Honda to launch BRIO compact later this month in Thailand

Honda is slated to officially unveil the production BRIO in Thailand later this month, according to reports. Initial news filtering through had the car set for its world premiere – on March 17 – in India, but it seems that Thailand is where it’s all going to happen first, in this case the Royal Paragon Hall at Siam Paragon in Bangkok on that date.

The A-segment hatch, developed for Asian markets, emerged as a prototype last November at the Thailand International Motor Expo; we were there at its world debut.

The entry-level car is designated as an urban commuter, with easy-to-handle characteristics through a small form (smaller than the Jazz and the City), but with lots of cabin space achieved by highly efficient packaging.

Both Thailand and India will get unique versions to reflect different customer needs in those markets, and the car is set to compete with the likes of the Suzuki Alto, Hyundai i10 and Kia Picanto, among others.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• First

• DingDong on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:21 pm

Apa ini idots with, I’m first !!!!
      Grow up!

• kimi_ on Mar 07, 2011 at 7:58 pm

If priced rightly, myvi will become HISTORY !!!!

ALthough this honda not the prettiest in design, it still easily way better than P2, let alone the quality!!!!!

You will looks cool driving this baby rather than aunty MY-VI….Besides that, let the MYVI fanboy suffering bumping like hell when driving 100km/h on highway, pity them

• nabill on Mar 07, 2011 at 9:54 pm

which honda ACTUALLY IS PRICED RIGHTLY ??????

this ssumption does NOT exists……proton should have not have neglected the Savvy and should have made a new subcompact model succeesing it….it could have been in the fight with the right price…

• Don’t think it would sell well in Malaysia, too many competitor Myvi, i10, Picanto, Yaris, Savvy…

• Whatever on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Even it does. It will be cost unreasonable price. 60k +. don’t forget where are we

• Alpha on Mar 07, 2011 at 6:13 pm

why is Yaris there??Yaris is a competitor to Jazz/Fit la.

And,dude,look at all the competitors.All of them aren’t as funky as this one.And it’s a Honda.You know la Malaysian.They would prefer to pay an extra 10k for a Honda rather than all that u mentioned.

• budleee on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:41 pm

i am a honda fan boy and damn it, not afraid to show it ;)

i hope honda malaysia is considering to import this car to malaysia..

• i wonder how much will it cost if honda malaysia bring it in
    pricing around 45k to 55k will be ok, to compete with i10, alto n myvi but not picanto
    picanto is super cheap now, 39k only for premium model

• scoobylution on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:39 pm

yeah picanto is very cheap now because naza gonna launch a completely new picanto later.

• st3wpid on Mar 07, 2011 at 11:11 pm

yea lah.. in your wettest, baddest dream… we never gonna get this kind of price here. pls see the price of Jazz, Freed to compare..

• LowYahChia on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Malaysia Boleh….leading the car recycling and facelift industry..Proton Boleh

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:26 pm

And the place where people keep posting the same old comments or Recycled comments.

• LowYahChia on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Below RM60K…I will buy

• Grovers on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:04 pm

i will tradein my kenari for this.

• Unforgiven on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:10 pm

I’ll definitely change the Myvi for this car if the price is right…

• niuhje on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:18 pm

The new KIA Picanto (with DTR lights) looks streets ahead… IMHO

• nazgul on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:38 pm

launch it close to myvi 2 (price and time wise) and let p2 shakin in their overpriced boot…

• Bapak_Hussein on Mar 07, 2011 at 6:25 pm

This is the worst looking Honda ever…..Business as usual for Myvi & the new Kia Picanto is the top dog.
      This car if for poor & desperate Honda fan boy/girl.
      Kia Picanto 2011 for the rest of us pls!!

• Mike G on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Why why .. the design is so .. blekkk .. This is honda meh?

• Dayyan on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:45 pm

How much it will be if Honda brought in here?

