Cadillac to debut CTS-V Coupe race car in Detroit

Cadillac will be unveiling its new CTS-V Coupe race car – which is set to take part in the Sports Car Club of America World Challenge GT racing series this season – in Detroit at the 2010 North American International Auto Show next Monday.

The company will field two teams in the upcoming SCCA World Challenge, and this move heralds a return to the series it competed in from 2004 to 2007, in the GT class. Then, with the 500 hp 5.7 litre V8 CTS-V Sport Sedan, Cadillac captured the manufacturer’s championship in 2005 and 2007 and bagged the driver’s title in 2005.

The CTS-V Coupe race car was developed together with Michigan-based motorsports engineering firm Pratt & Miller. A lot of the car is standard, since the racecars in this series are production based, though of course some of the production CTS-V components are modified to meet both the demands of racing and SCCA technical rules.

Johnny O’Connell, a three-time GT1 champion in the America Le Mans Series, and Andy Pilgrim, who won the 2005 SCCA World Challenge GT class in a Cadillac, will be behind the wheel of the CTS-V racecars in the series.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1844]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• brianjgtc on Jan 07, 2011 at 3:34 pm

a cool racer…very simple and very neat, good with 500bhp is enough…and hope Malaysia can introduce like SCCA( sport car club of america) with various class….if n only if

• brianjgtc on Jan 07, 2011 at 3:42 pm

very neat racer, and 500bhp racer is enough quick….hoping that Malaysian can introduce this cup like SCCA- (Sport Car Club of America) with various class…and Malaysian Super Series can be improve…

• handsome*dude on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:27 pm

yes..i know why u wrote twice…….

we should ask Paul why the comments page response so slow? is it all the comments need to be scan thru first? by doing so how u do that Paul?

• johnny on Jan 07, 2011 at 4:00 pm

design abit 80’s look

• racefans on Jan 07, 2011 at 4:05 pm

nice car but for me US race series is not really my liking

• guess who on Jan 07, 2011 at 4:26 pm

sweet car … I wish I could get one of this

• Mak oi… those wings!

:)

• ezracopters on Jan 07, 2011 at 8:24 pm

500 hp 5.7 litre V8??? typical America, don’t they get it. muscle car is lame today!! .. too little too late i i guess.. it’s whole auto industries had fall apart @ being bought over by foreigner.. Even F1 is turning back to 1.6 turbocharge..

and plz check ur fact. we do have our own GT race.. and numerous stage with different series on local spot. bukan semua racing2 nie masuk TV bro!!

Btw i do agree, whoever dress that car up must have same taste as Youngman (gen2) racing edition.. my my!!

• handsome*dude on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:29 pm

what is ur ride?

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 08, 2011 at 10:37 am

I think you don’t get it.

Have you driven a big engined car before? I have owned tuned high strung Hondas, Turbo Mitsus and a Camaro with the older 5.7L V8. I can draw parallels between all these cars. They each do thier thing well.

There is a engine for a car for different markets. But there is no replacement for displacement, no matter how you cut it. A forcefed car may make the same power, but the feel is different.

If you have ever driven in North America, you’d understand the need for these big cars. These are cruisers built for long distance relaxed driving. Try driving a high strung small displacement engine and see how fast you tire yourself out.

Ask the australians and thier big engined Commodore (which uses a variant of the same 5.7L engine) and Falcons. They “get” it. There is a need for these engines/cars.

Are you also saying big displacement Bimmers and Benz are equally pointless?

As for dress up, thats a proper racing car with war paint in cadillac colours. Would you expect any less?

• brianjgtc on Jan 08, 2011 at 8:54 pm

muscle car now can corner well, look at Camaro SS at Best Motoring September issue i think, its not only fast in straight, it also can corner well…i mean have suffer from front heavy v8(minor problem)…dont look down on muscle car now, they could be meaner and have a match again Grand Tourer car….and a reasonable price.

• osh_kosh on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:06 pm

why can’t we get Cadillac here in Malaysia?? just wondering… (not that i really like their cars)

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 08, 2011 at 10:40 am

Because the only RHD GM is a Daewoo.

They used to imposrt a few STS and Eldorado coupe about 10 years back. But given our road tax structure, not many can afford the big cc’ed cars.

