Naza Kia introduces facelifted Kia Sportage

Naza Kia launched the facelifted Kia Sportage today at the Shah Alam stadium carpark, where the company is having the Naza Kia Family Festival over the weekend (10-11 April). Not to be confused with the new Sportage revealed at the recent Geneva Motor Show, today’s debutant is actually the mid-life facelift version of the second generation Sportage, which went on sale here back in 2005.

The reason we’re only getting it now is because Naza Kia needed to finish all the CKD packs of the original model, and while it may seem like a stop gap till the all-new Sportage arrives next year, it’s still an affordable way to own an SUV at RM112,000 OTR including insurance (no change from before). Naza Kia themselves aren’t expecting the sky; they project lower figures for 2010 than the almost 700 units sold last year.

There are some cosmetic changes, and most of it is concentrated at the front. As you can see from our side-by-side image above, the new model looks much more contemporary and comes with new headlights, grille, bumper and honeycomb mesh. At the back, the facelifted Sportage sports twin exhaust pipes, a new rear garnish and new rear lamp design.

New cabin features include fabric and leather combination seats, rear parcel shelf and illumination for the vanity mirrors. One useful addition is the flip-up rear glass, which can open independantly of the tailgate. Besides these, the Sportage has ABS, EBD, dual airbags and a factory MP3 stereo as standard. It is powered by a 2.0-litre engine with CVVT making 140 bhp and 184 Nm. This twin-cam unit is paired to a 4-speed automatic with Shiftronic.

You can head over to the Shah Alam stadium tomorrow to check out the Sportage and the rest of Naza Kia’s range. There are various activities, contests and performances going on and Kia owners get free 18-point checks for the vehicles. Naza Kia also has a range of pre-owned cars at “very, very attractive prices”, but I doubt that would include the well-received Forte, which has found over 2,000 buyers so far.

Live images of the Sportage after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1041]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• exlive3 on Apr 10, 2010 at 6:01 pm

we want the new sportage and the new sorento…plizzzz.. :'(

• still look like the same old piece of shit..

• yea , i dont even noe how they even managed to facelift it

• Blurking on Apr 12, 2010 at 12:10 am

I doubt anyone would want to buy it, since the new one is coming next year anyway… but still looks urgly though

• MonfereBlogspot on Apr 10, 2010 at 6:09 pm

I like it…

• model that last a year ?
    just get it next year for RM90K … (when clearing old stock)
    for this price…better go for Grand Vitara Suzuki.

• theanswer on Apr 10, 2010 at 7:35 pm

cheaper than vitara but vitara looks nicer interior and exterior. but this model looks better than b4.

• paultan fan on Apr 11, 2010 at 9:04 pm

better go for Vitara or Tiggo

• Peter on Apr 10, 2010 at 6:38 pm

What is this? Why Malaysia is forever taking ages for new models to arrive ? KIA has already releases new models to replace this outdated model!

And Naza kia take this advantage to sell this outdated model to us????

No way! Wake up

• MBX Boy on Apr 10, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Also Naza is still selling the two generations ago “grandfather” Spectra.? Ish ish ish..

• kopi-man on Apr 11, 2010 at 5:17 pm

well, this is the result when everything is being monopolized by the connies that only aim at controlled the resourced and u have no choice then. still have not figure out?
      Open market competition that benefits the consumer is not welcome in Msia.

• paultan fan on Apr 11, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Malaysia especially cronies afraid to compete in open market. Just imagine if tax cut to max 25%. Of coz AP King can’t make more money

• huh? why is not the latest one?!! this one…….hmmm better save my money…..& wait~

• same old fugly thing. kia sucks dude.
    even hyundai can do better. look at their facelift, nearly the same. change the front, back remain the same. what is this?

• They just wanted to clear the stocks… Dont be that aggresive people.

• theanswer on Apr 10, 2010 at 7:37 pm

who so angry? both brand are in the same group Hyundai Kia automotive group.

• i just dislike the kia people’s. for some reasons. they copy, copy, copy, end up say their design. then if no idea, change, like this rubbish car.

