Formula Drift Singapore 2010: Hot action from Day 1

Greetings from Singapore, where we’re covering the Formula Drift Singapore 2010 at the republic’s F1 Pit Building. 42 drivers from all over Asia Pacific went through a brief practice run and qualifying today; the latter’s aim is to find the top-32 drifters for tommorow’s showdown. Come down to the venue (next to the Singapore Flyer) if you’re in the area tommorow for some hot action, hot cars and hot ladies.

Qualifying has just ended (official results not out yet), and it was a mixed bag of results for the Malaysians involved. The course layout involves a long straight where one accelerates hard before initiating a drift for a sharp left. This corner is the first (front) clipping point of the course where drivers need to aim their car’s nose as near to the point as possible, and this was the corner that caught many out.

Top seeded Tengku Djan from Team FX Formula Bridgestone scored a zero in his first run, but managed to complete a clean second run in his Silvia (new livery replaces the iconic white/red/black scheme, we don’t like!) to qualify. Teammates Ivan Lau and Tan Tat Wei (both driving AE86, Tan’s is rotary powered!) should feature tomorrow too. Mervyn Nakamura, the Team Federal driver who impressed in FD Malaysia scored zeros in two of his runs and is out, but the studious looking Ee Yoong Chern from Team Tyrepac Kumho should be in.

Team Goodyear Malaysia had mixed results. Ariff Johanis and his wife Jane didn’t manage to come up with clean runs – Ariff smacked his car in the barrier on his first run, and couldn’t do much with a damaged car thereafter. Michael Gan managed one points scoring run; although not high, it could still see him through with many faring worse.

The team’s new boy Hanizam Bin Hamzah (pic below) should be featuring tomorrow, but after some high drama. His flying bonnet broke his A31’s windscreen in practice, and the replacement was secured litreally seconds before his qualifying run. Although he had zero practice and knowledge of the track due to the incident, he scored 55.3 and 55.8 points in both runs. Very impressive!

Other drivers who caught my eye were Japanese driver Atsushi Murata in his RedBull 180SX and Thailand’s 17-year old Chanapol Kerdpiam, more popularly known as SS Flora. The latter was superb in FD Thailand, and is now drifting under Team Goodyear alongside Pat. Both of them outdrifted flamboyant compatriot Kiki Nana. Malaysia’s Lim Kim Wan (Team ISC) in his baby blue FD RX-7 also did very well.

More reports coming your way tomorrow. For now, take a look at the hot stuff from FD Singapore after the jump. I’ve lost a lot of fluids and got a shade darker to capture these, so I hope you like what you see :)

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1077]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• selekohboi on Apr 24, 2010 at 7:03 pm

“lost of fluids” = drooling alot le… ;)

• selekohboi on Apr 24, 2010 at 7:05 pm

is that a Mitsu Evo for sale at SGD18,888!?

• Peter on Apr 24, 2010 at 7:36 pm

Yes, but however, it is an off road car. In other words, it is only meant for track purpose.

If you want to convert to an on road car, you would have to buy the singapore aka COE……

Which will be very expensive …..

BTW, i was also there too…….

specially attended it. Tml will be the semi’s as well as finals….

• Sweating man, need some kumho tires !

• The_King on Apr 24, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Forget the drift, just look at the girls..

• I actually prefer to look at the drift this time.. only a few exception…

• wow the girls…

• amoiiiiiiiiiiiiii….

• wow….nice ‘tyre’ tyre those girls got haha

• corolla_KE70 on Apr 24, 2010 at 7:23 pm

after seeing those chicks, i still wonder what kind of fluids that you lost over there :-D

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 24, 2010 at 7:34 pm

SWEAT la bro, what fluids do you have in mind? ;)

• corolla_KE70 on Apr 25, 2010 at 10:35 am

ok Danny, i trust you bro ;-)

• Ahmad on Apr 25, 2010 at 11:47 pm

I wonder if Danny really innocent in this case or otherwise.. since the girls just within his reach..
        hehe :D

• kimi_ on Apr 24, 2010 at 7:44 pm

yea yea, what kind of fluid do you lost….can you clarify it danny???

