Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI with 160 PS – RM155,888

For a long time the Golf GTI has been the only way to get the Golf body from Volkswagen Malaysia. It sold a ‘Golf’, but that Golf was actually the Golf Plus with a higher roofline and etc. The only way to get a regular Golf 1.6 was through grey importers like Wald.

A non-GTI Golf can now be ordered at Volkswagen showrooms, though deliveries will come later. The specs list is impressive – a 1.4 litre TSI direct injection dual force inducted engine, 160 PS, 240Nm torque, 7-speed dual clutch DSG transmission, dual zone automatic climate control, an 8 speaker sound system, ABS, EBD, ESP stability control, TCS traction control, a multi-function steering wheel with ‘DSG control’ (I’m assuming you can change gears from the steering), 16 inch “Atlanta” wheels (pic on left) and a grand total of 7 airbags.

It’s RM155,888 price tag also includes a “Light & Sound Package” which specifies the following extra equipment – bi-xenon headlamps, dynamic cornering lights, dynamic headlight range adjustment, front foglamps, a headlight cleaning system, and an USB//iPod media connectivity interface. I’m assuming that there will be a cheaper model later without the Light & Sound package otherwise it wouldn’t be listed as optional, but the price list only lists the RM155,888 model with the Light & Sound package for now.

Look after the jump for the brochure and price list.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• spiller on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:10 am

Nice. What about Polo?

• pororo on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:01 am

hmm…. in the spec it says the engine can take RON95,,,,, wow!!!!

• alamak on Aug 09, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Yeah i’ve been using RON95 on my MK5 GTI for 6 months now without any issue. Previously was using Vpower and i occasionally get “Check Engine Light”.

• type-R kaki on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:19 am

why using V-power the “check engine light” is ON? Golf GTI can drink RON 95 but if pump V-power I thought no problem also.

• alamak on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:03 pm

I dunno. Perhaps its the quality of the vpower stock at the pump. Perhaps not many ppl buy so the quality drop, or perhaps got sediment from the bottom of the tank.

Ever since i remap ecu to apr stage 1 ron95 mode, i’ve been pumping ron95 and there’s no issue with it. More power, more economical and also cheaper fuel :)

• altezza on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:24 am

same with my altezza… seem the old v-power doesn’t suit it.. always giving the engine knock.. but with the new v-power97 seem fine. event can get extra everage 50km…

• VW_fan on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:14 am

Nice optional model for those who cannot afford the GTI. This is no slouch either.

• Thomas Heng on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:14 am

wow~ very competitive pricing and spec…more choice for malaysia beside japanese car or rising korean~

• Sigh, too bad I have already bought my car. However, I have to agree that the price is really affordable!

• someone on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:51 am

hmm… I would say it’s ‘reasonable’ instead of ‘affordable’?

• junaidi on Aug 09, 2010 at 3:17 pm

depends who’s saying it.

• MINI FREAK! on Aug 09, 2010 at 6:04 pm

it’s affordable to most of us.

• gimmeone on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:45 pm

reasonable would be the way to go, affordable maybe for you, statistic shows that only the top 10% of the population (economically) can afford a 160 k car. so kudos for you to be in the top 10% of the population

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:31 am

for the kind of technology that goes into it … and the warranty period that they are offering, and quality of built and driving experience i wud say relatively to a merz / beemer, to enjoy german driving pleasure, it is reasonable.

drive a german car or european … very hard to adapt to driving jap again, unless driving the high end jap lar.. like Lexus feel close like a german at certain speed. else jap still drive like a jap. how to explain it… you have to feel it. :)

german car:
      merz, beemer, opel, vw, audi, porsche, though skoda is Czech … but VW tech… so close la.

• P1 Lost. on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:23 am

Definately on the high side.
    If only P1 had sealed a JV with VW,
    i can bet we would be driving one under 100K.
    Thanks DSZ for where P1 is now. !!!

• Zahar Zain on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:15 am

Respect your views but you can’t just blame DSZ when he has to approach the negotiations with one hand tied behind his back. Too many “unseen hands” uttering “unspoken words” in the name of national interests which favours overpricing vendors and suppliers which are not TUV compliant….

