BMW Malaysia launches facelifted E92 Coupe & E93 Convertible and Z4 sDrive35is M Sports!

A couple of new BMWs have landed on our shores but all but one are quite well over the RM300k mark so they’re not something the upper middle class can be excited about.

The bulk of the product line-up update comprises of the facelifted E92 3-Series Coupe and E93 3-Series Convertible models. The baseline Coupe is the 156 horsepower 200Nm torque 320i Coupe priced at RM289,800. It doesn’t come with iDrive though – for that you have to add RM20,000 for an ‘Innovation Package’ that adds an 8.8 inch iDrive monitor, satellite navigation with HDD storage for maps and audio, and Bluetooth connectivity.

There’s also the new 325i Coupe, which finally gives the E92 range some decent mid-range positioning. So before this you either had to go with the 4-potter or jump up to the very expensive 6-cylinder turbo model. The 325i Coupe is priced at RM378,800 and features a 2.5 litre 6-cylinder N52 engine producing 218 horsepower and 250Nm of torque, taking the car up to 100km/h in 7.1 seconds. The 325i Coupe can be equipped with a “Glass Roof Package” which adds an lectric operated glass roof with slide and tilt function. This can also be equipped to the 320i Coupe for the same money.

The top of the line Coupe is the BMW 335i Coupe M Sport, now featuring the new N55 single turbo engine, which replaces the outgoing pre-facelift 335i’s N54 twin turbo engine. Official rated power remains the same at 306 horsepower and 400Nm of torque. Peak torque is achieved at a lower rpm as compared to the N54 model, and while it loses one turbocharger it gains Valvetronic.

This N55 engine is mated to a 7-speed dual clutch transmission with steering wheel paddle shifters. The M Sports package includes 19 inch M light alloy double spoke 313 wheels, M sports suspension, Sports seats in Dakota leather, M entry sills, an M footrest, Aluminium Glacier Silver dark interior trim and an Anthracite headliner.

The E93 325i Convertible is the sole drop top 3-Series sold here in Malaysia. It’s powered by the same 2.5 litre 218 horsepower engine as the 325i Coupe but because of the extra weight of the convertible metal roof, 0 to 100km/h acceleration time drops to 8.4 seconds. The 325i Convertible and 335i Coupe both share special headlamps that feature ight rings with two brightness settings used as parking lights or daytime running lights as well as LED indicators.

The most special and most expensive model of all is the new BMW Z4 sDrive35is M Sport which tops the Z4 range. The sDrive35i is still available in Malaysia though, but at a price of RM598,800 for the sDrive35is M Sport compared to the sDrive35i’s RM558,800.00 price you might be tempted to spend that 10% more.

In sDrive35is tune, the N54 twin turbo engine’s power is upgraded to 340 horsepower and 450Nm of torque – which is the same torque as found in the BMW 740i but with a little more horsepower. This is the most powerful version of the N54 engine when it comes to factory BMW tuning so far. 0 to 100km/h takes just 4.8 seconds thanks to both the twin turbo engine and the fast-shifting 7-speed twin clutch transmission, which also features Launch Control.

The M sports package on the Z4 sDrive35is M Sport comprises of an M aerodynamics package as well as the Adaptive M Suspension package. The M aerodynamics package highlights modified front and rear aprons, a rear diffuser, Oxide Silver mirror caps and five spoke 18 inch alloy wheels in its exterior and wheel specifications, whilst showcases unique design in its interior offering.

Adaptive M Suspension, meanwhile, features a central control unit which processes the data delivered by three acceleration sensors and controls the dampers for added agility without loss of comfort.  Additionally exclusive to the M Sports package on the BMW Z4 sDrive35is M Sport is the option of the special Melbourne Red exterior colour.

