Kia Forte named Debut Model of the Year by Frost & Sullivan

The Naza Kia Forte has bagged another award, the latest being its sixth since its debut here in November 2009. The car was named as the Debut Model of the Year at the 2011 Frost & Sullivan Malaysia Excellence Awards.

The award is presented to models – launched between November 2009 to November 2010 – that made a significant impact in the market with a substantial sales volume and positive market acceptance.Since its launch in November 2009, Naza Kia Malaysia has sold a total of 6,878 units of the Forte as at the end of the first quarter this year.

Frost & Sullivan consultant for Asia Pacific Automotive and Transportation Practice, Ahmad Faridz Dzulkarnain, said the Forte broke the monotony in its segment by offering a very bold and dynamic European styling vehicle packed with high technological features and fitment level at a very attractive price point.

“The market acceptance of this model was phenomenal based on its sales volume of more than 5,200 units and capturing around 2.5% of the C-segment market share in 2010. The other newly launched C-segment sedans only sold less than 2,000 units in 2010,” he said.

“The competition in this segment is considered the toughest as the C-segment midsized sedan is the most popular segment and accounts for a major portion of Malaysia’s annual sales volume,” he added.

Among the criteria which the Forte was evaluated upon included sales volume for 2010, market share within its own segment for 2010, price points, key marketing strategy in 2010, key selling points of the nominated model, key competitive advantages and significant achievement for 2010.

The new Forte 6-Speed, which was recently launched, features several new premium features that are set to further strengthen the award-winning sedan’s position in the market.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• success on Apr 14, 2011 at 12:14 pm

Now that’s what I call a true success. Way to go Kia. Toyota and Honda, ready to sau phei

• Feb Sales Figure

Toyota – 5,440 units
      Honda – 2,254 units

Naza – 589 units

:-)

• BeemerFreak on Apr 14, 2011 at 7:57 pm

589 units from virtually one model…. They have not launched more killer models yet. beware

• Darren on Apr 15, 2011 at 3:41 pm

still long way to go. only these2 brands; Toyota and Honda implanted in most Malaysians mind

• BeemerFreak on Apr 14, 2011 at 12:21 pm

A well deserved award. By far one of the better C segment cars around. Value for money, reliable and frugal. Congrats Naza Kia, now bring in the sportage and optima to impress more people

• I wish to own one! :)

• Forte SX on Apr 14, 2011 at 12:34 pm

Great car indeed…really value for money. Worth the award obtained by the car….

• puipui on Apr 14, 2011 at 1:08 pm

hahah..inspira tak dapat

• Feb 2011 Sales Figure

Proton Inspira – 958 units

Naza Forte – 359 units

Apa guna dapat Award tapi jualan tak laris.

• Feb 2011 Sales Figure

Proton Inspira – 958 units

Naza Forte – 359 units

Apa guna dapat Award tapi jualan tak laris.
        ……
        tp dpt untung maa, no R%D even the car also downgrade..
        what to shout :P

• mailsak on Apr 14, 2011 at 1:22 pm

congrate to forte…This is..The FORTE Revolution!

• Gavin on Apr 14, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Whoo haters gonna hate, big t an h discussion and proton and NEP coming

• Tak suka B.N. on Apr 14, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Kia forte deserve the award. I own one now, honestly speaking for new car still under warranty is great car to own. Only that the fuel consumption is extremely high!!! Otherwise, is a good quality car ever made by KIA. Well done

• Dude…I like yr nickname

• Creative Mind on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Care to share the fuel consumption being extremely high? Is there any facts and figures you can share with us to substantiate your claim? Best being some figures to show what is the km/l or l/100km to give an accurate figure to the high FC?

• BeemerFreak on Apr 14, 2011 at 3:44 pm

My 1.6SX does 500km for rm80 petrol in 80% city driving…. about 8.5L/100km

• Bobcat on Feb 09, 2012 at 2:29 pm

My 6 speed 1.6EX does 480km for rm70 petrol in 80% city driving…. about 7.7L/100km
        Best : 6.8L/100KM, Worse 10.5L/100KM

• SiSiPi on Apr 14, 2011 at 3:52 pm

extremely high??? how can??

see this >>>
      http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/71713_445957201157_751626157_5429733_5830284_n.jpg

• Fariz on Apr 14, 2011 at 4:55 pm

SiSiPi …
        Yes its true. I hv the earlier one (4speed). Relax drive (100 ~ 110) will give 6.7L/100km.
        Every week from Kajang to Butterworth..
        fuel meter reading showing almost the same..

its not that high..
        even my nissan latio give me 7L/100km same driving style..