• Dreamer on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Sell rm60k.. Keyless,push start engine,turbocharge,gps,dvd,peti sejuk,tv,astro,tilam,bantal,free iphone… sure got ppl will buy LOL…

• Nizam80 on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:12 pm

Believe me.. This will definitely sell well in Malaysia. But I think price will be expensive as usual because of the brand….. could be around RM65 to 70K. Hopefully, Honda proves me wrong.

• rashdan nair new delhi on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Proton will be feeling the heat from the
    intense competition it will be facing in India.
    Frankly who would wanna buy a Proton Saga when
    we are spoilt for choice btw Suzuki / Nissan/Kia/Hyundai and Toyota.?
    Good luck Proton !!

• sixtythree on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:34 pm

this is not nice. Why dont they just bring in Honda Life? at least it has plenty aftermarket parts from japan.

• pumpkin76 on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:11 pm

if we compare jap with jap…… suzuki alto CBU from india also selling at 49K…. why not this honda?

• Nizam80 on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:32 pm

I don’t think it will cost RM49K. In Malaysia, Toyota and Honda will overprice their products as usual.. and no matter what.. Malaysians will flock to buy it.

• Nazarudinn88 on Mar 07, 2011 at 6:37 pm

Nizam80,
        If Govt. remove the NAP and protection then see
        how Honda, Naza or Nissan will price their range of cars.

• toroto on Mar 07, 2011 at 7:07 pm

One word to describe: Really ‘KANASAI’… Can dis ‘sai’ beat de coming new value-for-money Kia Picanto or not…? If cannot but stil people here buying it like what happen to Honda Freed, then these group of ppl really 2-word to describe: ‘CHIAK SAI’ one… coz willing to buy dis A-segment ‘sai’ @ more than RM50K

• Maserati on Mar 07, 2011 at 7:57 pm

This will sell like hot cakes if priced below RM 60k.

The new KIA picanto? Piece of crap

• nolan on Mar 07, 2011 at 8:07 pm

nice package…..sure will sell like hot cakes….55k i’ll buy one for my wife..

• toroto on Mar 07, 2011 at 8:50 pm

No wonder Aston Martin has confidence in producing their 1st A-segment car Cygnet. I guess Masserati wil soon follow… pls dun get me wrong dat i’m not comparing honda wif them coz they’re totally in diff league.

• justice on Mar 07, 2011 at 9:12 pm

this one, the design okey not so ugly..but
    if it sells in malaysia, with pricetag 50-60k surely like hotcakes.

-lots of honda fans here maa..hehe

• peYno on Mar 07, 2011 at 9:52 pm

perodua salesman is sweating now
    so many bad news nowadays
    1) daihatsu gonna invest on SMALL CAR factory in INDONESIA
    2) Proton gonna use latest nissan’s engine
    now, Honda gonna bring in their compact car to Malaysia

all this while, our compact car market (perodua) is protected by our gov

• ezracopters on Mar 07, 2011 at 9:59 pm

err.. what was the wheelbase size?? the picture looks like more of Viva competitor than Myvi.. not that i loveeeeeeeeeee Myvi but Honda, reallyyy??? with that design and judging from current Honda’s product price in Malaysia…hmmm..

• Nizam80 on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Yes, it definitely is a Viva/Savvy/Picanto/i10/Alto competitor. Its an A-segment vehicle by the way. But in terms of price, I don’t think it will be as cheap as a that milo tin Viva.

• people please be alert!
    This is an A-segment. Like viva.. is A-segment.
    You all want to pay rm55k for A-segment?
    hmm.. I dont think the B-segment Myvi will face any great challenge.

Unless this Honda A-segment car is launching at the price below rm50k. ..A-segment is darn small.. u know.

Can only consider this as my car if this A-segment is priced below rm50k. I would rather go for Persona if it’s beyond it. Bring it on Honda.

• budleee on Mar 07, 2011 at 11:55 pm

yah.. like the i10, alto, picanto…

A segment meh, whats the different..

