Nasim forecasts higher sales, Peugeot 3008 launch next month, revised spec 308 VTi coming soon!

Nasim Sdn Bhd, the official distributor of Peugeot in Malaysia, has revised upwards its 2010 sales forecast by nearly 30% to 3,800 units from 2,930 units in line with increasing demand and improving market conditions. To compare, the company sold 3,766 units in 2009, but a big chunk of that was contributed by the now discontinued 206 Bestari.

For the first quarter of 2010, Nasim’s sales (excluding 206 Bestari) has nearly tripled to 715 units from 262 units recorded in the same period last year. The strong showing has been largely driven by the 308 Turbo. The bulk of 2010 sales expected to be registered in the second half of the year, when Nasim launches three new models and two facelifted variants.

For now, the new arrival is the 3008 crossover, which will be launched in early June. Not much of a surprise since it already has been spotted cruising in Putrajaya. Nasim has begun taking pre-launch bookings for the SUV.

“We will have the distinction of being the first country in ASEAN to launch the 3008 and we are very excited over its prospects. We believe it will be just as successful here as it has been in European markets,” said SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin, CEO of Nasim.

The other new vehicles to be launched this year include the 5008 MPV and a B-segment sedan codenamed T33, which will be assembled in Gurun, Kedah for both the domestic and regional markets. This is essentially a sedan version of the 206 with an updated outlook (to match the rest of the range) and perhaps a new cabin. Nasim is also working hard to bring in Peugeot’s latest pride – the RCZ 2+2 coupe.

One of the abovementioned facelift models is the 308 VTi, which will be introduced very soon as pre-order books are already open. New features include new alloy wheels, automatic foldable door-mirrors, roof spoiler, leather-wrapped steering wheel, multi-function display, a new front grille as well as auto air-conditioning.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Shaycoat on May 12, 2010 at 10:01 am

The interior of P 3008 seems attractive . Hope Naza will not downgrade the dashboard. What is the price for this CR-V rival?

• rchoo on May 12, 2010 at 10:29 am

To consider them as rival is not fair. One is a 1.6 the other is 2.0. Not apple to apple comparison

• What is a name? on May 12, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Not true. The 1.6 engine in the 3008 is turbocharged, producing 150BHP and 240Nm of torque from 1200RPM. In terms of performance, it is similar maybe even better than a 2.0 naturally-aspirated engine.

I would say it is a very valid comparison.

• Rulered on May 12, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Hi Philip,
        may I know roughly when will the 5008 be launched and is the specs similar as the 3008 above? Regards.

• New Kid In Town on May 13, 2010 at 7:15 pm

The 3008 engine is similar like 308T. But the price still blur.. anyone got any news about the price?

• punisher on May 13, 2010 at 11:01 am

any pricing?…am considering an suv…check out crv, x-trail. vitara, tarzan…havt reach a decision yet.

• klguy on May 12, 2010 at 10:54 am

the 308vti upgrade should include all the goodies that the turbo has except for the turbo of course. then it will sell.

• oregon on May 12, 2010 at 3:13 pm

saw that vti yesterday at bangsar showroom, yes the vti comes with all the turbo goodies except rear aircond vent, panorama roof and the turbo engine…

• nanadeadbeat on May 12, 2010 at 9:53 pm

did u have any photo of the facelift 308vti? and the price maintained or increase?

• it is a 1.6 turbo with 156bhp and 240nm, so performance wise, a 1.6 turbo with high pressure can easily be compared to any 2.0 n/a that is not tuned for outright performance like the civic type-r.

as for the 308vti, you will get your wish (well, most of it anyway) very soon.

• redwings on May 12, 2010 at 3:39 pm

how about the transmission?… still with the 4speeders..?

• Philip PEUGEOT on May 12, 2010 at 5:06 pm

yes, VTI still using existing AL4, 4 speed, if you want 6 speed, then wait for few months

• Tiadaid on May 12, 2010 at 12:33 pm

New features, higher price. I’d love to get a 308, but at the moment it’s out of my league

• maxchock on May 12, 2010 at 1:07 pm

I really hope the HDI(Turbo Diesel) version will come in to Malaysia…

• azrai on May 12, 2010 at 1:10 pm

How about the entry peugeot sedan?

• redwings on May 12, 2010 at 3:36 pm

forget about it… it is a 206 with sedan look…it is outdated…unless the price ia really acceptable…

• Mad Cat on May 12, 2010 at 3:48 pm

The entry level Peugeot sedan is the T33 I guess?

• mujahid on May 12, 2010 at 5:09 pm

ONLY WAITING FOR 5008…..

• nanadeadbeat on May 12, 2010 at 4:36 pm

new VTI include panaroma view similar to the top of 308T?

• Nope, no panoramic roof for enhanced VTi.