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:34 am

too much interference from the government la…
        government should set policies and rise standard; that’s all they shud do… and let the car company compete.

but pathetically most p1 and p2 has worst safety ratings when comes to accident… rakyat life worth alot less than they pocket … *SAD??

what can we do?? ….
        change the government la…

• Tiadaid on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:29 am

How do you know that if P1 sealed the JV with VW it would be beneficial? Maybe VW only want to exploit Proton? We don’t no for sure. For now just remember this, if life gives you lemon, make lemonade!

• duracell on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:37 pm

wat kinda quote is that ?

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 6:53 pm

dont mind him, it just sour grapes, if they agreed to JV he would singing VW praises to high heaven, can drive proton gti lah! proton will have touareg lah! blah blah! so now he defends proton for rebadging Lancers lor. but a golf for that kind of money in this reality we are in thanks to proton, rm155k is abit of stretch but surely a much better value car than a mini cooper, no?

• Simon Har on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:26 am

i might choose this over Camry! (although in different class)

• lkf0512 on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:37 am

At least Golf is more ergonomic, petrol saving and has more airbags than “premium” Jap cars!

• budleee on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:33 am

wow.. this certainly makes this car more affordable..

amen, to europeans with their small turbo charged engines, to work around the taxing according to CC of engine :)

• nabill on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:34 am

superb car , no other car feels as solid as the golf , watever engine….plz test drive n believe

• Anti Proton on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:38 am

actually the price isn’t too bad…..

• …5yrs unlimited mileage is so good! hope every other car sellers can match it…seats all leather rite??

• spiller on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:00 am

Paul, on the website they did mention price for Golf 1.4 starts at RM148,888. So I assume this will be without the additional “Light & Sound” package.

• trav_da_man on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:09 am

Honestly i drooling at this. Provided I have the budget for a camry, i pick this anytime!

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:36 am

dfferent class la.. i mean size. sit at the back and immediately you notice golf is a drivers car… and not a passenger car la. if they could just price passat same price as camry… now that will be good for all malaysian.

younger generation are more educated now at least knew how to do research and acquire more knowledge. so soon… T&H has to do better in their product than just rely on their brandname

• phas3r on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:22 am

the passat/passatCC is faster than bmw 320i,323i, audi a4 1.8T and merc c200k. yet priced lower.

• Passat CC is a stupid car lar…

No comfortable rear passenger seat and who want a coupe with VW badge?

• kenji on Aug 11, 2010 at 8:04 pm

what talking you… Benz CLS is a coupe also… why not call that stupid as well? :x

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 6:54 pm

passat CC! nice!

• Old 2005 Wald Golf 1.6 old engine still change hand at c.RM90,000. Not bad, huh. Imagine with Golf GT engine Golf really even worth to own. If demand for Raya so good for this Golf no need for VGM to offer Civic-price Golf.

Kudos VGM.

• phas3r on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:58 am

is it the poor man’s gti ?
    then again is like saying all 3 series out there as poor man’s m3

still waiting for golf r, scirocco r, golf 1.4 122PS, and last but not least polo gti

• losaa on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:20 am

poor man drive kancil only/viva

• Espresso! Quick! on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:33 am

nolah, not poor man’s gti. they will all have their attractions. actually, it is good for these new variants to dubut as the buying public has more choice now.

• alamak on Aug 09, 2010 at 5:39 pm

Are you going to buy all those vw models u are waiting for??

• phas3r on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:24 am

i will test drive all and upgrade from mk5 gti. those R models i mean

• if you say this is a poor man’s GTi
    why not just make it this way

not everyone needs 210ps
    (for example my sister, she might just want a solid and safe car for her to punter around town, goto work, etc)
    this is also true with some of the GTis sold, mostly are driven by wifes and mistresses :P

they dont even know what the car is capable of

• mr.young on Aug 09, 2010 at 8:54 pm

no,my mom drive a gti,and she drive at 210 KM/H at the highway

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:40 am

is a figure of speech … most women don’t appreciate what they are driving, they are just care less. Car is a tool … what they are more particular is color, miror, and shoes cabinet inside the car. no offence ladies/women.

• Vincent on Aug 09, 2010 at 8:57 am

Alternatively, people still can get 308, add RM 5K to tune up …can get 170 hp like what the mini coupe S ler…

• torque on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:17 am

Correct but u get what u’ve paid for…for example, the Golf has 7 Speed DSG vs. 4 Speed only 308 (good for fuel comp.), 0-100 in 8 Secs, more hp compare to the 308 (160 vs.120), more torque and the best part is this car will have cheaper roadtax than 1.6 308 even it still under subsidy.