• Clearing stocks for the new gen, maybe?

• Tommy on Apr 10, 2010 at 7:23 pm

There will be a new one.. but they have to clear old stocks… 2011, maybe?

• BeemerFreak on Apr 10, 2010 at 7:32 pm

Hey Danny, when will the new Sorento be expected in Malaysia? Will we get the 2.2L diesel that pumps out near to 200HP?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 11, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Should be sometime later this year, not sure about the engine though

• Anonymous on Apr 10, 2010 at 7:35 pm

I want new the model! this one fugly!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 10, 2010 at 8:05 pm

very affordable

• since naza so friend with govt.

can possibly work out some plans to channel this to dbkl, jpj, custom, jabatan-jabatan at special (not sky-rocket) price;

or better still some charity for NGO folks in east malaysia;

and bring in the real new version soon!!

• lordjijul on Apr 10, 2010 at 11:40 pm

hahaha
      NGO at east malaysia dont use naza sportage or sorento
      they only use land cruiser prado (the KZJ120, RZJ120), land cruiser (HDJ101) or new land cruiser (200 series)
      even govt here use new prado, new pajero (3.2l commonrail intercooler turbo) which rarely seen at peninsular
      oh ya, not to forget, govt fleet only use mercedes S class, BMW 7 series, jaguar XJ6 for ADUN, mercedes E class for state secretary n ketua pengarah, honda accord n camry for pengarah2 biasa
      we never saw any perdana as govt fleet here

• mz iz on Apr 11, 2010 at 12:26 am

no wonder, now i know so this is the time to clear all the ex stock to the stupid people same old stock just some make up and touch up and wah….lah…………..

• theanswer on Apr 11, 2010 at 1:09 am

really? oh daym.. in sgor my dad only get Pv6 with rattling sound at the accelerator at 60kmh. not reliable to be use for govt fleet.

• malaysia memang boleh on Apr 11, 2010 at 1:36 am

and i saw Najib in a perdana before

• littlefire on Apr 11, 2010 at 9:11 am

So? The perdana is official car for the G. Even Tun M have it, but have u seen what other car they own in their garage?

• because they can afford it littlefire… whom cant afford any car, pls shut up…

• paultan fan on Apr 11, 2010 at 9:12 pm

I even seen tun M with his Porsche Canyane in TV3. But some of Malaysian always ” mudah lupa ” and Tun happy for that. hehe. Oh I forgot. Ownwer Porsche Malaysia is Tun M son whos also controlling Kencana Petroleum, 80% of Kencana Petro project come from Petronas and Tun M is Petronas advisor .

• damn which east msia adun uses jaguar xj6? sabah or sarawak? r u saying it is official car, paid for by taxpayers?

• paultan fan on Apr 11, 2010 at 9:32 pm

cuba lah rajin2 kunjung ke rumah adun-adun terutama adun2 kerajaan. nak syok lagi pergi ke rumah MB/ Ketua Menteri. Ketua Menteri Sarawak byk koleksi kereta hebat2.

• Jimmy on Apr 10, 2010 at 8:17 pm

anyone noticed that the player looks exactly the same like Forte? lol

• forteOwner on Apr 10, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Agree 100% a piece of shit that is. What about a 50% off stock clearance lol and the stadium is the best place to do it.

• mosabit on Apr 10, 2010 at 8:34 pm

the old bull shit model…. better get perodua nautica one…. haha

• think on Apr 10, 2010 at 9:04 pm

we want the new sorento in coming MAY 2010…pls bring it in…i am holding the purchase of a new car as eyeing on this sorento…

• MonfereBlogspot on Apr 10, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Any idea when will launch new nautica?

• Bloggerooi on Apr 10, 2010 at 9:16 pm

We always get all these face-lifts after face-lifts while other parts of the world are getting new models. Why is it so??

