2011 Mitsubishi Triton 2.5 VG Turbo: 178 PS and 400 Nm!

Mitsubishi has launched the 2011 Triton and Pajero Sport in Thailand with a new VG Turbo engine. It’s essentially still the same 4D56 2.5-litre DI-D Hyper Common Rail diesel unit, but with variable geometry turbo to gain big on power and torque. In Thailand, the new engine is available in all Pajero Sport variants and two Triton models – Double Cab Plus GLS AT and Double Cab 4WD GLS-Limited AT and MT.

In its lower state of tune, the new VG Turbo engine makes 178 PS and 350 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 3,500 rpm, which is a big upgrade from the standard turbo unit’s 140 PS/321 Nm. The Malaysian market Triton makes 136 PS and 314 Nm while the most powerful truck sold here is the Nissan Navara with 174 PS and 403 Nm.

However, if one opts for the Triton 4WD with a manual gearbox, he will get 400 Nm of torque from 2,000-2,850 rpm (power remains at 178 PS). The 4WD auto version of both the Pajero Sport and Triton also get a 5-speed automatic transmission with Sportronic, an upgrade from the standard 4-speed auto.

The introduction of this high powered 2.5-litre engine marks the end of the range topping 3.2-litre lump, in line with Mitsubishi’s policy of increasing efficiency and reducing emissions. The Triton 3.2 makes just 160 PS and 343 Nm, so the new VG Turbo engine sees improvement in all areas.

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia gets both the Triton and Pajero Sport from Thailand, so it’s possible that they may be coming our way in the not too distant future.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• me wafiy on Mar 04, 2011 at 3:08 pm

…good news from mitsu…now all navara owners better watch out…great competition in our market.

• Truck_Story on Mar 04, 2011 at 6:50 pm

I just dun get it WHY ppl need a super powerful Truck like this one here..I mean we dun race in a truck or am I missing something here? n how’s the handling gonna be in fast corner?

• KSPhang on Mar 04, 2011 at 9:11 pm

Bro, u r missing something HUGE here. These trucks are AWESOME.

• squawk on Mar 04, 2011 at 9:28 pm

When you’re load lugging or hauling, you’ll appreciate all that extra power. Nobody told anybody to speed with a truck.

• This type of vehicle is the most involved hit and run in Sarawak.

• so what we need is an underpowered truck? Hilux 2.5G?

• taukey on Mar 05, 2011 at 2:06 am

are u pickup’s driver? try it first and you will know what most of old pickup driver suffer..1st n 2nd gear hehee..

• Tritonfolk on Mar 05, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Talking ’bout handling, I might easily say that I can do fast cornering at 120km/h with my triton without feeling any gyro effect. Furthermore, I’m using my stock suspension without any modification. You really missed something here bro…

• Are you going to compete in a drift with a truck? I don’t think so…So, no point asking the qon a how this truck would attack a corner at high speed.

Maybe you should ask how much does a bus engine gives in HP and Nm?

• Shahril on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:24 pm

May be not important for those who are staying in semenanjung, but for us from land below the wind & land of hornbill this powerful truck is important to drive on difficult terrain

• Ippudo on Mar 04, 2011 at 3:10 pm

When is malaysian’s turn to get mitsubishi asx turbo like mitsubishi airtrek??

• theanswer on Mar 04, 2011 at 7:00 pm

haha i’m also looking fwd to that. to me airtrek turbo in an underrated small suv.

• 4x4lovers! on Mar 04, 2011 at 3:28 pm

this is impressive..marvelous!

• phreakanomics on Mar 04, 2011 at 3:28 pm

WOW!! If this is made available in Malaysia, it will have the highest engine power

• lonelyobserve on Mar 04, 2011 at 10:19 pm

That is limited to pickup trucks. If including SUVs, this engine still not the most powerful.

• then this truck must be considered gay, since the kia sportage
        has 440 nm of torque

• lonelyobserve on Mar 06, 2011 at 1:32 pm

Oh please, Kia Sportage is an SUV, not pickup truck. Read carefully before posting.

• IMO, SUV are for gays!

