Lotus Renault GP: Aiming for the top step of the podium

Lotus Renault GP team principal Eric Boullier is in town, together with Lotus brand ambassador and ex- F1 driver Jean Alesi and Gino Rosato, Director of Corporate Operations at Group Lotus. GL organised a brief press conference at Pavilion KL this afternoon, and the lunch function was joined by LRGP’s reserve driver Fairuz Fauzy.

There wasn’t much time as they were rushing to attend the next function (launch of the F1 Malaysian GP, also at Pavilion) and there was a big media group, but we did get a few words out of the tired visitors.

Jean Alesi (left) jokingly offers his services to Eric Boullier’s Lotus Renault GP

Frenchman Boullier, who in the past managed A1 Team France, reiterated that Lotus Renault’s target this year is to be challenging for a podium spot. “We aim to win some races and be a regular on the podium,” he proclaimed. Eric’s predictions for the season opening race in Australia? “I can see Red Bull and Ferrari in front, then I hope we’ll be leading the troops,” he said with a smile.

Lotus Renault GP: Aiming for the top step of the podiumBoullier, who did not want to comment on the Lotus name row with Team Lotus, was consistent. We previously carried this quote from him: “We want to win with this car. To win you need to be a regular podium finisher – and then you will win – and that is our target”. He also said that while we can’t look too much into the test sessions that the teams went through so far, this week’s test in Barcelona would be close to the car’s real performance.

Jean Alesi, who could pass off as a younger Sylvester Stallone, explained his role in Lotus to us. The ex-Ferrari and Benetton driver said that he’s happy to be part of something new.

“It’s a great opportunity. Lotus Cars is an iconic brand and everything is starting from scratch,” referring to the brand turnaround led by Dany Bahar. “I’m extremely happy – it’s the beginning and you’re part of it,” he went on.

Alesi’s role is to help develop the Exos Type 125 “F1 for customers” car. Gino Rosato explained that the Frenchman was chosen as “he’s one of the most passionate driver’s in the business”. Alesi isn’t involved in the F1 team, but “if Lotus needs me I’ll be available,” he said with a naughty smile to Boullier.

Some press members asked the panel if Fairuz Fauzy will get a chance to drive for the team, and here’s what Boullier had to say: “Fairuz is realistic. He’s with us to learn from a big team. We believe he can race one day”.

The Malaysian added that this new position is an upgrade for him. “It’s a move forward for me. I will learn a lot from a more experienced and stronger team. My target is to do well in GP2 this year,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wii Next Gen on Mar 08, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Berangan la Lotus renault GP.Kau ingat kau boleh challange Red Bull,ferrari dan maclaren ke?

• Tiadaid on Mar 08, 2011 at 5:11 pm

Ni bukan Lotus Tony Fernandes. Ni Renault.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 08, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Bodoh. Kau ingat kau tu terer sangat bawak kereta F1 ker…? Even if they lose, they lose in honour, not like you who only know to talk a lot of shit. If you think you’re so terer and have balls, then challenge them to race on track and don’t be a chicken…!!!

• Wii Next Gen on Mar 08, 2011 at 6:35 pm

Fanatic proton sangat la ni…

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 08, 2011 at 8:11 pm

So what if he is so fanatic about Proton,better than you.Talk rubbish.
          A team should be ambitious.

• mivec on Mar 08, 2011 at 6:19 pm

stakat challenge pkai game Wii ko tu apa barang turun track la

• Malaysian on Mar 08, 2011 at 5:21 pm

Renault and Lotus is 2 giant and legend team in Formula 1. Good collaboration. Hopefully this collaboration they will bring the good result in this season.

• VoidDance on Mar 08, 2011 at 6:07 pm

If you’re referring Lotus to Team Lotus of yore, yes they were. Group Lotus is not a legend in F1 world.

• Wii Next Gen on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:02 pm

I love this comment!

• e-tique on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:08 am

yes they are legend in the past. but now no more. only Group Lotus owns the future. Mark my words!

• seriusSAM on Mar 08, 2011 at 5:30 pm

as predicted… Fairuz job is only for PR errand for LRGP

• trav_da_man on Mar 08, 2011 at 6:09 pm

After Mysian GP has ended, Fauzy will be ignored by Renault F1. He will be back in GP2 and unless if he improves, he is even got defeated by Team Air Asia drivers in GP2. Shame for him.

• underrated on Mar 08, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Sly & Alesi, the resemblance… wow

• Ordinary Joe on Mar 08, 2011 at 6:29 pm

OK, i’m not alone then. Especially the 3rd small pic there…

• Tiadaid on Mar 08, 2011 at 6:46 pm

Want to see a clearer comparison, go watch the Sly movie Driven. One scene shows both of them shaking hands.

• mohsin on Mar 08, 2011 at 6:05 pm

in memory with Alex Yoong!

• hongleongbank on Mar 08, 2011 at 8:43 pm

alex yoong dulu mana ade penah mng..asyik terbabas je..buat malu org mesia..

• whatever on Mar 08, 2011 at 8:00 pm

“Fairuz is realistic” …. even himself know ….. where’s his ability

• anti-first on Mar 09, 2011 at 12:15 pm

it’s the french way of saying “your job is not to drive but just be a pretty boy”.

• Kereta Kebal on Mar 09, 2011 at 3:15 pm

ha ha ha…i like ur comment…fairuz better stick with tony team.its more Malaysian team then lotus renault team…

• vertigo on Mar 09, 2011 at 5:57 pm

“We believe he can race one day” – wait till F1 uses hybrid engine ehh? XD