• SCHUEY on Apr 10, 2010 at 9:17 pm

This is for those who cannot afford a Volvo XC90

• Cleveage on Apr 10, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Whoever commits oneself to a 7 yr loan for this piece of 100k shit is really really stupid knowing fully well that new models are arriving soon hahaha …. Vitara is a wiser choice so more

• Tahar on Apr 10, 2010 at 10:46 pm

I AM REALLY STILL WORRIED ABOUT KOREAN PRODUCTS OR PARTS ( HYUNDAI OR KIA) IN TERMS OF

1) QUALITY
    2) RELIABILITY
    3) DURABILTY OR TOUGHNESS

WHEN THE KOREAN CARS ARE SUBJECTED TO THIS KIND OF HARD DRIVING TORTURED DAILY THEIR PARTS LIFE SPAN MAY ONLY LAST THE MOST 2 YEARS BEGINING WITH THE CAR ALTERNATOR , BALL SOCKETS AND SUSPENSION TOP MOUNTING PROBLEMS ALWAYS.

KOREAN CARS ARE NOT BUILT FOR TOUGHNESS AND SORRY TO SAY EVEN IF THE MARKETING PEOPLE TELLING YOU KOREAN CARS ARE DIFFERENT NOWADAYS BUT I STILL HAVE DOUBT ON THEIR PARTS QUALITY AND DURABILTY .

FURTHERMORE IF ANY OF YOUR KOREAN CARS ARE SPOILT ON FRIDAY ,SATURDAY OR SUNDAY , CHANCES IS THE PART DEPARTMENT OF HYUNDAI AT GLENMARIE IS NOT OPEN ON SATURDAY OR SUNDAY FOR YOUR REPLACEMENT PARTS . THEY TELL YOU TO COME BACK ON MONDAY AND THE DOWN TIME FOR YOUR HYUNDAI CARS ARE HANGING FOR 4 DAYS IN THE AUTHORISE WORKSHOPS WHICH IS WAY EVEN WORST THEN OWNING A CONTINENETAL CARS ( BMW , ALFA AND ETC ) OR MALAYSIA MAKE CARS ( PERODUA OR PROTON).

THAT MY OPNION OF KOREAN CARS AND DO WANT TO OWN ANY AT THIS POINT.

• dchegu on Apr 11, 2010 at 12:32 am

where did u learn how to type?

maybe you should check if caps lock is on before you type.

basic net etiquette

• JULIAN LOO on Apr 11, 2010 at 2:14 am

hes having the time of the month…

btw bmw 7 series is way better than this crap!

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 11, 2010 at 7:25 am

I would totally agree if they both sold at same price.

• Bro…if u go to honda sc at glenmarie on weekend also same prob ler….btw, at honda sc, saturday for normal service only…for any defect rectification/warranty’s work will be done on weekdays only. Parts availability wise, last time i need to wait for 5-6 days for my honda’s wiper motor to be replace (parts not available immediately)…just imagine, for 5 days have to stop under the bridge if its raining, just like motorcycle’s rider…anyway, the point is…all SC close on weekend & u do have to wait for parts,

• same like proton mah

• Good for you to avoid Korean cars! It’s best not to move your modest expectations any higher.

I subject my 2 Korean cars to a punishing 40k km of hard driving a year and after 90k km slightly over 2 years, the older Korean is still feeling very new with none of the problems you say will happen.

• paultan fan on Apr 11, 2010 at 9:41 pm

kalau tak kualiti masakan Hyundai dan Kia lebih baik jualan banding Toyota untuk bulan March di USA. Malah byk produk diaorang dah advance. Hyundai siap berani bg Warranty seumur hidup. Tapi facelift ni memang ketinggalan. hehe. Bawak masuk produk baru cpt2.

• syedhs on Apr 10, 2010 at 10:54 pm

I think the twin-exhause pipes is a bad call – it instantly remind me of Cayenne, so this look like al-cheapo way to look like Cayenne.

• Malaysia is rubbish dumping site, any car model that the world don’t want, it dump it here!

