Volvo V60 Plug-In Hybrid to debut in Geneva

Volvo will unveil its V60 Plug-in Hybrid at the Geneva Motor Show in March, and says that the debutant is virtually production-ready. Developed in close cooperation with Swedish energy supplier Vattenfall, the vehicle is set to make its market debut in 2012.

The company adds that it will be the first manufacturer to go on the market with a hybrid featuring a turbodiesel pot driving the front wheels and an electric powertrain drivng the rear.

A D5 five-cylinder 2.4 litre turbodiesel, offering 215 hp and a maximum torque of 440 Nm, works the front rubbers of the V60 Plug-In Hybrid, while at the back zip is provided by an Electric Rear Axle Drive (ERAD) system, in the form of an 52 kW electric motor and 12 kW lithium-ion battery pack combination.

The sports wagon, which will ship with a six-speed automatic transmission, will be able to go for up to 50 km on pure electricity.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• huiyoo on Jan 28, 2011 at 2:20 pm

the back side is nice, but the front?? oh my god

• huiyoo on Jan 28, 2011 at 2:21 pm

why hybrid cars need to designed ugly?

• acumm on Jan 28, 2011 at 2:54 pm

interesting

• BAD9790 B20 1972 on Jan 28, 2011 at 4:10 pm

FInallllyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!! Thank GOD!!! The real ultimate working man driving machine is here!! Man look at the specs 195 MPG..wow!!! 1.9 lt /100 km…my kancil 660 5spd m 6lt /100km!! 3 times the mileage…wooooo…plus SPACE and what a SPECIAL DESIGN :) and SAFETY to add ..well done VOLVO…I’M IMPRESSED…see this is how you produce a car. Hybrid Diesel..man….PROTON engineers look ..imagine this in the EXORA….u can just modify the trunk space behind for the electric motor (plus good weight distribution )and fit that kind of engine 2.5 liters 6speed trans…man also put it in the new perdana replacement model..and if u can..B20 bio-diesel..wow that will be the day…goreng pisang also kalah…this will lakuuuu like hot ch kodoks man..i tell yaa!!!

• rossi46 on Jan 28, 2011 at 4:28 pm

Agreed…Hybrid diesel make more sense than a petrol hybrid….more power..more frugal…now volvo and prev pug had make the right move

• ezracopters on Jan 28, 2011 at 5:26 pm

??? comparing Volvo to Kancil??? hmmm anyway

1. Volvo, my personal opinion.. they always look dull and boring despite it is proven strong, durable and now ‘menjimatkan’!!!.. sort of car that only drove by over matured, paranoid, ‘ketayap’s and nerdy persons. Pendapat hamba la, tuan hamba tak tau ler camne..

2. Yes, this is kind the technology (diesel-hybrid) which need to be embrace my Malaysian manufacture. well, we can make it i guess.. they did prove with Exora petrol-hybrid.

3. Hopefully Geely only make a money out of it while the manufacturing remains made in Sweden & Belgium.. if u know what i mean hehe

• Sour grapes can never make proton look better. Since when saving face mentality prevail in m’sia huh?

• Dr. Kervokian on Jan 31, 2011 at 8:12 am

Ketayap types all upgraded to merc already… mana main volvo

• Hukaka on Jan 28, 2011 at 6:47 pm

being it in with tax free!
    yeah.

• Can volvo bring in 2.0 turbodiesel hybrid version ar? then would be cheaper to own it man….by the way, I am still very much worry about our diesel quality in this bolehland? B5 =Euro 4M=Euro4? Ultra low sulfur diesel?..it must be ME..dreaming in bolehland!

• yeah but volvo has lower fuel consumption bro,not to mention a safer chasis with all the safety features.so santa fe has a higher torque,n dats all it has,design oso outdated.just my 2 cents

• Heemph korean santa fe produces 442Nm torque with just 2.2 turbodiesel engine..this volvo is overstatement in my book…

• 440Nm torque is more than enough for most people.the power extracted form a turbo engine whether diesel or petrol can be tailored based on the size of turbo and boost that you want but if you want to get higher boost, you may land up with more wear and tear and reduce durability of the engine.
      The record for the most durable car belongs to a volvo p1800 which clocked over 2.6 million miles!

• cikuludes on Jan 29, 2011 at 11:13 am

too bad, Volvo Malaysia did not bring in this sport wagon v60 to our shore.

• Go green on Jan 29, 2011 at 1:15 pm

Pls bring this in, Volvo Malaysia.