BMW 320i Coupe – RM 289, 800
BMW 325i Coupe – RM 378, 800
BMW 335i Coupe M Sport – RM 498, 800
BMW 325i Convertible – RM 439, 800
BMW Z4 sDrive35is M Sport – RM 598, 800

Here’s a bit of trivia for you, the previous generation Z4 M which was a true M-blooded coupe used to go for RM 538,000 until it was retired. The new sDrive35i and sDrive35is are more expensive than the Z4 M! Look after the jump for a gallery of the Z4 sDrive35is in Melbourne Red as well as photo galleries of the facelifted E92 and E93.

GALLERY: BMW Z4 sDrive35is
[zenphotopress number=999 album=678]

GALLERY: BMW E92 Coupe and E93 Convertible Facelift
[zenphotopress number=999 album=773]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 19, 2010 at 12:22 am

i wish they didnt give us the m sport version for the 335i…..

• sutheshkumar on Jun 19, 2010 at 1:41 am

why?
      and I wish there is a convertible version for that.

• mitlanevo on Jun 19, 2010 at 12:55 am

gimme 1 335i coupe, please!!!

• Waow… is it me or is it over priced, goodness, with that kind of money you still can travel with style and speed and still save big bucks

• shawal on Jun 19, 2010 at 5:06 am

BMW Z4 sDrive35is M Sport – RM 598, 800

More than enough reason to resort to a lifestyle of crime….
    Enough speed to run for the borders ….and back…

• Jeff Choo on Jun 19, 2010 at 9:53 pm

I gawked at that price of the Z4 3L TT… that’s just crazy.

• Enough for you to buy a 370z(much more cheaper) or a GTR, faster, sportier, more powerful and more stylish! Why would you still get a Z4 if you could get something better at that price!

• Elvis on Jun 21, 2010 at 12:19 am

I dont blame those who scratch Beemer Z4s. Repainting is dirt cheap for them anyway.

• shawal on Jun 19, 2010 at 5:09 am

Not Too Sure about the E92 Coupe / E93 CC front ‘non-M sport’ bumpers…

It looks like a geek wearing braces….

• expensive for the base model..
    320i for 289k…and to buy 325i,hv to add 90k…
    haiss..

• fifteen on Jun 19, 2010 at 9:09 am

“BMW Z4 sDrive35is M Sport”

“Sorry. What was it again?”

“WTF!”

• got a friend just bought a 3series convertible in UK….30+K pounds. You go figure out how greedy is the tax,importers,etc. (and even dealers we have not much compete since all under majority same roof)
    Well, they price it high in order for those parallel importer holding AP making hell lots of $$. New car 30K pounds, used car u figure out how much the AP people is making. You think those authorized dealers have no connect with AP parallel importers? You are not living in Boleh Land then.

• how do u know? i wan to know also

• 30k pound for those?!! hahaha!! pity u got friend bullshitting all over you and the saddest thing u believed him?

• Its up to u. if u had just search over some famous UK web site, u will find what is the price range like, further, there is discount when you bargain also. I dont need to advertise other company’s website here.

Same to Aussie, you can get a brand new C-class for A$50+K.

It’s a pity for people think those car is mean to be THAT expensive, and believe what those unfair policy has implied to us.

Well, i think Paul has published sometimes ago that the import car insurance of a new 3-series at RM90K explain everything.

• Tiadaid on Jun 20, 2010 at 11:00 am

Go to the BMW UK site and try to spec the 3-series convertible to similar Malaysian spec. The active cruise control on the Malaysian car alone costs well over 1K pound. Yes you can get 30K pound BMW but not of similar spec. In fact, why aren’t we given the option of choosing what feature we want on the car? I mean, surely cars can be cheaper if we’re allowed to choose what options we want on the car and what we don’t want. Indicator lights for example….

• Paul Tan on Jun 20, 2010 at 11:02 am

I think for CBU models you can choose. They will take some time to get back to you with a quote.

• Elvis on Jun 19, 2010 at 2:02 pm

A car that pass half million mark but got no toilet, cant sleep, cant even make love, WTF!!! Better buy condo and keep pretty mistress….