• so forte is a car that the world dont want? bmw oso? ferrari oso? wow…

• Squawk on Apr 11, 2010 at 9:51 pm

I think this is more of a distributor problem. They probably bought more CKD units than they can sell (or they were over optimistic), maybe to bring down their unit costs…. unless someone can prove that Kia Korea forced them to take up too many units. I believe same thing happened to the Citra and Ria (they’re still trying to get rid of old stock after all these years).

• Aaron Ch'ng You Liang (Member) on Apr 10, 2010 at 11:25 pm

We like the new Sorento & Sportage, not the old facelift Sorento & sportage….:)

• MBX Boy on Apr 10, 2010 at 11:55 pm

Is this one of the models that are fitted with headlights which turn yellow and blur after some time?

• nyan46 on Apr 11, 2010 at 12:09 am

bad image after reaching the sky

• ricky martin on Apr 11, 2010 at 1:03 am

ugly cheap interior..disappointed

• informer on Apr 11, 2010 at 1:12 am

On my point of view, it’s not the Hyundai-KIA fault.
    As some pointed out earlier, maybe the local Malayan KIA Franchisee here wanted to clear of their old stock to make way for the latest model to arrive later.
    I still don’t understand, if in the foreign car market, the Hyundai-KIA brand is doing quite well, but here things doesn’t reflect the same.
    I wish I could blame the Hyundai-KIA Franchisees… but then… I guess, they know what they are doing.
    We just… wait and see… and be patience…

• omahabojan on Apr 11, 2010 at 3:28 am

I thought they gonna bring in the new model. Apparently not! I can’t wait to place an order for the new one leh!

http://paultan.org/2010/02/03/first-official-pix-of-new-kia-sportage/

• The sportage is an underdog….as mentioned the name itself! Many will relate it to the 1st Generation Sportage , where known to be driven more by the mechanics rather than the owner themselves. With heaps of engine trouble under its belly….no wonder Sportage is never going to be a success in our land.
    This 2nd Generation Sportage actually sharing the same mechanicals with the Hyundai Tucson, making me wonder… how much effort had been done to re-emerge the brand out of its old bad name and reputation.
    It is ugly to some, but the car is so far not as bad as some might thought! I’ve done 60,000km so far with regular oil change and so on… so far nothing fall apart and non of the so called cheap plastics started to squeak…
    If there is something wrong with this model, probably the way they introduced the model initially as CBU at 160k plus, then 135k and then settled at 112k as CKD…

• then those ppl buying at 160k is a fool la,or kene conned?

• Yup….
        This is what happened in our country, we have the CBU, CKD, CBU from Asean countries and so many rules that make a same car having significant diff. in pricing.

The car probably the same..but because of the paperwork, the same car ended up with different prices at various period of time… right until the model phase out of the showroom

I dont thing those bought at 160k being conned as you cant do nothing if the status of the car changed in time eg from CBU to CKD…I guess there are risk to be taken buying on CBU cars from Korea as the price might drop in the future. So, there are lessons to be learned here.

Let say VW started to CKD its Passat,Golf or Jetta sometime in the future. Will you blame VW if there shall be a price drop later?

For those who wished to own a VW but never can afford one, of course the idea of CKD-ed the VW models is a welcoming one… what about those who bought earlier!

It is not that simple…..

• paultan fan on Apr 11, 2010 at 9:46 pm

the best way is decrease outr mport tax.

• nope…
          you’ll wait another 100 years the watever tax will surely be there…maybe they called it a different name!

The best way is to learn and live with the situation …

There are too many indicators that discourage people from buying certain model of cars or names…from distant countries and so on. But yet, if you got the money, nothing will stop you from doing so…

• johnmiddle55 on Apr 11, 2010 at 8:38 am

To be fair, Naza is just a profit oriented company. Sure they want to clear the old stock first before any new launching. Some people will buy, just not you and me.

• aiyo….the car is so dated, yet still wanna facelift??
    Kesian some of our Malaysian, for being conned buying dated cars from Kia.

reminds me of our national car maker…

• do or did u many maker built new gen car every year eg city, vios, sorento, sportage, etc….usually they recycle about ~5-7 years cycle

• Black Dog on Apr 11, 2010 at 11:07 am

Bad, Bad news. If they’re doing this to the Sportage, I wonder how long they’ll need to clear Sorento’s stock! I don’t wanna wait another year for it!