• Espresso! Quick! on Aug 09, 2010 at 6:28 pm

i believe the 308 turbo has 140hp and also 240nm of torque. so it only loses out in the number of gears and the 20hp. torque is same. situation should change if the 6 speed 308 turbo arrives… that is if lah. that should be good for 156hp. not too far away from the golf. so far, no info tho.

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:41 am

you mean the Peugeot RCZ ??

• You forgot the most important part – French makes are NO MATCH for German, in terms of built quality, technology, desirability and even resale ….

so puh leese, try not to compare a Pug with a Veedub …. it just aint the same.

• alamak on Aug 09, 2010 at 5:44 pm

U can still get the Golf 1.4 TSI and pay RM 4k for a ecu remap and get similar power / torque with stock GTI.

http://www.goapr.com/products/ecu_upgrade_14tsi_twin.html

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:45 am

… GTI parts has different endurance threshold, mostly is heat endurance… parts succumb to higher temperature that its manufacture threshold, the durability will reduce and reliability becomes an issue. moving parts or joining parts succumb to higher vibrations… and things will start to get irritating when driving. and these only applies to german la… where they use to make things that last a life time. … not anymore.

• loollool on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:41 pm

308 and 308THP are different engine…

only the turbo 308 is same and can tuned up with cooper S~

• still a bad ass car..with low road tax,low fuel consumption(than a GTI),i would choose this over a GTI anytime..

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:57 am

imagine fuel price at RM2.70… I remember at that time, the morning traffic is also lighter… and i believe that is the trend la.

By the time the petrol price is averaging at MYR 2.70-2.80 to a liter of Ron 95… which our neighbouring country is paying; everyone would downsize the smaller engine, having a car that return 15km/liter or higher and yet still powerful enough to drive and have at least 4 car NCAP crash test (pity those who lost their life in P1/P2 car)!!. because kena langgar than langgar tiang.

RON 95 price a liter as of end of July
      Indonesia – 7000 IDR ~ 2.53MYR
      Singapore – 1.80 SGD ~ 4.05MYR
      Thailand – 31.24 Baht ~ 3.08MYR
      Philippines – 42 PHP ~ 2.95MYR
      Vietnam – 16,380 VHD ~ 2.70MYR
      Australia – 1.26 AUD ~ 3.63MYR

• what about comparing to the middle east countries i.e. Kuwait,or Burnei nearer to home.

• sayapdewa on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:10 am

pergh…very competitive prices…all the way polo, golf and scirocco make their debut in malaysia soon with affordable conti cars..watch out JDM!!

would be good if the passat cc also has good price for us…c’mon VW!!

• Andrew on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:31 am

Been waiting for this for a looooooong time… going to place a booking for this… woohoo!

• dizzy on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:56 am

What about Passat CC 1.8TSI @ RM 198,888???
    5 Seater???

• mufasa on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:23 am

if they remove that auto parking…they could reduce the price….but what a passat without auto parking?

• dizzy on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Well, VW S’pore is offering this variant. 1.8TSI..

So if VW M’sia offers 1.8TSI with 5 yrs warranty, it will be a seal!

• phas3r on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:30 am

that sounds good. but imagine a passatCC with this 1.4TSI. 160PS 240Nm means that its more powerful and torquer than bmw 320i(156PS 200Nm). only problem is the blind people who go out and say “haiyoo so expensive but 1.4 only??”

• toktok on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:59 am

whoop! brilliant step in the right direction. A bit pricey but hopefully prices will come down and second hand values will make it extremely affordable.
    an excellent car.
    id get it anytime over a GTI

• alamak on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:11 pm

The second hand value for the GOLF GTI MK5 is really holding strong. 2007 models only losing 20% value. Almost the same can be said for most VW models.

With 5 years unlimited mileage warranty, it will only strengthen the resale value of your VW.

• Ordinary Joe on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:18 am

Oh wow… its finally here! Superb! On my target list of next car! Need to work a bit harder :-) Just one minor thing… VW : if, ur looking… Can we have cruise control?

• Choongchoong on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:44 pm

Just see Vw Mesia website, they say dis golf also got cruise control wor..

• The Golf 1.4 TSI does come with cruise control. Something that does not come with the GTI!

• klaka seram on Aug 11, 2010 at 1:44 pm

does it has flat bottom steering wheel?

