New 2WD variant of Mitsubishi Pajero Sport launched

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has introduced a new variant of its Pajero Sport SUV. Called the Pajero Sport GL, it’s essentially a 2WD version of the seven-seater SUV that was launched mid last year (the original 4WD model is now officially known as the Pajero Sport GS). The GL is targetted to urban users who want the Pajero Sport’s macho image and substantial size, but not its off-road capability.

Without the GS’ Super Select 4WD system, the 1,935 kg GL is 105 kg lighter than its 4WD sister. Apart from that, the only other differences are rear drum brakes and 16-inch wheels as opposed to 17-inch items in the GS. The GL is powered by the same 2.5-litre commonrail diesel engine as the GS and Trition; the DOHC 16v unit makes 134 bhp and 314 Nm from 2,000 rpm. A four-speed INVECS-II automatic with manual mode does transmission duties.

From the outside, one can tell GL and GS apart by the former’s honeycomb grille design (chrome bars for the GS) and six-spoke rims. Oh, and the small ‘GL’ badge of course. Inside, the new variant comes with dark brown leather seats and trim (beige for GS) and does without faux wood inserts. Taking centrestage on the dashboard is an aftermarket 2-DIN stereo system with USB/iPod/Bluetooth connectivity. The Kenwood unit also incorporates a reverse camera. ABS, EBD and dual airbags are standard.

While the Pajero Sport is built on a rugged ladder frame, it’s more than just a Triton with a canopy. The pick-up truck’s rear leaf springs make way for 3-link coil spring rear suspension, so third row passengers won’t bounce like on trampolines. The GL is priced at RM145,467.80 (OTR without insurance), quite a bit cheaper than the RM158,609.80 GS.

At the event, MMM also announced the availability of genuine accesories for the Pajero Sport. Parts for sale are front and rear airdams, rear spoiler, cargo trays, scuff plate, mirror cover with LED indicator and rear garnish.

Official and live images from the event are after the jump.

Mitsubishi Pajero Sport GL live images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1051]
Mitsubishi Pajero Sport GL official images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1052]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Alpha on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:06 am

spec-wise not that much of a different,but the price is very different!!nice~~

• Kcivic on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:07 am

danny tan and paul tan working so hard. Early morning at 1.00am still posting articles. Goodnight guys, i am sleepy already. Zzzzzzzzzzz………

• Ben X5 on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:16 am

uh.. nice car :D.. but if we need a big car then its relevant :D.. i think this is much better than the 4wd.. cause this 2wd will save fuel consumption and last longer :D.. hehe..

• Not so nice for this price.Old Pajero better looking.This one rear light not nice,height to high like no so steady. Better go for CRV , New Tucson or X-Trail. Anyway is still nice.

• in the late 80s to mid 90s,

it’s easier to illustrate or introduce a “4 wheel drive” as PAJERO to a layman.

Even you are driving a Isuzu Trooper, Toyota Landcruiser or Land-Rover, people might say “see, pajero coming”

Those were the most glorious moment for Pajero until the last popular 2800 Turbo Diesel or 3000 V6 24 valve; luxury+7-seater+sporty+multi-purpose+spacious;

It suitable for businessman, housewives, weekend-cars and of course contractors or site managers.

By the way, how many variants we have had during the golden era? 2.5 diesels? 2.8 diesels? 2.6 petrol? 2.4 petrol? 3.0 petrol? 3.5 petrol?

That’s well before the introduction of CRV and later on Harrier, as well as MPVs; that widely available through grey market, especially recond-units that eat up Pajero’s primary market here.

Triton looks good, maybe different story on current Pajero, but that’s only me, i guess :)

No matter how, salute MMM’s effort to revive Pajero, although the route is much more challenging now (similar to Fortuner/Prado and Trooper);

but we in fact had our great time in Pajero!!

• Ah, the golden era of Pajero, the times where 4WDs and SUVs were simply referred as jeeps. The only direct rival was only Isuzu Trooper, and maybe Land Cruiser as well.

I think by mid to late 1990s Pajero was no longer the preferred jeep with the introductions of Suzuki Vitara, Toyota Land Cruiser Prado and Hnda CRV.

• Eric G on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:43 am

any difference in the road tax?

• I don’t think so. the CC is still the same i think.
      if it’s same then the road tax remain the same price.

• avanza, rush, syndrome,

anyhow this configuration kind of car is tough and also good for kampung road condition use. no tip toe-ing like driving when the road is uneven in toyota wish or stream,

again its taste like indonesian

• Hi..speaking of Indonesian..just to share about the 2wd pajero sport here in Jkt. Its been launched in parallel with the 4wd since mid last year. If I may point out some further info. In addition it seems the GS spec is different from the 2wd here-perhaps for better pricing. The Multi Information Display and the steering wheel control is not included, hence the double din, the wheel size is 18in here. Aircon control is also not the automatic kind..for the grill we have the chrome bars too…what about the rear park sensors, is it included? Thanks…

• The Loner on Apr 16, 2010 at 6:43 am

Mathematical-wise the power to weight ratio is slightly due to the reduced weight (15.22kg/bhp for 4WD and 14.44kg/bhp). Still need to test drive to find the difference.