• accel on Apr 24, 2010 at 7:26 pm

copycat girl…..use the outfit same like in the anime n one of them same with miku hatsune… no idea…

• azure on Apr 24, 2010 at 7:29 pm

beautiful kumho girls!! pheewiiitt!!

• trav_da_man on Apr 24, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Nah they r sexy but not that pretty n i prefer the malaysian ones in formula drift mysia last yr. Although i doubt such uniforms will pass our authorities permit……

• Elvis on Apr 25, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Average looking girls…not big boobs…girls with big boobs are like sport cars..looks good…

• niuhje on Apr 24, 2010 at 7:52 pm

boy! that’s wat i call suffuring for yr art! sweet!

• Phew, owh my gosh, those BOOBS are Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM)!

• wow!!!
    i like…

• Spica on Apr 24, 2010 at 8:38 pm

Any news about APRC?

• accel on Apr 24, 2010 at 8:42 pm

did tengku djan showing fuck sign to that red bull guy? XD

• ernest on Apr 24, 2010 at 8:42 pm

I need kleenex..

• Danny, the Track Girl sooooo HOT!!
    more pic please..hehe

• nice!!!

• what a “tight” squeeze.

• bobby on Apr 24, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Hahhaa, definitely the girls

• Eric G on Apr 24, 2010 at 9:41 pm

I WANT ‘KUMHO TIRES’!!!!

• trav_da_man on Apr 24, 2010 at 10:03 pm

Good luck to our Malaysian boys! Go tengku djan n the bridgestone boys!

Told ya team goodyear mysia are a bunch of flops…….Hope for more coverage and pics for tmr events!

• TERBAEEEKKK…!!

• Tommy on Apr 24, 2010 at 10:42 pm

Tgku Djan’s car is not silvia… its 180sx, wonder why would most of the blogs says it is a silvia… just the silvia fronts… popular with the name sileighty which is (silvia+hundred EIGHTY sx)

• sadist on Apr 24, 2010 at 11:27 pm

hei where r my TOYOL tyres???

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 25, 2010 at 1:37 am

come on tengku djan…make us proud!!!!

• MazdAstina on Apr 25, 2010 at 7:06 am

is it just me or it seems like Kumho tires getting a lot of publicity in this comment sections? I wonder why….

• smallfish on Apr 25, 2010 at 10:30 am

These Kuhmo tire ladies are the main figures…cars fall behind.

• tea break….drooolllllllll

• Neutral on Apr 25, 2010 at 10:04 am

mantoopppp! Good luck Djan n M’sian Team!

• proton_fan on Apr 25, 2010 at 10:11 am

must be the six airbags that kumho seems to pushing around as well…

• S.Roma on Apr 25, 2010 at 2:56 pm

OMG !

Kumho ( . ) ( . ) Tyres !

That is an image of a pair of tyre !

What were u thingking?

Lolx !

• i thinking its better to design the airbag just like that. feel safe and better to passenger. wat say u ..

• looks like kumho tyres has stolen the limelight.the tyres are definitely pumped up

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 25, 2010 at 4:40 pm

Lucky to those Singaporean…

• aki_zz on Apr 25, 2010 at 5:05 pm

the falken chick is not bad too…although they have “low profile” tyres…

• I think i saw a HOLDEN COMMORODORE…… V8 turbo or supercharger?…. or 2jzgte…. big saloons r really nice to see when drifting…… ada Aristo?….

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 26, 2010 at 12:15 am

The Holden is powered by a Nissan RB26. Nope, no Aristos involved

• growUP on Apr 25, 2010 at 7:48 pm

any update…?

• tengku menang yessssssssssssssssssssssssss malaysia boleh

• Mysticmind on Apr 26, 2010 at 9:02 am

too many push up bra.

anyway…
    kudos t. djan!

• Civic Air Intake on Apr 26, 2010 at 12:21 pm

Beautiful girls and beautiful cars. Thanks for your share buddy.

• it was so close . close-up pic

lots of povocation..nope ! oops! ohh S**t.
    wasted..

• cipan on Apr 28, 2010 at 3:11 pm

new kumho technology..flatless tyre

• depends on what u mean by “fluids”… haha… nice pics, thanks man :-)