Proton Exora with updated design spotted near Ayer Hitam?

This Proton Exora with some mild disguises and a tradeplate was spotted by reader Abdullah Kutan on the PLUS highway heading towards JB, just before Ayer Hitam.

The front end of the disguised Exora features what seems to be a new front grille and a new front bumper design. The front grille opening seems to have been made bigger – I’m thinking wishfully that this might be in order to allow more cooling for a turbocharged engine hiding in the engine bay.

At the rear, the strip across the bootlid has been painted body colour, and the tail lamps are of a new clear design such as the one we’ve seen on the Proton Exora Prime Concept, but not exactly the same either as the Prime had a clear tail lamp design while this one looks more like a combo of clear and smoked.

Look after the jump for the photo gallery of the spied Exora.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1960]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• PROTON basher on Feb 24, 2011 at 3:17 pm

where is the exhaust??

• sagatron on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:59 pm

no need exhaust..this is exora “GO GREEN EDITION”..save environment..hehe..

• confused on Feb 24, 2011 at 5:34 pm

exora turbo got this version of exhaust

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Proton-Exora-Prime&image=Proton-Exora-Prime-Concept-13.jpg

cheers

• luristvan on Feb 24, 2011 at 5:37 pm

between the two tail lamp, just below the “spoiler” …hahahahuhuh…just kiddin!.

• no exhaust….ermm,, EV?

• watcha on Feb 24, 2011 at 7:50 pm

will pass thru your bloody nose

• Pakka on Feb 24, 2011 at 11:30 pm

It’s FEE.

• palat punya PROTON basher …. when ada proton news.. asyik dia ajer yang mulut macam longkang…hayy… entah wht car is he using….

• dont be too sensitive, even his/her nick as “protonbasher”, but the question he raise just a common one.. no offense in his/her sentence.

• JoeGTi on Feb 24, 2011 at 3:18 pm

Please ensure this product launch without any engine cooling issue!!
    If Lotus still could not solve any critical issue, never bring them to your new engine programme development!!!

• zaff1984 on Feb 24, 2011 at 5:11 pm

what issues..?

• squall_shinoda on Feb 24, 2011 at 7:19 pm

That is why Proton is constantly doing on-road tests on hot and humid Malaysian roads so that any issues of overheating can be detected and remedied. The Inspira is not an exception as well though everybody knows it’s a rebadged Lancer GT. That’s why if you closely compare the technical specs of both Inspira and Lancer GT, you’ll notice that the Inspira’s engine has actually been detuned to lower the possibility of overheating.

• pacifictuna on Feb 24, 2011 at 10:50 pm

lancer used to have problem with overheating cvt tranny…. if not mistaken..

• haris on Feb 25, 2011 at 5:56 am

that why inspira got trans cooler and lancer don’t….
          just ask any lancer GT owner, they have to fix after market ones to solve the cvt overheating issue…. plus inspira bumper is design to have more cooling towards the gearbox…

• Unforgiven on Feb 25, 2011 at 4:46 pm

I don’t think Lancer GT owner will do that.
            If there’s an issue, the Jap should have solved it.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 25, 2011 at 9:05 pm

The climate in Japan is totally different from Malaysia. That’s why the same Lancer GT with the same tuning and setup as what sold in Malaysia may have less tendency of overheating in Japan; the only exception would be during summer. In Malaysia, the tendency for overheating is higher because of our hot and humid climate here all the time.

• Firdaus Abdullah on Feb 25, 2011 at 10:20 am

Still very ignorant la. Lotus is not doing engine, they are chassis and handling expert… repeat ‘chassis and handling’

• squall_shinoda on Feb 25, 2011 at 12:48 pm

Who says Lotus does not make engines… They did make engines in the past, especially the famous Lotus 900 series engines. They also make a new range extender engine for their series hybrid researches. It’s just that because currently they only have limited model range with production rate being lower than Proton, it’s not economical for them to make new researches to build their new self-developed engines, as it will take them a very long time to balik modal. That’s why they sourced the engines from other carmakers like Toyota and re-tuned the engines for their current model lineup.

• Notoriez on Feb 26, 2011 at 8:48 pm

Not forgetting to mention most other re-known sports / super car manufacturer are rebadging engines from other manufacturer as well.

They will only tune and do minor adjustments on it to fit their chassis.

• Mohammad Suhaimi b Hassan on Feb 24, 2011 at 3:19 pm

eager to wait.. hope that the engine will be turbo..

• wonder about the performance?
    its the 1st turbocharged engine by proton yo

• Tiadaid on Feb 24, 2011 at 6:29 pm

Forget performance in the Exora. Turbocharged for better fuel economy, since it’s going to be low-pressure turbo anyway.

• redundancy?

• kokopai on Feb 25, 2011 at 7:18 am

redundancy? better ask P2, they are the king of redundancy (1 model, millions of variants)

• ko malu saje... on Feb 26, 2011 at 1:01 am

the best thing is: you can’t even spot the differences!

• Essential Motoring 101 on Feb 24, 2011 at 3:23 pm

I see sleeker lines now. Better be a turbo! Cant wait to expect turbo-charged MPVs scattered on the roads! :D

• Luap Nat on Feb 24, 2011 at 5:12 pm

I dun wanna see turbo-charged MPVs crushed mangled scattered on the roads!

• I dun wanna see any car crushed mangled scattered on the roads….

They tend to cause jam….

• Wisdom on Mar 01, 2011 at 11:06 am

I dun wanna see any car with a few occupants crushed mangled scattered on the road. Eww scary!!

My god please keep us away from that…

• walter Culas on Feb 24, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Turbo on the way… ;D

• Nice…

• Nothing new..

Paul, what do you mean by ‘just because Ayer Hitam’?

• apen80 on Feb 24, 2011 at 3:46 pm

wauuuweeyyy… but to bad…. very few photos….. need some more!!!! spyer’ss… get ready ur camera ayy….