I love my forte more than my latio, vios and city.. (I own all brands) & Forte audio unbeatable & way far better..

Forte really brings a good package of joy ride.. really..!

• Tak suka B.N. on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:23 pm

Care to share whether you are 1.6 or 2.0??? Most thirsty model is 2.0 one.

• That’s not fair for comparison. The Link you show is from damansara to Alor Star.. wa~
        It’s highway usage.

In daily usage, there’s a rather high fuel consumption to the same range car. I owned both Vios and Forte. Vios is about more fuel saving compare to Forte. Just thinking of trading out Forte with something in 2 years time. Since trading out my Forte now is totally not worth with the high loss cost.

• rickyll on Apr 14, 2011 at 3:55 pm

I was among a first few to take delivery of Forte in Penang, about one month after its launch on 24 Dec 2009. Forte is a good car, mine is into its 17th month and clocking 28 K km, it’s still give me a new car feel. The F.C. was quite high at first, about 10 litres per 100 km but recently it has been returning a very impressive figures i.e. 8 – 9.5 L/100km on city roads and an admirable 7 to 8 L/100km on high way. If you drive at a constant speed of 80 kph or 2000 rpm you could even get a fantastic FC of 5.8 to 6.5 L/100km.

• farghmee on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:31 pm

FC almost same as Gen2 Hi-Line Auto.

• sukasuki on Apr 14, 2011 at 7:31 pm

maybe the ECU is adapting the way of driver drives. so that it can calculate and fit with the driving style.

• lkf0512 on Apr 14, 2011 at 4:51 pm

He changes from Kancil to Forte ma…so hoping Forte for same fuel consumption as Kancil…

• Start boring dh dgn forte, kena start facelift dh ni….but the whole package is still awesome and really kicks vios ass

• Leong Junior on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:44 pm

already facelift, bro.
      http://paultan.org/2011/02/25/kia-forte-koup-2-0-launching-in-malaysia-in-march-2011/

• arcadian on Apr 15, 2011 at 12:18 pm

forte koup and forte 2 different model la mangkuk

• Org Malaysia on Apr 15, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Bahasa menunjukkan bangsa dan sikap kita. Fikir – fikirkanlah.

• Org Malaysia on Apr 15, 2011 at 8:45 pm

Bahasa menunjukkan bangsa dan sifat kita. Fikir – fikirkanlah.

• endre on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:07 pm

I wonder when the dual-cctv is coming.

• Forte Lovers! on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:33 pm

No regret owning Kia Forte 2.0. 7 months and counting. Just change your naza logo with KIA logo and your car is good to go! Sylphy 2.0 and Inspira 2.0 just piece of cake. No problem!

• Kumar san on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:47 pm

The Korean’s are here and here to stay.Once they start getting their after sales infrastructure sorted,then the Japanese manufacturers will get really worried.As it is now,there are starting to get a bit uneasy with the Forte’s presence.

For the lastest 2.0 6 Speed version with all the bells and whistles,there just isn’t any Japanese product out there that can come even remotely near it in terms standard kit list.No contest at all.

It’s a nice ride,seriously.Apart from it being a bit thirsty,it’s build quality and it’s refinement is suprisingly very good.And it does drive not feel like a non Continental ride,it’s driving feel is actually very Continental like.And this award is well deserved one.A good buy.Like the Koup 6 Speed though,same bells and whistles.

Cheers.

• zulomar on Apr 14, 2011 at 3:58 pm

I bought my Forte 1.6 SX in May 2010 and never regret it – nearly one year now.

Good overall package. Beautiful exterior & nice high spec interior. It is a very good & beautiful looking car. It’s like married to a beautiful wife and appreciating her each day. Very good looking design by Peter Schreyer (ex-designer of Audi).

The fuel consumption is comparable to my friend’s Altis. I don’t agree with “Tak suka B.N.” that the FC is extremely high. It depends on the way we drive.

The start stop button feels luxurios – even better than the new Camry 2.4 as Forte has a slot to put in the remote underneath the start stop button. While, the new Camry doesn’t have. Way better than the Suzuki Swift’s starting system.

Spacious boot space, keyless entry (new Camry just introduced) and you added in the new additions in the upgrades – reverse camera, 6 speed (which I didn’t get from the 4 speed), good braking system.

It is just a matter of changing the perception of the people. I am one satisfied buyer

• Tak suka B.N. on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:34 pm

ur forte is 2.0 or 1.6??For sure 1.6 fuel consumption wont beyond than 8.6l/100km, bcoz of its 1.6cc capacity. For your info, 2.0 model city driving is around RM0.21/km which stop and go in city around 90%,10% Highway. Fully 100% highway is RM0.14/km which is 7.5l/100km. I hope other dude read my comment may give me more FC base on 2.0 model in use. 1.6 model i not interested to know as not compare aple to aple, but aple to durian.

