It was something waiting to happen. The Chevrolet Captiva SUV has been given a facelift that incorporates Chevy’s new family look, as seen on recent products like the Cruze, Beat and Orlando MPV. It will be shown in the metal at Chevrolet’s stand at the Paris show, alongside three other undisclosed world debuts.
It’s not just grafting on huge nostrils, but the Captiva features reshaped “prism style” headlamps and front bumpers as well. The bonnet is new too, and the wing mirror indicators are now LED items. The air vents on the profile assume a smaller and sharper form and the wheel design is new. What do you think of this new look?
GM’s Honda CR-V rival gets three new engines in Europe – one 2.4L petrol and two 2.2L turbodiesels. The common rail oil burner can be had in 163 or 184 hp outputs, while the 2.4-litre DOHC gasoline unit with VVT has 171 hp. These can be had with new 6-speed manual or auto transmissions. As a recap, our Malaysian spec Captiva comes with a 150 hp 2.0 VCDi engine or a 136 hp 2.4-litre petrol – both with a 5-speed auto.
The Captiva’s cabin design is rather dated, but this facelift promises current Chevy cues such as ice-blue back lighting and a dual-cockpit look. There are also new finishes and textures including new seat fabrics and interior appointments. European customers can order a touch-screen navigation system with rear view camera.
More pics after the jump.
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1497]
now that looks like the facelifted mitsubishi outlander with the eagle headlamp
you’re right, nonce! It’s very much like outlander.
is there some kind of tie-up between them?
sort of like it then, but now totally dun like it. do they have to make everything so huge in front?? it’s a bit forceful to “imply” that it is “american breed”……although it is manufactured in Asia.
lately , we have been brained washed by this familiar chevvy front grill….!
proudly American, made in Korea… nahh.. normal in global auto industry.. no biggie at all.. what’s important is the after sale support
Now this is what an SUV should look like… Totally rocks+muscles! Kind of like Q7 hard face…
Sure it can be pushed hard with its new engine line-up… Definitely gonna scare those small cars on the highway with that face…
nice! i like..
Half-hearted offer from a beginner in Malaysia. If this is of the size of a Ninja King with refinement, then I may consider, at this kind of price. By adding a bit of money, you can get Fortuner already, larger with much much better resale value and after-sale support.
I’ll go for this meant to be SUV, than the PIck-Up meant to be SUV
Fortuner?…have u driven it?…u’ll suffer on the rioad, too bouncy & very truck like road manners (based on Hilux)…unless u intend to use it for off-roading, Fortuner is ok….
C’mon….Fortuner is a pick-up la bro, shares the same chasis like Hilux…have you driven one or not?
The current looks handsome but the facelifted makes macho or maculine like. Nice.
New engine but no torque figures posted. Should be sweet.
We always came to “where is made” problem. Don’t matter where is made as soon as the producing lines are modern and make quality.
About the SUV is pretty inspired from the existing ones (for ex q6).
Its called globalisation…yr apple’s ipod/iphone is made in china/..camry made in thai/freed made in Indon…
eh.. mitsu ASX? the front i mean…
Seems like a trend now to copy Audi still nose grill these days
y all is aiming to get their machine to looks like Audi and Mitsubishi? LOL…but positively, it’s really refreshing…XD
Looking really goody good !! now it looks more luxurious
hai readers…very good design..unfortunately the price in malaysia doesnt promises the best as the chevy cruze which undercuts all tha rivals prices…hopely this captiva will be cheaper than the price offered now in malaysia…anyway when will the kia soento and peugeot 5008 will arrive??????????????????
hopely the price will be cheaper as the chevy cruze…it is selling at a higher price nw in malaysia……..anyway any news when will be the new kia sorento and 5008 be launched?????????????????
the front looks very american……
anyway, still quite nice…
Looks rugged
Decent car.
Lausi distributor.
The front looked better than the rear and overall much better looking than CRV
shark design again?
from pleasant to brash
looks butch but not convincing
doesnt floor me as the new spark(beat) and the CRUZE did
I still prefer current model look compare facelifted Captiva. Current model look smoother and geometrically shape just nice and sweet. Facelifted model look like having big nose (for the front) and head lamps look agressive too, i agree that it is been trendy to Audi & Mitsu SUV look, I think facelifted captiva have loss it own identity…
looks good to me, and will definitely think of getting it if the price is right…
although i do believe they could somehow muscularised the rear a bit… maybe follow the angular lines of the front, with more prism-like lights… like the front…
big nose/shark nos/whatever you want to call it is due to some NCAP standards that cars hoping to sell in the Europe must follow. GOne are the days where the front of a car is sharp-ish… now it has to be almost flat… this is some safety feature that was put in place for a vehicle-pedestrian collision… flatter surface means the impact area is bigger thus less stress on a particular part of the pedestrian’s body…
Buddies out there!
Looking for PUG 5008?
As naza’s plan, supposed to be next year March….but dont Xpect petrol engine brooos!
its going to Deisel 2.0
Because naza dont want to be very complot on 1.6 prince engine…all the way in BOLEHLAND!…be prepare on 508 twin scrol turbo in D segmant category!
superb design with fantastic seats and interior…..cover your 407 with blanket or something…because….! you know its getting out dated……
and of cos citroen c4 picaso’ dont want to loose their market share in BOLEHLAND due to sister company PSA Bro…so its better go for C4, comes with 1.6 turbocharged, 6 speed paddle shift….with manual paddle suspension at rear…..with 3 settings….
PEUGEOT OR CITROEN…….its all the same engine’s and technologies…with different outlaying…thats all….but to ride………french is always french……!
When i checked with some powerful people…in korea…they said…HYUNDAI/KIA/DAEWOO can create or produce at very minimal cost price vehicle…..examples
New Sonata i 45…MR32,000………2-0
New KIA K5(OPTIMA)..MR30,000….2-0
Daewoo Captiva….MR41000…2.0 Diesel
Daewoo Lacetti(Cruze MR 24,000…..2.0
SAMSUNG/RENAULT….JV….?
But proton…..takes RM40,000 as a cost price for outdated Waja…..1.6 ! Why????
no wonder…proton cant meet international market!!!….so be good malaysian to choose your ride!
To be very honest! The Malaysian style in buying car….dont ask the resale value before buying a new car…..!!! Some tips for you all.
1. Check the made
2. The quality and reliability or durable
3.Performence and handling
4.compare the review from international magz……or book or WHAT’S CAR!!!
5.Safety feature’s and practicality
6. compare price with according to your budget….
7. after bought! dont look around other showrooms…for 3 year’s…until your waranty period end…..ok…if not…you will be in so call” 4 letter words..then’…..so be realistic and dont get pist on your invesments……’
And final word!
Why Bolehland put on TAX…on our rides…due to governments investments comes to us without we noticeing it…so better dont complain about Wah!! so much aaah!.this small import car…better i go Bolehland loo!
Then dont complain…bolehland….takbolehland…looo!
so eat your fruit according to your mouth size…..well!….
I’m prefer the current one…This one the front grip look so big and look like Mitsubishi style
wheres the 3rd rows seat?I don’t see any?
Audi Q5 is better.
I like this one.. align with all the Chevrolet family resemblence.. the split grill is always chev trademark… I wish they brought in the Chevrolet Equinox…
Existing model is over price. If the price go as lower as RM130k may consider. Hopefully this new model will lower down the price else better go for Japanese brands more reliable quality.