• exotrawor on Feb 24, 2011 at 3:48 pm

is this car LHD?the driver side is empty…

• Tengokje.. on Feb 25, 2011 at 8:03 am

I think Abdullah Kutan snap the photo via his rear view mirror. Take a close look at the wiper position if I’m not mistaken.
      Salam…

• Lol if proton were to ever made cars with turbo do expect more problems and maintainance fee… look at the guy poor guy who bought the inspira having many problems and proton couldnt even fix it :(

• peYno on Feb 24, 2011 at 9:27 pm

Afiq
      Inspira got so many problem and can’t be fixed??
      u sounds perodua fanboy/salesman to me

prrrrtfhhhhh

• ninjagarden on Feb 25, 2011 at 4:23 pm

he does have a point there. with more equipment in your car, the chances of malfunction is higher. let’s take for instance the turbo, a naturally aspirated car will have no turbo problems as there is no turbocharger in the car in the first place. so the less features your car has, the chances of things in your car going funky is significantly lower.

but then again, a car with no features would be a soap box racer. wait scratch that.. imagine kereta flintstone.. ;)

so cars equipped with all the bells and whistles have higher chances of breaking something than base line models. =)

• peYno on Feb 25, 2011 at 8:19 pm

stock turbo engine from factory should be OK.
          but typical malaysian mindset… all this while malaysian get turbo engine from kedai potong and dumb into kancil and wira but don’t know how to maintain..
          simply got problem, engine kong the they blame “turbo”

it is not turbo engine fault…

• Factsguy on Feb 26, 2011 at 2:58 am

sometimes because of the hot turbo engine bay, causing other components in in the engine bay to be broken….

• peYno on Feb 26, 2011 at 8:37 pm

in Japan, europe market.. factory standard turbocharged car is a NORM…maintaining the engine is olso samse as NA engine…change engine oil regularly…

but poor malaysian who can’t afford originally fitted turbocharged car.. end up with halfcut shop (dumbed turbo engine from Japan)

• At least those Perodua did a good Rebadging Job!

Protong can’t even do a successful rebadging, let alone making their own car.

Kecoh “tiru homework” member Mitsu Jepun dier, kata CVT overheating lah, sendiri nak buat kereta pun macam hampeh! Ibarat tiru 99% kerja orang, tukar cover report nama dier jer, bukan ker rebadge nama tu? So kenapa nak mengata orang lain rebadge? Sendiri ludah ke langit terkena muka sendiri? Haha.

Furthermore, my grandma’s 1980’s Toyota Corolla Carburetor Engine 1.5cc is far more fuel economy than any protong “latest” 1.6cc model.

I’m not even comparing Protong with Toyota latest technology, I’m talking about technologies in which Mr. Peynus was still wearing his diapers (lampin).

And Mr. Peynus does sound like a typical desperado Protong salesman.

• Proton overpriced sampah on May 14, 2011 at 3:37 pm

Inspira overpriced sampah.. Bila nak bankrupt?

• who that guy? please terangi saya

• haris on Feb 25, 2011 at 6:09 am

dear mr.afiq,
      care to share on what problem that can’t be fix?
      if inspira got problem, then lancer also got?

• izack04 on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:01 pm

Maybe it is turbo mule test…….since we know they had winter test in sweden. They need a lot of air to cool down the engine. But we do see a lot of gen2 turbo on the road with standard gen2 bumper…..maybe its not a big issue.

• hayden on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:02 pm

DELICIOUS! = )

• linear_system on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:02 pm

isnt this the old pic??or did i see wrong?

• confused on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:05 pm

OMG OMG OMG this is soooooo exciting! go go Proton~~

• justice on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:14 pm

high expectations..dont let us down..

• mfahd_88 on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:15 pm

carving for turbo exora
    hopefully it’s not exora SE equipped with skirting since the tail lamp design look like myvi SE tail lamp

• rossi46 on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:27 pm

if they can get something like the prince 1.6turbo petrol performance currently used by mini/citroen/pug shud be great….240nm of torque from low rev will be good to pull those weights…..btw, the mazda8 normally aspirated 2.4 only managed about 200nm at 3,000rpm…

• maaajeeedaaa on Feb 24, 2011 at 11:18 pm

dude, have u driven Mazda 8???? Dun just try to make hypothesis without experiment eh….

• VoidDance on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:27 pm

Wow, the first picture do look menacing. That is just tapes buy boy do it look quite good.

• M Zre on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:43 pm

hopefully true story…

• TK Ong on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:46 pm

I am disappointed that the rear combination lights are unchanged; except toclear lenses and smoked. In my opinion, whilst the overall design of the Exora is pleasant and clean, the rear combination lights is far too “ah beng” for my liking. It’s looks like a patched job. A simple combination cluster like those found on the Chery Eastar would look better Iam sure.

• lightning mcqueen on Feb 25, 2011 at 5:45 am

TK Ong, better u design your own tail lamp… n sell it thru internet we’ll see your design whether your design better or not

• focus tdci on Feb 25, 2011 at 7:40 pm

that is his opinion, you dont like it does not mean he cannot voice it out. this is a forum where all opinions are welcome not tempat to puja proton. you can do that at home with a proton brochure and some hand lotion.

• cardreamer on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Yes, get rid of that chrome line at the back…it make the exora look fat…or rather big butted…

• gtmaniac on Feb 25, 2011 at 3:05 pm

For the current version, that chrome line is available on H-Line. For M-Line, it is body colour while for B-Line it is black.

For this one, we’ll have to see later.

• Unforgiven on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Would you like to get a Proton? Interesting…

• halim on Feb 24, 2011 at 4:59 pm

I wonder wat the price tag gonna be? Hmmmm 100k for tc

• halim on Feb 24, 2011 at 5:01 pm

The price tag???

• I like proton but I have to say this – Exora is one of the worst looking MPV I have ever seen. Even Cherry MPV looks better. Why?

• i tot avanza worst looking mpv

• because u r the chery salesman

• I am not a Cheryy salesman, I own a proton satria and I was a proton’s shareholder once and also plan to buy another proton soon.

If I have the opportunity to speak in proton general meeting then I would say ‘what the f*ck proton design is doing?’ Even an ITM art student can draw better car then them..