• Jonathan on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:57 am

This could be a direct competition to the mighty Focus TDCi. Additional RM30K premium over brand image (Ford vs. VW), both are ‘Green’ and efficient engines, + extra airbags, gear ratio , and features definitely worth it for those who is afford to own one of these warmhatches……….

• Tiadaid on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:11 am

Just for fun, I went to Volkswagen UK website to check out how much the car would be with similar spec over there in the “Open Market” (they have a vehicle configurator that allows you to spec the car to your liking). Having specced it out to the closest spec I could get (apparently their 1.4 TSI engine produce “only” 122PS), it costs RM 101,648.18 (20,225.00 GBP)…would you believe they offer electric rear windows and floor mats as OPTIONS over there?

But if you work in the UK, then that’s a different matter. Gotta start searching for vacancies in London!

• torque on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:24 am

Hahaha…add another 7,500 pound roughly dah dapat Focus RS but then again, 7 n a half k in UK is awfully lots of quid lads!

• but u got German engineering, quality..even it less 7k

• Tiadaid on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:21 pm

But Focus isn’t half bad, the best selling car in the UK for 10 years running, beaten only by its smaller sibling the Fiesta

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:05 pm

bro, you should take it for test drive at the jalan ipoh dealership, they take you on high speed run on duke highway and jalan duta! damn syok! after you try sure you will buy! lol!

• Anti Proton on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:33 pm

haha yea we can’t exactly get the same stuff…..they only have the dsg for the SEL model

• alamak on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:12 pm

The 1.4 TSI has 2 type. Single turbo charger, or the twin charger (supercharger, turbocharger).

We are getting the better twincharger version :)

• What is the different between Polo and Golf??? I think Golf is more like that higher version???

• junaidi on Aug 09, 2010 at 3:19 pm

gearing, seating position, suspension. Need VW owners to confirm this.

• name maybe..hehe..go ask VW lor…

• Ten sri muham on Aug 09, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Polo is like City, Golf is like Civic. GTI is like Civic Type R. Golf R is like Civic Mugen Type RR.

• The Golf has a much bigger legroom for backseat passengers.

• loollool on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Polo is you whack the ball while you riding a horse..

Golf is u whack the ball with your feet on the grass field…

• Thomas Heng on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:55 pm

bigger in size…polo just like hatchback vios/city or jazz yaris. golf is just like hatchback civic/altis. Jetta is a golf with boot.

• Pity Ford Fiesta…not fierce star anymore if they going to fight with mighty VW.

• YeapyEvo on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:03 pm

Fiesta is competing with Polo, I agree that people wouldn’t mind to fork out another 20k for a German CBU with the DSG and Turbo

• Tiadaid on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Fiesta’s not in the same class as the Golf. The Focus is in the same class as the Golf, if I’m not mistaken.

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:09 pm

yes, correct. golf v focus. fiesta v polo. but fiesta has esp and dual clutch tranny at a sub 100k price! polo mana ada?! anyway, both are german design bah!

• klaka seram on Aug 11, 2010 at 10:36 pm

but one CBU german, the other CBU sawadikap
          which one u choose?? ;)

• dickybird on Aug 12, 2010 at 10:27 am

aiseh still tough call, both cbu mah. cbu where is not the only thing to consider, so choose wisely lor.

• Johnny on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:11 pm

is this CBU? RM120k++ would be the right price for this car. RM158k++ is understandable thou.

• Tiadaid on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Hard, because even in the UK a similar spec Golf cost RM 100K…

• Vezeroth on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:28 pm

yeah, and everyone still thinks its “cheap” our poor uneducated consumers… they like paying more

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:04 am

you are right again like what you have posted in polo comment vezeroth … government should have forgo excise duty on car, to make car price like our neighbouring country; and float the petrol price; that way everyone can afford descent car that sip petrol, and draw a standard that all cars should carry at least 4 airbag and passed NCAP 3 star above.

By the time the petrol price is averaging at MYR 2.70-2.80 to a liter of Ron 95… which our neighbouring country is paying; everyone would downsize the smaller engine, having a car that return 15km/liter or higher and yet still powerful enough to drive and have at least 4 car NCAP crash test (pity those who lost their life in P1/P2 car)!!. because kena langgar than langgar tiang.