Everyone knows about the fantastic new models yet there’re doing this, crazy Naza people! They should clear off the old stock by giving deep deep discounts and start selling the new models. This is what I call Lost Opportunity!

• nazir on Apr 11, 2010 at 11:09 am

NAZA don’t waste your time doing another facelift.
    Might as well just slash your prices for ex 2009 stock,
    coupled with 0% interest and additional add ons.
    This is being done in Ozland and the US.
    Other car manufacturers are rushing to introduce new models
    but NAZA is as usual laid back -take it easy – semua ok attitude.

• Black Dog on Apr 11, 2010 at 11:10 am

NAZA KIA is run by a bunch of FOOLS!

• Mosti on Apr 11, 2010 at 2:39 pm

Thats an uncalled for sweeping statement.

There are good people in Naza, just like in every company

Not all black dogs are bad too

• Mad Cat on Apr 11, 2010 at 11:57 am

Don’t understand what’s with the haters. This is a CURRENT model. The 2011 Sportage hasn’t even been launched yet so this is probably just a stop gap measure for people looking for a Kia C-Segment SUV prior to the new one coming out.

• trying to clear stock ma,so say new facelifted loo……..

• e3mexpdc on Apr 11, 2010 at 12:15 pm

I think most of u doesn’t know how to read. Naza had just sold out the original ckd version earlier so now they hv to bring in the facelift 2nd edition sportage to fill in the gap before the 3rd edition is introduce probably in the 1st quarter of 2011. I’ve heard sombody said that this facelift is also a CBU version. I’ve place a booking for the original ckd version in Oct 2009 after the sale person had told me that I can get a car within a week after loan approval, I was given a run-arround for quite sometime now. Last month they told me in an email that I can get the original CKD version in May 2010 with old price but all in a sudden the facelift version appear now with a higher price tag. Hopefully NAZA-KIA could consider giving a customer like me a special discount considering all the hasle than we have going through…

• The price shd be RM60K lah..
    RM112K who wants to buy??

• uncle onn on Apr 11, 2010 at 1:39 pm

same old story sportage. better angkat cherry tinggo. save money maa..

• paultan fan on Apr 11, 2010 at 9:50 pm

agree. save more more money and I thk much more beautiful compare to an ugly Kia Sportage. Almost 1/2 price. But I waiting for new 2010 Kia Sorento and Sportage also Hyundai Tucson. So beuatiful.

• Camry lover on Apr 11, 2010 at 2:22 pm

whatever u say, there will be plenty of suckers in M’sia who will buy it. Trust me, you’ll see them on the roads soon.

• x3mexpdc on Apr 11, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Tell u wat bro… There are people who buy certain car simply bcoz they had fall in love with and to own it is the ultimate satisfaction to them. To call these people as “Suckers” just show how ignorant, childish and stupid you are… and there are huge differences between “car lover” and “car owner”… “Car owner”, they owned the car but “car lover” is people who can only dream to own a car… keep on dreaming bro…

• smallfish on Apr 11, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Yeah..many people don’t have perfect eyes, some with far sighted and some with short sighted, not to mention some peole are ‘juling’. That’s why sometimes we cannot image the reason they buy the car.

• Camry lover on Apr 11, 2010 at 4:50 pm

totally disagree with u on this. i call them suckers because for the money they put in, all they get is old model, high maintenance, low resale value, chances are, after few years, it start to have problems. i know it cos i have a friend who owned it. It might be a “dream car” for them, but if i were them, i will put the money to better use by buying a better value car such as Grand Vitara.

btw, i call people who smoke “suckers” too.

