Audi planning to ramp things up in a big way in 2011

You might hear some companies saying things aren’t all that rosy, but it certainly won’t be Audi. If anything, old four rings seems to be having a hard time containing itself. Besides the market introduction next year of its new A6 sedan and its first full hybrid, the Q5 Hybrid, there’s also the impending arrival of the new Q3 midsize SUV to look forward to in 2011 for Audi fans.

Away from that, the company is looking at serious expansion – starting from next year to 2015, it will be carrying out the biggest investment program in its history, pumping in 11.6 bil Euros primarily into new products and technologies, as well as five billion Euros into upgrading its Ingolstadt and Neckarsulm plants.

About 80% of all investment – more than 9.5 bil Euros – will go to developing new products and to electric and hybrid drive systems development. Audi is looking at deploying its R8 e-tron electric sports car into the market in late 2012, so that’s undoubtedly one area where the money will go into.

This expansion will also involve the workforce – next year, Audi says it intends to add another 1,200 skilled employees; these will be experts who will bolster the company’s electromobility and lightweight construction fields, as well as help map out its growth strategy. Serious intent, by the looks of it.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 30, 2010 at 7:14 pm

audi better bring in the hybrid quick…..so i can buy one for cheap

• mr_3m on Dec 30, 2010 at 11:43 pm

yeah.. yeah… quick Audi, before the Govt change their mind and re-introduce the duties…

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 31, 2010 at 4:38 pm

yes this najib guy is so random im stating to like him a lot. if i was still an employee…but for us employers….does he know how much of work got disrupted due to sudden holiday!!!!

• Alfred Weinberg on Dec 30, 2010 at 7:47 pm

why front lamps of both cars looks like very sad

• Cordoser on Dec 31, 2010 at 2:10 am

I think the headlights design looks very focus. Like the cars give an aggressive looks.

• Wisdom on Dec 30, 2010 at 10:08 pm

They can be aggressive here. Even more aggressive than VW.

• my dreams car..always dreaming about the cost ownership is equivalent to other country which has no national car..

• Franco Baresi on Jan 01, 2011 at 1:03 am

then?relax la.taxes here r lower.elsewhere?i dunno.y dont u migrate n tell us yr story.i dont care abt the taxes imposed on cars,i just want a better pay for all of us!!!

• mmealin on Dec 31, 2010 at 12:37 am

Really2 big investment 4 better quality…just like they commercial break ” it takes 100 years 4 a car 2 become an Audi…”

• I like the looks of Audis released several years ago. They really neat, smooth and clean design. The current Audi models look very different.

I heard that Audi’s designer ‘migrates’ to KIA, now KIA get good looking cars..

• seat-belt on Dec 31, 2010 at 11:00 pm

yeah, it’s peter schreyer (forte, sorento) korean car, kia is designed by a Germany, not a korean.

• is there job for me there??… :p

• Check by yourself: http://www.audi.com/com/brand/en/company/careers.html

• Ser Chek on Dec 31, 2010 at 11:13 am

I hope that they can commit just 0.1B to invest in Msia either for a direct Audi factory or through VW, so that we can have europe technology at a resonable price. Cheers

• squawk on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:17 am

They are doing so well in China, the rest of us will have to wait.

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 31, 2010 at 2:39 pm

Audi: Vorsprung Durch Technik
    Proton: Tak apalah, memang macam tu!
    LOL!
    Happy new year everybody!
    Aay you all drive new cars next year and let it be something continental!

• TallPan on Dec 31, 2010 at 8:03 pm

nice audis… enjoy the waiting list when arrive. so well worth the wait tho ;-)

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 31, 2010 at 8:47 pm

Audi: Vorsprung durch technik
    Proton: Tak apa lah, memang macam tu.

• Audi: Vorsprung durch technik
      Proton: Tak apa lah, memang macam tu
      Honda : Within Tolerence

• JonLing on Jan 03, 2011 at 8:44 am

I just hope they could invest some of the money to their design department as well. Modern day Audi looks are more “indifferent” from one another than before, they need more differentiations between models, though I must say the new A6 looks good.