• Unforgiven on Feb 25, 2011 at 4:42 pm

Interesting, why do you wanna buy another Proton? Trying to make fun of yourself?

• farghmee on Feb 25, 2011 at 5:32 pm

aisey…to say that, i suggest u to buy more share :)

• jl@ipl on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:49 am

Alamak, setakat nak lukis, kartunis pun boleh.

Nak design dan buat kereta? Itu cite lain……………

• ronda2 on Feb 25, 2011 at 12:49 am

i hav to agree with u. the design is so basic. like a box. its like using online windows paint to design. haiih very disappointed when the design was out last year.

• u want boxy look….see Honda Freed

• squall_shinoda on Feb 25, 2011 at 1:01 pm

Honda Freed can still be considered beautiful la bro… the real boxy look is going to be Proton Juara. At least Exora is much better than Juara in terms of design.

• “very disappointed when the design was out last year.”

Exora was out in 2009 not 2010…

• I was disappointed too, they spend years to come with that MPV but it just a box..

come on Proton, people put RM70,000. make sth special please..

• just somebody on Feb 25, 2011 at 5:21 pm

you want special for RM70k????

Wish, Stream, Estima, etc..
          all above RM70k..so, if you want special one, can but price is the same as wish and stream..

Is that ok with you? once Proton shareholder guy??

• Factsguy on Feb 26, 2011 at 3:03 am

yes~ if all those cars u listed sell without tax, I think everyone will go buy wish or stream or mazda5 since these 3 cars are selling around the same price as Exora in other tax free countries~

• focus tdci on Feb 25, 2011 at 7:41 pm

and the wheels are too small for such a tall mpv. livina rules i say!

• shud be awesome. tho cant help but to ask this question, Are we actually ready for mass turbo engines (mantainence/ drive style/ etc) lifestyle ? :)

• focus tdci on Feb 25, 2011 at 7:43 pm

just in time too since oil will be at $100 a barrel for a little while longer.

• huiyoo on Feb 24, 2011 at 5:36 pm

smiley face!! but some smiley scary face

• kena sengat on Feb 24, 2011 at 5:44 pm

Existing Exora owners will once again see
    a fall in the value of their MPV. All the hard earned money shrinking
    and not forgetting the 7-9 year loan too.
    Aduh hai !! :(

• gtmaniac on Feb 25, 2011 at 12:14 am

Give me one normal production mpv.. or even car which value didn’t shrink.

Haven’t u heard the word ‘depreciation’?

• haris on Feb 25, 2011 at 6:07 am

nothing special, same thing happen to civic owner when honda come out with newer model…. city owner when new model come out…. vios a.k.a dugong owner… bmw…merc…
      its normal, when new thing come our, automatic the old version value will depreciate..

• normal la after 7~9 years of course la very little value tinggal…… bila beli kete always think mcm sewa je…..
      mau value tinggi angkat loan 2 taun je lps tu jual la balek….

• Hasmizal on Feb 24, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Harap-harap Exora Turbo akan keluar tak lama lagi..

• akinablue on Feb 24, 2011 at 6:01 pm

makin cun..i likeeee..
    i’m lookng fwd to get one…

• Reject!

• Sparc on Feb 24, 2011 at 6:22 pm

Proton will put their first turbo engine in Exora,
    Coming up with next Persona Replacement Turbo. I like the design “tuah”
    Include the turbo engine for SUV in China?
    Bring the SUV to Malaysia as Proton SUV.

Good car won’t be low price tag. But make sure the price that we paid equivalent to what we will get!

• quattro on Feb 24, 2011 at 10:10 pm

proton ader develop tak engine dgn capacity lain..asyik 1.6 je tuned….engine 1.5cc , 1.8cc & 2.0cc in the pipeline ke dok….

• I Hate Proton on Feb 24, 2011 at 6:28 pm

Still rubbish.

• the_fighter on Feb 25, 2011 at 12:26 am

no one force u to like proton…dont be to emotional .. ur comment really inmature

• squall_shinoda on Feb 25, 2011 at 1:06 pm

What a stupid moron. If you think you’re so good then go and apply as an engineer or designer at Proton and make a real “good” car which is not “rubbish”. Then you’ll really know the heights of the sky.

• 123ChickenMan on Feb 26, 2011 at 3:05 am

I m agree with I Hate Proton

From Jeremy Clarkson: Proton Satria Neo has rubbish gearbox/transmission, Idiotic outlook, Seats are not ergonomic to user.

Look at that.. outsiders complain about proton’s current model……

So? I suggest they make “references” before start the project :)
        Proton…. still rubbish after 25 years…
        Look at KIA or Hyundai… the learned their mistake and now produce slightly better cars… Look at us… 25 years… we only produce scrap metal

Sooner.. Malaysian Cars will banished from society…

• mmmmmmm on Feb 26, 2011 at 2:40 pm

MMMMMMMM…….jeremy clarkson???? in this 21 cent people with colonial mindset still prevail……sigh……

• Tiadaid on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:01 pm

When they were 25 years old, KIA & Hyundai were rubbish. Hyundai started in 1967, KIA 1944 so they had a long time to improve.

Same too Honda. Their cars in the 60s were death traps and rust buckets. They also took time to improve.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:06 am

Hello chicken… did you ever know the chronology of the Top Gear episodes…? They kutuk the Satria Neo ages ago but in one of the recent episodes then they used the Satria Neo S2000 to tapau their Aussie counterparts. So if the Satria Neo is really that bad, they wouldn’t surely bother to use them to tapau those Aussies.

• dondon on Feb 24, 2011 at 6:54 pm

i likee….

• Leseid Obrut on Feb 24, 2011 at 6:57 pm

Exora Turbo! I want one! =D

• mitsubishi aspira on Feb 24, 2011 at 7:09 pm

nice….better than the present one !!!

• kagesenshi on Feb 24, 2011 at 7:22 pm

/me wonder if the rumoured CVT will be available for installing in other Campro CPS cars too XD

• Yea…after 3 years sure can get locally made turbo engine at half cut shops. Later can buy and put into my 15 years old kancil…can fit kaa?

