Lotus Racing: no further comments on the matter!

It looks like the ‘fire’ between Proton/Group Lotus and the Lotus Racing F1 team will be a little quiet for awhile, perhaps until a decision is made by the British courts. Lotus Racing sent out this press update today – here it is published verbatim.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia – 30th September 2010

In a bid to alleviate the public confusion surrounding the ongoing matter between Lotus Racing and Proton / Group Lotus, Lotus Racing shareholder and Deputy Team Principal Dato’ Kamarudin Meranun recently had the opportunity to meet Proton Adviser Tun Dr Mahathir. The meeting was to discuss the matter in person and agree a future course of action for Lotus Racing.

Lotus Racing believes it is acting within its own rights, and as a result of this meeting, the team will now refrain from making any further comments on the matter. This action is upon advice from Tun Dr Mahathir, and it is out of our respect for him that we will act upon his wishes as he has supported us since our inception, and his backing has been invaluable in our growth.

We are very grateful for having had the opportunity to put forth our case and have complete trust that a fair review will be made, and a decision on the matter will be announced in due course.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• KoverLainen on Sep 30, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Looks like they ran to daddy, poyo betul lah.

• Mcmlah Protong tak pernah buat benda yg sama, hehehe.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 04, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Yezza, 2 malaysian parties go to english court for settlement [masih tak merdeka, tak percaya local juidiciary]

Yezza, anak didik sudah lawan tokeh [riad asmat pendek adalah ex-PA syed zainal] wow RA ada direct access to SZ’s office.

Yezza, bangsaku memang cakap ada belit-belit juga, kalau jumpa ular sama bangsa saya, tikam dulu bangsa saya sebab belit kuat maaa….

Yezza, typical Malaysian success story. I’ll support both Group Lotus & Lotus F1 team to bungkus.

• tanasi on Sep 30, 2010 at 6:14 pm

Banting has a few capable lawyers who can settle any dispute, efficiently.

• drputera sal on Sep 30, 2010 at 6:51 pm

i dont think anyone dare to put their precious millionaire live to set foot there lor. anyway i agree with Tun Dr M. Resolved it amicably or let the court decide and whatever the outcome is, RESPECT the rule of law.

• kaminski on Sep 30, 2010 at 6:56 pm

LoL…yeah Right!

It was more like ” ok Dr.M, how much lah to buy outright from Proton, how about MAS too lah, can or not?”

• hmm.. now bringing tun into the picture and trying to quickly establish that tun is on their side and had given blessings. slick la these guys

• hahaha… all the while I don’t agree when TF using Lotus name for his F1 outfit,.. he should use AirAsia F1 team to promote Malaysia coz he already has a very good brand name.. Air Asia. Everyone who have watched EPL, will notice Air Aisia logo at referee’s shirt…

• Wira Tua on Sep 30, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Obviously AirAsia is not big enuff brand….Lotus is much more…
      which f1 shirt u would u buy…Air Asia Racing or Lotus Racing? very easy answer maa….:)

• Hey brother, Lotus (even before protong take-over) and AirAsia (especially with its AirAsiaX) are already well known brands out there.

Protong is well known yeah, well known for its *&%$!!! tin milo qualities.

This is not about easy answer. This is the REAL answer. Figure it out will ya.

Hahaha.

• RH PumpkinKing on Sep 30, 2010 at 7:10 pm

it changed to Tune Groups since EPL 10/11 starts.

• Tun’s the man in Malaysia. He holds the cards and what he says.. goes. Everything else is just noise.

While for F1, Bernie’s the man. Whatever he says goes. Group Lotus or Tony can declare whatever they want about their plans for F1 but at the end of the day it’s Bernie that calls the shots. The plus point is that Tony is already in F1 and Group Lotus is not. Unless Bernie says otherwise.

• rasputin on Sep 30, 2010 at 7:30 pm

takde telor punya orang… ini semua kaki belit buat biz…. belit sana.. belit sini.. hutang tarak bayar.. sendiri juga kaya

• udasalleh on Sep 30, 2010 at 8:18 pm

Wah..!! 1M’sia racing top dollar management still go to the old man for advice huh? FunnyTune Racing would suit them.

• Razli on Sep 30, 2010 at 8:47 pm

Let’s make the matter very simple! Who owns Team Lotus? Secondly who finance the expensive sport called 1malaysia F1 team? If the answers to both questions are TF, then go ahead and make the hype and statements. If in doubt you have Malaysian or English courts to decide.let the matter be sorted out once and respect the judgement. Go out and .win for Malaysia. Only then make your statements.

• bryan.jones on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:57 pm

the matter here is someone is sick enough to associate Lotus with him. cheap publicity & money using Lotus. u remember when Najib first announced about the forming of the team “1Malaysia F1 Team”? then suddenly those attention/greedy seekers changed it to Lotus. stick to 1Malaysia F1 Team la then. Putar sana sini, belit2.

• Amran on Oct 01, 2010 at 11:20 am

Tergeliat lidah aku nak sebut “1 Malaysia F1 Team”. Nasib baik tak jadi “1 Malaysia F1 Team Pencapaian Didahu bla bla bla Team”. Lotus F1 kan senang; cute, chick, expensive, carries more weight and cute and chick…, good for marketing and can bring in more sponsors. And why Proton and Malaysia want to worry? Everyone in and out of the industry knows Lotus is associated with Proton and this country. Ini macam kicik punya budak ada gaduh. Malu aku..

• Teamsleepnine on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:27 pm

”tony” *quick run to daddy*..

• bryan.jones on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:00 pm

if u’ve watch last night news, TDM did mentioned that some terms in the license was breach by the F1 team.

• now then, if you say legally the name is yours and you are confident that you will win the case why do you meet the old man?

is it because to get the same old malaysia-style “surat wahyu” to be delivered to proton top management to back off ?

what do you expect from a guy that whacked MAS all over and yet have the nerve ask for priviliges?

that guy is the only reason i have never considered air asia. a man who doesnt honor his word with another man cant be expected to honor his word with his things. his flying things, even.

• Anak Malaysia on Oct 01, 2010 at 12:24 pm

TF use our money to run the F1 team.. That why when u fly with air asia they charge everything’s they can charge …. hahhahahhaha

• TF mmg sgt licik punya orang……. mula2 guna lotus name utk masuk F1…. then bila dah dapat masuk F1, peminat dah ramai, jual merchandise (baju, beg and etc, guna nama Lotus…. (padahal lotus bg lesen untuk racing jer (entry f1)…. bukan utk jual baju….). that y group lotus cakap TF sudah langgar contract la……
    you see…. how this fella making money from F1… … no respect to you anymore TF….. pijak kapla org lain untuk berjaya…. poooraaahhhh…..

• Tak Tak on Oct 01, 2010 at 11:46 pm

English lawyers making opportunity to earn Proton money. Proton legal adviser just want to melancong in Britain. Proton does not understand trademark law.