Electronics giant LG is Lotus Racing’s new partner

LG Electronics, one of the world’s top consumer electronics brands, is the latest partner of Lotus Racing. The Korean brand is already the “Global Partner” and “Technological Partner of Formula 1” and will now be the official Technical Supplier to Lotus Racing, supporting the team with products at the paddock and factory.

“LG is obviously a world renowned brand and a leader in its markets, and therefore it’s fantastic to welcome them into the Lotus Racing family. They’ve been a supporter of Formula One for a number of years and it’s a sign of how far we’ve come in a very short time that LG wants to extend its relationship in the F1 pitlane to work with us, and we’re delighted they are doing so.

“As our team grows so we are attracting interest from some of the world’s best businesses, and LG ranks right up there as a truly global power, and with their support, and more like it, we’ll keep building on our dream of seeing Lotus Racing challenge at the front end of the grid as soon as we can,” said Lotus Racing boss Tony Fernandes.

Andrew Barrett, VP Global Sponsorship for LG said: “As a technology partner of Formula 1, we are delighted to see our LG technology not only being used by a team competing in the championship but, significantly, one that has established itself so quickly as the best of the newcomers. Lotus is a brand associated with great style and technology, which makes it a perfect partner for LG. Life’s Good when you are able to bring technology alive to support people in their ambitions, and we are pleased to play our role in the team’s success in F1.”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Nice to see LG also become official Technical Supplier. Look like top gun brand companies starting to see Lotus Racing as a marketing tool.

• paultan fan on May 06, 2010 at 12:36 pm

tahniah Lotus racing team.

• even LG’s VP global sponsorship says Lotus Racing is the best newcomer.

• HEMI V8 Supercharged on May 06, 2010 at 12:37 pm

That’s good news for Lotus.

• RamuNik on May 06, 2010 at 12:38 pm

Lotus… better do well in Europe. Forget be the 1st in “newcomer league”. You have racing pedigree, not like them. You have hand built thousands of road going performance car; The others have non.
    Ok dude, beat the others!

• did you know they use TOYOTA engine, so they don’t make performance car. they make wayang kulit or show room cars,

• malaysia memang boleh on May 06, 2010 at 3:08 pm

Don’t even relate lotus with perfomance,it’s all about handling!!!!
        It’s useless when a car can go from 0-100 kmh in less than 1 second when the handlind sucks

• trav_da_man on May 06, 2010 at 3:46 pm

U just dont know the concept of lotus cars, not about power but simplicity and handling! Putting a V8 or a V10 engine will not help either. Even putting a campro CPS engine on a lightweight but nimble chasis and with some Lotus magic u can have a very fun car to drive.

• ramuNik on May 06, 2010 at 11:43 pm

Agree MMB lotus did not produce mega performance cars. Does performance means only top speed, 0-100 km/h etc? H*ll NO bro!

Does agility is performance? Yes
          How about cornering ability? Yes

Performance is very general term. Whole world knows why they use T engine in elise. Why? = reliability purposes. Lotus root is chassis development & lightweight composites/ materials.

Enough about road going car. Back to F1. Yes they use cosworth powerplant. but what is Lotus pedigree again? Chassis & weight saving. With all restriction by FIA, F1 engines nowadays relatively the same (minus tuning skills). F1 now is all about aerodynamics, Chassis, driver skills. Again Chassis.

Trav_da_man. Go check history Lotus Esprit V8. You are right but not correct bro

• mr_3m_wancer on May 07, 2010 at 12:54 am

Lol @ the noobie comments..

Engine horsepower alone doesn’t make your car great. It may be great on highway or long stretch of road but not on corners..

Lotus is WORLD CLASS in terms of handling and i love to drive one of their cars seriously and play with those who thinks bigger horsepower is powerful in corners and track…

• Yes Lotus roadcars are definitely have world class handling but do you think their rivals are so so far behind? Maybe in a go kart track Lotus will pwn them all but in Sepang F1 circuit. NOT! The new Skyline will smoke em. Just like your theory, but in the other way around, just handling won’t get you to the top. You need both of the world to be the best of all. Now now..