• squall_shinoda on Feb 24, 2011 at 7:22 pm

Turbocharged Exoras are always welcome. If the Exora also comes with EVE Hybrid version mated with Campro CPS, I would welcome it as well, because the combined output is also adequate to haul the Exora as well compared with the current one.

• peugeot 1.6 twin scroll with 156 bhp,and exora turbo with 138 bhp???? it will still be slow by industry standard,proton need to do it well, do it with 175 bhp and only u will sell it well.domestic and abroad.do it once and do it well!!!

• what matter most for ferrying people is torque.

• wuzere on Feb 24, 2011 at 9:11 pm

twin scroll la bang

• 4g63tdsm on Feb 24, 2011 at 9:32 pm

HP is not a good indicative of how it accelerates.

Will it be slow? Yes, definitely, but it would be much better than the mill on the Exora now. At least expect to get better city drivability and better FC.

Was very interested to buy it when it launched.. ended buying a slightly used Citra with 10k km after test driving the Exora, and again a buddy’s. If it had the turbo engine at launch, I may have gotten the Exora. For a lack of a better word, it was pathetically underpowered and in-city FC was dismal. The rest of the car was promising….so quite the pity.

So the surprise was that the 2.0L Korean being the scapegoat of being fuel thirsty gets some 18% better fuel numbers than the Exora in the city,….(in its defence the Exora did get better highway cruising FC at 110km/h…however the Citra gets about 15c/km which isn’t bad.)

The Exora needs the Turbo engine badly. Not so much for outright power, but for better fuel efficiency in town driving.

• udasalleh on Feb 25, 2011 at 11:30 am

hmmmm… which means it NOT underpowered but has low torque in the lower gears. Don’t u mean that?

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 25, 2011 at 4:02 pm

Not enough torque where/when it is needed = underpowered.

Underpowered is a “feel”, while acceleration times, fuel consumption are all aspects of an underpowered car.

Very simple.

You can rev the hell out of the little campro and still it will be underpowered. There is only so much 150Nm can do. Which explains why the fuel consumption is so bad, people end up flooring the pedal most of the time.

You have a heavy car with an engine one or 2 size too small.

The Citra is certainly no powerhouse, but does have 20% more torque, which makes a difference. And that 20% more torque perhaps correlates to the roughly 18% better fuel economy (from my own tests) despite the larger displacement (vehicle weight is similar, and both have 4 speed auto gearboxes).

The newer Rondo does even better FC numbers as it got the newer more efficient engine with 10NM more torque.

The higher the torque numbers, the higher the gearing a car can use. All things being equal (which unfortunately not often the case) which means better fuel savings.

For an example (far from being scientific), my Citra hits 150NM at about 2500rpm, while the Exora gets there at 4500rpm or thereabouts. Meaning to make the same torque, the Exora’s engine is spinning 2000rpm more = more fuel used. And thats all she has to give, while if asked for more, my Citra can rev up a little more to 4500rpm and get another 25NM extra.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 26, 2011 at 6:51 am

Haiya… Citra’s engine is 2.0 litre engine so of course la it has better torque to weight ratio. It’s unfair to compare the 1.5-litre Exora to the 2.0-litre Citra. It you want to compare, then compare it with similar vehicle class like Honda Freed, Toyota Avanza or even Perodua Alza.

• accord on Feb 27, 2011 at 8:11 am

Dear Shinoda,

Excuse me.. Exora is 1.6 not 1.5 my dear frenz.. But what most important thing is Exora need at least another 20Nm tork for better FC and acceleration.. Thats all.. I’m also wonder why people still compare this Exora to different class MPV?? why dont compare to Chev Nabira?? at least that MPV is 1.8 not 2.0 MPV as most of the people complaining.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:57 am

Dear accord,

Excuse me… of course I already knew that Exora is 1.6 ages ago. And let me ask you, can you tell me why 1.5L MPVs like Avanza and even Alza have lower torque than Exora but yet they still able to haul full 7 passengers more decently than the slightly larger Exora 1.6…? Don’t you know that their engines are more biased towards low-end torque? And don’t you know that it is the low-end torque that the Campro CPS 1.6 engine is lacking…? The Campro CPS engine used in Exora is just the same as in Gen-2 CPS and Satria Neo CPS where the engine is biased more towards high-end torque.

• roadrunner on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:30 am

forgive me 4g63tdsm, i think it is better for you to enjoy your citra rather than comment at exora article… and thank you for your comparison between Citra 2.0 and Exora 1.6… tq very much..really appreciate it…

• ka_one2000 on Feb 25, 2011 at 9:48 am

peugeot’s is THP and Proton’s is LPT

• push START/STOP button please!!!!! im begging you! its sexy!

• roadrunner on Feb 24, 2011 at 8:09 pm

16 inch rim?

• again and again on Feb 24, 2011 at 8:29 pm

i am not to bash proton but paultan, I getting bored of every spyshoot of exora exora exora that appear countless time in your blog.

Can we get something fresh and new?

Cheers

• tokmoh on Feb 24, 2011 at 11:03 pm

You tak suka, you keluar dari blog ni /sarcasm

Butthurt kah your beloved myvi mk2 spyshot didn’t get as much attention as Exora spyshot? It’s P2’s fault since we can just google what the Myvi mk2 have, it’s already in Japan, not secret at all. Yawn…

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Feb 25, 2011 at 9:04 am

weh….that spyshot was something new la….

adoiiiiii……if nothing new paultan wouldn’t put here la……

• greasemonkey on Feb 24, 2011 at 8:50 pm

Hope engine can last,turbo charged engine tends to overheats,oil seals and surrounding parts like hoses,wire harness will harden and cracked causing alot problem later.

• not again...... on Feb 24, 2011 at 9:19 pm

Enough of proton, bottom line is I will never get another one in my life time. You’re just crap!

• Wait for Prius+ la

• Car Driver on Feb 24, 2011 at 9:48 pm

4g63tdsm is definately right on the dot. If it is not for the underpowered of the current EXORA model, Proton would not have rush this “turbo” engine so suddenly.