Real men drive trucks to everything… from work to Ikea! And when it floods, a truck will take u home safely minus the stress. Try that on SUV, MPV or a car la… confirm swearing and cursing.

• Shahril on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:20 pm

Kia sportage.? All that claim on paper only bro.

• Fia sportage is for euro5 emision and good fuel standards. Not suitable for our malaysian dirty diesel.

• i guess the japanese car manufacturer are making more and more efficient diesel trucks out there, maybe passenger car next.

perhaps in future with the technology advancement they can come out a 2.0L diesel engine which churn out 170+bhp and 400Nm as well for a passenger car.

who knows, anything can happen nowadays.

cheers.

• eduardo tan on Mar 04, 2011 at 6:58 pm

try to have a look on Kia Sportage in Diesel 2.0 with 177PS….^^

• Landcruiserzz on Mar 05, 2011 at 11:26 am

Try look at it’s Torque pls, tis is a different bred of car compare to the ladyboy Kia Sportage

• Factsguy on Mar 06, 2011 at 3:15 am

try to also look for the price for both car pls…

• Nellie on Mar 04, 2011 at 4:05 pm

Been waiting for this moment for along time. Mitsu is famous for its reliability and durability engines, especially diesel engine, and now powerful. Hoping the QC in Thailand is as strict as in Japan, avoiding vehicles recalls destroying the vehicle image overall.

• bongek on Mar 04, 2011 at 4:13 pm

wowwww!! but i dont know why should i say wow…. what is the price?

• ‘high powered 2.5-litre engine’?

The one used in the VW Transporter T5 has 179PS and 400Nm from 1,500-2,000 rpm:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Volkswagen_Group_diesel_engines#2.0_R4_16v_TDI_CR_81-132kW

But the VW engine has only 2.0l… ;)

• Hayden on Mar 04, 2011 at 4:49 pm

I prefer Isuzu D-max. It rocks..

• DNA Y on Mar 04, 2011 at 4:51 pm

its front look not macho enuff.. still prefer navara or ranger face.. :)

• The santa fe r-series diesel do 440nm of torque and only displace 2,200cc…

• lonelyobserve on Mar 04, 2011 at 10:21 pm

Like I said at the top, that’s for pickup truck. Furthermore if Nissan decides to bring the facelift Navara (190ps, 450Nm) from Europe, Mitsubishi still being 2nd most powerful pickup truck in 2.5L turbo diesel category.

• In fact even for new Sorento. But our diesel quality same with South Africa thats why the regulation does not meet the standard… =(

• apalalu on Mar 04, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Just look at the limited edition bold, spec and price wise and u can estimate how much the vgt triton will be in Msia. I hate upgrades like this,spoils second hand values.
    MMM should have introduced this engines n tranny during facelift in 2009.
    Mitsu Mtrs Aussie did that.

• lonelyobserve on Mar 04, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Agree. Aussie always keep on the pace as per European nations. As for Triton, there’s no doubt about that the accessories and equipments inside are among the best in class here.

• kitman on Mar 04, 2011 at 8:03 pm

hyundai has developed the” r “engine,2.2L can get 442nm,if in 2.5L i dun know how much can go?haiz abit disappoint for mitsubishi

• sukkk on Mar 06, 2011 at 1:38 am

Hyundai Sucks…….the power is only on paper…….drive it first then you’ll know…..

• he will get 400 Nm of torque from 2,000-2,850 Nm

mistake here :)

• nolan on Mar 04, 2011 at 8:47 pm

hope it comes with Auto climate aircond…..if price below 100k, i’ll buy one…

• ahhh,this makes me in delima..
    whether to go for Nissan Navara or wait for this to come…
    anyone gotta thing to say??