• Vava voom on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:30 am

Get your facts right. Myvi is an A segment car also, not B.

• Nizam80 on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:09 pm

Myvi is B-segment. Same segment as Jazz, Yaris, Swift, and Fiesta.

• Is this a Honda?

• budleee on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:00 am

if u look at online articles about it, the prototype bonnet is just a glass door, just like the Aygo..

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:04 am

looking by its size,dont think it will share the same engine as the Jazzz or city,most probably 1.3 litre non vtec,,,,,,,,my personal opinion,ford fiesta will nail this midget from bumper to bumper,lets wait n c how much there will price it here.

• Carl Wong on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:17 am

Good bye to Myvi and Viva etc.? If it’s coming here.

• anti turbo on Mar 08, 2011 at 7:59 am

Will be looking closely into this car..if it is priced at around 50K++ a little..why not give it a test drive 1st?..

• Mohan Nair on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:50 am

Honda Brio will be priced under Rs.500,000 in India which is about Rm.33,645

• Bob_B78 on Mar 08, 2011 at 2:49 pm

With that price in India, it gonna sell over 60k over here that’s for sure!!!!
      Y do we have to pay a car price that could have bought 2 cars of the same model else where………………………………

• This is the Savvy virgin killer in Tomyamland!

• alamak on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:51 am

everybody don’t dreaming. car price in Malaysia is not right.
    look at the h.jazz price.
    this model should be tag at RM60k-RM70k

• peYno on Mar 08, 2011 at 1:07 pm

what to say… gomen has to protect perodua small car market… if H Jazz selling at 60k.. then perodua myvi become aunties choice only meh

• justice on Mar 08, 2011 at 3:52 pm

yeah..agreed.
        not just perodua..proton also.

need PM to revise the taxes,as the in the old days all the tax made to protect local car manufacturer.

Today,i think those P1 n P2 can survive. (P1 at 25years) n P2 (over 10years)

• peYno on Mar 08, 2011 at 5:56 pm

but this car is compact car.. direct competitor to perodua …
          proton already being fighting with sedan market like vios and city
          but perodua still enjoy their compact car market protected by gomen

the more Japanese base compact car come in to malaysia market.. perodua will suffer

• Ini Susah lah on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:52 pm

Nice in term of design. I hope also nice in term of price….Dont overpriced.

• moha3774 on Mar 08, 2011 at 1:16 pm

It reminds me of old Honda City back then, before it grows into sedan….cute but with turbocharged small engine…

• Potong on Mar 08, 2011 at 1:17 pm

It looks smaller than P2 Frog

• mmmmmmm on Mar 08, 2011 at 4:02 pm

mmmmmmm..i smell rat here………..I’m sure they sell it very expensive and call it……….”premium” compact small car……..just like the freed……..”premium” my a$$ mpv….and hope they fail miserably just like the freed…..

• peYno on Mar 08, 2011 at 5:57 pm

freed overpriced?? blame to gomen laa..
      they have to protect perodua ALZA( direct competitor compact mpv)
      if freed selling same price as ALZA…bye bye perodua la

• what la……..dont compare freed with ‘national car’ elongated MYVI la………..compare to Livina la………and there nothing premium about freed either…..interior exterior just so so….might as well get high end livina or chery or rondo

• Owh…. no doubt it’s a honda, i think it’s reallly hideous… with the FREED looks at the rear…. that makes me think of a roti car…

• Fat Bear on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:31 pm

The brand is rite…….ha ha ha.

If below 50k…..it is ok.

• It’s all downhill from here

• Jimmy on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:17 pm

In Malaysia, even if this car is priced at RM33 000 i will not buy also, seriously.
    Ha ha, just guess why.

• Carl Wong on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:58 pm

It’s using a 1.2L i-VTEC engine which should be the most efficient in the class and will put up some serious competition to Perodua/Toyota/Daihatsu.