Fairuz Fauzy is Lotus Renault GP reserve driver for 2011!

Lotus Renault GP has just announced that Fairuz Fauzy will be their reserve driver for the 2011 season. Fairuz only just recently parted ways with the other Lotus in early December 2010, apparently dropped from the team without any known reasons.

Eric Boullier also announced that the F1 team would be taking in 25 Malaysian engineers and that these new human resources would be developed in the company.

More details to come!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ariff shattar on Jan 18, 2011 at 10:39 pm

1st ka?…anyway tak kisah la ada 2 lotus team whatever….merc pun ada 2 team tak de orang komplen pun…ne need to be sensational la….betul tak…

• RON97 on Jan 19, 2011 at 1:07 pm

the best news is that…those 25 engineers are not from shah alam or tg malim. otherwise this team can never compete…only know how to copy paste

• Tiadaid on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Don’t you mean engineers from Serendah who only know how to copy paste & don’t forget, redesign bumpers!

• drMpower on Jan 18, 2011 at 10:50 pm

reserve drive is not a test driver
    isnt it?
    so this chance represents an ‘upgrade’ for FairuzFauzy

never mind the credentials
    that japanese driver bought himself a seat
    i forgot what his name is, which is not a bad thing
    considering how famous he is

certainly we are better
    because not only we buy the seat
    we also own the team
    so rempit A with tebocas wajalution
    are welcome to show face
    maybe can fit in the seat
    or if hes kinda boroi
    we’ll send him to the alps
    trim all the fats and all

or if he looks like an ape
    we will send him to the planet of the apes
    one way ticket and we wish him of no return

• what the f are u smoking???

• drMpower on Jan 20, 2011 at 3:20 am

i cant say this online
        or else
        somebody might lock me up

that thing is illegal
        in 9 countries
        except for amsterdam
        which is a capital for
        something u definitely know

• ayuarjuna on Jan 19, 2011 at 12:52 pm

what Japanese driver bought a seat at Renault? it’s a Russian.. Petrov… & btw, Fairuz is not a bad driver, ever seen him racing in the lower Formula’s??

• drMpower on Jan 20, 2011 at 3:16 am

i am not talking about renault man
        that japanese driver
        who famously BUY A SEAT
        strangely i couldnt remember his name
        because i kinda good
        with shitty things

everybody isnt listening
        i am not saying FF a bad driver
        it is by buying the whole team
        gives us an edge

• i still support Tony team…..not proton this time

• Better deal I guess for Malaysian Motorsports development.Hope they can trained a lot more engineers years ahead.Viva Proton.

• naim jonn on Jan 19, 2011 at 2:34 pm

nope, it Perodua Viva. Proton oni hv Saga, Satria Neo, Inspira, Waja, Gen 2 & Pesona..

• do you even know the meaning of the word ‘Viva’? pls don’t make yourself look stupid.

• osh_kosh on Jan 19, 2011 at 8:14 pm

bro, maybe he just joking? (but i’m not laughing either)

• MiTec-i on Jan 18, 2011 at 11:11 pm

it’s like small kid fight….i take ur driver….bluek…i use the colour livery u wanted to use…just get it on lotus renault,let the performance on track do the talking…

• ayuarjuna on Jan 19, 2011 at 12:54 pm

yes.. get the performance on track do the talking… the loser one is fake? so this didn’t look so good for TF’s team..

• Mat Husin - Kokoot Racing Team on Jan 18, 2011 at 11:22 pm

an upgrade for fauzy! hehehe.

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:40 pm

upgrade gaji maaaaa…

lotus racing team where got a lot of money like group lotus….

it wasn’t his fault when the boses playing dirty trick to bash down the other

yet..this could be another silly season of F1

• Jackkriss on Jan 18, 2011 at 11:26 pm

Oh no.. rupanya katak lumpat dari Lotus pergi Lotus…. Cara Proton ya….. kali ni Fairuz naik MAS not AA…LOL

• Tiadaid on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:06 am

Obviously he’ll fly MAS, why would he want to fly American Airlines?