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 05, 2011 at 12:05 am

Read abt the collaboration btwn Nissan

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 05, 2011 at 12:08 am

mitsubishi is using nissan engine i presumes,,,,,read about the previous collaboration btn the 2 company in previous post,,

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 05, 2011 at 12:29 am

That would be for the next generation of trucks, not so soon

http://paultan.org/2010/12/15/nissan-and-mitsubishi-expand-scope-of-cooperation-next-gen-triton-and-navara-set-to-be-twins/

• the collab not in this near future…
      kinda keen to Navara but when this come out I dont know which to choose…

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 05, 2011 at 9:22 pm

dear adly,with such hp n torque either nissan or mitsubishi will do the job,maybe the bodywork n interior may differ your choice,,,and if you were into audio upgrade dont go for nissan as its lack spaces for a subwoofer,,,but still glad having that navara for the last 11 months,,,chill dudes…

• how was it,to own the truck? I kinda into Navara lately.. Im not sure why but I like it..maybe u can story a bit about your experience with Navara…

• KSPhang on Mar 06, 2011 at 1:51 pm

I am a extremely happy Triton owner, now with such power. i Might wet myself =P. Btw, the interior of the Triton is very comfortable and with that screen in the middle telling u ur fuel consumption and stuff. It is jus plain Cool! =D

• KSPhang on Mar 04, 2011 at 9:15 pm

OMG!!!! I want this!! should I trade in the old triton for this?!

• More horsepower more accidents

• peter32 on Mar 04, 2011 at 10:12 pm

Interesting.

Will wait and see hows it improves the existing turbo lag and acceleration. If it can match the Ford Ranger in smoothness, this is easily one truck fits all.

• Nyawere on Mar 05, 2011 at 6:52 am

Crap laaa….! I just bought a Triton last month…! Kalau tau, i would have waited…! As for the power, for people who do not understanx, i will xPlain :

1) higher horsepower and torque will mean much improved fuel economy. If u have driben a diesel u will know that it is effortless to accelerate and fuel economy is superd. My Sorento full tank (RM 120) will easily fo 650 km and if highway i can get 800km

2) higher torque is also sought after by 4wd enthusiast. Its good for off roading. But for me, it is really useful when pulling a jet ski or a 2 tonne boat.

• rexis on Mar 05, 2011 at 9:53 am

OMG, no doubt why pick up is Mitsu’s best seller here!

What if any MPV running on this powerplant…

• SoMeOnE on Mar 05, 2011 at 10:34 am

trucks are gettin more powerfull allright but its so that the engine does not work so hard pull the mass which improves consumption..its sad that loads of trucks owners in malaysia assume that it becomes a powerhouse on the road and have the tendency to bully other users..or rather ‘think’ they can..and yea..its mostly tritons…they just get really close to u on the road..especially if u driving a national make …they fail to realize that these are cars..yeah..they are rather light.and they can actually take corners…and at highways speeds..the petrol engines are in their zone…i dunno if other car drivers get this problem….but i drive a mazda 6 and i always get this trucks right up my rear..even when im in the slowest lane..guys (truck owners) take it easy…dun be fooled by figures..ur trucks are not made for carving corners out even straightline speeds..its made to carry stuff..please remember that…. oh yeah..btw its even sadder if its a hilux…100 hp…in that body?.. seriously??they should be happy if they could keep up wit a myvi let alone pass it

• agree with SoMeOnE.. these truck drivers thought they are the king of the road. I am a pick-up truck lover too.. but you need to understand how it was built.. so on highway please be more considerate and love your life. sometime ago on my way to Ipoh just before Tapah R&R there is this Triton moving very fast and it was raining at that time. Maybe he thought 4WD mah.. no problem…! Can “ta pow” any vehicle… even a VW GTi!! so, then when I about to reach The Gua Tempurung Area… there is a long que.. There you had it… i think the triton flipped a few times, landed up side down with one of the occupant outside covered with plastic bag and another one being chucked away in a Land ROver (class tuu…) no ambulance needed here. Hope these retards learn their lesson.. luckily that day, no other vehicle were hit by this dillholes!

• Manao on Mar 05, 2011 at 6:49 pm

This guy must be sad being tailgated by trucks. I drive a pickup with more hp than a golf GTi, still being tailgated by other pickups , small underpowered cars. So? Just move aside or accelerate away.

