Special 0.5% interest rate for VW Golf GTI, Polo and Eos

Volkswagen Group Malaysia is currently offering Malaysian customers a special interest rate of 0.50% for the Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk6, the Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI and the Volkswagen Eos, from now till the 31st of March 2011.

You can drop by the nearest Volkswagen showroom today for a test drive and booking. If we are not wrong, based on our calculations – for a RM95,000 loan for the Polo TSI over 3 years you’ll be paying back RM96,425 instead of RM102,410 repayment for the usual interest rate of about 2.6%, so that’s a savings of about RM6,000 there.

For more information visit Volkswagen Group Malaysia’s website.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Rovert on Mar 15, 2011 at 4:18 pm

I asked VW @ Bangsar and it turns out its for cars made in 2010, and 0.5% is applicable for 3-year loans only. 4-9 years have different rates respectivly but they are still lower than the market rate.

• Paul Tan on Mar 15, 2011 at 5:01 pm

thanks for the useful information

• huiyoo on Mar 15, 2011 at 6:09 pm

sad because paul being thumbs down by stuppid reader

• jalan54 on Mar 15, 2011 at 6:48 pm

I don’t know whether I’m calculated it correctly. We saved almost 6k rather than 4k right?

• Tiadaid on Mar 15, 2011 at 5:04 pm

Standard practice, the low interest rates are short loans. They don’t dare make do it for long term loans because that’s where the money is.

• lampu on Mar 15, 2011 at 5:25 pm

Yup.
      The world we are living now is based on ‘Interest’.
      Toilet paper money backed by nothing!
      Gold is the way.
      Start saving physical gold from now on.

• Thanks for the info.

The world we are living in is called “super duper interest rate” also known as “riba”.

Living on interest upon interest upon interest upon interest, one well known interest-money making mechanism is the credit card. The “riba” concept ensure the bankers will squeeze your wallet to the last drop. No wonder most of my friends working in the banking sector are awarded with 12 to 36 months bonus on annual basis, phew!

The services and items (which are offered by the bank or via bank) should have been sold according to percentage as proposed by the Syarak law (read more on the history of Islamic banking during the prophet and companion days). Somebody is very greedy out there.

Nowadays the so called “Islamic” banking doesn’t follow 100% of its original concept but I applaud the attempt to revamp our financial sector. The world wouldn’t be in debt so much if this ruling was implemented.

Then again, maybe this is one of the signs of End Time (kiamat).

• lampu on Mar 15, 2011 at 6:33 pm

Just a reminder to all of us.
        Be prepared when the time comes where paper money will have no value anymore.
        It is just around the corner.

• Arell on Mar 15, 2011 at 10:15 pm

It ain’t gonna happen!

• the use of paper money by bank of england mark the end of gold and silver as currency, paper money got no value, gold and silver got value even after 100 years, these system started by the jews( bank of england)

• agree….

• which part it doent follow? u said riba using interest eg 2% 5% and islamic banking with syariah law percentage eg 2% 5%…..both with agreement of bank n the loaner..

what is the diff with if u buy RM20 item and u sell it for RM100 for the item that people really want(i don think people will agree but they have to get that thing eg food)…more than 200%…is that riba or not?

if u sell money eg RM5 do you want people who buy that money for RM5 or RM6..u want RM6 rite..how many percent? 20%..riba or not…

if bank sell/loan u RM20 to buy hammer.. n they want 2% for profit n u agree…is that riba or not?

first 2 cases they said the value of profit first without telling percent of profit RM80(400%) and RM1(20%), the last case they give intend profit first 2%(RM0.4) but they tell u how much money they get in the agreement…which 1 is riba?…..im not expert on riba but confuse between profit and riba..who can explain?

• Both conventional and Islamic banking system need to make some profit in order to survive. That’s the basic rule. Conventional system using interest based system while Islamic system using buying and selling with profit. Both make some profit.

But one of the major difference between the two system is that with Islamic system you know upfront how much your loan, how much is your monthly payment and the duration – fixed and would not change.

On the other hand, the interest (riba) based system charge you interest say 2.5%, but above the BLR (Based Lending Rate). Now, the 2.5% will not change but not the BLR. Once controlled by Bank Negara, BLR now is determine by the bank.