• madmarzio on Apr 15, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Dear TSBN,

I own 2.0 and almost a year now. From my driving experience, FC depend on our route type, driving behavior, as well as loading condition (air cond (my avg 22 deg), boot load (me around 5-10 kg of load).

Hulu Langat – Bangi – Shah Alam – Hulu Langat (70% hway 30% city) : 7.4l/100km
        Hulu Langat – KL – Hulu Langat (5% hway 95% city): 8.5-9.0 l/100km
        Hulu Langat – Kangar -Hulu Langat (95% hway 5% city): 5.6 l/100km

Of course these figure are in my normal behavior of driving. They could be hiked up to 9.0-12.0 l/100km if i drove above 140km/hr most of the time + hard brakings etc..

Fyi, my Forte now give me more mileage than my previous 15 inch rims Wira 1.5 GL (M) 2002.

Thank you

• Simply can’t deny. very well fuel saving i can say.and worth buying:))congrats Naza for bringing the Forte!

• im buyin one…..gonna get it in 2 weeks time.proud that im buyin a car worth every penny.i dare u all to just even test drive it,u can see the difference to compare honda n naked toyota.much overated

• Tu Lan Proton on Apr 14, 2011 at 4:55 pm

I also test drove Forte 1.6 6 speed. Damn… Good car. Much better than Pug 207.

• Worth buying and fuel save i can say!

• About the FC,

“Tak suka B.N.” that the FC is extremely high

“Kumar san” .Apart from it being a bit thirsty

Which one is correct as the saleman told me for 1.6 the FC ~ Gen 2 (non-cps).

• Kumar san on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:27 pm

To ML,if driven sedately,it will give you very,very good fuel consumption.Not a problem.

Fuel consumption figures vary from driver to driver and is a very subjective matter.Consumption figures quoted by any and all manufacturers are done in a controlled testing environment over a prolonged mileage.That’s how you get an average reading using a fuel metering device.

My sister owns the 2.0 4-speed and i tested it for a week.I drive rather aggesively,that’s why i said it was a bit thirsty.It’s just my point of view.Go and test drive and see what you feel and think about it yourself.That would be the best approach ML.

Nevertheless,it’s a very,very good car and i would strongly recommend your good self to buy it should you choose to do so.

An ace effort from Kia.Ace ride.Buy one.Cheers.

• Tak suka B.N. on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Dear ML. My 2.0 forte city driving is RM0.21/km, highway is RM0.15/km. that all i monitor since a month ago when i collect my 2.0 Forte. Level of trusting of my sources???is depend of you.

• Thank you for the info “Kumar san” and “Tak suka B.N.”. Just to ensure a reasonable FC, compared to my in-law Spectra coz I think this is a good car to consider.

• izputra on Apr 16, 2011 at 9:44 am

I will reserve my comments on the FC figure for the city driving as it got way too many variables for accurate measurements. But for 100% highway driving from Alor Setar to Jalan Duta at mostly at 110km/h, i can easily get 6.5L/100km with 3 adults on-board + half full luggage. Another journey from Tanjung Malim to Jalan Duta (100% highway), i recorded 6.1L/100km.

Bro..your car is about a month old & i guess it is still in low mileage. New car (low mileage) tends to give high FC figures. Please do the FC measurement again once your car have clocked some mileage..say 10k km. Since that u just collected your car, i assume you owned a newly facelifted Forte with the 6-speed gearbox right?..so i believe, the 6-speeder will always give better FC than the 4-speeder (mine) especially on the highway..but If the FC is still high (for your car), maybe i can just put a blame on your driving style (heavy footed). Else, u should get better FC reading than mine.

By the way..i’m a proud owner of the first batch Forte 2.0 CBU delivered more than a year ago.

p/s : Please use L/100km instead of RM/km to compare the FC figure since that fuel price are subjected to change & type of RON that u are using.

• Tak suka B.N. on Apr 18, 2011 at 2:59 pm

Bros, i agree your suggestion. Hopefully when my car clocked or more than 1k, hope the Fc will improve. I am 6 speeder, and i am not heavy footer as i knew the car is 2000cc that city drvie stop and go conditions will suck my tank empty soon.Whenever Highway drive between 110km/h sure give good FC, but malaysia road trafiice wont give you even 70% smooth ride, traffic jam is happen anywhere.BTW, my 2.0 six speeder has done 1k services and again tested my ride in city 80%,gihway20% drive and FC results is RM0.19~0.21/km which almost 10l~11l/100km. So far reasonable for 2.0 ride, but the fuel bar drop when traffic jam making me annoying and not confident.