• ..btw, 2.5 diesel wt only 314Nm torque?…Focus 2.0 TDCI had better torque at 320Nm + overboost to 340Nm.

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:23 pm

There is more to it than just weight.

You have more rotational mass of the transfer case and 2 additional front half shafts which are missing now.

• seancorr on Apr 16, 2010 at 6:44 am

I guess this is for the people who want a bigger rugged SUV with a diesel engine comparing to the AWD metrosexual Honda CRV, the outdated Nissan X-trail or the puny little Toyota Rush.

• That is a terrible shade of brown.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:25 am

You got me laughing there!
      It looks slightly better in real life :)

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 16, 2010 at 7:21 am

If this isn’t intended to go trail whacking, why retain the insanely high ride height?

• brutus on Apr 16, 2010 at 7:46 am

i thought all this while even the 4WD variant comes with rear drum brakes, no?

• No gals? Although the car looks nicer than dugung..

• Gives the impression of a cow….

• theanswer on Apr 16, 2010 at 8:12 am

good price but bigger than some petroll smaller suv. in fact look nicer without the 4wd shift knob.

• Toyota drivers are idiots on Apr 16, 2010 at 8:35 am

It is just an overpriced truck with a third row of seats that sits on a ladder frame chassis with poor interior quality, comfort and ergonomics design for a third world countries like Malaysia. It is not even called the Pajero outside Malaysia because they want to fool Malaysians that this is in fact like the Pajero that we are familiar with which it is not. The Pajero that is made in Japan are competing with the likes of Land Rover Discovery and Toyota Land Cruiser. Stay away from this car!

• The Loner on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:56 am

Agree where Pajero name supposed to be larger (both chasis & engine output). In Australia, this vehicle is named under Mitsubishi Challenger.

Don’t forget in Thailand, this vehicle is also called Pajero Sport

• yeah happy go lucky there, nice vehicles.

• Tiadaid on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:04 am

The return of the Pajero as the king of the 4WD? Miss the old days of the old Pajero

• A Mitsubishi Pajero has always been an off-road vehicle.
    This type of vehicle has always been known as a 4WD.
    Downgrading it to 2WD will make it lose its real purpose.

• anyway…good cheaper alternative for those who only intend to use it as a ppl mover instead of going off road(majority of the SUV used around town)….2wd = better FC

• oldman on Apr 17, 2010 at 7:51 am

For rm150K, got a lot of other reasonable options for people mover… as starter, consider the better fuel efficient hyundai grand starex…

• Jimmy Dean on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:46 am

Is it worth it? Last year I saw a RWD Toyota Rush getting stuck in sand. The stupid driver must’ve think that all SUV can go off-road even if it has only two legs instead of four legs. Pajero has always been a 4WD and Mitsubishi migh have to recall this 2WD SUV wannabe and fit it with 4WD transmission, tranfer case and front drive shaft later on.

• y wan recall?…it already stated that its a 2wd. its the driver who is stupid.

• rexis on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:02 am

RWD is acceptable, still can climb a little hill, but if it is FWD, better stick to plus highway.

You have already spend tat much, really shouldn’t get this rip off model just to save that 10+.

• mitlanevo on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:17 am

look nice, and hopefully the performance and handling are much better than awful previous generations…

• Haidir on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:28 am

is it 2wd of this suv at the back?

• saw one 4wd model in the shopping complex.boot extremely small with 7 seats up. if you don’t need the 4wd then the grandis is more comfortable and spacious.

• Peter on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:34 am

I still prefer 4wd truck more than this……..

But still its quite priced abit high……..

Overall, another typical Pajero sport…..

• wow…. only <160k

so cheap…. but i dont like SUV

• Over priced for the level of equipments offered (GL and GS). The interior look like the late 80’s. That why I bought a Captiva full spec and not a jap brand. They’re asking alot for some outdated cheap stuff and riding on the brand instead of giving us whats worth for the asking price.

• Goa On Wheels on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Mitsubishi should launch more variants

• bukapintubayartol on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:18 pm

no 3.2L version?

• Darius on Apr 16, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Dumb. At least the 2wd Hilux and Triton can work as onroad pickup trucks. What do you classify this one?

Blatant attempt to free ride on Pajero’s famous name and heritage, but is for wannabees who think by driving this car suddenly they become active/outdoor/adventurous – Buy a lifestyle!

If you want luxury, buy a MPV. If you want a 4×4, buy a real 4×4, not some half-mongrel pretender.

My old LO47 still better !

• think on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:56 pm

when the new sorento arrives,,we can see which one is the best..for me,i would prefer sorento as it has more feutures , namely the 6 speed auto..

• Ah… lower the truck, increase engine power via remap & u have the ultimate drift machine.

It is easier to lower a 2WD truck chassis than 4WD anyway.

• Jimmy on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:57 pm

Why is Innova much much more cheaper that this? Don’t understand. Better buy Innova from Toyota, 2WD rear-wheel drive, easy to find spare parts, tahan lasak and good aftersales service. Many of the workshop do not do job transparently like UMW.

