200hp Skoda Octavia VRS spotted in Glenmarie!

Click for enlarged image

This is something quite interesting indeed. Reader Shaikh was at Bermaz Glenmarie getting his car services when he spotted this car, completely uncovered with its bumper protectors still stuck on. It’s a Skoda Octavia VRS, which is basically the Czech marque’s take on the Volkswagen Golf GTI.

Like the Golf GTI, the Octavia VRS is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged direct injection engine. The VRS engine makes 200 bhp and 280Nm of torque, which is about the same power levels as the Mk5 Golf GTI. Unlike the Golf, the Octavia has a boot. It still has a hatch though, making it something like a Wira Aeroback type of body.

2 transmissions are available – a manual or a DSG, both 6-speeders. The picture above is the only photo we’ve got right now so we don’t know if this is a stick shift or a twin clutch. I’m wondering if this is a one-off import or are there plans to make this a model for sale here in Malaysia. Currently the highest spec Octavia on sale here that we know of is the 200FSi, which uses a normally aspirated direct injection 2.0 litre engine. We’ve had no communication with AutoPrahar in the recent years.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ericmaxman on Aug 06, 2010 at 1:32 pm

very interesting…. since its a Skoda, second hand prices are bound to be cheap~

• mitlanevo on Aug 06, 2010 at 4:28 pm

that’s mainly because of typical Malaysians like u who is always so proud of your overhyped T and H……

• hey dats a serious accusation, what proof do u have that indicates he is in the “group of people who so proud of overhyped T and H”?

he might be just a person like us, who know that T and H cars are just another rip off hence making the statement above

lets be mature in our comments.

cheers.

• mitlanevo on Aug 06, 2010 at 8:34 pm

that is obviously a sentence of Malaysians who is always “my neighbour buy Vios so I buy Vios” kind of person……

that’s why great brands/manufacturers like Alfa, Skoda, Audi, Volvo (just to name a few) can suffer in bolehland, thus resulting in low 2nd hand value……

talk about maturity, LMAO~

• They just know which car to get as it is easier to sell a T & H than let say, a Skoda? Seriously, compare the parts, after service and etc. It’s the you know who (if you dunno, it’s the dealers and license holders, and also as well the some top top groups) to blame that why these cars suffer from 2nd hand value. BTW, I love Audi.

• Someone on Oct 06, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Hello, he just mentioned that T & H are a rip-off. So why are u still so mad at him?

• hanzroid on Aug 08, 2010 at 11:10 am

People who got money don,t care bout maintenance nor 2nd hand value, satisfaction is their concern…lambroghini also got no 2nd value, but still cam sell here..: )

• Paul Tan on Aug 06, 2010 at 1:33 pm

Wah car never launch also talking about 2nd hand prices :P

• torque on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:48 am

That’s just another proof of common Malaysian thinking Paul, not to say they were wrong but they just don’t being exposed enuff to other great brand. For example, the Skoda Superb is one of the best model within Skoda with it’s excellent turbo diesel power engine. 138 bhp and 320 nm of torque, plus it’s really spacious at the rear. This car is better than Camry, even Autocar UK and Top Gear Mag likes it!

• ericmaxman on Aug 06, 2010 at 1:36 pm

Skoda ma~ u know the Fabia 1.4..second hand value really teruk, but the car is quite decent.. so the same might apply for this one.. just guessing..

• pomen_gtr on Aug 09, 2010 at 8:40 am

fabia used by WRC team a few years ago….

older octavia also same….

only in malaysia this brand not famous.. (rally guys would remember skoda felcia 1.4 rally car wayyyy back then)

in europe this brand is quite stable….

• nebula87 on Aug 06, 2010 at 1:38 pm

Walao…y the design copy merz ?

• toktok on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:13 pm

Oh my how lucky for us if we get the VRS, which is essentially a golf with a skoda badge. If we do i hope the prices will reflect that equally and the stupid car dealers will flog it at bargain prices, and id be able to afford a golf gti in a skoda body.

• mr_3m on Aug 06, 2010 at 8:19 pm

me too.. me too… dont mind if can get hold a pre-owned one…

• Jaybond on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Mana ada copy Merc..original maa. It’s quite a surprise that Skoda brand still could survive in Malaysia, given the rather almost unknown badge for most Malaysians. But the Skoda cars are solidly built nonetheless. Quality should be on par with German marques.

• littlefire on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:23 pm

Haven seen the newer Skoda Superb on Malaysian roads…

• alldisc on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:31 pm

seat and skoda are both in VW group. i will go for Seat anytime rather than Skoda. but their latest model Yeti looks quite itneresting.

