Ken Block’s specialised Gymkhana Ford Fiesta

Click for enlarged image

Internet phenomenon Ken Block’s new Ford Fiesta (his second after his Fiesta rally car) is no regular Fiesta. The Fiesta will be used in the filming of Gymkhana THREE, Ken Block’s latest video. It can get to 100km/h in just 2 seconds, which is some seriously insane acceleration.

This is thanks to a purpose-built Olsbergs engine capable of up to 850 brake horsepower, but is restricted to 650 horsepower in order to give Block the torque band he needs to control the car, which by the way peaks at 4,000rpm with a grand total of 895Nm. This engine is mated to an Olsbergs MSE Maktrak (magnesium) six-speed paddle-shift sequential transmission.

All of these mods are in order to turn the Fiesta into a specialist ‘Gymkhana’ car, where you have to maneuver around a series of cones, slaloms, 180-degree, 360-degree, figure-8 turns and other obstacles all while utilizing extreme acceleration, braking and sliding.

“Aside from gobs of usable power, the real trick in setting up the Gymkhana Ford Fiesta was building a car for tarmac that handles as if it’s on gravel. While most tarmac race cars are designed to grip, we need a car that will still react quickly, but handle loose, while still providing complete control; this is a very delicate balance,” said Block.

Look after the jump for a short preview video of Gymkhana THREE.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nazri on Apr 22, 2010 at 1:54 am

0-100kmph in 2 sec.. this is monster.. huhu

• Salamander on Apr 22, 2010 at 10:41 am

That is faster than Bugatti Veyron. Is this figure really reliable?

• Yes.

Veyron is like you put 1000hp into a lorry. To be exact, a lorry sportscar wannabe.

This Fiesta is more like a formula 1 car where u’ll have a light car but still big hp.

• Eric G on Apr 22, 2010 at 1:56 am

damn.

• seancorr on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:08 am

2 secs….isn’t that faster than F1? @_@

• this machine is quicker than bugatti’s 2.5!!!

• 895Nm.. so yummy..

• Oh yes the Fiesta is sooooooooo desirable!

At such a high price for a small but extensive package puts its probability to be purchased so low, that makes it exotic!

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:54 am

All the hot gal, sure I felt the heat :)

• mufasa on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:24 am

yeahh,,come to papa…. opss,,ok,,i really admire those….ohh sorry,,,,this fiesta….

• kakilari on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:53 am

Tat’s the kind of motorsport that really teaches me how to reallyyyy control a car! Hope it ll be popular here someday…

• Popular no use unless u go join.. :-(

I oso wan to use proper cars but no money.. did that wif those 2 stroke go-carts, is awesome.

• MoFaz on Apr 22, 2010 at 1:57 pm

i saw DiRT2 sticker on the bumper…. i worked on the game, and i’d like to ask all rally fans here to test that game.. got Malaysia track in it :) Let’s get DiRTyyyyy!

• Nodame on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Gyaboo~~ nice shoe Mr. Block!

• whatever on Apr 22, 2010 at 10:04 pm

FORD RAWKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• before u guys say this car can pwn veyron yes its true in terms of acceleration but remember tat this is a stripped out pumped up rally spec car and NOT A ROAD-LEGAL car with complete interior trim n safety features like the veyron…. still awesome tho…

• U X make sense.. lol.. it still pwn veyron la… whether it road legal or not has nothing to do with it.

• crazy numbers.

• sauron on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:07 pm

figures.

• oh behave… :-)