• bundi on Apr 11, 2010 at 6:41 pm

u sure dont have manner do you?calling others sucker..their money, their choice ler..same like man..some prefer to marry pretty women, some might fall in love with an old hag..so let have what they want..their choice, they think that will suit them well..everyone have their own taste and view, as long as that thier view doesnt affect ur money and life, let them alone..so plz watch ur languange and respect others dude …by the way, kalo kete diorg rosak, ko ke nk tlg bayorkan?nasihat leklok tp gak, panggil org lain suckers, peh…kasor tu yob!

• x3mexpdc on Apr 11, 2010 at 7:02 pm

I thought Suzuki Grand Vitara 4X4 price is somewhere around RM140,000, how can we compare it to this sportage? Ohh… may be you are comparing it to a Grand Vitara 2 wheel drive version sold slightly below RM120,000. If that is the case, 2 wheel drive Toyota RUSH is cheaper. Can we say Toyota RUSH give a better value since it carry Toyota name? Macam kereta tak siap coz they really “RUSH” to built the car.. Calling a smoker by that name is a good one… Why? because these people are playing with death… Hey… I’m once a smoker too… but have completely stop smoking 2 years ago…

• wolfsburg on Apr 11, 2010 at 9:16 pm

My family own a Tucson for 5 years and there is not a single problem with the car. Stop being bias please…

• NAZAk on Apr 11, 2010 at 2:33 pm

Looks like a boat on wheels.

Better be in a Proton

• paultan fan on Apr 11, 2010 at 9:54 pm

bila Proton nak keluarkan SUV. Proton MSX tu tak siap2 lagi ke?

• smallfish on Apr 11, 2010 at 4:19 pm

I don’t like the shape, quite ugly.

• WinterAngeLs on Apr 11, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Wat are the differences besides the cosmetic changes? Brilliant marketing strategy! Change bit then can clear off old stock dy. Give us the new sportage for god sake.

• lchan on Apr 11, 2010 at 5:23 pm

i agree if the service from Naza is lacking, but if for those who cant afford it or think the price should be this and that, should go and buy a farking car that is within your affordable range. Too expensive, cant afford it…too farking bad.

• Personally, i dont like facelifts…..in fact every single facelifting practices being done so far were such a waste of resources. No matter Toyota, Honda or Kia….all facelifts suck..

If i am the PM, i will banned facelift practices… for the sake of engineering merits!

Really… what will you get from all of these? New headlights, new tail lights. extra tailpipe ( not to mention whether the second pipe functionality or just for show), new grille, sport rims…..and for this Sportage, the facelift made the car look uglier than before…

I think re-introducing the model during its mid-life, should be done by adding more meaningful features, such as built in GPS navigayion, lighter rims or a slightly more hp engine…HID lights and whatever features that improves its performance or functions….like stopping better and so on!!

It is not all abt marketing you know….

• the maker do that so that the car look fresh every year before new gen come out..it more cost effective than built new gen car every year

• the truth is some of them practice cost cutting activities instead….

If you look closely at some of the photos, you’ll notice there are features that are missing from the previous model….hehe!

• Eric G on Apr 11, 2010 at 11:41 pm

u sounded like James May already. clap clap clap

• I bet none of the guys who are thrashing the new KIA have ever owned or driven a KIA Sportage before.

Japanese or Korean; all cars have their own issues and no car is better or worse than the other. It is only a matter of personal preference and affordability.

So do not force your opinions on anyone. So much of anger without even ever owning a KIA Sportage is waste of time for other readers to read thru all this bullshit.

Pls share worthwhile information and dump your trash elsewhere. If you really think you know too much start you own blog…

• We shd all wait for the 2011 version. But still the new one is a poor man’s Tiguan. Hope it will have stop/start button like Forte.
    …. Currently looking for a nice-looking, safe, small to medium-sized car for wifey.

• And I am a poor man… Tiguan is way out of my budget so dont call me a basher.

• sick&tired on Apr 11, 2010 at 9:40 pm

naza has a fcking bad habit of reducing the car price drastically to clear stock. Mark my words, next year you can get it for RM90k. Really don’t like the way Naza do business.

• turbonetics on Apr 11, 2010 at 9:59 pm

same old korean rubbish