• tonimaniam on Jan 19, 2011 at 6:34 pm

AA= air asia la ngok

• Tiadaid on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Oh wait, I was on airline nerd mode. Was thinking about the airline code. AirAsia’s airline code is AK, while American Airlines is AA.

• tokmoh on Jan 20, 2011 at 10:47 am

Haha, tiadaid, nice interests in airlines! Sadly, most here aren’t gettin the joke.

MH is good… but I personally like SQ best :P

• binko on Jan 19, 2011 at 6:35 pm

AA= Air Asia la ngok..

fly MAS safer maaa

• tiger on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:56 am

if he get better offer, why not..?? ;-)

• christopher on Jan 18, 2011 at 11:26 pm

budak ini mesti party B N … look down on him!!!

• civicEK on Jan 19, 2011 at 1:32 am

ohh pls dont bring politic issue in this honorable blog, i had enuf with it at outside there!!!

• lancelot on Jan 19, 2011 at 2:33 am

at least he is better than the failure alex yong.

• makoi on Jan 19, 2011 at 9:33 am

alex yoong did not get a lot of back up, he is not Bamipatera, lol.

• Oooo really, I thought government (NSC) paid Minardi F1 RM50 million for alex seat. But the best driver will always shine though…check Mark Webber, he is the same team with Alex in Minardi years ago.

• Tiadaid on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:36 pm

I thought Magnum bankrolled him with the proceeds from all those 4D numbers?

• and FERNANDO ALONSO was the test-driver..
            check the fact to validate this if you don’t believe.

• clutch basah on Jan 19, 2011 at 1:07 pm

Alex got good sponsors and supports during his F1 stint, but he didn’t have enough balls to compete.. it was an embarrassment to Malaysia.
          He got another chance in A1with lots of support, after 3 seasons another failure. Now he join Tony F in management of F1 team and later you know what happened
          I think I made my point here, you racist idiot!

• tokmoh on Jan 19, 2011 at 2:17 pm

Dat izu waisis

• Jonnie on Jan 19, 2011 at 9:51 am

U sure? Like how?

• littlefire on Jan 19, 2011 at 8:33 am

I think what he means is frog jumping… In Malaysia a lot of people also jump around becoz of higher ‘income’.. U know i know laa..

• insperut on Jan 19, 2011 at 12:28 pm

haiyak… politic again
      bodoh la ko nih

• ayuarjuna on Jan 19, 2011 at 1:05 pm

what’s with political issue? racing is not about politic, it’s sport.. there’s a lot more in life beside politic.. for example, in my family there’s oppositions & G supporters, we live together, love & support each other… come election day, all do their responsibilty without any fuss, why can’t we (or all Malaysian) do that?

• Eric is trying to keep his sponsors happy..

• bryan.jones on Jan 18, 2011 at 11:39 pm

good. now lets wait for TL reaction.

• Tarmiziali on Jan 18, 2011 at 11:41 pm

hmmm…..intresting….could it be it is to garner support from Malaysian fans as well sponsor money from malaysian companies?

I see fairuz has all to gain from all of this. Finally being in a strong midfield team. Just waiting for Petrov to slip up or has a string of bad luck…….

Hope they will give him a chance during the coming testings. If he pulls some impressive lap times plus Renault actually have a good car, he can actually surpass Alex Yoong.

• racefan on Jan 18, 2011 at 11:43 pm

It’s not an ‘upgrade’ for Fairuz. It’s the ‘same-grade’. He is being used as a PR commodity

• it is an upgrade. from ‘rookie team’ to an established team.

• kington on Jan 19, 2011 at 9:26 am

Couldn’t agree more….

Unless either of the drivers get seriously hurt, he’s not getting a seat.

• racefan on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:41 am

Not sure how it can be seen as an upgrade. No point being a ‘bench warmer’ even if you’re with the best team in F1. And what are the odds of Kubica or Petrov breaking a leg? Same as Jarno or Heikki. Unfortunately he is being traded as a PR commodity. He should take his race career more seriously.