• wrong.!! its a trend due to market demand to have turbo… Proton only have 1 engine, and the best model would be exora… nothing about Exora underpowered…

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 25, 2011 at 8:30 am

Exora not underpowered????

Have you driven the Exora?

Proton got most things right on it except for the engine.

How bad is it? Well, bad enough for me to buy a 2nd hand Citra instead….LOL.

• Haiya,always mention exora undrpwr. Exora is nt underpower, the power to weight ratio is enough,even better than innova 2.0. It just undertorque,but then,the already lowering the final drive ratio to solve the undertorque problem. By the way,cps n campro engine will be better when the millage is over 10k km. This turbo is not replacing the current exora which is the budget mpv same as avanza,livina,innova,suzuki apv n etc. The turbo no is up another segment such as stream n wish. Thats why they used turbo 1.6 versus 2.0 na. I heard that this exo has bcm advance cmpare to the current one bcm basic. The trim is also diff. Only that i heard the current cps engine wil change with the new iafm plus engine couple with cvt frm punch@manual frm getrag in 2012 when exora get facelifted

• squall_shinoda on Feb 25, 2011 at 12:56 pm

That’s correct. That’s why there are 2 possible ways to fix it while retaining the same engine, either add a turbocharger or EVE Hybrid. Both of them can contribute to generous low-end torque.

• By the way,i heard that iafm plus engine has better low end torque compare to cps,n of course its not better than cfe. From info i get,iafm plus wil feature vvt n dir injection plus the iafm cntrl by ecu. Couple with cvt which mean less pwr loss cmpare to conv auto or even manual trans. Add with 32bit ecu,i believe that it will make it better than cps even the hp is lower.pwr delivery wil be better at low end

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 25, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Sorry, not to attack you personally but, you can try to justify it all you want.

But the reality is that they fitted an undersized engine for the Chassis/vehicle weight.
            Undertorque gives you the underpowered feel, so what is your point? What are you really trying to defend?

Lowering the final drive sacrifices fuel economy.

A car that does 0-100 in 15.5s (I measured something like 16.2s) is grossly underpowered…. if you can be honest. Your example of the Toyota Innova – well it accelerates to 100 in something like 13s. (much like my Citra at 12.6s)

Your (horse)power to weight theory doesn’t translate to real world performance.

You can read my response in my Exora and Citra comparison. I cross shopped both cars and it would have gone to the Exora’s favour had it had the Turbo engine then.

• Well,i never say that exora is superior than innova,i just mentioned that interm power to weight ratio that it is enough. Dont u know that before any car engineer in the world fitted the engine,they wil calculate the pwr of weight ratio n test it. Actually,they are many 1.6 na mpv in europe. Google it ur self. Yet,i had test drive both,which both already exceeding 20k of milage. Also had chance test the test drive mpv also. Actualy exo that covered more milage had better performance than the test car i had which stil new. The engine is stil to tight. I never said that it is better than citra. Maybe u can ask bro prodas who have both innova or exora,which is the true owner of both mpv,Is it exora really2 bad compare to innova interm of performance? As i mentioned,it is undertorque not underpwr. To be fair,it just our but o meter,but has u tested it side by side,i mean like a drag race. Many exora owners who also had hondas or toyotas, even one of my friend own accord, earlier, yes it seems underpwr,but after covered more than 10k milaege,it become better,according to my friend. U r quite famous in paultan bro, still remember ur post previously few years back:). Anyway, beauty in the eye of the beholder. Underpwr or not,it is depend on u,it is subjective. If u drive 2.0 litter car,maybe u feel it underpwr,if u aspect it to perform 2.0 engine,maybe it be underpwr 4 u. So,this thing is subjective. As i cncern, it stil perform like any other 1.6 n/a mpv plus with bigger space. But turbo is a welcome also.

• Wisdom on Mar 01, 2011 at 11:11 am

I’m pretty sure that in a very near future you’ll regret taht you bought the Citra. Didnt u asked around before buy?

• mizzuddin on Jun 08, 2011 at 5:27 pm

haiyyaaa apa pasal pilih citra over exora…?

citra interior rasanya far worst than proton…

• Lousy Exora Turbo engine… nothing great to shout about! 1.6 turbo engine output is 138bhp & 205nM torque compared to Peugeot 1.6 turbo at 156bhp & 240nM torque. How about gearbox? Is Proton going to use 6-speed? if stick back to 5-speed, it’s a nightmare!

Proton, u still have not improved at all all these years & it’s really about TIME to wake up NOW!!! Shameful!

• Tiadaid on Feb 24, 2011 at 11:16 pm

Hello friend, the turbo boost between Exora Turbo & Peugeot Prince Turbo same or not? Exora don’t need big HP to go fast, all it needs is adequate HP and torque to ensure fuel economy for city driving, and with lower turbo boost it’ll save on wear & tear.

I don’t know why the typical trait of Malaysians is to talk before engaging their brain. Something so simple like this you can’t think by yourself.

• akupunya on Feb 24, 2011 at 10:25 pm

what to kecoh2?
    it just an Exora. you all mcm dok promote model gabak ni.
    adoii…….

it just nothing interesting la…

• noname on Feb 24, 2011 at 11:02 pm

nothing interesting? abes tu ko bace pesal? biar je la… ape punye bangang laa..

• Cookoo on Feb 24, 2011 at 11:01 pm

who cares la…

• many update about p1 recently,,, so anybody will repeat the same sentence that p1 engineer makan gaji buta?

• oldman on Feb 26, 2011 at 2:20 pm

do u think this is designed by protong engineer…

• peYno on Feb 26, 2011 at 2:37 pm

wait till you send the exora turbo to repair, then you will curse them, lol, gaji buta la tu.

• Looks the same to me

• Blazer on Feb 25, 2011 at 1:16 am

I think the Pug is a high boost at 0.7 bar and Exora at 0.3. This is just my personal opinion.

• copycat on Feb 25, 2011 at 1:45 am

Design here and design there for what, the price of Proton sell to local is so expensive than the price of Proton sold overseas. Is Malaysian so gullible and easily to get bullied compare to overseas people. Malaysian don’t deserve better and cheaper car compare to foreigner? Make the material more solid, and the engine more fuel efficient and at the same time powerful and silent, not those cranking sound and fuel hungry car.