The bank can review the BLR and more often than not, they always review it upward. So imagine for a long term loan, they might reviewed it many times and the borrower never realized it. An when they thought they have completed the loan payment but actually the total payment is now more then when they signed the agreement.

Add the so called compounded interest in and you know why the conventional banking system is actually a cruel system, full of uncertainty to us, borrowers.

• for me riba is over-profit or too much profit for something that can be price accordingly not over price..like what am start to do this couple of week buy cheap sell cheap

• shawal on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:06 am

izzit applicable for full loan or 10% downpayment

If full loan, which means we’re paying around RM2678 a month
      with 10% downpayment is RM 2410 a month

either way ….if you can afford that much a in month, you wouldn’t be driving a frikkin polo now would you….

would appeal to those who finished payment on their house 2nd and 3rd cars
      a.k.a oghang kaye….

• shaman on Mar 18, 2011 at 9:07 am

i don’t think VW does the full loan kind of thing. you would still need to pay the 10% d/p

• confused on Mar 15, 2011 at 4:19 pm

gonna head to VW showroom later today. Polo is so nice.. tanx for the info.

• lampu on Mar 15, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Good news!
    I am going to buy 2 Polo tomorrow 80% cash.
    Spread the love of Polo.

• bongek on Mar 15, 2011 at 4:42 pm

i goign to run rumah kebajikan,,,can you donate some of your money… no use if u show off without charity,,,,

• kebajikan on Mar 15, 2011 at 5:38 pm

why thumbs down?
      Polo-T only. Not polo from VW.

• lampu on Mar 15, 2011 at 5:44 pm

The true mentality of Malaysian.
        Even silly issues can be debated and butthurt-ed others as well.

• Seriously on Mar 15, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Declaring your wealth here? That’s sad. Hope some of that is going towards helping Japan as well.

• boss coffee on Mar 15, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Why should help Japan, they rich enough. I don’t expect them to help me either.

• Som46 on Mar 15, 2011 at 10:14 pm

At least we can save some prayers and hope for the survival of those affected there.
          Yes, I understand and true that help does not mean it has to come in form of financial alone. A good heart and a helping hand will be much better. It’s beyond most of us to travel there to help now given the circumstances and safety measurements taken by Japan’s goverment but let’s spare some time filling our prayers for their safety. Cheers ;-)

• On second thought the Dutch, Portuguese, Spaniard, Japanese and British did rob Malay Peninsular and the East of Malaysia for the past 500 years. We were rich with all sort of resources such as tin, copper, antimoni, gold and etc last time. Now no more. What’s left is our depleting Oil and Gas (and we are still robbed by a different kind of “political-robbers” if you know what I mean).

Don’t get me wrong, the Nihon of the olden days shouldn’t be compared with the newly reformed post atomic-world war 2 Japan. Japanese are hardworking people, very rich in culture, courteous and etc (been to Tokyo and Osaka and their politeness will just fascinate you).

My condolence to Japan for their short-comings and if similar thing to happen in Malaysia, I’m sure the rest of the world will come over and support us. Just because we’re staying on the stable platform of “Sunda Stage” doesn’t mean we will be spared from any sorts of natural disaster, the earth’s crust kept on moving adjusting itself randomly and “The Ring of Fire” is only few hundred miles away.

The fact that Japan’s buildings & infrastructures are designed to resist Earthquakes but unfortunately NOT Tsunami proof. BUT in Malaysia, majority of our buildings & infrastructures are neither earthquake resistant nor tsunami resistant. If a big quake even the smallest Richter ever to hit Malaysia, we are doomed.

• Som46 on Mar 15, 2011 at 10:04 pm

Why? What’s wrong with that? He is just expressing his excitement and feeling! It’s called freedom of speech and the brand has influenced him to feel proud and valued. First i think ‘seriously’ you need to change your mentality and stop being simply stupid and jealous.

Lampu,

I’m happy for you, really! I can see you have worked hard and made right decisions in life. Good choice Lampu ;-)

• Seriously on Mar 19, 2011 at 1:09 am

Ironic, that you mention freedom of speech… stating the obvious don’t you think?
          No one here was trying to stop him from expressing himself. We’re just expressing ourselves the same way he did :)

First, you’re being abit too vague when you suggest my mentality is “stupid”, define stupid. Stupid, because I wasn’t brought up well? Stupid, because I’m socially illiterate? or stupid because I simply annoy you?