• Annoy-nimal on Apr 14, 2011 at 4:52 pm

This is a beautiful family car inside out… If you’re looking for a solid family car which feels modern, this is worth looking at. Not the most performance oriented, but certainly an excellent family car with style.
    Personally, I think the guys at KIA put more effort into the Forte than the Toyota guys put into the Vios.

• Fariz on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:02 pm

I hv the earlier one (4speed). Relax drive (100 ~ 110) will give 6.7L/100km.
    Every week from Kajang to Butterworth..
    fuel meter reading showing almost the same..

its not that high..
    even my nissan latio give me 7L/100km same driving style..

I love my forte more than my latio, vios and city.. (I own all brands) & Forte audio unbeatable & way far better..

Forte really brings a good package of joy ride.. really..!

• everytime i saw this car.. i’ll say to my self.. “this is the best value for money” car… Unfortunately when I was shopping around, the old spec didn’t tempted me enough to go for it.. which finally I opted for Mazda3.

but with the latest facelift & upgrade model… this is the best car your can get for anything below100K.. not inspira.. or any other model..

• hi forte buddies
    Happy to ride…leave u speechless…join the 1 May Grand gathering.
    pls log in to my forte club…

• i love my black colour 6 speed 1.6 forte. love the mid range pull that it gives.

• I got my 2.0L Forte last April , when the first cbu batch landed on our shores, even with a
    4 speed gearbox I still get 0.17cents for urban/highway driving . Its a well built car, high specs and good ride. It handles like a half japenese/continental car with peter s input of a lot of audi’ish suspension and design settings. KIA can now stand on par with the Japanese makes. I’m eagerly waiting for the Sportage and it will be another wonderful car.

• some1 tell me this: since i have Forte and i want to trade-in in 2 years time,, why not consider Proton Persona R/Tuah. Hmm. may be. If the condition is decent, why not? If not, I would rather trade in for Honda Insight.

• kunta on Apr 14, 2011 at 11:57 pm

it leave me speechless.. Very worth buying this car..
    FC when light footer (110-120kmh on hway) 6.3l/100..

• Forteowner on Apr 15, 2011 at 1:28 am

Own it for 13 mths with mileage 20K plus and my FC for 90% city driving
    goes about 0.18/Km and am a bit heavy footed like to play with shiftronic
    and for that kind of consumptions i m happy…no regrets and worry free
    with 5 years warranty and unlimited mileage..1.6SX

My top speed tested with 4 adults 190Km and seriously the NVH is
    by far the best against others C-segments..

If u r buying a car with that kind of budget don’t listen to all the basher or
    those who likes to flame go test drive 1 today and then give your feedback
    and compares against others C-segments..

If you are thinking of resale value then u should buy assets not liability

Just my 2 cents opinion and still enjoying my ride till today …..Speechlessss

My only regrets should have wait for the 6 speeder…on the contrary am enjoying
    my ride earlier and for those who oredi own a 4 speeder congrats and for those
    who are waiting for your 6 speeder…worth waiting and rest assure you will not regret

Cheers,

• adehhh on Apr 15, 2011 at 2:40 pm

just test forte 2.0 last week at plus highway towards jb… 190kmh tak rasa wooo..syiokkk

• MAT KOBOI on Apr 15, 2011 at 11:45 am

bawak lebih 110 km/h on highway…kuat la telan minyak…

• MAT KOBOI on Apr 15, 2011 at 11:50 am

bawak lebih 110kmh on highway…kuat la telan minyak…bawak ikut had laju tentu jimat

• Chinchong on Apr 16, 2011 at 7:46 pm

I am intending to buy Forte 1.6SX this May. How is reliability like compare to Japanese makes? I don’t mind resale value nor specs. I had bad experience with local cars thus do not want to go through nightmare again to repair. Hope I can get an honest feedback.

• Forteowner on Apr 17, 2011 at 3:40 am

All cars have their own specific issue , be it manufacture defect, owners carelessness
      etc you can browse thru the Forte forum and get the answer there and justified the reliability as it would be bias for me to tell you the car is good and mine unit is so far so good till today,

No major issue except for alignment to the left , water vapors in head lamp which is rectified during 1st service..