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 19, 2010 at 2:40 pm

with that amount of money you could buy an apartment in US and still have money left over to buy the exact (or better) car to drive

• Korean on Jun 20, 2010 at 10:09 pm

So, you better go and stay in US. Malaysia do not need a people like you.

• Elvis on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:16 pm

Korean, you are very narrow minded. If more malaysians like you, the present dictators will surely continue laughing and making fool of us all….gob bless we still have majority of thinking malaysians.

• likehondanotsomuch on Jun 19, 2010 at 2:41 pm

RM20,000 for an ‘Innovation Package’ that adds an 8.8 inch iDrive monitor, satellite navigation with HDD storage for maps and audio, and Bluetooth connectivity.WOW,,,,DIY and get a more decent set up

• Julian on Jun 19, 2010 at 3:50 pm

Is it just me or do you all see that the photos dont appear in the article?

• mata katak on Jun 19, 2010 at 10:33 pm

facelifting BMW??

Perhaps the design is getting old oredi……..

• notmybeemer on Jun 20, 2010 at 12:33 am

i thought BMW did not facelift the coupe (E92)? isnt this car the same as the ones on the showroom floor since it came out? whats the difference between this ‘LCI’ and the previous generation?

i do not see any cosmetic changes, price is EXACTLY the same, same engine, gearbox, specs… i’m confused….

• Elvis on Jun 20, 2010 at 1:39 am

I am all for progress in automotive but lately all progress we see are pricing going up for luxury cars. With little cosmetic changes, prices go up. Well, only the rich can buy this cars, but dont you think that this is outrageous even for for rich malaysians? Prices of luxury cars that can buy more than decent place to live. Or for other emerging countries, the price enough to live a fantastic comfortable live like in Cambodia or Vietnam. This is too much, too much money wasted on luxury. Please..i hope that who ever buggers buy this should have a consience for society…

• these cars serve as fun cars meaning they cannot be the main mode of transportation.spending so much for a “toy” seems very extravagant.

pity the prices are so stratospheric compared to other countries.

There will still be some fantastically rich people(family money or corporate figure) who enjoy flaunting their wealth(probably buy cash w/o blinking) but I pity the fairly rich professional who tries to buy via HP and give up a third of his earnings just for these symbols of success.

A very successful businessman who bought a new 7 series once told me “a millionaire should not even consider this car.Your car should not be worth even a tenth of your net worth excluding residence,which means you need at least 7 million assets in order to buy this car”

So if you follow his formula,all those out there with less than 3 million,dream on…..

• Elvis on Jun 21, 2010 at 6:46 pm

Yupp, as you said a tenth of NET WORTH. But many still with high debt oledi buying into luxury cars. And when economy burst (ironically always during boom time), these wannabes becomes victims of auctioners or bankcurpt. Well, just keep yourself sober and buy with cash.

• Tiadaid on Jun 22, 2010 at 5:20 pm

The question is, if you’re successful, why do you need to flaunt your success? A humble person would make do with whatever he or she got. Just take a look at Warren Buffet. He’s one of the richest people in the world, and yet his house is the same house he bought in the 50s. Ted Turner of CNN fame drives a Ford Taurus. Go figure…

• Elvis on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Actually, what i can say about flaunting in Malaysia is that most are actually criminals. Drug dealers, pimps, dealers of counterfeit things like dvds, goods etc. They live for a moment and spend their ill gotten wealth, so my advise to all of us is not to buy counterfeit items, stop taking drugs and sex slaves. And i hope the royal families also stop giving Datuks to all these scums. Theres too many criminals getting titles which does damage to Malaysia reputations.

• kancil_driver on Jun 21, 2010 at 8:31 pm

any one of those under rm50k?

• The Notes Web on Jun 21, 2010 at 11:58 pm

Cool cars. BMW is always launch good product.

• Shamala on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:18 am

naa…but still prefer 3 series as it looks more sporty ..

• Richard on Jun 25, 2011 at 7:24 am

Cars is Msia way ti expensive, due to greed of our govt to issue APs and also artificial tax system to protect Proton, so sad