RON 95 price a liter as of end of July
        Indonesia – 7000 IDR ~ 2.53MYR
        Singapore – 1.80 SGD ~ 4.05MYR
        Thailand – 31.24 Baht ~ 3.08MYR
        Philippines – 42 PHP ~ 2.95MYR
        Vietnam – 16,380 VHD ~ 2.70MYR
        Australia – 1.26 AUD ~ 3.63MYR

• 4agze on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:21 am

dude i rather have a cheaper fuel than cheaper car

• Tiadaid on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:07 pm

Exactly. You don’t change cars often, but you use petrol more.

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:25 pm

dude! news flash! petrol is in fact gonna get more expensive! so in the end, you will get screwed by both high car price and petrol price! so dont stick your head in the sand like an ostrich. cheap petrol just encourages smuggling, wastage and idiocy like lepakking in jams and napping in cars with the AC on in basement carparks.

• wayne on Aug 21, 2011 at 4:44 pm

FAST FACT:

ostriches dont do that.

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:14 pm

bro, why would the govt do that?! if like that proton will die man! and then all those ppl wil come out and say sor hai things like cars will become even more mahal without proton.

• yeah.. many ppl might think that the tax and duties make the car expensive. they are wrong. the euro is already down but not the price of the CBU VW. As usual, in malaysia business dictates consumer.

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:11 pm

only certain ppl still want to parrot that our cars are mahal but everything else is cheap! those ppl are the real sor hai! they think the rest of are stupid and blind!

• gracke on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:35 pm

the Golf 1.4TSI with Bi-Xenon headlight, would it just like the GTI headlight?? cause the other country Golf 1.4TSI exterior is exactly the same as GTI, looks damn good! but ours……???

• Danny on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:46 pm

I think with the Light & Sound” package, the headlight should be same type of GTI (Projector).

Well, my car loan left 10month, will going to test drive this TSI if available.

Man, i love this car so much, performance yet economy, road tax per year only $70, if maintenance is not a issue, probably got 99% of my next car replacement!

I love golf man, i love it! :-)

• ViosUser on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:50 pm

Attractive pricing !? If the service and maintanance price is within the range of ac Accord and Camry, I will seriously consider one !

• gimmeone on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:03 pm

read the post in the polo 1.2, the service intervals for Japanese and conti cars differ. only in Malaysia is the uneducated consumer happy to pay less with smaller intervals than pay more with longer intervals….do the maths .its actually cheaper on the long run. it started with the ill fated proton tiara.

did you know that the tiara brake pads lasted longer than a typical proton saga brake pads and is actually cheaper on the long run…well not many knew that…..3 saga brake pads lasted as long as 1 tiara brake pad ( ori of course)

• MR-S Boey on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:25 pm

VAGSG.com (s’pore Veedub forums) has been highlighting issues about the mechatronic/dry DSG kaput-ing at mileages circa 21k.

any clarfication /additional info from fellow Paultan.org Addicts?

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:08 am

yes i was told and read about it happened to my singaporean friend too. early batch of DSG can’t stand constant high temperature; Read in one forum saying many penangites who bought a GTI DSG also got temperature problem and won’t shift more than 4 clog. but i think the unit he got is a lemon la… as only one case reported (so far)

• borres on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:43 pm

hoping for the polo gti. when will it be here?

• Anti Proton on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:45 pm

mazda 3….u are warned XD

• R-GTi on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:47 pm

love it how vw put names to their wheels.

you guys can check it here, btw -> http://www.4130-products.com/wheels/

when la proton gonna name theirs?
    14″ sepang, 15″ keningau & 16″ kapar, anyone?

• bystander on Aug 09, 2010 at 4:12 pm

for anyone who can afford, i dare them to go n sit in the cockpit of this car, yes cockpit! the quality n ambiance of the golf is mind-blowing away, u dun even feel like sitting in a car anymore but a sophisticated machine like a jet plane! i bet they will just make the booking right there n then! but i’m sure this is not the OTR price mentioned here…

• bystander on Aug 09, 2010 at 4:16 pm

potential challenger for mini cooper s for its practicality!

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:34 pm

sure more practical lah! new mini is big on the outside small on the inside unlike the original mini lah!

• plz bring in the ‘R’ series fast…..

• fantastic way to bring up the VW marque in Malaysia.Most people want good handling and decent relatively affordable power(not awesome power),that’s why the BMW 320 outsells the 325.
    This model with 240Nm torque and 7 spd DSG could possibly leave the 320 driver (which costs 80K more) which dropped jaws at a traffic light dash!plus it wouldn’t lose out on the twisties either

• Alvin Ng on Aug 09, 2010 at 7:44 pm

A step closer to my dream~!….hopefully CKD comes along with the price tag or RM130,000.00. Then it’ll be interesting….