About reckless drivers, you need to understand the limits of the truck. Driven correctly, it is safe enough to be a competitive vehicle, accidents or not, even a golf cart can be a dangerous tool if it falls in the wrong hands.
      ????????????????????????????????????????????
      :) :) :)

• KSPhang on Mar 06, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Totally agree with u. Trucks, bikes or cars fall into the wrong hands they are still gona be misused. If u got tail gated, jus move aside. unless u prefer he honk or flashes u.

• whitefox on Mar 05, 2011 at 2:44 pm

i always love tri ton design than other May be the look match city better compare to other which are more off road.

By the way good news for consumer to have more choice. Let hope there don’t price it = to the 3.2 variant one

• 4g63tdsm on Mar 05, 2011 at 3:16 pm

what many seems to miss is that this motor is available with 2WD. So long Triton Lite.

I wonder how much the 2WD will this new VGT turbo cost.

I think only the Dmax offer the standard 2.5 with a 2WD configuration.

• x_x men on Mar 05, 2011 at 5:18 pm

uncle paul pls answer my Q : this engine still using timing belt ?? i hope is using chain ! Got traction control ? Me n my few friend was facing drift in wet weather > pls check the accident record of pickup in malaysia . 5 of us facing accident in 136ps . If upgrade to 178ps then >>>>>>>what will happen ???? guess !!!

• SoMeOnE on Mar 05, 2011 at 7:59 pm

dude..competitive vehicle?..in what sense..its hands down in cargo carying i must say…but ..thats what its made for and thats why people buy it (at least people that know to to use its competitiveness ;))..its prices are pretty ok in malaysia and hence many get to own it…but other than carrying stuff..and being taken off road..it aint got much going for it…its its element…it really is the business…but its not made for the open road dude….and unless u have like a reworked suspension to go with that power..u might be able to sniff a civic …as soon as the road has any semblance of a corner..(like a super light curve) u really got to slow down..and u know that dude……

for now….. try moving aside for the city;s and the vios’s of the road…u aint fast..u aint made for going fast…and if u try..ur not only endangering yourself but ur basically piloting a 2 tonne missile that might kill others as well…i aint no truck hater as until recently i had a owned a frontier…but i knew its benefits i.e good initial acceleration,consumption,cargo carrying capacity, size and safety and worked with its strengths instead of competing which much lighter and better handling cars that are optimized for the tarmac……

• Manao on Mar 06, 2011 at 12:08 am

The truck I’m driving was prepared in Thailand. I wrote something in Thai at the bottom, but it turned out to be ???????????????????
      Just to let you know, my truck was dynoed with 290hp and 570Nm of torque. A 2.5 DOHC 16valve CRDi turbo Auto. Vios, City? I can outrun, outcorner those vehicles anytime. What to brag about? There are plenty of other more powerful safer vehicles out there.
      Competitive… Please understand that what I meant was race trucks. From your reply, I think you have not seen any Bangsean race day before. A standard truck with stock suspension can outrun a vios turbo( standard vehicle sold in meung Thai). I’ve seen it myself.
      No need to say I’ve driven this and that before, just to make my point, the vehicle’s dynamics are important, but if the driver sucks, you’ll only go as far as the legal speedlimit. Remember the Mitsubishi airtrek turbo few years back? Almost all, ALL that went into insurance claims, were cars that turned turtle. Reason: fast car, lousy driver. Get what I mean? 2 tonne missle.. Hmmmm…I’m gonna get that sticker… In Thai!
      Khohn bpaan yaa aown!

• KSPhang on Mar 06, 2011 at 11:25 pm

Wad Manao said was right. It might still be dangerous to drive a Truck fast, but driving any car fast without skill is even more dangerous. With the right skill, vios and city can go eat dust from our dear trucks, even on corners. But all my points are from me driving my lovely Trition 2010 edition. It might not apply to other trucks as i have not driven them and i hav no clue how they handles.

• me wafiy on Mar 05, 2011 at 10:50 pm

…..congrat mitsu..like kitman said…..u will be smoked down by hyundai santa fe r engine anytime……just using 2.2 cc…

• It’s not just a VG turbo – the 2011 Triton/Pajero Sport also have a new head design and substantially improved NVH. Compared to Navara, similar straight-lin performance, but quieter, smoother and much nicer to drive, and some 30% better fuel economy than Navara. Hilux and D-Max now look very, very old in comparison.

