Ellure Concept is Nissan’s ‘long term vision’ of the sedan

We’re looking at the future of the mid-sized sedan, according to Nissan. This Ellure Concept as shown at the LA show isn’t a preview of any particular model, but is Nissan’s idea of how its future generation sedans will look like. But give it a long hard look, strip away the obvious show car flamboyance (mega wheels, rear hinged doors) and it doesn’t look too outrageous – the rear design is very neat to these eyes.

“While not intended as a preview of any upcoming production model, Ellure confirms Nissan’s intention to be a strong player in the sedan segment for many years to come,” explains Shiro Nakamura, Senior VP and Chief Creative Officer at Nissan. “As an expression of our long-term vision for the next generation of great Nissan sedans, Ellure allows us to introduce a new sedan concept – one that honors the sedan’s unmatched daytime functionality, yet has a more emotive, almost hidden ambience that comes to life after dark,” he added.

Nissan says that the proportions of the Ellure follow the basic layout and dimensions of a traditional mid-size sedan, but a next-generation compact hybrid powertrain allows the wheels to be pushed far out to the corners – good for looks and space. The grille was inspired by “Kamishino” Samurai formal coat while the headlights and taillights have the effect of “layering of fins” or “wings of a bird”. Pure designer speak.

The proposed drivetrain is a supercharged 2.5-litre four-pot with Intelligent Dual Clutch Control (one motor/two clutch design with lithium-ion battery) and a 25 kW electric motor, matched to an Xtronic CVT gearbox. But what really matters here is the design, and you don’t want to bet against this coming to life – nobody thought the Juke would!

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1704]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Rhys Millen on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:33 am

Looks like a Sonata ……..

• fantausy on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:44 am

Oh my god, this car is superb, it so attractive to me!

• toyoott on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:46 am

marvelous!! thumb up nissan!! an answer to hyundai,, yeah..

• FIRST!! :D

• Nissan like unique car.
    Maybe Ellure will become future car production

• OHBULAN! on Nov 19, 2010 at 12:58 am

What’s the price?

• Paul Tan on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:00 am

Concept je…

• Arthur on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:51 am

No love for Mazda Shinari Concept, Paul?

• Paul Tan on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:11 am

Slowly la, news and other backend and backlogged work killing us.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:50 am

Mazda’s Shinari isn’t an LA show debutant.
          We’ve posted about it previously:

http://paultan.org/2010/08/31/paris-2010-debut-mazda-shinari-4-door-coupe-concept/

• Arthur on Nov 20, 2010 at 3:34 am

Of course, I am aware of that, but no new pics/news about the car? Just asking anyway.

• crazyboutcrv on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:25 am

It looks better than Mazda Shinari concept.With doors opening like that..that is cooool.a nice Fish with fins -a ground dweller.Front lamp looks like a squint.
    New Sonata looks better up front.

• enlarged 370z?

• Whynot on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:57 am

Every time we see a new concept design being exhibited. I do not feel anything very special about the design being so conservative and sometime not launching it at all.
    I must said that we all wanted a car the looks like race car or a futuristic car. While they r a lot of talented young designers even drawn cars that r more than the now futuristic model already made in showroom. I may wonder why they just cannot make it affordable to many except the rich or famous. The world seem to be holding back technology as I may presumed. But as competition start to heat thing up. I am sure it will be soon and we might own one of this dream concept model without spending millions.

• m4xspeed on Nov 19, 2010 at 7:14 am

What i liked the most from this design is the futuristic element and elegance all incorporate in one

The suicidal door and superb front and rear design are the best by Nissan so far.

• uhuk uhuk on Nov 19, 2010 at 7:32 am

memang cantik kete ni…bole celen camry..tapi ntah bila nak ada kat mesia…masuk belum tentu

• it wont be in malaysia for at least another 2-decades becos uncle tan chong is soooo slow.

• The headlight & tail light remind me of tis symbol…
    (>_<)

• i like this design! =D

but looks like the design was borrowed from Altima coupe with a more muscular & sleek touch-up.

how come we dont get Altima in Malaysia? >_<

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:06 am

Actually. Its not that far off from how the current Maxima already looks.

I won’t be surprised the next Maxima ends up looking like this, with the same design elements eventually filtering down to the Altima. I had a 2010 Maxima rental recently. Amazing car. Big, confortable, gobs of power.

• Vincent on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:18 am

Finally, for Japanese brand, beside Mazda, we can see an inovative design from Nissan..

Honda and Toyota still have their way to learn and come out something different…

• Coolken on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:19 am

Agree with u Vincent! Love Mazda’s designs, and Nissan’s upmarket cars like the Murano, Fairlady and GTR, and then followed by Mitsubishi and Honda. Toyota’s designs sucked!!

• I’m so going to buy this if they make it.

• mfahd_88 on Nov 19, 2010 at 11:54 am

nice..no,damn nice car!
    hopefully nissan will share this car platform with proton for their future product

• tikus on Nov 19, 2010 at 1:37 pm

I want one!!

• Hyundai Fan on Nov 20, 2010 at 10:07 am

The design seems to be originated from 350Z. It is a very good design car indeed and hope to see it in production in the next few years. Bravo to Nissan design team & keep it up!

• nice! go Nissan go!! and hope ETCM too (pls dun let us down)!

• bunny on Nov 21, 2010 at 7:48 pm

nned to wait again, hope it’ll make it into production stage, some left at design stage, example kizashi concept is more stunning than the real production design

hope this is a start for nissan to change the design, some of them are not attractive (outlook) at all, sentra, livina, sylphy, latio…just my 2 cents