I wonder when will there be the first supercharged/turbo elise. Oh yea, i just forgot we’ve already have them, it’s called the Ariel Atom.

• the fighter on May 06, 2010 at 4:06 pm

where u read they use toyota engine??? whole world know (except u) Coswotrh is the engine supplier for Lotus F1 Team and some others including well establish team like William F1 Team.

• trav_da_man on May 06, 2010 at 4:23 pm

lotus does use toyota engines on their road cars like the elise, exige n the evora. They tune the engines so the engines can revv more.

• simple_mind on May 06, 2010 at 4:26 pm

dd…
        did u know only what type of engine they used?…..and asking others like they know nothing?….

• the fighter on May 06, 2010 at 8:19 pm

we re talking about Lotus F1 here which have no direct relation with Lotus Cars

• HirumaKecil on May 06, 2010 at 4:46 pm

do you know that even Nissan GTR 35 handling also tuned by Lotus… Yes they use toyota’s engine… but they are very good in tuning… Evora use Camry engine… but can you compare evora engine with camry engine…

• tanasi on May 06, 2010 at 8:20 pm

This is load of bull dude. Prove it – where are your sources?

• tokmoh on May 06, 2010 at 10:42 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_GR_engine

Look at list of models using 2GR-FE

• you are an asshole on May 09, 2010 at 3:25 am

Although one might imagine that a high-performance car would have curved surfaces around which the wind would slip, that’s not the case of the GT-R. As chief designer Hiroshi Hasegawa explains, “What makes a Nissan GT-R boils down to two ideas: ‘design backed by function to realize exceptional performance,’ and ‘continuation of the original design heritage.’ In terms of high performance and function, the Nissan GT-R body was forged by its air stream.” They worked for two years with Group Lotus and Yoshitaka Suzuka in order to achieve a coefficient of drag of 0.27. Hasegawa continues, “Landmark features fr

• Tiadaid on May 06, 2010 at 2:19 pm

As for racing pedigree, they’re up there with Virgin & HRT. Remember, this team is associated with Lotus BY NAME ONLY. They’re not the old Team Lotus

• frossonice on May 06, 2010 at 2:21 pm

They are not related, technically. But hopefully Proton can persuade the real Lotus to join Lotus Racing soon.

• Peter on May 06, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Yes, our team is definitely the better ones compared to other new comers…….

• Tengkurex on May 06, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Wondering..what happens to the news of Petrobras sponsorship. Anyway watch this for Lotus Racing upgrade http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJ1xYrrDypI&feature=player_embedded

• Mahadir_babi on May 06, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Yay the T127 will look better with LG livery. However it is a shame that our local GLC companies like petronas , EPF of Cimbank not sponsoring our lotus team

• F1Freak on May 06, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Thats your point of view. My view that its good our GLCs (and especially EPF) do not sponsor Lotus racing. Their funds can be better used and REALLY contribute towards nation building.

• Agree, the less kaki the G is in, the better this team will perform.

• HirumaKecil on May 06, 2010 at 4:50 pm

that is true… petronas get more benefit with merc… this is not about Malaysia.. this is about bisnes strategy…

• Mahadir_babi on May 06, 2010 at 1:21 pm

I cant wait to buy limited edition LG fon with a lotus theme…..i would rather buy it than an i-phone eventho if it is at the same price…sorry bashers…GO teratai F1

• Did you know that LG is into car business and they help proton to make the proton saga parts. So is like you lick my loli pop and i lick your loli pop thing. Good for you proton, you never shame alone.

Lotos is just in the history they belong to the muzium.