• i just found out that road tax cost for 5.7 liter is RM14280…that too much for me

• I wonder will it impress Jeremy Clarkson. He always condemn US cars

• ayuarjuna on Jan 08, 2011 at 12:28 pm

jeremy clarkson is a moron… don’t get me wrong, i like him… coz he’s a funny moron

• Shah Asmadi on Jan 08, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Good design but its spoiled by stupid spoiler.

• Jaki Jipang on Jan 09, 2011 at 4:11 am

that’s why it’s called “spoiler” lol sorry cant resist.. well the spoiler is for practical use, not just design to show off.. since it’s a race car..

• ezracopters on Jan 08, 2011 at 10:12 pm

well i’ve been there.. but i do admit being in new york i dont see the point of having such a big engine car.. plus why would i wanna drove such a huge saloon if i can afford 4wd @ much better looking @ shall i say proper supercar such as ferrari..

i dont know much about American taste & preference.. but here in Malaysia having over 2.0 cc car more like a statement.. “well, i can afford this, im successful in life, do u???”.. how many BMW, Merc, audi, camry etc owners u see drove over 120km/hour on regular road (not that i said they should)… and having 2.0 cc & above cars like evos, subarus, dc5s, skyline etc would make a statement like “move out u snails, im big, im stylo and im strong..im a racing boy..and hell yeah i knew better bout cars than u”… well dont know bout u mr 4G63tDSM, i not proud of it but thats wut i felt…

and i beg to differ.. American dont usually do long distance by car.. they do it by fly.. and it is even easy to rent a car once u arrived to ur destination.. and u said “a proper racing car with war paint in cadillac colours”..wow u must be one of those guys.. dude thats not mean looking machine…thats..ntah rojak kot haha.. on the front it said “yo man, im a pimp master.. the side almost look too neat to give it an attitude…and the rear view.. my God.. almost like it said “F*** u, im way much cooler that u stupid bumblebee”..

to cut it short.. i do agree on certain place in America, there’s a need for a bigger engine vehicle, and some of em’ really nice in and out.. but this car.. 5.7 with that look.. and suppose it race along older version 69 camaro or gto..with that aeroplane spoiler, should they be intimidated by it.. more like a laugh i said.. and plz dont say nevermind the look, the engine & output thats matter more.. perhaps u might not even malaysian.. well maybe it just me..

• Borhan on Jan 10, 2011 at 7:13 am

it just you. I really really want it available here in malaysia. the downside is the road tax…holy cow. better wait for the ford falcon or maybe vauxhall.

Maybe TMJ will buy this cutie and bring it to Malaysia and please us!!…

My dad just bought F10 beemer, meh..it weak.

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 10, 2011 at 4:25 pm

HI Ezra,

Thats the problem, you try to apply limited Malaysian exposure to a global automotive market and you turn it around and say that the specific global market requirement is bullcrap. At least thats what I read.

I’m a malaysian all right…. just a well travelled one.

What we don’t get here that we can get elsewhere is choice. In a “protected” market (read whatever you want into it) consumers ultimately suffer. In an open market where competition is dynamic, consumers benefit.

I drove 3000miles (4800km) in less than 2 weeks last trip there. You call that not driving much? And this is on leisure. Long distance 6 hr drives. You’d think I will drive like that on something like a City/Wira? I know plenty of people there who commute distances like Ipoh – Penang everyday. You want to do that in a Kancil?

And BTW, just to clue you in. Specialized cars and racing cars are built as “Halo” products. One that does not necessarily make any sense (financially or logically) in itself, but ultimately elevates the desirability of the entire BRAND. Racing colours all contribute to that “Halo”. Think about a Red Ferrari, a british racing green Jaguar or Aston Martin, the chequred roof on a Mini, a Championship white Honda, and the sponsored team colours like JPS Black+Gold Lotus, ELF, etc etc.

I wonder which part of “RACE CAR” bit that you did not understand?? LOL

Seriously how many Spec V Cadillac’s do you think GM sells, the bulk of the CTS is powered by the rather excellent 3.6L V6. You think Toyota makes any money on the LFA?

I mean, if we are all practical, we’d be all driving minivans. Some people choose to buy muscle cars.

Just because you don’t know how to appreciate them, doesn’t mean they are pointless. You say you don’t know american taste and preference yet you poo poo thier choices. How ignorant is that?