SEMA Honda CR-Z Hybrid R Concept is turbocharged!

I think all of us can agree that the 2011 Honda CR-Z Hybrid R Concept that Honda Performance Development is showcasing at this year’s SEMA is probably what the Honda CR-Z should have been instead of the anaemic 122 horsepower 1.5 litre production car.

The CR-Z Hybrid R Concept bolts a turbocharger onto the 1.5 litre engine, with the IMA motor assist system upgraded to one of a higher capacity as well. The result is 200 horsepower and about 238Nm of torque, which puts it around the same kind of output as a Civic Type R. Are we looking at the future of the Civic Type R?

As it is, the high revving normally aspirated 2.0 litre engine is being forced out of many first world markets as it is unable to keep up with increasingly difficult emission requirements. The CR-Z Hybrid R Concept uses two popular alternatives to pure normally aspirated power – turbocharging as well as hybrid motor assist. Honda has barely dabbled with a turbocharger in these modern days – it’s sole turbo engine is a 2.3 litre i-VTEC Turbo installed in an Acura SUV.

Honda has also added a performance clutch and a limited slip differential, as well as a ‘circuit tuned’ suspension, uprated brakes and a bodykit which promises better aerodynamics. Honda will be racing two CR-Z Hybrid R Concepts at the 25 Hours of Thunderhill endurance race in December, which will be a good proving ground for the abilities and reliability of the system.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the Honda.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1668]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• CRaZee on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:16 am

nice bumper

• mystvearn on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:18 am

Few things to comment-
    1.that red steering wheel out of place. Black dashboard ruinned by red circle.
    2.Rear spoiler too much?

Honda must make this slightly longer so that can become proper hatchback with proper rear seats and sell it as Type-R

• theanswer on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:40 am

it’s a concept la bro.. nway honda with turbo? hurmm..cant remember any honda engine came with turbo..

• redline on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:21 am

In the 80’s, there was the Honda City Turbo… and Rick Ashley !

• FACEBOOK_USER on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:23 pm

really?maybe u can email them n they will take notice yaa….

• shawal on Nov 04, 2010 at 4:35 am

So FriKKin Awesome!!!
    I want one today!

• dondon on Nov 04, 2010 at 6:56 am

nyum3x….i heard this hybrid model (base model i think) will be rolled out next year on april…

• zaff1984 on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:23 am

to Malaysia…? nice one.

• rapidshifter on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:06 pm

hope they will give the manual version as well … in US the manual version starts from USD19200.00 & the dual trans version starts from USD19850.00.. of course these price exclude the US tax..

• rapidshifter on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:07 pm

you can check it here
      http://automobiles.honda.com/shop/cr-z.aspx

• Blitzkreig on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:55 am

Dump the spoiler, put reasonable size wheels, and put it into production.

• mr_3m on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:55 am

If we bring this one in…. it will be duty-free (plus 10% sales tax)….

so can we get this CR-Z for RM120k including this modification? If we can, then bye-bye Scirocco, Golf GTi….

• screw honda on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:36 am

Don’t know what’s the fuss about this

• mr_3m on Nov 04, 2010 at 11:59 am

it is a fuss if you pay RM$$$$$$$ for duties and the only way here in Malaysia to not pay duties when you want a new car is either get a hybrid car e.g. Prius/Civic…… or a Hilux/Frontier/Triton gang….

the CR-Z represent another type of hybrid car for people to choose from if it ever comes to Bolehland…. so come on VW, BMW, Merc, Peugeot & the rest… where’s your hybrid??….

• I like Scirocco and Golf GTi !The rear CR-Z is so ugly but front ok.

• Gabba Gabba Gabba on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Then you better replace the CR-Z rear design with Scirocco or Golf GTi rear …since you said the CR-Z rear so ugly…

• Honda CR-Z Hybrid R Concept : “Sexy is my name ~”

• T4VR-Ralph on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:47 am

Its a MANUAL!!!
    Yes!

• rapidshifter on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:03 am

cool this pocket rocket… if price below 150k surely can be my weekend ride….

• pomen_gtr on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:53 am

finally honda goes to OEM turbocharging way…

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:00 am

demn gorgeous car … really2 awesome …

• m4xspeed on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:16 am

I like the red color, bring out the power inside and out.

• siksa on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:22 am

they should have just tune the engine to produce 150hp + 50hp for motor. this is not the typeR spirit.

ditch the spoiler.

• YangYang85 on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:29 am

Honda with turbo charging? They finally abandon NA and go into force induction?

• find some old CR-X… replace with Honda C-RV engine.. make it read n a little touch-up.. there u go… =P

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Nov 04, 2010 at 11:20 am

Everything ok to me but not GT wing.

• Marcus Antonio on Nov 04, 2010 at 11:57 am

Its SEMA concept car.
    Not road legal in California !!!

• Hybrid lover on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:06 pm

What would be the Fuel Consumption? No point of having hybrid if turbocharging it result in high FC.

• xavier lert on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:09 pm

this is wrong….hybrid and vtech to be turbocharged?…. double red light for me….must be some new guys have taken the product developmnt team….

• donadoni on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:24 pm

type r is dead. so, talk to the hand.

• budleee on Nov 04, 2010 at 1:44 pm

wah.. drool…

since its still a hybrid..

how much emission it produces?

• zafedz on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:19 pm

this is not yet tune by Mugen….
    Mugen version will be wallllaaaaa!!!!

• libralcl on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:09 pm

The exhaust pipe is so sick…….gonna have them.

• Tan Tee Lim on Nov 05, 2010 at 1:57 am

note to Honda: forget about the standard CR-Z, I want this one!!!!!! XD

• Potato on Nov 05, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Hybrid are born to be fuel efficient rather than performance oriented, adding Turbo on it just ruins the purpose it was born the 1st place.

• Espresso! Quick! on Nov 05, 2010 at 11:09 pm

just saw this car today with singapore plates. a relative of mine who stays in singapore said it is already sold there and is brought in by grey importers. it really, really looks good!! wonder which importer will be bringing this into malaysia.

• new facelift toyota wish 2011…

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 07, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Trying to save the earth with hybrid and go faster with supercharge at the same time..Does it make sense?

• compare to Toyota hybrid car, honda just know how to produce a useless car, somemore this car is just talk, no production….. wahahahaha