• Sigh another waste of Rakyats money, please la proton I don’t think your turbo can work at all, better stick with your campro later got more problems!

Lol people say inspira tune to match malaysias weather so it won’t over heat, my friend got inspira and cause him alot of problems, send to proton also no use they can’t repair it, he even posted on the inspira club forum and many ha pity him

• Wisdom on Feb 25, 2011 at 8:42 am

My friend’s got this problem, my auntie got that problem, my grandmother got that problem also. All grandmother story….

People can come up with lot of stories when he likes/dislikes something……

• Ah you again..what’s wrong with inspira dude..2 post already..sigh

• “Sigh another waste of Rakyats money” – Afiq

What’s with Rakyats’ money? Do you pay for the engine development? Or do you heard our PM announce in Budget 2011 that “government will give millions to Proton to develop turbo engine?”

Typical basher..

• meet_the_zonan on Feb 26, 2011 at 9:39 am

the problem is all proton work has no quality, all worker depend to one QC.. it should be all workers has to become QC, if practice this sure can beat the toyota.. but im not a proton manager.. shoul be proton manage this not amature people like me..

• cl_qwertyuiop on Feb 26, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Please shows us the web link. Support your claim with prove is a must these day.

• waimak on Feb 25, 2011 at 6:12 am

When Exora first came out I thought it was cool. Yes it is. But now, maybe my eyes are not so good, bcos I see it’s getting taller (like Exora MC), (is it taller??) So my expectation for this new engine is to have a slightly lower Exora with neat side skirting, sporty interior and nice rims. Hmmm….*dreaming*..

• learner on Feb 25, 2011 at 8:23 am

don’t worry about lower thing because once 5 or 7 people boarding this vehicle it will automatically get lowered. hohohohhho

• Tengokje.. on Feb 25, 2011 at 7:58 am

Looks like the front and rear lips at bumper already integrated not like the Exora MC version..Paul any news when it will be launch.
    Salam…

• azrai on Feb 25, 2011 at 7:59 am

Haiyaa..refer this rendering lorr…Same as the above CFE Exora.
    http://paultan.org/photo/albums/proton-exora-spyshot-january-2011/Theo_PROTON_Exora_FL.jpg

• izack04 on Feb 25, 2011 at 8:17 am

Copy from wiki :
    For the THP175 maximum torque is 178 lb-ft (247 N·m) at 1600 rpm, remaining flat to 5000 rpm. Power output is 175 PS (173 hp/128 kW) at 5500 rpm. An overboost function is available which temporarily increases torque to 192 lb-ft (260 N·m) between 1700 rpm and 4500 rpm.

Applications:

2006–present Peugeot 207 RC
    2007–present Mini Cooper S
    2008–present Peugeot 308

Its look like the use of this engine is mainly on cars not mpv. Some comment that i read use this engine as a basis. I dont know why?

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Feb 25, 2011 at 9:09 am

this spied exora looks like have been lowered at the front…but rear still looks like taller than front…or is it heavier new engine and gearbox???

btw…the first picture appears to makes the exora looks like it have left hand drive was because the shooter take the picture from rear view mirror maybe???

• lazyf on Feb 25, 2011 at 9:45 am

I LIKE EXORA…

• If i really want a turbo car,i’ll choose the high quality and the international brands like Subaru or VW!why want this thing?izit branded or what lolx

• Wisdom on Mar 01, 2011 at 11:37 am

I thought ‘Proton’ also a brand. At its available internationally so its an international brand.
      Your point is?

• The double standard price means:

1. For Bolehland buyers it is RM85,566.32
    2. For Saudi Arabia buyers it is (converted) RM42,783.16

“The day Proton close shop, it’s our 2nd Merdeka Day!”

• azrai on Feb 25, 2011 at 3:27 pm

It is because there are many type of taxes in Malaysia.

• Nakal on Feb 25, 2011 at 4:26 pm

You know, malaysia are still not merdeka if japanese wannabe like you still exists

• Tiadaid on Feb 25, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Talk to the Malaysian Government about removing taxes from national cars. They are taxed too you know.

• The real question is: Would you like to live in saudi arabia?

Income tax is between 25 and 50% in most developed countries.

All countries have their pros and cons lah.

• peYno on Feb 25, 2011 at 8:11 pm

beng
      can u tell me perodua myvi price in UK,and Mauritius?

• duda dude on Feb 26, 2011 at 12:40 pm

sorry to interrupt..whats the point if the price of the car is cheaper there….. car is not the most and the only things that we need in our life… if u can get a cheaper price of car, but with high income tax, and another stupid tax, will u survive and happy for whole of ur life??

• peYno on Feb 26, 2011 at 2:39 pm

yea, a lot of ppl fancy UK, so they migrate.

pls dont compare uk and msia, its an insult to UK.

• peYno on Feb 26, 2011 at 8:41 pm

yeah some ppl compare malaysia kampung market with Saudi market
            insulting Saudi laaa..prrrrtfhhhhh

• Frank on Feb 25, 2011 at 3:19 pm

I love grey imports car..rare..limited edition..bring it on AP on 2015…so i can buy USDM version..bore of jpanese ridez…no soul…Proton?yes..still most the bez!

• unfortunately for you, beginning 2015, no more used vehicle allowed to be imported…

• ynnad on Feb 25, 2011 at 5:13 pm

hmm…. does that mean 1.6Turbo Exora will cost RM100k???

• acerman on Feb 25, 2011 at 7:42 pm

new news of 2011. Proton exora 1.8 will be out soon….

• halim on Feb 25, 2011 at 8:11 pm

How much?

• Protected market yet still made 60mio losses!! wtf

• oldman on Feb 25, 2011 at 8:52 pm

power window dah ok or not?

• jipaikar on Feb 25, 2011 at 9:52 pm

WELL DONE PROTON! WE WILL HAVE ANOTHER VARIANT OF EXORA VERY SOON! GOOD JOB!