• torque on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:58 am

Seat mostly cater for younger market since the company itself focusing very much of their hatch range. Skoda meanwhile is focusing their attention towards young exec and middle class market which concern value for money cars.

alldisc, u may like Seat (I respect that) but if u read most magazine reports, VW likes (even cares) Skoda more than Seat (VW even think want to let go Seat at one time) b’coz Skoda cars are built excellently and Skoda itself makes PROFIT while Seat ain’t!

• fornette on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:39 pm

This is indeed a very good car.. a non-pretender “premium” brand. Let’s just hope the rakyat will start to consider shifting their interest to these kind of brand. More of them on the road translates to cheaper maintenance = better resale value..

• deGonggok on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:29 pm

I have the mark 1 octavia. Buying Audi part is cheaper for replacement. Maintenance after 7 years not an issue.

• Alpha on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:29 pm

i still rmb reading Autocar or TopGear wher they had a battle between Bentley Flying Spur,Merc S-Class and Skoda Superb.and the Skoda Superb kinda won the battle.the rear is huge and they said the quality is top notch.how surprising is that~!!but the only thing Skoda lacks is the image.The brand doesn’t sound appealing in Malaysia and the looks will only attract uncles..

• torque on Aug 07, 2010 at 9:00 am

Blame the marketing ppl of the dealership here…

• mitlanevo on Aug 08, 2010 at 1:34 pm

but before that, blame the consumer 1st, for worshiping T and H., as well as B and MB…

• skcar on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:37 pm

I own a Skoda Superb for years. So for you ppl, pls keep buying japs.

• toktok on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:48 pm

Skoda’s are solid cars cuz they just rebodied audis and volkswagens. If you look at Seat’s new Exeo it is actually a 100 times better than the crappy last generation Audi A4 it was based on. Apparently the Skoda superb is also good but only depending on the price in malaysia, cuz its a rebodied passat.

Also Lingams chilli sauce is used by the british army to spice of their bland food on the field

• Skoda – Revive in Malaysia……

• BeemerFreak on Aug 06, 2010 at 4:54 pm

I received news too about the launch of the Golf and Scirocco 1.4Tsi in September , the Passat CC 5 seater and the Toureg launching this month. Is it true Paul????

• torque on Aug 07, 2010 at 9:07 am

Golf…YES (with price at RM155,888)…Scirocco…DON’T KNOW YET…Passat CC 5 Seater…YES (Arrival after raya)…Touareg…maybe but I think VW will just hold it till end of the year with delivery takes next year…why? Like it? Wanna buy? E-mail me lor! ;-)

• mitlanevo on Aug 08, 2010 at 1:35 pm

is the passat 5 seater cheaper than the ‘normal’ one? or more expensive?

• lancer_must_buy on Aug 06, 2010 at 5:49 pm

i think gomen auto policy is slowly changing, thats why they started to bring exciting cars in, and proton have to go back to rebatch business. :) slowly they will open the car market!!!

• mr_3m on Aug 06, 2010 at 6:33 pm

I remember reading somewhere about Skoda importer/distributor telling that they will launch their high performance vRS versions in Malaysia in order to boost their profile & presence but I can’t remember where… so the vRS really are coming… albeit discreetly though… Skoda vRS are definitely awesome low-profile high performance car…. watch out for the Fabia vRS coming soon!!! (And that one is the cheaper twin brother of the latest Polo GTi!)

Wait a second! Now it’s clicking, have anyone seen the advert on the high performance German engineering coming soon on one of the papers? That advert could be for the Skoda launching the vRS!!!

• jolly_idiot on Aug 06, 2010 at 7:03 pm

A rare species. Hardly can get 1. Wonder if something broke, will it get a fix easily?

• Quasar Carriage will be relaunching the Skoda brand with a big bang very soon. Berjaya is very serious this time. Hope they get their pricing right.

Also heard that Berjaya has the rights to Aston Martin and will convert part of its Mazda Federal Highway premises into an Aston Martin showroom.

• kevin62 on Aug 06, 2010 at 8:09 pm

I like skoda very much. I have a remapped skoda superb, its really awesome. Maintenance is so cheap. Below Rm400 for 10000km Fully Syn, filter and some checking. Now is touching 100000km. I spent more on my Peugeot 406 rather than skoda.

• Tiadaid on Aug 06, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Below 400? Be careful, otherwise some T fan would seriously counter you with the tale of how his T’s maintenance much cheaper than that….

• mitlanevo on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:03 am

so what? Skoda is much better than T, anytime anyday……

• James Lee Yik Hon on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:25 am

my vios servis baru rm200 nia… u know why so cheap? becos aaa i went to the ah pek garage under the tree one, he oso charge me for rm 50 for that big bang muffler, becos aaa loud noise===big powar!!!!

• nice.. one of my favorite.