• bangla smells likka corpse on May 06, 2010 at 3:58 pm

lolipop la ..pls dun insult our home-baked proton. LG invest in lotus after seeing a lot of potentials after 4 GP’s not buta buta invest. The lotuse reliabity has been improven much more than new komers like , STR , H1RT1, Compass mata, USAGP, brown gp, Force-Siam and Vagin-A-crossworth. Just think abt it why LG doesnt wan to invest in other teams

• Tengokaje.. on May 06, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Congrats to Lotus for getting a new sponsor in their stable. Hope it will improve better and better among the new comer in 2010.

Salam..

• kimi_ on May 06, 2010 at 1:49 pm

Just wait…AND all of the SPONSORS will leave Lotus at the end of the year!!!!!!!!!

• bangla_stenchy on May 06, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Loitius will be smart to alter the contract so they have to extend the contract after expire. Anyway LG can’t argue with us because the malaysia supreme court belongs to us. Our court is good at protecting great malaysian from danger. …just look who lose at the altantuya, kugan and aminulrasyid case. We will be immune from any threats.

• frossonice on May 06, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Again, don’t you have enough politics already on main stream media? Must you take politics here too?

• scottloeb on May 06, 2010 at 4:46 pm

I 2nd that. Please take politics elsewhere. I believe LG deal with Lotus F1 is purely business decision as LG is not cottage industries type of companies. I’m pretty sure they have the proper control system in place for such big organization and wont waste money on unjustified business venture.

• takeo1070 on May 07, 2010 at 5:03 pm

ya pls take your policitcs to RPK, not here ..dumb….

• simple_mind on May 06, 2010 at 4:36 pm

ape benda yang kau merepek ni!!!!

• bangla smells likka corpse on May 06, 2010 at 5:32 pm

merepek kerepek. maksudnya kita ni masih kebal dari segi penarikkan keluar sponsor. tu saja. bukan cakap pase politix sebenarnya

• apeman on May 06, 2010 at 5:42 pm

no politics please and get a life!

• Voice of Reason on May 06, 2010 at 2:07 pm

I love how LG will support Lotus but Malaysians won’t. Even LG recognizes their potential. *sigh*

• Mahadir_babi on May 06, 2010 at 3:31 pm

Malaysian are to anti this and that. The govt should change our mindset to be more patriotic just like china…where citizen are the belongings to the nation and must respect the leader , like it or not……. Even foreigners like bangladeshi ,myanmar, nepali and indon or african supports proton. ….why not US??

• bangla_stenchy on May 06, 2010 at 3:43 pm

most malaysians r not grateful. they support foreign brands like merc, bmw and fur-lari despite the damn exorbitant prices………..is just like u brand singaporean kiasu…u brand malaysian as ungrateful

• Ronaldo on May 07, 2010 at 9:39 am

Yeah.. potential of more failure and retirement from races………
      i cant understand what u guys thinking .. that damn car is retiring in every race since start and u guys are saying they are the best rookie?????? wtf
      LG is only supplying Lotus F1 with products at the paddock and factory only ok…..

• Tiadaid on May 07, 2010 at 10:52 am

Obviously you haven’t seen the past 4 races. Yes they have retirements, for each car they have at least one car running to the end! Granted, this is not an achievement that warrants a podium celebrations, but to design an F1 car in only 5 months is no mean feat. Hell, look at Virgin Racing, they can’t even design a car with a big enough fuel tank to finish a race! Stop being an idiot basher and admit to the fact that Lotus Racing is running in the right direction.

• trav_da_man on May 06, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Good one! With some sponsorship and funds to the lotus racing team, hopefully they can develop a more competitive car towards the mid range and slowly to the top. Then local sponsors like Naza or Proton can lay off their burdens when more international sponsors are coming in.

• bangla_stenchy on May 06, 2010 at 3:45 pm

haiyo sponsor or not …malaysia gomen will help wan…why worry???. in this case sponsoring is just like publicity our lotus mooncake laku oni..not about money$$$$

• simple_mind on May 06, 2010 at 4:30 pm

what is your point here? don’t get you.
        sorry bro.at least please let other reader understand….

