Renault Laguna Coupe coming to Malaysia next month!

Is white still the new black? Renault clearly thinks so, because it has launched a Monaco GP limited edition of the Laguna Coupe in that colour. To be exact, it’s in pearlescent white metallic with a contrasting “pearl black” roof. Strange name though, since the Renault F1 Team’s most recent win in Monte Carlo isn’t that recent – it was in 2006, courtesy of the Spanish guy now racing for Ferrari.

To match the roof, UK buyers get black 18-inch “Interlagos” alloys and folding door mirrors. Based on the GT and powered by the 2.0 dCi 180 FAP engine, the limited edition boasts four-wheel steering, dark grey leather upholstery with Monaco GP logos and gloss white inserts for the dash, centre console and door panels. Other features include Bluetooth, a Bose stereo, electric heated front seats, front and rear parking sensors, tyre pressure monitor and fully integrated Carminat TomTom sat nav.

Good news to those who appreciate the Laguna Coupe’s sleek lines – Malaysian Renault distributor TC Euro Cars will be introducing the car here (not the Monaco GP edition though), and we hear that the launch is planned for next month. A CBU car from France won’t be cheap, but a 2.0-litre petrol turbo engine paired to a six-speed auto should guarantee decent performance. Watch this space.

More images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1065]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The back looks ok, but the front reminds me of the ugly fiat coupe. X.X

• mastermind on Apr 21, 2010 at 2:05 pm

actually both front and back are ugly…
      but the engine will be great because the use of turbo

• Peter on Apr 21, 2010 at 1:46 pm

There’s seems to be nothing wrong with the car. Its kinda good and sexy. But i just dont really like the front part.

Oh yea, by the way. I dont think that this car will be selling well…..Malaysians still prefer Jap or Korean Cars more than any EU CARs besides Germans….

For Renault….It wont be selling….Remb the 1.8l waja? Its renault engine btw..

• Ya, agreed. Wif tat kind of design won’t work at here. Most of the France cars lack of sales probably related wif tat weird appearance design, perhaps.

• gajen on Apr 21, 2010 at 1:46 pm

nice car….but i dislike the front bumper design…looks old

• Tiadaid on Apr 21, 2010 at 2:16 pm

It won’t sell. With the exception of the 308, Malaysians won’t go for European brands. And I mean normal brands, not prestige brands like BMW & Mercedes. For them, Toyota & Honda’s better.

• yes, the one with mentality like you.

• Tiadaid on Apr 21, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Actually I WOULD buy a European car. I’m currently driving a Honda that’s very problematic, I’d trade it in for a 308 in an instant! But this car’s is out of my league at the moment.

• theanswer on Apr 21, 2010 at 4:48 pm

he’s telling the truth anyway…

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 21, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Everything has to do with price.

I see plenty of Peugeots running around. Its a European brand, no? ;p

Malaysia had a long history with Peugeot, Fiat and Alfa Romeo. We just forgot about them after we…er…jacked up all the car prices.

Good number of Fiat and Alfa coupes around my area. So not sure why you say it wont sell.

Not like TC is planning to sell boat loads of them…. even your “popular” Europeans haven’t had a lot of Coupes on the road, some 3 series, a splattering of CLKs….

Nice try Renault. Front needs a bit more work, its not gelling with the rest of the car. Quite some time since a nice looking french coupe…..actually well, since the 406 Coupe (which was penned by the italians…go figure….)

• bit nice!

• hardeep on Apr 21, 2010 at 2:58 pm

have been in it , felt it, enjoyed it…its worth the money….

• look like the old version PRIUS.TC, pls dont bring it in. wasting time!

• mitlanevo on Apr 21, 2010 at 3:52 pm

NICE car!!!

• lchan on Apr 21, 2010 at 4:08 pm

well…TC is known for selling CBU cars at farking rediculously expensive prices.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 21, 2010 at 5:10 pm

a coupe. where is the hatchback?

• torque (Member) on Apr 21, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Wait till August…then u’ll have both the RS250 and the Clio RS!!

• The Steak on Apr 21, 2010 at 5:40 pm

Seen this car a lot in Paris, not that nice in the metal.
    Hope they bring in the sleek Megane, the RS is super hot hatch, even the estate wagon looks good.

• whoa.. neat. paul, how much will it be expected to cost here in RM?

• Colin Chapman on Apr 21, 2010 at 6:04 pm

which part of the car looks like the old Prius?

• Squawk on Apr 21, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Nice car but why does TC want to bring in so many niche segment models? How many will be sold, 3? 4?

• torque (Member) on Apr 21, 2010 at 11:57 pm

Don’t bring salah…bring in pun salah…it’s not about niche market bro! U know who owned Nissan right? The big boss order la….the vision is to set a strong presence in Malaysia b4 the big wave coming here la…

• Squawk on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Not to say salah or not. Yes, they need an icon model as a pillar for the brand but bringing too many without bringing in mass market models won’t do them any good. If few sell then there’re few on the road and that means less visibility. In the end, the brand will still be forgotten.

• cig kills on Apr 21, 2010 at 7:33 pm

renault laguna coupe.. my company currently doin the roadshow regarding the launching of this car. it wii be set at bangsar shopping center on 14th May onwards.

• I remember that Top Gear UK see the front look like Aston Martin and also read in this blog that the sedan had been tested in our ground if I’m not mistaken. Really want to see it in flesh and should have good review in Malaysia if the testing is successful.

• think on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:40 pm

the car does not imposing…surely the price will be higher than a bmw..

• somesay on Apr 21, 2010 at 10:31 pm

well it looks like aston martin from rear. come to me you french coupe

• Maserati on Apr 21, 2010 at 11:32 pm

This car is going to cost a bomb.Brand is not strong at all,so dont waste time bringing it in here lah.It’s just gonna be a waste of time.

Even the Renault Megane is not even selling decently.I hv never seen one on the road b4 besides those from SG.

• Maserati on Apr 21, 2010 at 11:35 pm

This car will not be priced less than RM 250k

• Jaybond on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:53 am

Adding a bit of front splitter could at least tone down the odd-looking front grill. Overall bodywork design is quite stylish and unique. And there’s not much competition in the local market other than BMW 320i Coupe (which frankly speaking, is not a perfect design also). Like to have this Renault in my garage!

• Darius on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:31 am

Renault depreciation means it will be worth 30k in couple of years, and 5k in about ten.

• Alifz on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:31 am

I could see some of the cue lines was resemblance of Nissan Bluebird Coupe, (US Market)

• aiya.. the Gommen tax to high lah..

Car where got so expensive wan?

• BoringMOOMOO on Apr 29, 2010 at 4:16 am

this is a nice car~~

but I think Citreon C5 looks much better~

in fact, C5 looks even better than the boring BMW 3 series…

first time i saw C5 on the road, i was wondering what a gorgeous car, dunno what kind of expensive brand it was…. then i saw the badge~ wow…the new C5 !!

good job! C5 …now..when will be the sister car in Peugeot?

• BH Loy on May 11, 2010 at 3:56 pm

worth considering if the drive is sweet N incomparison with the other German makes, this is affordable. One consideration though, the reliability issue in our local weather and cost of maintenance!

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 06, 2010 at 1:55 pm

swoopy

does that roof go down