Next truck to look out for is the 2011 Ford Ranger, which will come with 2 different engines – 2.2L 150HP and 3.2L 200HP..

Then in 2013 the new Navara and Triton will be jointly developed by Nissan and Mitsubishi. Nissan supplying new diesel engines using tech from their alliance with Renault, with Mistubishi supplying the chassis and manufacturing for both brands.

• Tredia on Mar 06, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Any chance Proton would rebadge it as new Arena?

• Downs on Mar 06, 2011 at 4:38 pm

I don’t think so. Although i do think that proton should come up with a new Arena as the market is ready for such a vehicle.

• mmealin on Mar 07, 2011 at 12:32 am

awesome…navara fan better note this the competition will on again…

• When can we have Grandish with this engine…..

• Mitsubishi Triton 2.5 VG Turbo Singaporean Version on Mar 07, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Paul and Danny, the Mitsubishi Triton sold in Singapore will be priced from SGD63,988 to SGD90,988 (Approximately RM153,354.92 to RM218,063.66), this is more expensive than in Malaysia. Why compared to Mitsubishi Lancer, the Triton is cheaper in Malaysia but more expensive in Singapore?

• Mr. Lee on Mar 08, 2011 at 1:26 am

because singaporeans do not encourage u to park your freaking big truck in the small island..where land are scarce..duh

• Because SG have the best public transport system in the world… why bother buying a car or a truck? U don’t need it. Even my relatives here commented why we have so many cars at home… around 6 while they can have only 1.

• Wah don fight2 lah…For me if the car can produce more HP is more batter for me especially the road condition like us hear in Sabah. Went you car can get more HP is batter wen you want to overtake on Uphills.. For the accident? its all about our attitude went we are driving the car…so…Berhati2 Ketika Memandu jangan terlalu ikut Perasaan.

• Eugene Khoo on Mar 26, 2011 at 1:19 pm

Anyone know when the 2011 Triton arrives in Malaysia?

• albert on Apr 27, 2011 at 10:03 am

is there any update news for the VGT triton when to arrives in malaysia?I’m interested on it too.

• albert on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:00 am

when will it come to malaysia?

• Bic Turbo on May 26, 2011 at 1:12 am

What ever lah.. I got no money.. It’s enough for me “Hasbi Allah..”

• Brian Lim on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:08 pm

bringing in triton vgt into malaysia will be great.. as i have tried pajero vgt, the power is awesome… so i expected triton vgt will be fabulous…i am a mitsubishi salesman. you may contact me if you have any queries. tq

• alxand on Feb 03, 2012 at 8:57 pm

eta mid feb, heard its replace 3.2 version n slight lowered price wit decent spec!

• jeepfrog on Feb 06, 2012 at 11:41 am

Hi MRL,

Thanks for your valid info about the new VG triton. I always wanted to get one of the Triton BUT I’d prefer to have the older(first) model body shape (mainly the bucket-length). The current model has the straight and longer bucket which i personally feel it’s un-attractive.(everyone has different taste..)

Does the new VG has the similar bucket-length as the current? Please kindly inform. Thanks very much!!!

Jeepfrog

• Clivland on Feb 18, 2012 at 12:24 pm

When, when,when… nobody sure. keep waiting since last year and still not have any news of launching..huh.. i am ready to let my old car RIP once its arrived.. haha

• Shahril on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:14 pm

I’m from sabah, using triton 2.5 AT for off road trip with minimal modification. Triton is still the best pick up for off road expedition. Navara no comment: may be it only good for highway. 2 times in 2 different occasion,(2different car) i’ve to tow back navara due to damage gear box.

• You’re right. Navara still have one problem. Injector faulty. 1 injector almost = rebuilt gearbox. RM4000.

• wakzzzz on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:27 pm

flat torque…….. less turbo lag…………….. now that’s better…….

• Hardo on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:50 pm

What do u think about chevrolet colorado? Paul please give some advise. Mit vgt ot colorado

• Acceleration, colorado will be very good. Extremely high torque, 480Nm.