• fariz on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:46 pm

this car was parked outside a mosque in putrajaya during friday prayers today! I had a peek inside and saw ‘DSG’ on the gear shifter. Plus, there was a card-thingy hung near d rear window which read ‘pandu uji jpj’. Go figure

• Anti Proton on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:48 pm

finally i can teach those golf gti drivers some manners

• eeeriz on Aug 08, 2010 at 3:35 pm

Golf GTI’s advantage is the handling. Even my T5 can’t quite keep up with GTI at B road, though the power is to my advantage. So, vRS’s prowess is remained to be seen and tested.

• Anti Proton on Aug 08, 2010 at 11:04 pm

i wonder who is the lucky guy, he may not get much respect and admiration the less knowledgeable in cars. but among the few of us that know about cars. i have total respect for him.

• Don’t forget to bring the combi rs as well. Currently use the fabia combi. Solid and tough!! Agreed for its reliability. Look really decent but under the hood is like a beast waiting for party!! Like it… Hope the price would be competitive to other vw/audi marques or hyundai sonata may be..

• apada on Aug 08, 2010 at 12:37 am

dun think anyone here will buy skoda, hihihi.

• hanzroid on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:01 pm

No AP holders will bring brands that cannot sell..they know the market better than us.

• sleme on Aug 08, 2010 at 1:44 am

I am the one who took the picture. Should have taken more. Car just arrived, going through checks apparently. They are targeting price below golf. Hopefully sub-200k. The vrs had the 6 spped dsg with paddle shift like the gti. For all intends and purposes it is a mk5 gti in a sedan form. If sub-200k, may seriously affect gti’s residuals. It came with 18 inch wheels. As an Octavia 200fsi owner, i felt that the new design is sharper and the intrerior quite tastefully updated. Hopefully the pricing will be right. Rumour is that 30 units are coming in first.

There was also the new Superb. Nice. Cool trick boot. It was the 1.8T.

• apada on Aug 08, 2010 at 10:37 am

skoda? skodeng? skodeng vrs?

• Maserati on Aug 08, 2010 at 12:04 pm

Buying a skoda is like buying a Fiat without the good looks.Always overpriced and badly designed

Nice to drive ,nice to sit in when new.If anything breaks down,then good luck in repairing it cuz it will cost a bomb and you will need to wait ages for spare parts.

And then you will be beggin people to buy your car when you want to sell it off.If still cannot,sell it below market price and wait if ppl will be interested .

• idiot on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:20 am

you owned one before? Stop talking out of your arse.
      The Octavia has the same mechanicals as the Jetta and the Golf Mk V. Shares the same parts other than body panels. I take it that the Jetta and the Golf are badly designed as well huh?
      Owned my Superb for a couple of years now, never had any problems with it or difficulty in finding parts since it is an A4 inside with a 1.8T engine.
      Tell you what…do us a favour… go back to your toyota

• hanzroid on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:56 am

Yep, for those who are always got a budget limitation, always got problems to fixed their car, even they just using proton.

• Anti Proton on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:00 pm

nonsense. your maserati is just as unreliable and it costs 8 times more

• Skodafan on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:30 am

Hey guys, you can check out the SKODA VRS review below from a Singapore Website.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=141

Just for everyone’s reading pleasure.

• apada on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:31 am

this car ar, use inside kl ok la but outside not good coz spare part rarity. wanna tow this car back to kl every time it broken down? haiyaa, manyak leceh lor. Mechanic in gua musang will laugh at you if your skoda broke in the middle of road there coz they cannot do anything. Alfa, fiat, saab olso good but only few dare to buy..haha. Need to take risk mgt course.

• deGonggok on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:54 pm

As before, I used the 2000 model for 7 years and drove it around Malaysia (West). As of today no issue. From almost everyone spare parts for any car are expensive.

Except for body part the rest is compatible with Golf and Audi.

• i seriously in love with skoda till i bought 2 skoda of my own octavia fsi and fabia it wass indeed really smooth ride and now i’m wondering to get this sexy octavia vrs in yellow gosh how much the pricing would be,,,,as the new 2010 skoda superb i’ve seen on youtube it have park assist which can park ur car in auto mode means u just sit back and relax while it parking on its own,,,ohhh skoda u can really trust coz it has a long journey in making cars since 1905 it really dependable even in europe they appraising skoda as other hi-res manufacturer such merc,vw etc,,

• As a former employee of Skoda UK I would love to own an Octavia RS……the fun factor alone would be priceless !

• New Octavia vRS costs around RM190k…

I’ve been driving Octavia FSi for 5 years and already clocked 190k (mileage)…and still running as new..:)

New Superb costs around RM210k.

Now, aiming for vRS…

• skoda fan on Jan 18, 2011 at 4:42 pm

I am proud to own and drive a Skoda

• suhaimi on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:24 am

am driving a skoda octavia FSI, good solid car but everybody’s telling me the maintenance will kill me later.