• loollool on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:46 pm

To kill the Euro car…enjoying superb result with small CC engine with turbo..

our beloved Govt might think of a new way to charge on the Road Tax

bcos our proton has not come out something like dat yet~` oh will there be a day?
    no hope …dun hope

• JeffL on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:08 am

What? No Sunroof? As a HUGE fan of SUNROOF I’m Disappointed… Considering previous WALD 1.6 Golf had Sunroof…

• orangjakun on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:28 am

gotta agree wid ya..
    anyone knows which audio system they’ll give? there’s a touch skrin wan rite?

• klaka seram on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:45 pm

this new golf comes with RCD310 HU, no touch screen.
      but u can always upgrade.

• amirad on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:36 am

Me want a jet black golf 1.4TSI with 17 inch detroit rims, tartan seat fabric and red strips running across the front grille. Poor man GTi maybe but hey its as close as I get to the real GTi. But wait, there’s also a new focus around the corner. Now, its getting real hard to decide.

• milli on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:01 pm

Heard there r few major quality issues with the new 7speed DSG, pls check with the VW owners forum before u buy !!

• KCivic on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:29 pm

its funny how some of you who drive golf gti pumps ron95. What is the logic of paying rm200k for a car and save on fuel instead of unleashing the power of your car with VPower. Also the new generation of car buyers very wealthy, everyone talks about 140k+ being affordable. Money does grow on trees. And whats with the fixation of driving continental cars. Is it that great? Is Peugeot 407 considered a good enuff conti? Anyways, 140k can buy you an apartment, my friends.. Everything is related to Proton. Dont give, complain, give also, complain. But golf GTi can hold value. Also true some say, golf is being purchased for ‘girlfriends’.. Anyways, cay buyers should make more noise, cos a Passat CC cost only 120k in UK. Here, pay double tat.

• phas3r on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:39 am

there are some petrol stations that don’t offer ron97. annoying really. no choice but to pump my mk5 with 95 sometimes

• Agreed that 140k is a lot of money… but to buy a nice car in Malaysia its not. Cannot compare to other countries la, if we want a nice car here.. no choice but to pay.

• Tiadaid on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:53 am

What about the cost of other things there? Like a house?

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:32 pm

yes it is very ridiculous isnt it? that a decent and safe family car can cost more than a house for some!

• The comparison was not correct. If you can afford to pay 140K for a car you should have bought a 300K house. and if we have 140K house, we can on afford to pay for 60K proton only.

• Pumping RON95 into GTi would not have much different, although there is.
    Since GTI has 200+ps, so pumping RON95 still hv a lot of power under the hood. Why need to pay more since u not every second maximise the power? Burning fuel is like burning money but earning money is not like money dropping from the sky.

In Sport mode or Manually control GTI still a lot power to take any cars on the road.

• Anwar on Aug 11, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Potential VW Golf buyer – please be aware that there’s a serious door squeak issue with the current Golf GTI mk6. I have 2 other colleagues with similar issues. All 3 of us purchased the mk6 GTI between Mar 2010 and Jul 2010. I don’t think the issue will be different with non-GTI Golf.

Basically the lining above the windows, when rubbed against the body (e.g. during twisting and/or bending), it will create the squeaking noise. With the car stationary and all doors closed, when the window glass towards the body, the squeak sound will be audible from the top of door frame. For my car, there is also some rattle from the B pillar.

VW will first adjust the striker plate. For my car, they bent the window frame by hand so that it’s flushed with the body. They also put 3M anti-squeak tape but it fixed the squeak issue for some doors but not all.

A CBU car imported from Germany, 2009 World Car of the Year winner??? Shame on you VW.

• Who cares? Put some WD40 will cure.

With this kind of spec and price, I won’t complaint, BMW 320d even worst, all 4 doors got this squeak sound, shame on you BMW.

But who cares? when the ride so great, the power so great, who cares?

• Paul Tan on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Yes, 320d has that problem. The issue is the glossy black M-Sport window trim and this problem is on all E90 M-Sport cars. The non-M-Sport cars do not have this problem.

• phas3r on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:45 pm

sorry to hear that bro, is that 2009 model mk6?
      has VW lost it with their built quality?