• anjez on Feb 25, 2011 at 11:20 pm

taniah atas penipuan ini.
    proton tak guna!!! songlap duit rakyat

• Pug 5008 mpv as big as Exora too and using 1.6t engine too what but 159K. sape nak bising?

• Dont think so, if you ever seat in the Pug, you never ever think that it is in the same class as Exora. You pay for what you get. 159, double Exora price, but you wont regret.

• Wisdom on Mar 01, 2011 at 11:46 am

Maybe regret when you want to sell the peugeot after few years. European cars got a very nice ‘auto-discount’ factor when it comes to resale value.

• 123ChickenMan on Feb 26, 2011 at 3:09 am

Protons sucks! I can produce a better fleet than you ;)

• I have driven my uncle`s exora,the handling is superb,so does the nvh,its a fairly quite car,even at 110 km/h.the mileage is already 15,000 km on the odometer.but its still a bit sluggish,especially after light go green.it does makes u look like a fool when the cps kicks in.it goes pretty fast at that stage.the only thing that puts my uncle off is the fc,still stays at 12.5 liter per 100 km.if he used Ron 95,it wont even overtake a steamroller!!! use ron 97 is a costly affair but the performance improves greatly.reliability???? thermostat problem,the radiator fan never stop spinning,noisy drums,rear aircond switch changed 3 times already,the rear seat stucked and wont fold.see!!! malaysian made surely cap ayam for the cap ayam supporter like you all .once cap ayam remains cap ayam!!!!

• mmmmmmm on Feb 26, 2011 at 2:31 pm

mmmmmm why is it have to be somebody else car…uncle la aunty lah long lost freind la…then the absurd stupid comment ….’cant takeover a steamroller’….fc 12.5 liter/100km…hahaha…..then if use higher octane fuel mpv can fly (please la educate urself about octane)hahahaha….of course it wont be complete without reliability issues….wah so damn bad luck are ur uncle…he still alive ur not…it must be genetic since u got it as well…..then of course the idiot will claim he is the all knowing being u all are inferior beings….BUT the name give it a way….HE’S name is DINO……HAHAHA…well what do u expect DINO(SOUR) has a primitive mind, peasize brain compare to bigggg body, a big bully…… THE GOOD NEWS IS …..DINO(SOUR) is a LOSER in evolution and extinct (well maybe this DINO species prevail due to shear ignorance, big mouth and bad luck)..MMMMMMM

• peYno on Feb 26, 2011 at 8:29 pm

prrrfthhhh
      typical perodua fanboys with his old ideas and story…
      story form my uncle la.. from my neighbor laaa..
      Nowadays malaysian are getting smarter and can’t easily be conned by your ” this sad story”

• Factsguy on Feb 26, 2011 at 4:10 am

bolt on some projector HID headlight on this turbo version pls~

• nasi kandar on Feb 26, 2011 at 4:21 am

TM claimed he drove the Exora Turbo back in March 2010
    Now was TM telling the truth as until now – 1 year later,
    still no sign of it.
    Wonder what kinda Exora Turbo TM drove?
    And why is P1 dragging its feet on this?
    Still sourcing for engine?
    Can any Proton salesman answer this?

• azrai on Feb 28, 2011 at 7:49 am

Who is TM anyway? Tengku mahaleel? Oh..he’s not in proton anymore la..Aiyoo…

• Looks like since day one Proton simply another giant money launderer to cronies. Big losses deemed OK Tak Apa as pretext of left-to-right cronies pocket money transfers. The end losers will always be: 1) Proton carbuyers – paying the odds for junk craps 2) EPF funds aka. wang rakyat/your money as EPF one of major Proton shareholders which explain why EPF never pay above 10pct dividends. And the rest of the local industry must follow the artificial rule – sell cars at inflated price with outdated craps and near-zero safety features. See, told ya Proton suffer lower domestic sales when TIV always peaking high. People knows which car to buy lah: “Anything except Proton!”

“Inspira? Insult to our intelligence!”

Proton incurs RM51.5m pre-tax loss in Q3
    February 25, 2011
    KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 25 — Proton Holdings Bhd recorded a pre-tax loss of RM51.535 million for the third quarter ended December 31, 2010 compared to a pre-tax profit of RM82.958 million in the previous corresponding quarter.

Revenue for the quarter decreased to RM1.833 billion from RM2.013 billion, the company said in a filing to Bursa Malaysia today. For the nine-month period, Proton recorded a lower pre-tax profit of RM134.379 million from RM247.989 million previously although revenue rose to RM6.363 billion from RM5.969 billion.

“The decline in profit is largely attributable to higher branding costs as well as restructuring expenses incurred by Lotus Group International Ltd. “As part of the transformation plans to turn around Lotus, the group started investing in rationalisation of dealers network and branding activities to deliver the five-year business plans,” it said.

It also said that during the third quarter, the group experienced lower domestic sales volume and increased promotional and marketing spending by a principal subsidiary. Looking forward, it said: “The improved domestic market outlook and rising fuel prices augur well for Proton’s core models.

“Coupled with the good response and delivery of the Inspira, our prospects for growing sales volume and increasing market share for the fourth quarter ending March 21, 2011 are good.” — Bernama

“The day Proton close shop, it’s our 2nd Merdeka Day!”

• watever on Feb 26, 2011 at 3:21 pm

and whats gonna happen to the thousands of employees?

• focus tdci on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:09 pm

takkan lesap kalaupun proton hilang dari dunia ni. if these are good and skilled workers, then they will be welcomed by other companies. but going by your inference, it seems that either they are only fit for working at a 2 bit cap ayam carmaker like proton as no one else would have them or you are looking down on their abilities. shame on you for looking down on them!

• If Inspira is such a success is b’cos the Msian public are fed up with
      the same Campro engine and Proton range and wants
      something different and better.
      Japanese technology sells and appeals to the M’sian public
      – wonder how come their consultants and advisor still don’t
      get it after 25 years.!!

• peYno on Feb 26, 2011 at 8:24 pm

beng JKR… proton can enjoy their business and be a JUARA KAMPUNG if they continue rebadging Mitsubishi(use mitsu engine dan mitsu model ) like what they did b4.