And jealous? Why? Over some online avatar who said something? Seriously, you gotta be kidding me.

• slekuzen on Mar 15, 2011 at 4:42 pm

Seems like VW Malaysia is going aggressive. 0.5% is a very competitive rate and can yield some very interesting discounts for a Golf MkVI.

Pro or anti-Proton, I think we should all agree that we are seeing positive developments in the Malaysian automotive market: more competition, better rebates, better prices, better choice and ultimately better cars.

Good news.

• tikus on Mar 15, 2011 at 6:21 pm

T&H brand still very proud of their pricing. And fans boy still blindly support them.

• civic_conscious on Mar 15, 2011 at 5:48 pm

Unfortunately, 0.5% is for a 3-year loan only ;(
    However, it translates to a monthly installment of RM2,678 vs. RM2,845 for the normal 2.6% rate, a monthly saving of RM166.

• means for the rich to appreciate the interest saved..the middle class will just pay more since you are work for the rich..so that the richer getting richer..

• i heard that VW is going to stop the production for Passat CC due to poor response from the market. Is that true?

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on Mar 15, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Dont think so. It is in my shopping list. Take it when it improves the handling and brake like the 5 series.

• Lim Kopi on Mar 15, 2011 at 11:35 pm

ty … care to explain where u got that from??

As I know, the CBU stock for the top spec Sport version is fully booked …. only remaining stock from the medium and lower spec …

it shows ppl don’t even mind paying for the top spec one …. thats how popular it is.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 16, 2011 at 12:01 am

Haha since when u heard got top medium and low spec. There is only one spec lar for us. Thats the Sport….. RM 243888 before anything added in……….

• BeemerFreak on Mar 15, 2011 at 11:57 pm

Nah. 2 months waiting list for one…….. the last time i reacalled from VGM they are going to facelift it with the EA888 that produces 211bhp with the same 280NM of torque.

• Seriously on Mar 15, 2011 at 6:06 pm

No wonder there’s so many VWs…

3 years = 0.5%
    5 years = 1.2%
    With additional LED tail-lights and RM4000 rebate if I’m not mistaken.

Unfortunately the Golf 2010 is sold out & there are only 2 Golf GTI left from what I heard 2 days ago. The 2011 model which they are bringing in now has the normal interest rate :(

• fortier on Mar 15, 2011 at 9:33 pm

does the promotion car have led tail light? i thought its only for 2011 model, anyone can clarify this? thx in advance

• Seriously on Mar 17, 2011 at 8:27 am

If im not mistaken, the promotional model comes with a free upgrade to rear LED lights for the Golf.

• droll on Mar 15, 2011 at 8:07 pm

wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on Mar 15, 2011 at 9:01 pm

Clear stock instead of offering 10-30k discount like BMW.

• Curious on Mar 15, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Any thoughts whether the resale value of these imported polos, golfs or passats will suffer once VW starts their local CKD production??
      Slightly concerned about this point….

• tiadaid on Mar 16, 2011 at 12:16 am

VW already stated they won’t CKD cars already sold here. Although I’ll believe it when I see it.

• Jason on Mar 16, 2011 at 5:50 pm

VW does not have good resale value in the first place, why are you worry about CKD or CBU.

• redboy on Mar 15, 2011 at 11:27 pm

for 2011 car?

• Paul,

Any possibility to offer the ‘weaker’ engine(s) as in India too? Definitely will helps those looking for Vios J-segment. Weaker engine easily can sell much lower than RM80k.

• ABTguy on Mar 16, 2011 at 8:50 am

That will be a wrong move. The Polo TSI is with 1.2 litre engine, import duty wise it’s already very low.

To bring in the 1.4 NA engine Polo, perhaps the “cost” from South Africa is cheaper, but the import and excise duty will be more, it may end up having to sell at the same price in Malaysia.

Given that, would you want to buy a NA car with higher fuel comsumption or turbocar at same price, but more powerful and much much better fuel consumption ?

• laluan sehala on Mar 16, 2011 at 9:13 am

karl,

you may get your wish in the polo sedan which could be coming in this year. but, as the SA told me, i doubt it will be less than rm80k. they are vw and they will charge you more than a city or vios for the polo sedan, regardless of the engine, which in this case will be naturally aspirated.