• Vincent on May 06, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Pls start it right and do it right, right for the first time and every time…

• azrai on May 06, 2010 at 2:46 pm

Even airasia has paid their airport tax to MAHB minus 25% discount. haiya, tax people paid then airasia get discount? The total Airasia use to owe MAHB is RM132m, the only pay RM112m after the discount.

• simple_mind on May 06, 2010 at 4:33 pm

no offence bro…
      but is there any relation with this post?

• azrai on May 07, 2010 at 7:57 am

Tony fernandes Airasia given 25% discount of airport tax paid by the passenger. So this 25% discount definately go to the F1 instead as the revenue for the G. That’s relevant. Just don’t look at the surface. Taht’s why you have ‘simple mind’.

• simple_mind on May 07, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Well dude,thanks for clarifying your opinion.
          Now I can agree with your opinion which is relevant.
          True or not ,I do not know.Need to analyse T.G portfolio

At least you make me understand and sorry if my question
          makes you feel bad.

merci beaucoup pour ta réponse.
          (Ir. simple_mind)

• bangla smells likka corpse on May 06, 2010 at 5:52 pm

hailor….wat is the kaitan. but anyway that is how Mr Toni Hernandez makes tonnes of money outta the “cheap, no-frill” fare. create business strategy. Just look at tune

• LG CNS help Proton for saga blm model so to balas budi LG logo will be on lotus racing body. LOL

• so now we have nasi lemak and kimchi, what about sushi, friend chicken, burger or even sausage?
    lolz

• pacifictuna on May 06, 2010 at 5:59 pm

i want to see a big ‘M’ on the car…… like those in indy 500. but they would have to change the car from green to red…..

• Vinci.Vince on May 07, 2010 at 12:38 pm

our all beloved McD is going green now globally, replacing its famous red and yellow branding.

after seeing your comment, I found their green and Lotus Racing do look alike :P

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4023/4435123119_62d96dc027.jpg

• tokmoh on May 09, 2010 at 12:42 am

Ahh… saw a few McD outlets in London in that colour when I was there last year. Looks good and make McD a classier and more sophisticated place :) The red-yellow makes it look very family/children kinda place

• Fairul Adilla on May 06, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Well done Team Lotus! shame on the nay-sayers, at least these bunch of Malaysian are actually doing something for the country..

• pomen_GTR (Member) on May 06, 2010 at 4:33 pm

now i can order custom LOTUS RACING vinyl skin for my LG KU990 phone…

• love it on May 06, 2010 at 4:55 pm

owh shut up already
    people r looking at us having formula 1 team n we r talking about if it’s ‘real’ lotus or not
    who cares? we have an f1 team.. we have a carmaker.. who else have it in this region?

• bangla smells likka corpse on May 06, 2010 at 5:36 pm

agree,…..we are better than most of the first world countries like singapore, taiwan, HK,greece, which dont have a F1 team, twin tower, and national car ……and not to forget a handsome treesome angkasawan too

• Squawk on May 07, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Yeah! So what if their standard of living is better than ours. Screw that.

• apeman on May 06, 2010 at 5:51 pm

yeah!! i love it too!

• 1Malaysia on May 06, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Achievement Lotus get their sponsor better than their result in circuit.

• bangla smells likka corpse on May 06, 2010 at 5:47 pm

i think that is the whole idea of F1 business right?? It’s all about $$$$/…..to a typical lotus basher they will this that the team is making loss….BUT…jeng jeng jeng

• Mysticmind on May 06, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Welcome LG, LG automotive can learn more on Aerodynamic in this JV. Why not? It was cheap rather than sponsoring ferrari am I?

This is the power of ‘Low cost module’ that Tony Fernandes are master for!.

Take that! It’s all not about the BIG money!

• fuyiopo on May 06, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Impressed! Go on lotus! Make US proud!

• keep on bashing on May 06, 2010 at 6:04 pm

lets see how will lotus improve afterward.