The good thing is he is getting a drive for Supernova in GP2. But given his age, years of experience in junior formula and the fact that he has done already about 3-4 seasons of GP2 racing in the past, Fairuz better win the championship this time! Then he will be genuinely attractive to F1 teams. The odds are still against him as there are much younger drivers with better talent in the market.

I do hope this is his year and he go out and win the GP2 championship. Thats all he needs to do to prove himself. He’s running out of excuses.

• Tarmiziali on Jan 19, 2011 at 8:29 pm

If we were to follow f1 closely, a certain fellow name Sebastien Vettel started as a reserve driver for BMW Sauber in 2006-2007during which BMW Sauber was consider a strong midfield contender (kinda similar where Renault is at now). He post some impressive lap times during friday session and his chance came when Kubica(hmmm…ironic!) got an accident in Canada he was called up for the US GP and score his maiden point.

Then he went to STR and got his maiden win in a team formerly known as Minardi.

Finally arriving at RBR, becomes Champion.

So there may be hope for Fairuz yet.

• squawk on Jan 20, 2011 at 9:42 am

Vettel was spotted and recruited by a good bloke named Sauber who also spotted many of the hot drivers on the grid past and present. If Sauber gives thumbs up to Fairuz then we know FF is truly good.

• Tarmiziali on Jan 20, 2011 at 1:40 pm

i dont think so. Cant find any litrature to support that. We would only know how good is FF by what he can do with a good car. Not by somebody else’s opinion.

• squawk on Jan 20, 2011 at 2:47 pm

You just have to look harder. :-)

“…At the same time, the Sauber Junior Team came into being. Peter Sauber chose and contracted three drivers, Michael Schumacher, Heinz-Harald Frentzen, and Karl Wendlinger. Sauber would become the starting point for other winning racers as well; Kimi Räikkönen, Felipe Massa, and Sebastian Vettel all started off in a Sauber car.”

• stevo on Jan 18, 2011 at 11:59 pm

25 Malaysian engineers join the lotus renault GP!!
    great start…come on Malaysia!

• makoi on Jan 19, 2011 at 9:34 am

and they learn nothing.

• the_fighter on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:45 am

how do u know they wont?? u know the future??

• stevo on Jan 19, 2011 at 12:26 pm

im very sure u are not an engineers…

• Najibest on Jan 19, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Well when petronas put their engineers in sauber they came out with the eo1 engine….

• littlefire on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:02 pm

But sadly, P1 didnt used eo1 engine and they sold to China..

Anyway is all these 25 Malaysian Engineers are interviewed & accepted by Renault willingly or already book or bought the place when P1 sign the agreement with them?

• Tiadaid on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:38 pm

And the Petronas engineers were interviewed by Sauber?

• najibest on Jan 19, 2011 at 4:58 pm

actually despite p1 not using the engine…some iteration of the engine is now being used in Bombardier Recreational Products (BRP) motorycles and snowmobiles sold all over the world….it’s a smaller 990cc version that was developed partly based on the EO1 engine, manufactured by Rotax (since Petronas don’t have engine manufacturing capabilities) but Petronas still holds the IP rights for it

• slekuzen on Jan 19, 2011 at 12:03 am

And the real Lotus emerges… Up yours Fernandez!!

• ultraman on Jan 19, 2011 at 12:15 am

having more n n more confidence with lotus renault team..hoping they can achieve what they are persuing..
    kubica is a good driver to start with too
    =)

• aiya..he go where also same 1 la..will end up like alex yoong
    malaysian just cant drive F1

• trav_da_man on Jan 19, 2011 at 1:42 am

Wow the whole Lotus twist has gone into another different chapter!!!!I wonder what’s next? Kubica to betray Lotus Renault and go to Team Lotus???

Bring in the popcorns!!!!

• ayuarjuna on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:20 pm

i don’t think so.. Kubica is not that stupid..

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:43 pm

i’m all ready with popcorn and coke enjoying the show…… :lol:

• Fuyoh, this is not just plain changing team, this is defecting!

• hope he’ll shine more and get more chances with experienced team… he’s good actually.. just didn’t get the chance..

• nomansland on Jan 19, 2011 at 7:11 am

that’s true bro!
      but because he is malay, some people will always look down on him.
      that’s the fact here in malaysia.
      that’s the scenario!