Browse thru the world engine and you will know that Mitsu 4B families and Theta series are using the same engine..so Lancer 2.0 and Forte 2.0 are basically the same engines develop by the 4 giants which Mitshu call it 4B families and Hyundai -Kia calls it Theta 1 or 2 of course 2 will comes with DCvvT except both are built at different platforms and tuning..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Engine_Manufacturing_Alliance

The Gema engine which is a joint venture engineering producing the best for 4 big shots Hyndai, Kia, Mitshu and Chrysler…

Conclusions is the 5 yrs warranty and unlimited mileage is the only offer you can get for a budget for that, correct me if am wrong that VW is also giving that but again the price of the car different substantially..

Happy hunting

Cheers,

• Domfer on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Hi Chinchong. By now I take it you are already a proud owner of a Forte. Just wanted to share with you that I too have always owned proton – second hand saga 1.5A, wira 1.6 and new waja 1.8X. With each I had problems but the worst was the waja 1.8, a con job by proton on all M’sians. My Forte 1.6 SX was delivered after in March and it’s up to 6k mileage and it’s just fantastic. I don’t mind any minor flaws like what someone wrote higher up in this comment feed. The car handles beautifully and at mid range can really FLY! Love the rear view mirror, bluetooth phone, and all the other stuff. My wife just bought a 1.6 Altis, which is nice, but I love my Forte more.

Just sharing.

• KCS5721 on Apr 17, 2011 at 1:56 am

I had a Forte 1.6SX 4speeder…..FC wise, is very very good…recently 100% city drive clocked 422km for full tank RM90 to RM90 BHP2X Ron95….but that’s nt the best FC i’ve ever seen….i’ve seen clocked 6.2km/100L for city drive….which is…..very save….
    I had no regrets on buying this 1, even with the better FL version….still love my Forte dearly…the 2 problems that gave me was :
    1st. Forte seats are high….cnt reach to the headrest without 2 layers of xtra pillows xD
    2nd. LP Tyre noise…..the most popular problem for Forte…
    For FC, QC and performance is ald very good…might seem underpower at 1st, then slowly improve after services and increase of mileage….b4 i was using RON97 BHP, before price shoot up 2.60(now 2.70)….my FC for city drive can go up to 485km compare to the highest Ron95 which is 443km…since ald 2.70, i will say bye bye to my best FC and Ron97…..which i can go KL and try out V-Power Racing petrol….

Guys…go test drive 1st b4 listening to those bashers comment….if u think FC is high, then try get a model which clocked more than 10k mileage(Official dealer test drive car)…or can get ppl with that mileage to test drive(like me)….

• Test Drive 1.6SX 6 speeds last Saturday at PG FTZ area.

Pickup – For my personal view, good enough for crossing the road, change lane, overtake heavy vehicles and normal drive. Powerful enough for me.

Observed consistent of 70 speeds clock at around rpm1500 consider reasonable.
    Compare to my existing car 70 speeds clock at around rpm 1800 as monitered.

Confort – cross through few famous bumpy areas in FTZ PG. Can feel the suspension is soft lifting the car and not the harder type.

Audio – superb and sound quality is best.

Airconditional – Very cool. When you press auto button when getting in the car in hot sun, the air blower is strong and will auto adjust the temperature with dual zone control.

Had placed booking. Many ppls test drive at the same day. There will be more units on the road.

For potential buyer, go test drive and feel the different. All the comments here can take as additional references.

TQ.

• empty on Apr 20, 2011 at 2:53 pm

had chance to test drive the 1.6 and 2.0 before and the power that the 2.0 gave you was way tooooo awesome!!

gonna get 1 soon at the end of the year…..

• telepon on Apr 28, 2011 at 9:41 pm

my feveret

• awananonanonano on Aug 24, 2011 at 12:32 pm

is there any difference in 1.6 EX and 1.6 SX in terms of the performance? how significant is it?

• Tak Suke NAZA Forte on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:49 pm

walaweh.. for a 1st time i test drive this Forte 1.6SX, made me fell in love n otw to book n hope can have it…
    so damn good guys.. plus with the exclusive interior design that i nvr had even if i compare with Honda civic…
    two thumbs up!!!! anyone wanna fuck up about this car, i suggest u better go n take look at it 1st n feels the different…

• ForteEagle on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Well… Just would like to share my experience. I just own Forte 1.6Sx for 1 month old. Overall pretty well. RM80 10L/100KM (Urban Area) and Highway 6.7L/100KM with 120km/h. Guys, is it consider as fuel consumption? Need feedback from you all.

Interior/ Exterior- Nice
    Sound System- Best
    Noise- Bit noisy with 17’inch tyre on the road

Coz wat i hear from others Forte owner only hit 8.5L/100km or even lower.. do u means highway?

Anyway, worth to buy!! No regret at all~