Lexus Malaysia to recall LS 460 for valve spring issue

Lexus Malaysia has announced that it will be recalling about 100 units of the Lexus LS460 in Malaysia for a Special Service Campaign to address the improper functioning of valve springs found in the LS460’s V8 engine. Lexus will be calling up its customers to make appointments to carry out the corrective measures.

In other countries, there are V6 models in other cars such as the Lexus GS that are affected as well, but our Malaysian Market Lexus GS 300 is not affected by the valve spring problem. For the V8, it only affects engines manufactured between August 2006 to July 2008.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 100 units of LS460 sold?

Malaysians are a bunch of rich lots.

• myvec on Jul 06, 2010 at 6:14 pm

Well, its Toyota the most reliable car in the world. World #1 unbeaten.

• yeah.

i read in the newspaper too.

anyhoo, it’s Bree’s car! lol!

• LOL!

• botorn on Jul 07, 2010 at 2:21 pm

TC should recall their’s too coz its got problem but they’re just keeping quiet.

• Michael Ammot on Jul 06, 2010 at 5:08 pm

what about the lexus purchase from grey importer?does Lexus Malaysia include them to this issue?

• Funny. Those expensive, famous and luxury car (as posted previously) have to recall back to repair their faulty. Now LS460. Aiyoh. Scary la buy modern cars. Luckily my current car still OK even 13 years old

• corupt policitian malaysian…real malaysian poor like beggar

• Kraft on Jul 06, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Something like this.

http://www.autoblog.com/2010/07/02/whats-really-going-on-with-toyotas-faulty-valve-springs-w-vi/

• Toyota ‘d better consult a Feng Shui Sifu….

• Lexus = S O H A I on Jul 06, 2010 at 6:05 pm

New car buka engine change valve spring. Hahaha. Nice feeling.

• 100 units is not their total. “… for a Special Service Campaign…”

Who knows the real numbers. Also, 100 units is not very much for a country.

• adlanar on Jul 07, 2010 at 1:10 pm

… hats off to the creative team that rebrands “Faulty Product Recall”. dont think you’ll get the car serviced anyway. they’ll just replace the affected part…

• Jason on Jul 06, 2010 at 6:19 pm

How are they going to rectify the problem?
    Does Lexus just replace only the valve spring?
    Valve spring is some sort of mechanical problems in the engine itself!!!

• BMALOI on Jul 06, 2010 at 9:01 pm

The problem has been rectified based on their batch of parts used for the batch of cars manufactured.

Do you expect a new engine as a replacement? Good luck to all owners then.

• lazyf on Jul 06, 2010 at 6:21 pm

human error…

• Kington on Jul 06, 2010 at 6:24 pm

Personally, there’s no doubt that the Lex is still somewhat a couple of blocks away from the S and the 7 but I was very amazed with the smoothness and efficiency of the engine and drivetrain. The new 7 is still my favourite in this class.

• Neonda on Jul 06, 2010 at 6:53 pm

“Lexus”…not much people comment eh even got engine and quality problem…?
    You pay Hundred thousand car to get this recall issue..? adeh..
    i cant imagine if this problem fall under “Proton” brand..sure those basher kaw kaw bash..hahaaa..haih Malaysian Malaysian..

• taboogen on Jul 07, 2010 at 12:32 am

totally agree. Its Malaysian attitude… they said the G is corrupted but what I feel is we are spoon fed too much already.

• Maserati on Jul 06, 2010 at 7:03 pm

100 units of LS460 sold and you say Msians are a bunch of rich lots? You gotta be kidding me!

• turbonetics on Jul 06, 2010 at 7:48 pm

yeah….same as camry,technical error…even a gigantic car manufacturer have failed…damn

• Parang Kajang on Jul 06, 2010 at 8:53 pm

From the failure picture it is poor material selection. Shear and brittle fracture of the spring. If it is Proton sure the engineer got sleepless night…..I wonder what are the Board members in Toyota doing….let the management running wild and award the “right” vendor to supply the spring ?? Reduce cost increase profit….he..he..he Award the cheapest…LOL

• BMALOI on Jul 06, 2010 at 8:55 pm

Recall is just a correction measure, if the manufacturer didn’t sound to customers at all, it will be treated as wear and tear. Will our local manufacturer recall their mistakes??? it is all about customer satisfaction, perfection and resposibility.