• arch808 on Jan 19, 2011 at 9:32 am

i dont know malay is being looked down by some people in Msia? thats a first.

• Tiadaid on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:42 pm

If you don’t know that, then you don’t really have a true picture of Malaysia.

Racism is not a one-race attribute!

• eheh!!? on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:57 am

try to look good and win malaysians’ support.. bluehhh

• T4VR-Ralph on Jan 19, 2011 at 6:32 am

it’s the “upside-down bone” person!

• very good for him. as a driver, you are not ‘obliged’ to stick with one team entire your racing career, unlike special cases like lewis, well..even Michael cut the biblical code with the italian stallion.
    Why not we all just wish him Good Luck, instead bashing our own people?..
    irregardless who i am, what i know I-am Malaysian. Go Fairuz!
    May The Force Be With You

• I second that with.. “May the G-Force be with u..”

• yeah. i just hope that he gets more friday practice than he had with lotus racing last year. otherwise, there’s no way to improve himself and impress the management. maybe, if he is lucky enough that kubica or petrov (more likely) involves in a heavy collision and has to sit out for one or two races, then he get to race and be like kobayashi/vettel.
      one man’s loss is another man’s gain. right?

• ayuarjuna on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:59 pm

don’t forget, F1 also come with G-String.. LOL

• No Eyes See on Jan 19, 2011 at 7:38 am

Betul betul macam budak kecik gaduh… Shame…

• 2sidesofthecoin on Jan 19, 2011 at 9:01 am

Wonder how long it will take Heikki to move.

• if u r investor, which lotus u go? the one formally won f1 champion with f.alonso (renault) or the completely new kid on the block? (tony’s lotus)

obviously we all know which to team to go to has better prospect and more $$$

• frossonice on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:38 am

Colin Chapman will surely go with the new kids on the block as he loves challenges. Sadly, other Chapmans do not share his view.

God Speed both Lotus-Renault and Team Lotus!

• i think even Colin doesn’t wanna go to those new kids becoz those kids ‘misused’ the ‘name’ that he worked hard on….

• Bro, investment in former F1 champ cost way higher than NKOTB. Yes probabilty your co name masuk TV is higher but can u afford the $$$? Even News giant can put thier logo on the green lotus….. I think u need to consult ur CFO 1st la XD

• frossonice on Jan 19, 2011 at 9:22 am

25 Malaysian engineers working at Renault racing is a good start. But we know F1 teams employs hundreds of engineers so we hope 25 is not the limit of Malaysian participation in the team.

As F1 is more than just racing, we do hope they employ some of our scientist, chemist and other specialist for the team.

• Well..20% + of Team Lotus’s engineers are Malaysian..I bet thats more than 25 people!!

• Jonnie on Jan 19, 2011 at 9:50 am

Still remember A1? Fairuz cannot even match Alex. BTW what happen in A1?

• clutch basah on Jan 19, 2011 at 1:33 pm

He was only a second driver during A1when Alex was around, when he took over from Alex as first driver Team A1 Malaysia finished 6th overall.

• ayuarjuna on Jan 19, 2011 at 4:04 pm

he was still new at that time… didn’t u watch how he progress & beaten Alex?

• Diablo on Jan 19, 2011 at 5:41 pm

No. Fairuz did not ‘beat’ Alex in A1. If you look at stats, Alex had 3 race wins in A1GP while Fairuz only had 1. However Alex did 50 over races while Fairuz did less than half of that.

Alex was even awarded the Bruce McLaren Trophy by BRDC for his achievements by a driver from the Commonwealth, thanks to his activity in A1. While Fairuz is just a BRDC member

You cannot compare them that way.

• niuhje on Jan 19, 2011 at 9:53 am

apa kata mr fernandes? or he doesn’t give a hooooot!!

• tokmoh on Jan 19, 2011 at 2:29 pm

He recently tweeted abt starbiz news today abt Proton wanting to secure GBP480m loan from CIMB to fund Lotus’ expansion plan.

