Wang Jian Wei wins race 2 of the 2010 Scirocco Cup China at Sepang

The Malaysian round of the 2010 Scirocco Cup China just ended and we have the final results for race two. Despite being the quickest man in practice and winning yesterday’s first race, Malaysia’s Hammond Lai failed to get onto the podium, after starting from eight place thanks to a reverse grid arrangement for today’s race.

First place went to China’s Wang Jian Wei who started the race from pole position. The 25 year old was fighting for the top spot with eventual second place man Kevin Tse from Hong Kong who started from the same position. It was an interesting battle between the two as both drivers exchanged positions a number of times within the eight-lap race.

China’s Zhang Da Sheng secured the final podium position after starting the race from fourth place. Hammond who was struggling behind his competitors up front only managed to finish in fifth place ahead of Italian Andrea Reggiani. Stefano Montesi was only the retirement of the day, following a problem that is most probably related to his Scirocco’s steering system. The Italian finished yesterday’s race in second place and started today’s in seventh.

The 2010 Volkswagen Scirocco Cup China will now head to West China to race at the Chengdu International Circuit on July 31st. The Scirocco Cup China is a nice addition to the motorsport scene here and hopefully the organizers will make Sepang a regular stop for the series. This will encourage more participation from Malaysians, like Hammond Lai and Eric Koh.

Eric took part in the first race of the season in Zhuhai and became victorious in race two. The entry fee for a whole season costs 360,000 Chinese Yuan which translates to about RM 171,438. Not bad since everything including the race car is part of the package.

As always you can check out an image gallery after the jump. You can also view the results in full.

RESULTS: 2010 Volkswagen Scirocco Cup China
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1223]

GALLERY: 2010 Volkswagen Scirocco Cup China – Sepang (Day 2)
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1222]

GALLERY: 2010 Volkswagen Scirocco Cup China – Sepang (Day 1)
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1214]

GALLERY: 2010 Volkswagen Scirocco Cup China – Grid Girls
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1218]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Race wif factory dsg gbox….interesting since im not good enuf to play wif manual tranny, heel and toe etc

• muuse on Jun 20, 2010 at 10:48 pm

very good car.. even standard is already good enough. cant imagin those with stage 3 and KO4 turbo. again pairing with DSG is the best combo..

• Proton Wira 1.8(A) A/B Uk Spec on Jun 21, 2010 at 10:46 am

i heard that the engine max tune can up to 500HP, really impressive..
    I love the engine and DSG very very much, hope can get one golf GTI ( i prefer 4-door car ).

btw, the girls i love very much too… he.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jun 21, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Nice cars, nice race, nice girls but nobody watching. Pity la mcm ni, it will kill the sport.

• sakoz on Jun 21, 2010 at 2:01 pm

wow! the hot chicks!

• littlefire on Jun 21, 2010 at 6:19 pm

“The entry fee for a whole season costs 360,000 Chinese Yuan which translates to about RM 171,438. Not bad since everything including the race car is part of the package.”

Wow, even u race all the matches you only spend RM171,438 for a VW Sirocco race car~! Is even cheaper to buy a new 1 in Malaysia which cost around RM250k…

• rally_fan on Jun 22, 2010 at 9:50 am

the package doesn’t include the car. this is like porsche asia cup. you pay to “arrive and drive”. basically, the organiser handles everything for you.

the fees is for entry to all rounds, use of fully prepared race car at each round, mechanics, repairs for wear and tear items only, race tuning, lubricants, race suit, driver coaching(if needed), driver insurance.

you still need to pay your own travel, accomodation, and any damage to the cars.

at the end of the season, all you’re left with is the experience, race suit, photos, media coverage and any trophies you might have won (lighter wallet too of course).

• Vios User on Jun 21, 2010 at 9:24 pm

i saw a blue Sirocco last week. It’s beautiful. More “out-standing” than a Golf !