Mercedes-Benz Malaysia to carry out steering rectification work on E-Class Coupe following global recall

E-Class Coupe

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia will be undertaking rectification work on the steering system of 38 E-Class Coupes – which are CBU units brought in by the company from Germany – following the recent global recall issued by Daimler of over 100,000 of its Mercedes-Benz C-Class and E-Class Coupe and Cabriolet models produced between June 2009 and late February this year over potential steering problems.

MBM added in a statement that that none of its vehicles assembled in its production plant in Pekan – namely the C-Class models – are affected by the recall.

The company said that it has contacted all 38 customers via its authorised dealerships to carry out the required rectification, which takes no more than 30 minutes to accomplish.

The global recall – which affects around 85,000 cars in the United States and more than 22,000 vehicles in the UK – was over the fears that the steering system in the cars “may fail due to the loss of power steering fluid,” though Daimler said that the vehicles would remain steerable.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• C&C sucks on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:24 am

The 2007 S-class (W221) have few problems with its electronics/controls module in the European/US market. This also happen to our CKD W221. Yet, MBM’s authorised dealers kept quite with this since most of its owner (company’s bosses with tons of money) just send their car to C&C, SKiong without questioning it in detail. MBM, please be more responsible for your S class customer’s too !

• shamazlan on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:09 am

Where you get such facts? just don’t say it only…….

• Malaysian on Oct 17, 2010 at 11:35 am

Obviously, you doesn’t own S class. Do your homework first at MB forums available http://www.mbworld.org/
        http://www.benzworld.org/

Peace

• I agree with you; no doubt Mercedes is a fine car, but when they (the company) to ignore certain small things that they consider is “no problem” despite their reputation as a prestige car, for me I would rather get a Volvo instead- I had bad experiences with the Mercedes and one of them is the car would not even drive straight; tends to swerve to the left side all the time!…

• n Malaysian will say its only marketing twist….just like they say to local car maker

• chris on Oct 15, 2010 at 1:02 am

wonder why all the bashers are not around to bash merc…..hmm…
    they are always around when proton made recall or new model is launched….

• hongleongbank on Oct 15, 2010 at 1:48 am

mercedes also recall eh??

• mr. wiseGuy on Oct 15, 2010 at 2:48 am

merc following P1 ?? huh..proud to be 1Malaysia

• Seriously on Oct 16, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Recalls are a normal occurrence. What has it got to do with P1? So much for being mr.wiseGuy

• Why is it that every time there is a recall notice from all the major manufacturers, our market is always “not affected” if the cars are locally assembled.

Do we have better QC than the Germans of the Japanese? I don’t think so. Do our local plants use other parts than specced for the cars? If so, the recall should be affected, if not, I’d be even more worried.

• alldisc on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:01 am

this recall thing is actually a common practise by manufacturers worldwide.

for youngsters, this issue maybe new to them and they will wonder why they have never heard before.

well, during my days with Alfa Romeo in mid 90s (96-97), there was a recall involving Alfa 146 2.0ti models where the airbag will deploy out of nothing. even driving at 60kph on smooth surface road. It was found out the ECU was trigger-happy and all 146 ti were recalled to get them replaced with different spec.

so i urge to bashers, please lah. we had enough already. why not change the comments to a more constructive one…. think positive.

• Arobin on Oct 17, 2010 at 1:52 pm

Its hightime that our local dealers and manufacturers be more transparent and more open especially when there is a recall for what ever car imported or made locally. In this way we will feel more comfortable and not feel cheated and as a result this bashing culture will be transformed to praise instead. Dont let customers feel that you importers and manufacturer are only after their money

• Borhan on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:18 am

this manufacturer recalling should be avoided at all time…WTH manufacturer hired QC at first place. You have R&D but yet spent on something else. Customer is not a test sample like a rat inside the lab. Not let one person accident coz of technical problem from the car itself should one of manufacturer most top priority.

Unless if the driver itself driving like a d**k. lol

• loveit on Oct 15, 2010 at 3:14 pm

because human mistakes is always imminent no matter how perfectionist you are..

• Haidir on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:29 am

salam (peace),
    this time around, plz differentiate between recall, and problematic car though. either proton basher, and proton long last supporter.

my verdict
    safety problem – recall not depend on 2 years limited warraty
    so many problem – no recall / bcoz of over 2 years of warranty period, u cannot blame car manufacturer

the good choice is buy a car that has longer warranty period. you pay 9 years for hire purchase maa

• BMW-More Problem on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:15 am

You have to thank Toyota for all the recall that is happening with others.
    Becos of Toyota other manufactures dare to do recalls now.

• MoFaz on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:06 am

proton recall for steering, now mercedes also recall for steering.
    no such thing as perfect car maker.

• This is a reality check for some ppl who always thinks continental brands are superior to the asian !

• Why these days so many recalls from all manufacturers (budget or premium)?..Problems like faulty robots, assembly by workers, faulty parts/design?? Hmm.. where are the Benz bashers now?

• It happens because of outsourcing the production of important parts to cheap manufacturers… ;)

• Kancilkecik on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:28 am

More should be done by car manufacturers to ensure the reliability of their product. More product/parts testing, quality testing etc.

• fried tape play on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:39 pm

bullshit, so what the point of buying expensive car? still unreliable. what the heck..

• pompeaeau on Oct 16, 2010 at 8:33 pm

totally agree with you about reliability issue you mentioned.but buying expensive or cheap cars,depend on how deep is your pocket.
      How deep is yours then bro?….

• Jimmy on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:03 pm

This shows that we cannot be always so lucky that only the rest of the world get recall and we are not involved at all.
    I think we are TRULY LUCKY, every Toyota owner in Malaysia can go and buy Jack-pott already.

• S.Roma on Oct 16, 2010 at 10:38 am

Damn !

All manufacturer wanna make re-call ! It re-call season !

• gaman on Oct 16, 2010 at 12:41 pm

nobodys perfect…

• Saxman on Dec 17, 2010 at 6:54 pm

Ive just bought an E-coupe from UK. According to the salesperson, this car carries a worldwide warranty of 2 years. I wonder if im enttitled for the free rectification from Mercedes Malaysia.