“Reading the star business. Wow. The truth slowly emerging on proton and lotus. That’s a lot of money to guarantee.”
      http://twitter.com/tonyfernandes/status/27542274472677377

Fuh fuh, he’s one to comment abt other’s financials. My lecturer once said AirAsia’s accounts are very scary to view. I think it’s due to being highly geared too, and watever it may be. Why? How possible?

Bcuz we accountants just love to use our creativities, known as “creative accounting”, we’ll never quite know the truth once auditors say the account is true and fair :)

• ignoramus on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:18 pm

I have no problems with Tony using creative leveraging etc. It’s his money, his company, his business. I can’t say the same about Proton which is a GLC.

• tokmoh on Jan 20, 2011 at 10:44 am

Proton borrows money, not simply take taxpayer’s money. They’re investing, and for good cause to their business. At least they declare what they wanna do with the loan: to build 5 new models, to race, branding, etc. Motorsports is in their line of business too, so there is a positive correlation and a logical step at that.

But a low-cost carrier? Really, how far can they convince people the benefits it brings to their business in the long run… and on a “borrowed” brand at that? And with a technical director whose track record have been jumping from a team to another before achieving a championship?

About time he steps up his involvement from being just another team in F1 and develop something that can be very demanding to the motorsports scene. I’d like to see that, TF. As Maxis tagline says, “Committed to the game”. How committed are you to this, TF?

Should one day you need to pay RM5 to use the toilet in AirAsia’s Airbus, we’ll see if you say it’s not related with this venture at all… it’s his company, rite?

• Su Ber on Jan 19, 2011 at 9:59 am

Lucky chap.

Hope he makes the best of it and show to the world, he can get some points also….when given the chance to drive.

He should be No.2…….sometimes reserve driver remain in that position unless he can post better times than the 2 permanent drivers.

• h4dRi on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:00 am

Somehow i think the only reason why team lotus hired fairuz before becoz proton told them to do so….

• i think like that too…curious how he depart from TF team lotus without reason..it look now Malaysian businessman vs Malaysian gov..that good..even better if they challenge each other in development in Malaysia that has been gov most of the time…the biggest, tallest, widest, profitest, etc

• Dak Ajan on Jan 19, 2011 at 5:01 pm

He raced in World Renault Series before…

• Ferruccio on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:50 am

I guess they are trying to match Team Lotus who already have 30 Malaysians working in the team. Paul Tan’s previous article: http://paultan.org/2010/12/16/exclusive-we-visit-the-team-lotus-factory-in-norfolk/

I’m curious from where Lotus Renault GP will recruit the 25 Malaysians. Unlike Team Lotus, their team is already mature in size. Also, the most useful area to have more people is in aero. I think Team Lotus already grabbed Malaysian engineers from the small Malaysian aerospace industry.

Probably they will tap into Proton’s road car engineer pool and train them up? Do hope this is more than just a PR exercise to win local support ahead of the Malaysian GP.

I guess we will see whats what in a few short months.

Imagine how much can be achieved if the teams just worked together..

• qwerty on Jan 19, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Those 25 engineers will be Proton engineers

source: http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles/20110119113001/Article/

• 20% + of Team Lotus’s engineers are Malaysian

• As expected when he quit Team Lotus.

• joe jungle on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:22 am

alex more teruk than fauzy….got sponsored etc…but always xcident and last person to finish it…

• nomansland on Jan 19, 2011 at 2:49 pm

alex only good for hair gel commercials
      lols

p/s: im sorry alex. but it is soo true!

• longjaafar on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:32 am

Sadly, time is running out for Fairuz. I agree that they are taking him only because Proton asked them to, to give a ‘Malaysian look’ to the team. I have a feeling that during the next season, they will let him drive once, and if he fail to deliver, he’ll be back in the pits. If he wins, which is highly unlikely, it will really surprise them and they will be forced to review his position.

• Naz@AE111 on Jan 19, 2011 at 12:47 pm

just a reserve driver? haiya.. its better he become a the main driver or 2nd driver rather being a reserve.. but anyway, hopefully the team will give him an opportunity to race this year.. he been wasting one year at Lotus racing just become a reserve driver only..

