TD Cars Malaysia exporting the TD2000 to Thailand

TD Cars Malaysia, makers of the TD2000 have announced plans of exporting their MG-inspired car to Thailand. The Malaysian company recently signed an agreement with Tycoon Car Co Ltd, which have been appointed as the official distributor in the country.

TD Cars’ Managing Director Edward Teo said that Thailand would be the 15th export destination for the TD2000 which is assembled locally by Proton. “Our Malaysian-made car has successfully sparked interest among people from all over the world and we are excited at this opportunity to share our concept of classic open-top driving in Thailand,” he added in a statement.

The TD2000 is scheduled to be launched in Thailand by December this year and Tycoon Car Co Ltd aims to sell at least 20 units in it’s first year. Apart from Thailand, the rear-wheel-drive TD2000 is also exported to the Philippines, Singapore, Australia, the Middle East and the UK.

The TD2000’s chassis is made of high strength steel and uses a fully independent double wishbone front suspension and leaf spring at the rear. It makes use of a 2.0 litre Toyota 3S-FE engine, which develops 130hp. Customers have the option of a 5-speed manual or an automatic transmission.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• nabill on Sep 21, 2010 at 2:04 am

imagin being in this car , in a traffic jam,behind poorly maintained metro bus !?!?
    anyway nice classic looks always lives on…

• dukenborg on Sep 21, 2010 at 2:46 am

Where can you buy one of these in Malaysia?

• tetra on Sep 21, 2010 at 9:22 am

go tu P1 HQ lor…its a hand made..the price, if im not mistaken around +- 500k

• theanswer on Sep 21, 2010 at 10:04 am

haha no lah..the price is not 500k. somewhere around 150k-170k. definitely not 500k. in mudah 2nd hand unit year 2006 cost around rm85k.

• i think the 500k is anther car, from australia and made in malaysia if i’m not mistaken.

this TD2000 once was edar by EON/proton.

and, no point making a fuss.

AMD, Intel Chip, sony hifi, samsung monitor, national/panasonic/philips, top of the line, made in malaysia is selling all over the world.

Only our car made in malaysia, and sell in malaysia. Quality is the issue. eveyrone knows becos everyone drives one.

• azrai on Sep 21, 2010 at 7:48 am

Foreigners believe more in Malaysian products than the malaysian itself. :-(

• parkoer on Sep 21, 2010 at 9:26 am

its a normal azrai.. a lot of typical ppl in our country..nvr proud one..always blame, talk behind, n stab u behind.. no wonder our ppl still cant ‘pandang ke timur’..

• we pandang ke timur, and we realise some our workers are so so lazy.

Only wait for durian runtuh,

so we pandang ke barat, and import indon to work here.

• campro on Sep 21, 2010 at 2:32 pm

u r wrong…when u pandang to timur mean we r looking at Yellow skin civilization including China, Japan, Korea….hardworking, intelligent, 2nd & 3rd world top country, advanced in technology….
          And funny lah campare with the famous LAZY of M’sia bumi putra & indon jawanese…. just see other neighbor ASEAN country like thailand n singapore….hardworking…thailand’s plantation & perikanan expertise r 1 most the leading in world like same do TAIWAN….

• DavidB on Sep 21, 2010 at 11:58 am

yeah, which is why if we don’t get the EMAS as soon as the the Europeans, its really padan muka.

• foreigner dont realize how bad the quality is, we all have a proton, we know. dont try to bull us, hahahahahahahah.

• n we don know how bad the quality is, we don hav honda, toyota, gm, merc, beemer,..etc we don know…they bull us

• Gil S. on Sep 21, 2010 at 9:08 am

She is a true beauty. I would clock one out at the Singapore airport on my next visit.

• thats the problem with us,we only praise others, yes they are good defininately, we also want to be good too but within our capacity and we are inview for acheivement is final goal, first we must have the spirit, loyalty, pride,

but we are so fast look down to our product in the first place, no class, people are making fun of it.

THATS THE BIG PROBLEM. OUR INNER PROBLEM. PROBLEM OF BEING COWARD.

• bobdbilder on Sep 21, 2010 at 12:40 pm

Education is key. Especially about fundamentals. About sustainable development. About carbon footprints. About compound interest. They don’t teach you this in school. You discover on your own. Lest thy school is Smith and Machiavelli. Ours is not a learning culture. It is a consumer culture that feeds off marketing. Learning is ageless consumption. While consuming above thy means brought naught but sorrow and despair. Howzat?

• sham_azlan on Sep 21, 2010 at 2:29 pm

don’t bullshit here…..just because you don’t have money to buy import cars you said we look down at our own products. if you talk about proton, they youself should know better. just because want jaga kroni mereka, so they use low quality parts from vendors….we are talking about ppl life here….not something you can buang macam itu. low quality cars when accident…..you know what happen….

• rally_fan on Sep 21, 2010 at 2:59 pm

its not just proton cars who have suspect crash safety. there are quite a few japanese models on sale here, who are also quite suspect. so lets not just generalise. besides that, things for proton has moved on from the last 5 years. cars like the exora have higher than average crash safety and much improved quality. if we keep harping on the past, things will never move forward.

• ariff on Sep 21, 2010 at 11:21 am

“double wishbone front”
    a Perdana replacement model should have this

• rally_fan on Sep 21, 2010 at 3:00 pm

the concept of a car like the td2000 is very simple. to give the owner the experience of driving a “classic car”, without the associated problems. so you get a car that looks classic, but has modern underpinnings.

• GreenEco on Sep 21, 2010 at 3:43 pm

TD2000 will definitely face competition with Thai hand-made Mitsuoka Himiko convertible roadster. Thailand is now Mitsuoka’s first overseas production base. Starting from October, Mitsuoka Himiko roadster and Galue IV luxury saloon are to be hand-made by Thai. By utilizing Thai auto parts and auto body factory, “We can set the price sharply lower than when we export from Japan,” said President Akio Mitsuoka. The Thai hand-made Mitsuoka not only for Thai local market but 90% will be exported to ASEAN, the Middle East and India.

Sauce: http://e.nikkei.com/e/fr/tnks/Nni20100915D15JFN06.htm
    Himiko: http://www.hobidas.com/common/eimg/742/390/000/000093247.jpg
    Galue IV: http://english.kyodonews.jp/photos/2010/09/42716.html

• uchak on Sep 21, 2010 at 9:46 pm

prefer hard top version with aircond to use in Malaysia…P1 should get rid of originality of this MG to suit Malaysia climate. Maybe something like ‘Hot Roded’ Model T which very popular in American hot rod scene..

• Esvara on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:04 pm

I need a MG TD2000 .
    How to contact with you ?
    How much the perice ?
    0108298787 my number .

• is TD2000 still operating in Msia ???