• Leonardo on May 06, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Wow, this is a major coupe. This would certainly help Lotus to do a lot more upgrades to the car and be closer to mid runners by the second half of the season

• isfufushah on May 06, 2010 at 6:40 pm

nice..
    ok, now show me the “upgrades”. i want the car to be fast and no more at the back.
    ;-)

• mati katak on May 06, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Suka hati la Lotus………

do whatever you want…..

• Lotus-LG on May 06, 2010 at 8:04 pm

Surely Lotus team members will get freebies from LG. Sexy LG Shine hp, HD tv, microwave, washing machine, vacuum cleaner or etc, etc, etc…

Waaah! They so lucky!

• still those bashers entertain me… hahahaha…

again i said, if Lotus is no good how come the sponsors keep on coming…

I guess u guys must’ve lost one thing that connects everything… sponsors = money; money = development; development = chasing the ferrari tail

first, CNN… then maxis… now LG… what will come next???

• there is a reason why LG is the partner.

Lotus is under Proton. LG is Proton’s partner in car manufacturing field. Savvy Saga and Exora. see the link ?
    but good thing, LG engineering = respect !

• Tiadaid on May 07, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Nobody twisted LG’s arm to sponsor Lotus…

• K0 ni lawak ler Lo.

LG’s turn over is more than USD100Billion worldwide and business with Proton through V-ENS is estimated to be less than USD50 million (0.05%)

• portman99 on May 07, 2010 at 12:03 am

I’m so enjoying rubbing this into the noses of the Lotus bashers :-D

I wonder where they are now???

LG, CNN and Maxis did not get to where they are just by chance, these guys have good business sense and can better evaluate the potential of Lotus than those Lotus basher LOSERS!

• NK Lee on May 07, 2010 at 2:26 am

Go, Lotus, go!

You’ll become 1 of the best newcomer in no time.

I didn’t put any hope when you started out, but you proven me wrong!

If only 1 day u can beat Petronas Mercedes, it’ll be Malaysia vs Malaysia…………

• This is a good move by LG and missed opportunity by Panasonic.

• Tengkurex on May 07, 2010 at 11:19 am

New Lotus front wing upgrade http://twitpic.com/1ljufm

• pakteh on May 07, 2010 at 11:54 am

LG? Lotus Garage?

• Motorist on May 07, 2010 at 1:19 pm

The guys at Lotus will now have massive 50″ flat screen at home, in the offices & at the paddock. They’ll too be sporting LG handphones.

I’m sure there’ll be an employee discount when buying LG home products such a fridge, washing machine & even dish washer ;-)

• staff on May 07, 2010 at 2:17 pm

this is sure a bad news for the PESSIMISTs…

I hope they can have good collaboration…

• klaka seram on May 07, 2010 at 6:33 pm

the money is coming!!
    Congrat to Lotus Racing

• LG-crapbrand on May 07, 2010 at 7:49 pm

Advertise on Ferrari USD 50 million …

on Lotus .. …. USD 9.99 only !

who dont want

• Squawk on May 08, 2010 at 4:14 pm

More money from foreign sponsors means less money needed from gov (direct & indirect). Isn’t that a good thing?

It’s actually quite pointless for Maksis to advertise on the car if they don’t have global/ regional presence (failed foreign JVs notwithstanding).

• Good, they’ve held their 1 second faster promise.

8.50pm 8/5/2010, QP3 starting.

• ktas09 on May 09, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Just for fun.

• Initial R on May 10, 2010 at 11:23 am

Haiyyah….. when they enter the race, lot’s of us said go to hell to lotus racing or will not survive even for 1 GP race.. Now they prove already that they can do it, still we said bad thing…. Malaysian ppl have to change mind set… not others… Dumb…
    Did u guys think it good for them to get more sponsor rather than nothing… anyway all back to basic = Business…..
    Please la, don’t think as looser or else you will be a big Looser… Talking like know everything but useless…