Piaggio, Aprilia, Gilera and Vespa brands now under Naza

The Naza Group is the official distributor of marques from Chevy to Ferrari in the car market, and its bike division is now catching up fast, thanks to new additions Piaggio, Aprilia, Gilera and Vespa. The conglomerate has signed a Distributorship Agreement with the Piaggio Group to become the exclusive distributor for the latter’s four brands. Naza already has Ducati and Harley-Davidson in its bike stable.

The signing was done by Naza’s Joint Group Executive Chairman Dato’ Hj SM Faisal and Piaggio Asia Pacific Managing Director, Mark Franklin, and was witnessed by Deputy Minister of International Trade and Industry, Dato’ Mukhriz Tun Mahathir and Commercial Affairs Attache of the Italian Embassy, Fabrizio Vergamini.

Naza will invest some RM6 million into this venture, which would include a retail showroom and after-sales facilities. The products will also will be distributed under the Naza World of Bikes umbrella. The company also has the option to import and distribute the other three brands in the Piaggio Group – Moto Guzzi, Scrabero and Derbi.

Dato’ Hj SM Faisal said that the market for big bikes bucked 2009’s downward trend and significant growth is expected. “The total industry volume in 2009 dropped around 17% as compared to 2008. However the lifestyle segment increased approximately by 40%, from 1,800 units to 2,500 units in 2009. The segment is expected to further increase in 2010 to 3,000 units,” he pointed out.

The Naza boss also revealed that both parties would explore the possibilities of locally assembling at least one of the brands for the ASEAN region.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• subhero on May 05, 2010 at 11:20 am

what next brand after this?

• niuhje on May 05, 2010 at 11:32 am

bawa le masuk suzuki ke, yamaha ke, honda ke… n not just parallel… mcm Welly buat for Kawa…

• yamaha = hong leong
      honda = boon siew
      ……maa

• Khairulsupermoto on May 06, 2010 at 6:12 am

Hong leong ngan boon siew tak mau buat macam Kawasaki Malaysia… dok concentrate kapcai ajee.

Congrats Naza. After the takeover from Moto milia i hope not to hear horror stories about Aprilia.

• sayapdewa on May 05, 2010 at 11:37 am

whoaa….hope those models selling cheap than current market price!!

• Black Dog on May 05, 2010 at 11:44 am

They sapu so many brands, can handle or not???

• Peter on May 05, 2010 at 11:52 am

NAZA is doing better than those national companies ???

Yes, i have to agree…

They are much more smarter .

• staff on May 05, 2010 at 7:03 pm

it is easier to trade and sell,

than manufactured and sell…

they smart in diversing their business… but are they good enough in their manufacturing business?

Not really i think…

• Peter on May 06, 2010 at 5:50 pm

They have many branches out.

And they have many brands and models which they can offer.

With more choices, it will lead to more customers because people are able to choose from the choices out there.

They are just a big dealer out there in the market.

• johnny on May 07, 2010 at 9:25 am

Yes.. easier trade and sell.. but naza have grown so much compared to last time. im sure they are aware. Give them time and i bet their manufacturing n services will be better. cant wait for the CKD aprillia..

• amouse on May 05, 2010 at 12:17 pm

they are getting bigger and bigger.. good work naza!!

• Hope they’ll bring in those Piaggio/Aprilia/Gilera/Vespa maxi scooter at more competitive pricing and better warranty compared to the prev distributor. Great way to beat KL’s jam & safe for highway usage too

• psychoticbionic on May 05, 2010 at 12:58 pm

can’t wait for aprilia dorsoduro…

• langkasukan on May 05, 2010 at 1:05 pm

who’s next will be in their pocket as well?
    so the N Group is the only car distributor in malaisie loaded with CA$H.

• johnny on May 07, 2010 at 9:27 am

doesnt matter bro.. as long as they are capable n customer get the benefits, who cares?

• Squawk on May 05, 2010 at 1:10 pm

Are the 2 bros competing with each other?

• there are sibling rivalry

• Jaybond on May 05, 2010 at 2:21 pm

Whoa, this means Naza will become the official distributor of the two Italian superbike powerhouses namely, Aprilia & Ducati. There’s going to be an interesting ‘internal’ rivalry…

• zanggief on May 05, 2010 at 3:46 pm

it’s cool, so long to see new vespa coming in.
    hope to see the modern vespa coz that were only after so many years of classic vespa that on the road.

• Habib on May 05, 2010 at 4:35 pm

If Naza local assemble Aprilia, I’m sure going to buy Shiver!
    But need to wait to finish my car loan in a couple of year…. hehehehe

Another though, I think they want to get a slice of Kawasaki ER-6N/F market if they do the CKD

• michishige on May 05, 2010 at 5:23 pm

WAOW. I ve been using Piaggio scooter here in oz.. love it…

will definitely buy a vespa when I go back !

• staff on May 05, 2010 at 7:06 pm

it is a bit weird…

When Naza is expanding their business and doing it good… people praise them…

but when the car, like Forte, comes with naza badge, people are likely to change it…

• johnny on May 07, 2010 at 9:30 am

what if i slap on a naza batch on ur ducati? would u be happy?

• zafedz on May 05, 2010 at 7:14 pm

BIMOTA coming soon…

• afroiq on May 06, 2010 at 12:57 am

waiting for derby..cun wehh..can trade in my gilera if they take it..:)

• Jaybond on May 06, 2010 at 2:03 pm

And also maybe Moto Morini will be next.

• LABRETTA!!!!!!
    and yes… VIVA Vespa…..

• any changes on gilera price which brought by NAZA?

• hopefully ITALJET DRAGSTER 250 sell in mlysia soon..:)

• tomkacak on May 27, 2010 at 10:36 am

Erm…..hopefully the price for scooters is reasonable & under budget our Malaysian citizen…the best way is rebranded like Kia, Peugot etc…surely the price will be reasonable & able to buy it by most Malaysian citizen…sorry i’m broken English…he..he..

• sam sader on May 30, 2010 at 12:47 pm

i cant wait 4 d aprilia..i wanted to buy the 2010 rs125..then i eard motomilia went bankrupt…….crazy maannnnn..was juz about to get d bike……m in loveeeeee

• james on Sep 20, 2010 at 9:19 am

Pity Moto millia. I like RS 125 too .. hope NAZA will get them in next month … hope the price below than 25K, who agree? Mofaz can doit for cagiva, why not NAZA … those who work with NAZA pls comment. TQ