• Hi Laluan,

In India VW Vento [booted Polo] was priced from 699,000.00 INR = 47,326.35 MYR to 923,500.00 INR = 62,526.30 MYR. Easily can outperformed Japanese Vios or City if DRB and VGM can manage to price it competitively as the engine’s technology nowhere near the hatchback’s 1.2TSI.

Otherwise, fewer people can embrace VW.

• keluangman on Mar 16, 2011 at 1:03 am

Shud hv been 0% interest for 2010 cars…or heavy discount the least….

• Desyn on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:31 am

Anyone know when they are bringing in the Polo GTI and the price?

• afaik, the polo gti is coming in mid year in 2 batches and will be priced around rm140k. u do get a choice of 3 or 5 door versions though.

• Jun/July 11.. 1st batch 70units only.. almost sold out.. booked mine last month

• funny why nobody asked the question “why ah? cannot sell ah?”. if some other brand gave such a promotion, many will just say “cannot sell lah, that’s why have to resort to promotions like this!”.

• Its pretty obvious that they are trying to clear 2010 stocks in preparation for 2011 cars coming in around this month.

• Bronx on Mar 16, 2011 at 9:33 am

In order to attract more buyers, foreign car makers should establish own hire purchase loans and offer interest rate lower than local banks. This is what is happening in Canada. VW Canada offers $0 down n 0% for finance for 7 years for 2010 models. Then other local bank have no choice to compete to
    Lower their interest rate.

• onda onda on Mar 16, 2011 at 9:43 am

no special rate for scirocco 1.4tsi?

• confused on Mar 16, 2011 at 9:44 am

some Malaysian are just plain stupid. even a car discount ad come out they will relate to this and that, then turning it into a hot debate, and sometimes lead to utter ridiculous comment..

sheesh…

• Faisal on Mar 16, 2011 at 10:24 am

0.5% for 3 yrs only???? still no benefits for middle income group like myself..

• Watchdog on Mar 16, 2011 at 1:56 pm

tat means you still cant afford it.. middle income group only can buy inspira…

• Unforgiven on Mar 16, 2011 at 3:59 pm

I believe middle income should be able to get the original lancer…

• Unforgiven on Mar 16, 2011 at 11:45 am

0.5% for 5 yrs will be good…

• Sean Lim on Mar 16, 2011 at 6:07 pm

which means : rich man can get a good price, then the poor man have to pay more…

• shaman on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:46 am

sean,

normally these interest rate programmes are for short term loans only (less risk to the bank, so they dare to offer lower rate, if you take longer loan period, the risk is higher to them as anything could happen to you and that will turn the loan into npl – non performing loan). if you have been car shopping long enough, special interst rate schemes usually range for 2, maybe 3 or 4 years. seldom do the interest rate cover long loans of 5 years and above.

many times also, car companies subsidise the loans so the banks can offer the lower interest rates. i think banks are not able to officially offer lower their hire purchase interest rates. something to do with the banking and financial institutions act. do correct me if i am wrong.

• PsychiCst0rm on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:14 pm

I’m driving a Candy White Golf GTi since November 2009 bought from Federal Auto. On 1 December 2010, my car couldn’t start. It was running at 38 XXXKM. I got it towed to VW Sg. Besi rather than VW P.J. because of the narrow space there. No mod is done to the car except for Head Unit and Wheels. The car is still there when I’m typing this. After about 1 month of diagnosing, they still couldn’t confirm with me what was exactly wrong with the car. I need a car so I asked VW HQ for a car. I e-mailed them first but I got no response. I called them later and they said they don’t provide such service and I gotta ask the Service Centre for it. I asked the VW Sg. Besi and eventually no car is available even the demo cars are sold. Just imagine when you can only afford one car at a time, you still gotta pay the installments and you have no car to use. Yes, they’re giving a 5-year Warranty to your car but you gotta leave your car there till they tell you so. And they didn’t compensate anything at all and no courtesy car, no courtesy call, nothing at all. I was the one who go checking all the time because they’re so busy with so many cars doing service and they’re lack of Service Centres and staffs. Mid of January 2011, VW Sg. Besi has applied to change a whole new engine for me from VW Malaysia because the valves “bengkok” and they hit the head also “bengkok”. So gotta wait for approval. Just before CNY, approval is made so gotta wait for the arrival of the new engine. After CNY, they said the engine is gonna reach our shore at the 3rd week of February 2011. I checked again at the end of February, the engine is still in Singapore so gonna take another 2 weeks. Finally the engine is here now, if nothing goes wrong they’re taking 1 week to get the car done (Which I’m estimating 2 weeks-Malaysian Style.) So they give me 5-Year Warranty for manufacturing defect but they’re keeping the car for 4 months coming to 5, they give me nothing during this period. And I feel like a fool if I ask for more and get nothing. :-( I did’t have that kind of service attitude from Mercedes Benz, at least they called to ask if anything is needed. I’m comparing to MB because VW wanna place themselves in the luxury market?