• Niche market.

It’s true, not everyone uses the 4WD mode and this one will fit their needs.

Rugged yet better FC.

• varrie on Apr 18, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Toyota innova good for town. Hilly area like sabah. worst. Fully loaded Gear 1 than can climb the hill. Kimanis keningau, almost cant climb.

• If budget is not a constrain, buy the 4WD version. I have been using the first batch PS for the last 8 months and have clocked 28,000km on it. I previously drove the Triton for 2.5 years before I changed to the PS.

You will know the difference when you are fully loaded and driving at higher speeds. The super select gearbox on the PS is a top notched gearbox that allows you to drive on 4WD constantly. As opposed to the easy select found on the Triton 4WD version. The super select has a rear differential that allows smooth turning (those who drive the Triton will know what I mean). The shifting on the PS is very smooth.

I have done several KL-BKK runs which is a 17-20hours drive (with several stops and border crossing) covering 1500km with full loads. (850kgs load) The PS can easily handle speeds of 160-170km on 4WD and that is on wet roads. Handling at that speed is not very tight when on 2WD drive.

For those that worry about the fuel consumption, the super select gearbox is very efficient, you will not notice the difference (about 5% more). Good trade off for the added safety and handling.

Having experienced the PS, I will not even consider the 2WD version if it was only RM13k difference. I only wished they included traction control.

• peter leong on May 02, 2010 at 8:26 am

I own a Mitsubishi Challenger 2.8 diesel turbo and completely happy with it. However, I consider a newer car and have been fascinated by the New Pajero Sports. I hardly go on 4WD on my Challenger and not an off road enthusiast. I find that during heavy rain, the 4wd gives me alot of traction. However, it is only occasionally that I need to do it. Will the 2WD be the vehicle for me?? Counting the times that I actually did 4WD. Would appreciate some input either from Paul or actual users of the Pajero 4WD or 2WD. thanks

• if a hydrogen and oxygen separator / extractor machine is adapted to the fuel system , can it be advantage to fill up diesel fuel once a year? How many liters of water can you process to utilize hydrogen and oxygen separately for one year?

• demang on Jul 29, 2010 at 12:46 pm

When I decided to buy a SUV early this year, I have checked around, asking a lot of SUV owners, browsing through internet, test drive a few SUV brands from Ford,Toyota,Nissan, KIA,Hyundai,Honda and Mitsubishi ( within my budget). Off course each SUV has its own better features as compared to its competitors. Finally I decided to buy Pajero Sport even though my three brothers ( who happened to owned a CRV, Fortuner and Sorento ) were trying to convince me to buy the same model of SUV that they are having. But I made up y mind, Pajero Sport is my choice. Recently , four of us decided to bring our family to jalan jalan around the Peninsular malaysia, started from klang valley up to northern states then through east west hiway we went to the east coast and down to south Johore and back to KL. the routes that we were driving are the combination of Hi way and jalan kampong. We took the opportunity to change driving each other SUV . Conclusion..when we got back to KL, my three brothers humbly admitted that my Pajero Sport was the overall winner. One thing that made me feel like a true winner was that, my two brothers who owned the Fortuner and Sorento has decided to sell their SUV and opted for Pajero Sport…this is my personal experience with my siblings , as I said, each of us have our own taste, opinion and experience…I did not say that Pajero sport is the best, but in my family, based on our experience, Pajero sport is a better SUV as compared to the model that I have mentioned.

• Eddie Wong on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:06 pm

May i know what model is your PS? I guess is 4WD? I am thinking hard to select and buy bwteen Honda Accord 2.0 and PS 2WD since it is within the same budget. I know both model is not comparable but I truly like PS thinking of it extra features and some good comments here… Afterall, I am also looking at the trade in value both company could offer for my Sentra 1.6SG-L made 2005 December.

• shahrul on Aug 16, 2010 at 3:44 pm

I’m damned confused now. Don’t know which one to buy already. Help me Paul. I really want to get an SUV for myself. If not 100% perfect SUV, at least 90% in terms of “everything”!! Yes, i mean everything!! But the one below RM180K. Hehe. Thanks for your kind attention.

• Haven’t test drive any of the GS n GL yet, but have experience driving rexton, harrier, murano, xc90 and hilux also old pajero. I have try all 7 seats, and i found it comfortable. Leather seat is not just a cover to show luxury, it does feel luxury. when all 7 seat uses, the luggage space is very limited, just like alza. Currently me and my wife aiming for this, not sure the gs or gl yet, but i guess, living in kuantan and usually drive in highway and rarely go offroad unless a 500m drive on dirt to my kebun. We need more space and decide not to buy mpv (grandis is great also and very spacious). During normal day, i guess i will let my wife drive this car since my office parking is very tight, myvi is enough. Financially, we only efford rm170k and below. i hate CRV. cant efford bmw x7 or volvo xc90. Not a fan of harrier. Should i go for this car??Never owned diesel vehicle before.