than a past…think it better laa bro….dont judge a book by it cover..

:)

• if in germany AUDI is a scrap car,wat kind of position do proton hav in germany or uk?

• mohsin on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:08 am

i say a VW Jetta!

• pulge on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:08 am

Side profile looks dull, somewhat like the Lancer.

• umno juara tipu raky on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:18 am

rear looks like toyota mark X…nice!

• AE86 (Member) on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:33 am

well at least Suzuki finally born the first D1 segment car in this region, and the Samurai look of the car seem interesting. At least we have another choice except Honda Accord, Mazda 6, or Hyundai Sonata.

I like it. At least much much more better than my proton car. >_<

• Gadssen on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:44 am

Front is garang, but back side is fat? but i love it anyway :P

• ini macam..... on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:46 am

front bumper like audi

steering like honda.

sport rim like koup

hahaha~~~~malaysian thinking~~~~

• umno juara tipu raky on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:57 am

obviously u dont read other international car forum

• drMpower on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:58 am

this is abit dissappointing

i've been treated with low curvy slope down back end roof drawn in the concept, but not even the slightest of it make to the production unit.

i was expecting a mini CLS which definitely will win over the D segment, considering the competitions are a bit…tame over there.

• myron96 on Apr 01, 2010 at 1:37 am

The front look like Savvy's more muscular bastard brother^^

• myron96 on Apr 01, 2010 at 1:40 am

Correction! The front looks like Saga's more muscular bastard brother:)

• Lancermania on Apr 01, 2010 at 1:58 am

look like golf front & markX rear 2 me….

• i'm dissapointed..i'm hoping sumthing like the concept, of course with some alterations, but not sumthing like this,side profile looks dull,but inside is very comfy.

• steven on Apr 01, 2010 at 2:08 am

proton saga bumper ??!

• nice car but alternative to Audi? Hmm.. idk..

• I believe SAGA BLM can be convert to this model. Redesign hood, headlamp, rear bumper, tail lamp, trunk lid and sport rim, voila!!! SAGA Kizashi on sale!!! PROTON pleaseee do this for SAGA Facelift (I'm pretty sure there will be SAGA Facelift, based on ur product lifecycle.

• knoxx on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:48 pm

tak perlulah saga blm onwer nak convert jadi macam kereta ni.. banggalah skit dengan BLM yang ada, lagipun korang dah beli kereta guna hasil penat lelah sendiri.. Saga SE (red) pun dah cantik.. walaupun cc 1.3 (yelah untuk segment compact car).. Kat luar tu ramai famili user (pakcik makcik, ibu-ibu, student) & tak ramai yang kaki kereta & kaki bawa laju.. Drg boleh accept kereta yang sedia ada kat pasaran..

• Big car that looks so midget

• RS Fan on Apr 01, 2010 at 2:38 am

looks cool for a midget!

• budzer on Apr 01, 2010 at 3:45 am

Nice design

• Finally something descent- -'

• balik PulaU on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:30 am

hehe…we did the headlamp and rearlamp…so tough building these rear and headlamp..anyway, this car is very cantik maaa…x jual kt malaysia ke?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:41 am

quite disappointing…big sx4

• proton _noprodua on Apr 01, 2010 at 6:01 am

i like it..the design is a bit bulky but looks very cool in red.hope it looks cool with other colors too.please let the twin tail pipe stay when it comes to Malaysia market..

• bohtakchek on Apr 01, 2010 at 6:24 am

good also if proton ady seriously considering turbo charge campro … 1.6 turbo it let it be 250Nm … KERBS it to 350Nm when needed …high HP useless one la…

proton should follow europe downsize it … and boast up FC … drag race sure win!! no matter how high HP also all jap car comes with speed limiter, can't go over 200kph !! so what for if got 200hp la… rite.

better still get a 1.3l and turbo it … got 200Nm also very syok to drive liao, n turbo it on a 5 speed manual … the turbo valve voice damn syok to listen to.

• wow…turbo+KERS…..in a proton??tat will b 1st in the world…high hp r useless?car that hav too much torque will hav too much wheel spin,so it isn't efficient(not mention torque steer in ff car)…if rili wan torque then better hav diesel engine la…

• niuhje on Apr 01, 2010 at 8:34 am

how bout the new swift dude??

• Toyota drivers are i on Apr 01, 2010 at 9:55 am

Looks like a cross between a Lancer, VW Jetta, old Vios and the dugong. Nice interior though, bet it drives as well as the Swift. Bet it is going to be more than 100k considering the Swift Sport costs close to six figures. So this, the Civic or the Lancer? Kia Forte certainly looks good on value, I therefore take the Peugeot 308.

• shoon on Apr 01, 2010 at 10:47 am

i think the new kia optima looks nicer and more menacing that this.

and the new sonata 2.0T GDI engine with 274hp is even more powerful than this.

suzuki wants to take on A4? think it will have a hard time competing with sonata first now…

suzuki, a jap car manufacturer will have some hard time against those koreans now

• SY0H2 on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:54 pm

pretty ugly

• extremeken2 on Apr 01, 2010 at 6:13 pm

HAHA just cant deny that the front REALLY looks like the BLM saga!

• xtend2damax on Apr 01, 2010 at 6:15 pm

not really liking the car at all. Looks kind of boring. I would rather get the new Sonata (which would also be cheaper btw)

• Head Hunter on Apr 01, 2010 at 6:45 pm

This car looks good in my book. Please, don't compare with a Proton. I would compare its looks to a sedanized Golf Gti. Not bad looking at all. For those who say that kalau suka sangat kreta negara lain baik pindah negara tu, well, i would say all of us have the rights to love and compare cars. and you have rights to criticise as well. but please, bear in mind that we are civilized people and bickering like little kids only add to the fact that some of the people here are immature. If I were you Paul, I would at least put some guidelines to posting so as not to encourage offensive posts. Tu yang malas nak post banyak2. tiap kali ada new topic, gaduh, bashing, sindir. Mcmana nak maju?

• mst de nnt saga blm convert suzuki kizashi ni…mcm saga blm btkar jd subaru r…

poyo je….

• Peter on Apr 01, 2010 at 9:24 pm

I will comment on the back part of the car…..Its not really sporty enough, but in fact, its quite ugly…….