For Car Service section, I did twice already 15K KM each time as recommended at VW P.J. First time I’ve sent my car at 1000 and got back my car at 1600. Due to experience the second time I’ve sent it in at 0800 and got it back at 1230. They have very long queue of cars.

Luckily I still got some leftovers to get a Proton Saga FL before CNY. I found this “Wakil Servis” near Alam Damai and they did my first service in less than 15 minutes. and I’ve changed my left Fog Light due to stone ships for RM115 which I think is very affordable. So I guess in terms of reliability, I’ll choose Proton over VW. The car can be started and if anything goes wrong I don’t have to wait for diagnosis which took a month, approval for parts which took another and installation and testing is gonna take another. ;-P

All right that’s all I’m sharing. VW Golf GTi is still a good car though but the service here in Malaysia is like….. (you put the word for me.).

Cheers.

• Hai Protong Salesman!

Siap bagi tempat kerja dia lagi (kat Alam Damai) nice fairy tale though. Haha.

For your knowledge, I’ve owned Gene2 CPS and TakterPersona. My Gene2 CPS went for top overhaul due to overheating (defect thermostat as claimed by them) and my TakterPersona I’ve listed at least 10 major/minor defects to the nearest Protong service center and about 2 years later they manage to solve only 5 out of 10 defects. I have not yet included new problems (or repetitive problems) detected recently. Fuel consumption for both cars is NO good at all especially urban (in city) driving (unless you’re driving 80km/hr just well below the 3000 RPM). Luckily, my third car, Mitsubishi Grandis has a better fuel consumption overall (althought its an MPV).

Double Cheers!

• PsychiCst0rm on Mar 17, 2011 at 11:49 pm

I said in a humble manner you’re saying I’m Proton Salesman. Fine. I’m typing in an arrogant way if you prefer. Buying car depends on your luck most of the time. I didn’t say Proton cars are better, all I was saying is that the cars are made affordable and if anything happens it won’t left stranded for months. With the kind of money I’m paying I’m surprised by the fast service. The fuel consumption might not be good as others but it is still not bad. Even if I’ve to thrash my car I will just lose how much? RM 4X, XXX? Your lucky Grandis if you thrash it how much will you lose? I change 2 cars every year since I’ve got my driving license. I’m 33 right now and I got my license since 17. You do the maths how many cars I’ve driven. You wanna talk about buying car experiences with me? Your Gen2 or Persona might have problems but still can run right? Even my Saga FL having tiny problems, as long as it can run then it’s ok. Even my New E-Class also have problem starting when it was 3-month old but just went into workshop for 1 day then they fixed it already by updating the software. What I’m saying whether is it worth it economically as compared to your wallet and what are you hoping for that certain car. ;-P

• laluan sehala on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:32 am

let’s just put it this way lah. there is no such thing as a perfect car. even cars costing more than VW price have problems and some still do not have solutions. so what more the VW? yes, the germans are known for quality but let’s face it. it is a mechanical item and there is definitely a chance for faulty parts to pass through inspection. yes, we demand for quality checks to ensure that there are no problems when we pick up our cars… but the reality is, nothing’s perfect. some just a little better than others. so to PsychiCst0rm, yeah, sometimes, these things happen. just gotta plug on and ensure that it is fixed. as for the proton, well SY0H, if it can happen to a car costing six figures…

• Bktrokan on Mar 21, 2011 at 10:41 am

This is getting interesting….

(watch this space for more…. :)

Test driven Golf TSI…yummy…but scared (concerned?) of the service kwality…Hmmmm….maybe Mazda 6 then….