• ayuarjuna on Jan 19, 2011 at 12:48 pm

considering that most of the time (in 2010) Petrov can’t keep the car on tracks, it’ll be a matter of time before the Russian hurts himself & lend the seat to Fairuz… but that’s IF the Russian can’t improre his driving skills in 2011 & getting worse..

• christopher on Jan 19, 2011 at 12:53 pm

based on the dislike comment rating… I guess there are alot of BN supporters here! :-P

• carbon on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Good Luck Fairuz…

• ZOOM NEO on Jan 19, 2011 at 5:02 pm

aiya wait n see la the coming soon F1 menang kalu PM will annouce the holiday again

• IMHO
    let team tony use the ‘lotus’ name or else they will lose the prize money.. they earned it, dont they??
    team renault? juz use proton-renault… y not?! proton themselves paiseh to use own name maa??

simple solution to not so simple prob.. yup, i know.. :P

• is he fast? i dont know.
    but i know he has a rich father back him up

• thanks to AP system

• Azhar on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:02 pm

He is a good driver. Only thing is he dont have the chance to prove himself with the right car. He race with Petrov before and beat him and if im not mistaken in GP2 series in Sepang a few years back. Dont forget he is the runner up in 2009 Renault World Series. He’s racing with the best drivers from all over the world not racing with the Batu 3 fellows.

• shiranoutik on Jan 19, 2011 at 7:30 pm

Malaysian like to bash so much……..

no wonder the country still stucked and sucked

• Lassana Diarra on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:16 pm

Can Malaysian racers & engineers really get into a F1 team on skills and credentials without having a sugar daddy to back them up from behind?

Just wondering…..

• F1guy on Jan 20, 2011 at 10:02 am

All of the team in F1 has their own ‘sugar daddy”. If not F1 wont be there for all of us to see.It involve a lot of money in this business. Maybe we Malaysian dont really understand what involve in F1 business. Sponsorship is very important. Even a ferrari engineers cannot get into F1 if they dont have the back-up. Alonso may be going back to Spain and sell olive oil to get himself to F1 if he cannot get sponsorship

• belladonna on Jan 20, 2011 at 11:14 am

to ray ,

pls read fm azhar…
    in motorsport especially f1 if u don bring money@sponsor , u don dream la..
    look at happen to Nico Helkenberg , his seat at william taken by Pastor Maldonado..

• nadzri m yusof on Jan 20, 2011 at 12:33 pm

wow , hope to see all malaysian’s podium.

1st Merc Petronas
    2ndRenault Lotus
    3rd Team Lotus

• squawk on Jan 20, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Here’s a Q&A from a boy in Guatemala interested in racing to Peter Sauber who has been involved in motorsports for a few decades:

Q: Hi Mr. Peter, I just want you to know that I admire your work and have a lot of respect for what you have done in racing. The reason I’m writing you, and I hope you can read it, is because I’m a kid from Guatemala, Central America, and just a couple of years ago I discovered the fascinating world of F1. So far I haven’t had any chance to see a F1 car. What I really want to say is that making it to F1 as a driver is my dream, every time I get into a car, I can feel it, it’s like I was born for it. I wish there was someone who could take me seriously, because I know this is what I want, I really do, it’s so frustrating to want something that you know you have a chance of 0.00001% of getting it. If you read this, I would do everything to be close to my dream. I’m sorry I have said this so straight, but maybe and just maybe i could have a chance. Thanks to you Mr. Sauber for your time, i wish you the best, good bye. – Luis Urrutia

A: Unfortunately I don’t know exactly how old you are. If you are 15 years old, for example, you have already missed five years, since the earlier you start, the better. A Formula 1 career normally begins in kart racing, where you fight your way through from the regional races through the national contests to the international championship. This is followed by the junior formulas such as Formula BMW or Formula Renault, before you can switch to Formula 3 or GP2. You should be aware that you have to be the best placed in each race, otherwise you don’t have any chance of rising through the ranks. Worldwide there are thousands upon thousands of talented individuals who would like to get into Formula 1. However, there’s only room for 20 drivers. – Peter Sauber