Chinese-market Mercedes-Benz E-Class long wheelbase revealed at Auto China 2010

Everyone knows that China’s economy is growing at a super-fast rate and its no surprise that automakers offer vehicles that are specially made for the Asian country. Joining China’s long wheelbase bandwagon is the Mercedes-Benz E-Class L. This long wheelbase E-Class is the first model by Mercedes that is specific for the Chinese market.

The E 300 L offers 14 centimeters more leg room for the rear cabin and the front seats can be controlled by the rear passengers. The ground clearance has grown slightly as well. The 245hp E 300 is also joined by the 204hp E 260 CGI. This E 260 CGI ELEGANCE comes with things like bi-xenon headlights, Intelligent Light System, electric sliding sunroof as well as Mercedes’ COMMAND DVD system.

The AVANTGARDE version of the E 260 has panoramic sunroof, COMMAND APS with DVD changer, THERMATIC air conditioning system and heated rear seats. If you opt for the E 300 you will go home with a Rear Seat Entertainment System with two LCD screens fitted on rear part of the front headrests as well as a keyless system.

The cars will be assembled in China by Beijing Benz Automotive Corporation which is joint-venture between Beijing Automotive Industry Holding Company (BAIC) and Mercedes-Benz.

Continue reading to view more images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1078]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• sialegal on Apr 25, 2010 at 1:26 pm

now isn’t that a nice ride…

• Kevin Lee on Apr 25, 2010 at 1:41 pm

the chinaman’s happy car, haha, extra long

• typical chinese market, Long wheelbase for everything. lol

• shawal on Apr 25, 2010 at 2:23 pm

why so many LWB models heading for china? how many Yao Ming (Yaozilla) is there anyway!?

• bryan.jones on Apr 25, 2010 at 2:52 pm

well, i don’t see the rational of having long wheelbase for short hose.
    just simply get a S-class or 7-series..

• Yea,i too wonder the same why not get s or 7.Maybe they don’t like S-class or 7-series design.

• 2fast on Apr 25, 2010 at 2:56 pm

I hope they bring this version here in Malaysia. I find the new E-class a bit cramped at the back if the driver’s seat is adjusted for tall people.

• good for towkays who sit at the back but driving a LWB car wouldn’t be fun. if the germans can fit into a standard E class what’s the chances that the average chinese will need more legroom…..unless he is yao ming’s relative

• The Loner on Apr 25, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Actually this is becoming a special trade mark for luxury cars in China. Every country’s rich people have their different needs on luxury cars.

So next time when you notice such long wheel base cars and from Germany, it’s for China.

• Autik on Apr 25, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Towkays in China all got driverlah. You think like Malaysiakah, towkay sendiri driving S-class, tengok pun tak ada classlah.

• agree.
      don ask why auto makers always have longer version model in china, simply the china man can buy. it is just business. why no one launch 1st model here? just no market!

• BryanYong on Apr 25, 2010 at 10:33 pm

i’m guessing the point of LWB version is not only the extra space, but making a statement that “i’m being chauffeured”.
    same reason they make 2 door coupe with 4 seats, telling ppl it’s driven by the owner.

• Chinese Dream, no longer American Dream.

• Chinese mostly got shorter leg if compare to Western people, but need longer car??? for what purpose??? (I think Chinese have a lot of part in body shorter than Western so they need longer car to be proud, haha)

• Autik on Apr 26, 2010 at 11:02 am

Yes they are short, but longer than yours. Haha! Don’t believe? go and check with Yao Ming!!

• hahaha.. very funny. y not just said some of u Europeans cant afford LWB car as its more expensive? are u being jealous as china man can buy longer wheel base car? its nothing to do with height and so on. dont think u Europeans are all very tall.

• MazdAstina on Apr 26, 2010 at 7:24 am

love the standard e, no complains on the longer e.

• carfan on Apr 26, 2010 at 8:48 am

Give the Germans some credit for marketing. Sclass and 7s are too extravagant and are for the Chairman, MDs and owners. For the senior directors and the rest, they will get cars one class lower like Es and 5s.. If you have been driven around in these cars, u will know the key problem is the lack of leg room in the back seats. Even the Camry feels bigger. So it makes sense for their volume models to meet customers requirements esp in countries where these cars are chaufer driven like China, Malaysia? Yes bring them here.

• Peter on Apr 26, 2010 at 10:10 am

All these models wont reach the shores of malaysia…..So stop dreaming for us…..

Reason is simple, these models are meant for chinese domestic market…….Not for internationally…..

• carfan on Apr 26, 2010 at 12:57 pm

This hasn’t stop JDM products from coming here. Maybe Spore will import for hotel limo and taxi. ha ha ha. MY only sell long wheelbase 7s and Sclass. I think there will be sufficient demand from all the Asean countries to make German HO think esp as the production base in China builds up.. The first to bring them in A6L, 5sL and EclassL shd liven up the various markets. I will never underestimate the marketeers including APs for China cars.=)

========