• 3008 exterior its a love or hate it design, interior, u have to be a MOROON if u prefer CR-V over this pug. Feature… nothing more can be said.
      Price, its on PAR or lower than CRV….. NASIM, we just love u…!!!

• macam macam ada on May 12, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Suddenly this has become a salesman forum.
    Selling like hot cakes !!! Come-on , we are not so gullible.

• 8speed on May 12, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Way to go Nasim but a better alternative is to work with Naza.
    This way you can be more competitive esp when it comes to pricing!!!

• Mad Cat on May 14, 2010 at 8:56 am

It’s gonna suck if it doesn’t have the lion badge! I don’t think they’ll mess up the brand as all the models coming out have the lion.

The best badges are the animal ones. Hell even Proton has a tiger’s head (the Thunder Cat).

• Rulered on May 12, 2010 at 6:58 pm

I know many commented on the front grill of 3008, but then again the double layered grill in CRV still haven’t sink in my acceptance too.

• think on May 12, 2010 at 9:10 pm

bring in the 5008mpv soon..pice it at the same level of innova and freed..surely naza can achive even more higher sales compared to the forecasted…

• think says on May 12, 2010 at 10:38 pm

wondering when is the turbo charged campro will be in market..

• mghong on May 13, 2010 at 1:18 am

Me are waiting for the 5008 , not going to take other japan MPV right now as most of them are all substandard version compare with the other country spec..:(

Hope 5008 will not be a substandard too. .i also interest on this 3008 but no car to see men..

• was told the price of the 3008 would be approximately rm150k with many firsts like a dynamic roll control system and head up display etc.

the 308vti price will move up a bit.

• the price was approximately rm150k i was told and it comes with several firsts in its segment like the dynamic roll control and head up display.

the vti price will move up northwards slightly i think.

• hewyk on May 13, 2010 at 3:59 pm

quick, slap a naza logo on this and bring the price down below RM120k!!!

• 308 Owner on May 14, 2010 at 1:23 pm

Just checked the Peugeot Malaysia website. The upgraded specs for 308vti is more exterior than interior. Added a rear spoiler, a new design to the alloy rims, side retractable mirrors and front grille. NO auto air-conditioning system as previously written in this article. Price stays the same. Also, peug 3008 is open for test drive.

• the VTi now has the 308 turbo interior MINUS the panoramic roof and the rear a/c vents. the unit i saw had the dual zone auto a/c though. they already have the car in showrooms. the new rims look real good with the new turbo bumper. and, no. i did not confuse it with the turbo ;)

i think the 3008 test drive is for ppl to register for priority test drive. didn’t see any unit in showrooms though. was told it is not months away. just weeks.

• uda salleh on May 14, 2010 at 5:16 pm

luv this crossover vehicle… rite now waiting for the price… if too high then might as well get the latest ckd suzuki SX4 1.6l a crossover which gets 150hp too at around RM92k.

• Freeman on Jun 02, 2010 at 9:49 pm

Been eyeing the 3008 since it was launched in Europe. Thought it is a pretty suitable replacement for my wife aging Vios to fit my growing family. So I purposely brought my wife and our do-re-mi to Nasim showroom and have a reality check.

Found couple units of pre-registered 3008 parked there. Kind of touched that Nasim prepared so many units for test driving. Only realized those units are meant for media only (including you, Paul?) so I reckon we will soon reading findings and comments at local carmeg’s July’s editions.

The 3008 Nasim importing pretty much has all the specs I was looking for, including the 6-speed auto, 156BHP and the giagantic glass roof. Bravo! We come here to shop for a life-style vehicle with nice gadgets and a powerful engine-gearbox combo. If we emphsize interior space, number of seats and the typical mindset of so-called ‘value for money’, We would have bought the Innova, Stream or even the CR-V, months ago!

So my kids and my wife settled into the 3008 as if we had already own the car. First impression? Comfotable space for all, with a lot extra to accommondate the growing kids. I like the commanding driver seats with all buttons and controls within my easy reach. An expected ‘Wow’ reaction when the automated roller blind unfolded the gigantic glas roof. Checking around the rest of the compartments and all, we were impressed with some of the clever ideas of the interior designers of 3008, especially the smart use of the booth space plus the conveniently located back seats release buttons.

Too bad we couldn’t take the 3008 for a spin, not even within the narrow compound of Nasim showroom, until all the medias done their testing or the car is officially launched. The salesman tried pretty hard to get my immediate booking using words like “pre-launched introductory price”, “increasing interest rates soon” ,”long waiting list” and so on. Maybe he is right, but I am not bothered with those insignificant extras if this car really going to be part of our family in the next few years.

Price wise? As antipated by many is “below RM150k”. Downside? I am disappointed the back seats couldn’t be reclined further for children to sleep comfortably for long distance rides. Regardless, we shall have our final verdict after taking the car for a spin!