• Anwar on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:55 pm

3 of us bought 2010-built GTI mk6, with the most recent one only registered 2 weeks ago.

• klaka seram on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:51 pm

I think I can accept that minor squeaky noise… as long as not major component ie engine & transmission

• These are the german made ones and not the SA made ones?

• All golf gti doors got this squeaky problem. Use silicon spray to lubricate. Don’t use WD40 or any old base. You will spoil your rubber.

My gti is 6 months old the squeaky door noise disappeared. Just spray the silicon once 2-3 months.

Go to this website/forum for more help.

http://www.vwgolfclubmalaysia.com/index.php

So far i’m very happy with the car. Very addictive.

• JeffL on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:15 pm

Almost ALL Right hand drive VW in Malaysia were CBU from South Africa. Golf GTI included… The VW SA told me only the Passat CC’s CBU from Germany. The rest CBU from South Africa…

• damn thats not good news…. no offence to afrikaans … but by paying for this pricetag , one would really expect better built finish …

so the only model which is really premium german feel is the passat CC ? wonder what would those that eventually come out from DRB’s factory would feel like …

• TM Soo on Sep 05, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Well, I guess there’s a way to tell where’s the VW making from by looking at the code infont of the wind screen. A code with “W” from Germany, “M” from Mexico,”S” from S. Africa, if I am not mistaken told by the sales lady in Ipoh. Or else question the salesman how he knows where is the car make from, I believe they will tell you how to define from the code.

AFAIK, Local Hicom assemble VW will not includefd Gti, Golf, Polo. If not mistaken will be something big like a 4×4 or a truck. Can’t recall what the sales person in Ipoh had told me. So ppl still can buying a Golf with “W” infront of the wind screen.

I was invited to the launching due to couple months ago I hv purchased a GTi. So far I hv no complain with the quality build and no complain at all at Goh Brothers (IPOH).

I had viewed the Golf but too bad they are not ready to test drive until tomorrow. Anyway, allow me to tell what I hv spotted the differences. Pls tell me if I missed out something.

The Golf 1.4TSI diffference from GTI,
      1. The seat has no leather, it’s fabric.
      2. No electric driver seat for driver side
      3. Sterling not a Gti
      4. Gear knob not the same as GTi.
      5. 16″ wheel instead of 17″
      6. 1.4 lit engine, but with turbo supercharger (believe needn’t to tell, but try not to missing out things), but the engine size is like 2 lit. Huge engine, I like it.
      7. No adjustable stifness of the suspension
      8. Different spotlight
      9. More color to choose than GTi.

This is what I remember. Did not check the rear mirror is the same or not.

Polo and Scirocco will be coming around next month, if the shipment is on time.

The quality build is still solid. I don’t know whether is reliable or not but this car could be a Mk5 GTI killer. 07 Mk5 still asking RM160k.

The only draw back I notice are there are not auto cruise, RCD 310 in mono screen and the brakes are too soft to press and easy to full lock the wheel.

• Jordan Lim on Sep 08, 2010 at 1:41 pm

Bro,

it has auto cruise included :)

• tmsoo on Sep 09, 2010 at 12:11 pm

Thanks for your correction. But I went to see the car and didn’t find the auto cruise.

• Jordan Lim on Sep 09, 2010 at 11:05 pm

its on the left hand side behind the signal indicator :)

• tmsoo on Sep 09, 2010 at 3:23 pm

I went to the showroom and double confirm it, yes yes yes there’s a cruise control, build in.

Also I tested it, bit lag from pickup only but everything nice. Really comfort ride.

• i went and test drive a scirocco 2.0 tsi also had the similar problem with the soft brakes.. a bit touch will full lock all 4 wheels.. guess its diff than JDM cars..

• i dont know where u get this nonsense that all RHDs are from SA.

all the current mk6 are from wolfsburg. in fact quite a no. of mk 5s were from wolfsburg too. in the VIN code (the alphabet right before the final 6 numbers), it will be “W” for wolfsburg and “U” for Uitenhage, SA. if you dont believe, go an chk out the VIN code on the windscreen of any mk6 u see on the road.

• Any idea whether VW model Golf 1.4 TSI will be locally produced/assembled with the signing of MoU with DRB-Hicom? I’m planning to book one with the upcoming official launch in Sept 2010.

• Realistic on Sep 05, 2010 at 5:10 pm

I think this Anwar guy is just bitter about VW’s. I don’t think he actually even owns one!