As long as the brands you can name them, I am sure there have been recalls due to workmanships and designs. One cannot notice at once until the occurrences of the defect.

Really pity for those new car that need to do the recall replacement.

Cheers.

• Jeffrey on Jul 06, 2010 at 9:17 pm

NOT LIKELY, WILL CERTAINLY GOING TO COST THEM AN ATOM BOMB BILL LAH…. LOL

• the_power_of_dreams on Jul 06, 2010 at 9:55 pm

camry may be well refined and comfy….mazda 6 may be loaded to the ‘brim’ with gadgets to woo buyers…but honda still makes the best engines in its class, by a mile!
    but to be frank, these japs have had it easy for years…hope Hyundai will give them a run for their money with the new sonata

• Rhys Millen on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Yes and when Berjaya exits the market you can be sure the used car market of the vehicle will collapse … Heads up on all those who bought the Mazda 3 …. CKD coming soon….

• buy new 800k LS460 less than 2 years need to overhaul already?

• the valve spring replacement will take almost 3 days, so it will be done carefully by trained techs. the culprit the valve spring suplier, where they used bad meterials for their construction. read in yahoo news, each car will cost lexus 800+ USD, go find a workshop that will charge u rm3000 just for some valve springs.

• Toyota has learn another lesson again and again, new design but old engine still got a lots of supporter, wish all of them good luck.

• We bought the LS460L for its reliability and technology. If I was just after the brand snob factor, I would be driving the S500 or 745iL. But one recall after another for the LS460L is eating into my confidence of the car. At this rate, I might as well just bite the bullet and move on.

• taboogen on Jul 07, 2010 at 12:35 am

What do you expect from Japanese manufacturer. They are giant already mah… Malaysia people think they are GOD already. Even the car look uglier then ever with problem also they still buy.. coz why it is expensive car and exclusive….

• BMW M-Problem on Jul 07, 2010 at 10:17 am

Good on Lexus… Dont make the consumer pay for it and claim it as a normal wear and tear…….sound familiar…..

Lexus is responsible and accountable to his customers… I cant say the same for other makes….

• paultan fan on Jul 07, 2010 at 2:32 pm

yes, very familar there. the rest are quite selfish acts.

• Mur7hy on Jul 07, 2010 at 12:43 pm

for the price you pay… merc it is!!

• Norman on Jul 07, 2010 at 1:23 pm

Eye opener for those who think Jap and Conti car are kings.Not to mention Honda and Toyota too.

• rally_fan on Jul 09, 2010 at 3:31 pm

LOL, and what has a lexus recall got to do with conti cars??

• i thought i saw an ad last time saying toyotas can never break down? i guess that doesn’t apply to their lexus mark.

lexus….the pursuit of pure profit!!

• rally_fan on Jul 09, 2010 at 3:33 pm

you’ve forgotten the millions of toyotas recalled just recently…

• Vtec Honda on Jul 07, 2010 at 10:12 pm

Lousy toyota, bad engine, old fashion dashboard, camry use wooden like old man taste. Go for honda look advance interior exterior, no recall issues more cheapear,
    dun understand why all still prefer Toyota, expensive but lousy..

• Now -profit come first then reliability
    Was- buit till last..

look on the same brand before 90’s

• cut cost
    cut cost
    cut cost

problem coming….

so bad…

• ktas09 on Jul 08, 2010 at 9:34 am

Recall is totally not a big deal. Far better than local manufacturer most familiar quotes ” Biasa la ni bang. Bunyi sikit-sikit. Lama-lama hilang la bunyi “.

• WinMo6.5 on Jul 08, 2010 at 2:57 pm

Those who brought from grey importer really suck big time tis time, hv to fork out own money to fix this!

• Jason on Jul 08, 2010 at 5:35 pm

We all can’t accept this kind of engine problems. Furthermore this is a famous luxury car!!
    If this machine were the plane then what will happen to the plane when the engine shut-off in mid air??

• At least Toyota has the guts to admit their on mistakes and took further actions to rectify the problems. And here we have people saying our local car is even better because no recall? Heck, they have abundant problems that doing a recall is not possible at all. Haha. Hint: power window.

• Steven Paul - Test Drive Technologies on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:59 pm

I look at a lot of these LS’s and the majority of them I look at have a lot of noise int he top end of the motors. I won’t be surprised to see this come to the U.S. for recalls as well… Just another sign of Lexus cutting corners like the rest of the industry.