Volkswagen Touareg Gold Edition – 24-carat shimmer

So you have money. Lots of money. You want to dress your SUV up, but think shiny plastic or carbon-fibre bits are downright el cheapo. Bling? Surely, but with far more class, more exuberance, more glitter.

Well, how about the Touareg Gold Edition then? Volskwagen have come up with a concept study of the SUV, dressing up select bits with the shiny stuff, plated in 24-carat, no less. The vehicle made its debut in Qatar, surely as good a place as any to do so.

On the outside, the glitter goes on custom-designed 22-inch wheels, roof rails, protective guard strips and window frames, mirror caps and parts of the air intake frame, the ‘Touareg V8’ badge and boot sill trim.

Inside, the 24-carat treatment continues with the car’s accents and switches, providing the cabin with lots of suitable distraction. Plenty of craftsmanship to be found in the Walnut Burr accents, with their genuine gold marquetry crafted into an ornamental pattern.

The interior gets a mixture of Nappa leather seats – and Alcantara roofliner – in a shade called Luna and natural brown leather for the dashboard, with contrasting seams for the latter in a Magnolia shade. The Gold Edition’s exterior is finished in what is called Magic Morning.

VW haven’t mucked around with the mechanicals on this one, so it’s pretty practical (!), but you’ve definitely got to be careful where you park it, for sure, not to mention worrying about attracting the wrong kind of attention as you merrily drive along.

All that glitters after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1914]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AhBeng on Jan 28, 2011 at 1:10 pm

Gold ah!!! Huat ah!!!!

• Nodame-chan on Jan 28, 2011 at 1:22 pm

only suitable to put inside “jewelry box” -_-lll

• VW_fan on Jan 28, 2011 at 1:26 pm

this car will go very nicely with a set of gold teeth, gold chains and gold rolex.

• Vince Chong on Jan 28, 2011 at 1:54 pm

The perfect car for Mr. T!

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 28, 2011 at 1:58 pm

Perrrrrfect for the douches..

• Suitable for Dubai market only..hehe

• endre on Jan 28, 2011 at 2:22 pm

nice… but worried about the 24K gold,

• anti-first on Jan 28, 2011 at 3:28 pm

oh no, VW going on the bling-bling route – there goes the prestige of owning a VW!

• ladydriver on Jan 28, 2011 at 3:40 pm

sure i will get robbed if i own the car here..walaweii

• rulered on Jan 28, 2011 at 3:47 pm

I thought at this day and age, gold plated vehicles seems to be a thing of the past.

• RadzLee on Jan 28, 2011 at 4:25 pm

definitely car for douchebags

• speedyjack on Jan 28, 2011 at 4:27 pm

if the colour of the car is black its look nicer because black and gold is a great colour combination. btw no need to worry about your gold car because in Qatar no body dare to steal because their hand will be chop off if they steal.

• mystvearn on Jan 28, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Park car outside, next day tyres gone:P

• Jimmy on Jan 28, 2011 at 4:47 pm

In M’sia, you should not buy this car even if you are rich because you will spend hours looking for police and for workshop and spareparts, not the issue of money but time. Unless you have a driver. Better buy X6, not need 24K also looks very cantiq, sporty and prestigeous.

• Faisal on Jan 28, 2011 at 5:09 pm

vw just wants huge profit from the arabs!

• ezracopters on Jan 28, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Debut in Qatar?? hahaha perfect.. maybe they can try Indian market as well..

• Scofield on Jan 28, 2011 at 6:52 pm

If no money can pajak the tyre…

• Frankie Tan on Jan 28, 2011 at 8:10 pm

gold embellishment, hmmm very much my thing……… I luv Touareg GE

• acerman on Jan 28, 2011 at 8:29 pm

I think this is the only car that won’t decrease in resale value.

• junaidi on Jan 28, 2011 at 8:38 pm

oh hello there, I have a touareg gold edition. Please steal my car bits.

• Gold Edition..
    Elite Gold Edition..
    Exclusive Elite Gold Edition….

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x7nGXpqb3FE

BMW X6?…

Anyway even this sexy without gold but still look like a gold SUV!love it~

• Alamak! Toureg with Ah Loong gold chains

• Aniki on Jan 29, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Whoever buy this car in malaysia will end up very ugly because every night people going to knock off those gold plated on the car and make it looks “fantabulous”:..

• rally_fan on Jan 29, 2011 at 12:53 pm

there will always be someone out there who wants one of these.

• freddie on Jan 31, 2011 at 9:59 am

This is nothing compared to this goold porsche
    http://englishrussia.com/index.php/2008/07/04/the-golden-porsche/

The car was stolen and luckily it was found.
    http://englishrussia.com/index.php/2009/05/26/gold-plated-porsche-found/

• Anton on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:17 am

After this, they will change the name into Sheikhwagen

• Anton on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:22 am

After this, they will change the name to Sheikhwagen