Come on man, every car in the world has some minor quirks. This includes the Rolls Royce and the Maybach. This is not really so much a quality issue but maybe due to the heat in Malaysia that results in body expansions and contractions beyond levels in Europe. It is certainly not a design issue. Besides VW South Africa plants have European level standards, higher than even the Mexican, Brazilian and Shanghai plants.

Toyota’s have far more problems, especially with the Vios and Corolla. Sound insulation is poor and driving the Vios feels like driving a Proton Saga. The same goes for Honda cars with wheel bearings wearing out in less than 1 year. Even Proton bearings are better than that!

If you are going to blame the VW Golf, do remember that this car is the “World Car of The Year 2009” and “Engine of The Year (World)” winner.Therefore all other cars would probably have a lot more problems than this car collectively.

• Xxjames on Sep 06, 2010 at 9:07 am

Yesterday I test drive…..I luv it… And tomorrow….
    I am paying deposit lo…. Hehehe….

• alfredo on Sep 27, 2010 at 12:18 am

torn between 2 lovers..the golf tsi brand new @ rm160k or 07 cooper s @ rm150k????heard that cooper s is not so fuel efficient & have regular problems….i still have doubts that cooper s is problematic…any advice???

• chloe on Oct 02, 2010 at 11:56 pm

hi..considering to buy which car.. golf tsi 1.4, ford fiesta….?as i know the ford fiesta ranks no 1 in us.looking for quality and about more or less150k .need advise .thanks

• borres on Oct 10, 2010 at 9:36 am

where do you live? better pick models where you can easily find its service center.
      If that’s not an issue, for me definitely golf 1.4 tsi!!!

• Adil Hidayat on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:26 am

I’ve tested the Golf TSi and i love the power and handling but i hate the looks (but power will always win looks hehe). Seriously considering the Golf but still holding back after reading the Volkswagen CKD news. Can anyone confirm the Golf won’t be included in the CKD production lines?

Don’t want the Lancer-Inspira issue to rise again. Barely got a reasonable price for my lancer as a result of Inspira.. imagine this, used car dealers offers only 65-70K for a 2007/08 Lancer. That’s ridiculous pricing is u ask me.

• K K Chen on Nov 21, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Hi Paul,

any news on the arrival of 1.2 TSi for the Golf range? SIngapore apparently has launched them!

• Paul Tan on Nov 22, 2010 at 12:00 am

i dont think we are going to have a 1.2 tsi golf… too close to polo

• limbo on Nov 30, 2010 at 1:23 am

Owned 4 previous peugeot models. Sick of visiting workshops too often, finally am driving a brand new honda for less than 6 months for now. although the workshops scenario were over, but the smile on my face disappeared all-together everytime i was behind the cockpit ! And that’s what i call boring motoring.
    If you have to drive, get a japanese. If you want to drive, you have no choice but go for european !

• Muhammad on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:01 pm

Agree totally. Learn costly lessons bot a jap 1.5 car early this year. Always belief don’t spend too much on car. But the Jap car really give no staisfaction so sold it recently. Went to try Fiesta and have to say better than the Jap 1.5 . So if given option would buy the fiesta.

Better buy 2nd Hand Swift much cheaper and enjoyable . Had one before. Value for money buy Inspira. No question about that.

If got that extra to spend , advise spend on a good urope car which finally did on Golf TSI. The performance & response is great . No regrets. Life is not long. Enjoy if can afford.

• Andrew C on Jun 11, 2011 at 11:45 am

Still deciding between this and Scirocco.
    Any advice to assist on making the ultimate decision.

• Scirocco definitely looks nicer, but the Golf is a smarter decision. In countries like UK and Singapore, Scirocco is same price or even lower than Golf. But because of our ridiculous taxing system on 2-door cars, the Scirocco is RM40k more expensive here. Don’t throw your hard-earned cash at the government, because in the end you’ll be paying more for a car that isn’t worth that much.

• Totally agree, but take care about one issues with the Golf when compare to Scirocco.

Generally People will never appreciate your golf until they drive it or sit inside the car and in many cases people will ask you how is your POLO going ! Golf is the car with great internal criteria

But Scirocco have both.

If you need a praise from public from the first glance , you will probably need to pay the additional (of course also when you like the design of the car so much). But another consideration is when you pay for Scirocco , the price already near to a Golf GTI .

Good luck because of the 2 door cars taxes in Boleh country.