Malaysian market is too small can’t long forever… and proton is a global player target overseas market and can’t rely on Malaysian taste and market only…

• peYno on Feb 26, 2011 at 8:13 pm

beng…
      proton profits in Q1,Q2 and Q4 and loss in Q3
      but typical butthurt team.. just highlight negative news only (Loss in Q3 )

chait

• The loss is only a temporary setback.

Inspira has not been sold overseas. Revenue will sure increase when Inspira is sold overseas just like the Wira.

Then also we can’t tell when Proton will rebadge Mitsubishi Evo. Surely this will boost sales.

• quattro on Feb 26, 2011 at 3:55 pm

well said…2malaysian

• ezracopters on Feb 26, 2011 at 4:19 pm

errr should i expect ‘racing’ father n kids cruising on highway soon??? hehehe..

pandu perlahan, jiwa selamat…

• nolan on Feb 26, 2011 at 4:50 pm

same old Exora….

• aduss on Feb 27, 2011 at 12:36 pm

tunggu myvi body lama tukar lampu keluar… hehehehe.. it just same to all car compny just modified little bit hare and there and call it “new model”.. it call business..

• YEAH RITE!!!!!! TYPICAL STATE OF DENIAL!!!! ASK ANY EXORA OWNER U WILL SEE WHY I MEANT U BOZZOOOOS! PROTON CONTINUES TO EXIST BCOS OF STUPID PEOPLE LIKE YOU.STUPID SUPPORTERS!!!!

• Wisdom on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:00 pm

Getting emotional is it? You’ll get used to it. All the other species, birds, rodents, mites, also gone through this experience…

Send our regards to ur uncle.

• jewtube on Feb 27, 2011 at 9:48 am

Proton has never been good in the design environment, if you compare MPV design, i would rate Proton Exora at the bottom most. The french and Germans are good designers. Even a Honda Freed looks much nicer than Exora. Exora looks like just another Van.

• aduss on Feb 27, 2011 at 12:25 pm

just salesman will say about it.. we? it just ok.. 7 ppl from point A to point B, it just nice..

• mmmmmmmm on Feb 27, 2011 at 4:27 pm

honda freak is nice design???????

• though you’d have to agree the kangoo looks (and sounds) weird.

• You must be joking freed is nicer than exora hahahaha. Where do u come from 5th world country aaahhhh?

• zero2hero on Feb 27, 2011 at 5:30 pm

i own aa exora and like many other owners out there, i do feel than the first gen. exora is underpowered and undertorqued. therefore, eventhough i regret buying the exora, a turbo engine is a welcome. no problem so far for my exora in engine bay compartment or interior built issue, an upgraded 2din monitor+dvd player+gps as standard production would be a dream come true, as long as it came out from a respectable and quality wise producer.

gear issues… urm… i think the new gear will not dissappoint..

• Jangan Kerja Rajin on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:11 pm

bersyukurlah anda beli Exora..sebab kalau anda beli Avanza.. maka penumpang belakang pasti sering muntah-muntah… kereta ringan..sekali jalan tak rata.. uwekkkkksss… kereta berat lebih selesa..nak cruise highway pun sedap..cuma part naik bukit tu sikit tak best..hehehehe..

• Erwan on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:37 pm

Dunno why some peoples luv to bashe Proton, I do admit that Proton do have problems like other cars manufacturer, but please think and be rational..’A million steps begin with the 1st step’…..Please remember Japan began to develop their industry began as a ‘Copycat’. Do no harm for us to try rather being do nothing! Am i right? My first car was a Satria back in 1990’s did have problems, but I saw Hyundai and Kia had more problem than Proton, interms of quality wise and FC. But from the time Tengku Mahallel left and lead by current management, Proton is moving forward……….At least as a Malaysian, I’m proud that among Asean countries, Malaysia is a car producer(Still remember when I was sent to Korea for a training, was at Hyundai Plant, Koreans people are proud to be among Hyundai’s employee and well respected by their community.)

For me to compare Exora is streamline with Avanza or Grand Livina, please do not compare it with Citra, though looks as same size but Citra is 2.0 engine, once again please be rational not emotional…………cheers.

Glauben Sie und machen Sie es! Machen Sie lieber nichts und Würfel wie eine Scheiße!

• Kia was founded in 1944 while Hyundai in 1947. Proton was founded in 1983.

• abubaqir on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:40 pm

saya baru mengekori kereta di atas semasa perjalanan dari melaka ke kl….ianya diiringi oleh sebuah saga blm facelifted…….memang laju model turbo ni….saya mengekori rapat exora tersebut dengan kelajuan 190km/j tp exora tersebut masih dihadapan saya dan tidak berganjak ke tepi…..accelerationnya sgt pantas setelah membrek……kagum saya tadi dgn exora ni…..syabas proton……tiada apa2 tulisan di bonet belakang sperti cps dan lain2….ekzos nya tetap seperti model cps…..tp pick up nyer dahsyat……

• exora_lover on Mar 12, 2011 at 4:32 am

Proud owner of Exora MC here… tak tau la kenapa ade sesetengah orang tu tak abis2 nk bash proton… kalau bash tu komen membina tak ape juge, ni komen mcm nk tarik perhatian orang lain jer, kecik2 melalui zaman penderitaan @ penyiksaan psikologi agaknye…

Apepn, almost 1 year I own exora, mmg puas hati. part underpowered tu, mmg terasa, tp just masa naik bukit jer, jalan rata @ jalan bandar so far puas hati je kot… tak tau la kalau ade orang rase exora ni kene pecutan 0-100 dlm 5s, ni bukan kete racing pn, dh name MPV, pandu elok2 dgn family tersayang… pecutan & kelajuan sufficient, yg paling penting keselesaan mmg best… kalau ade yg komen kate mcm2 x betul, samada mmg dh tertulis nasib malang ataupn jenis kaki tak reti nk menjaga kereta… (asyik nk memecut je memanjang, ramai betul tak sayang nyawa zaman skrg ni, dunia pn nk akhir zaman dh..)

• bila la agaknya nak launching……