‘Persona – Better, Undoubtedly’ campaign launched with new ambassadors – DJ Lin and Aanantha joins Jack Lim

Proton Edar has just launched a new campaign for the Persona called “Persona – Better, Undoubtedly” or “Sememangnya Lebih Sempurna” in BM. This campaign will see two new brand ambassadors, DJ Lin from Suria FM and Aanantha from THR Raaga, join current Persona Ambassador Jack Lim from MY FM in a five-month campaign that will engage Malaysians with the theme “inspiring confidence”.

These three radio personalities were chosen for their life experiences, besides the obvious 1Malaysia appeal (by the way, of all Proton models, the Persona’s buyer profile mirrors our country’s racial composition the closest). The trio, who were presented with their car keys (Jack already drives a Persona) at the event, will act as mentors, sharing life lessons and championing their own programmes.

Suria’s DJ Lin is a single mother, and she will lead an empowerment programme to help other single mums overcome their challenges. Interestingly, she doesn’t own a driver’s license and is afraid of driving, but is taking on Proton’s challenge to get herself behind the wheel. “If not for this challenge, I will not have a license till I die,” she joked.

The outgoing Aanantha, who is also in a band, will be showing youngsters the importance of learning beyond text books, and how to boost self confidence. Actor/DJ Jack, who toiled for over a decade in the entertainment industry before making it big, will spread the “never give up” message, which he does quite well.

The trio also lead different lifestyles: Jack is a family man, Lin is a single mum and Aanantha is a “happy go lucky” guy, as described by Sidik Abd Hamid, GM of Proton Edar’s Marketing Division.

Sidek also shared that the Proton Persona is a “hero” car to him and “is a car that’s close to our hearts”. It was the car that started Proton’s turn towards achieving good quality. Launched at a time when the company was set back with a range that didn’t have a car that appealed to everyone (ageing Waja, limited appeal for hatchbacks Gen2, Savvy and Neo), the Persona was a breath of fresh air. “Everybody deserves a second chance,” he said.

If the Persona inspired Proton’s turnaround, now these three Persona Ambassadors will go out to inspire others with their live stories, and sell a few cars in the process!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rifaie on Apr 26, 2011 at 5:45 pm

the best! refreshment i shall say

• meet_the _zonan on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:37 am

shame on u la proton.. read article attach http://www.kosmo.com.my/kosmo/content.asp?y=2011&dt=0427&pub=Kosmo&sec=Negara&pg=ne_10.htm

• junaidi on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:43 pm

you read KOSMO?
        ROFL

• Reputation build in few decade but ruin in a second..

The new car (within 24hrs) having the problem clearly point that the QC having some loop hole which really need to solve immediately..
        This should be the first priority rather than asign XXX, YYY and ZZZ to be the “ambassadors” !!!

• Eyesore on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:29 am

not defending proton…probably something is not right with the dealer…. if you read about the issue… it was not really a quality issue….. the problem happened because some wired was bitten by rats…. so could be storage / parking place problem by the dealer…

plus… the customer should have check the car before she sign the agreement… since she probably did not do it…and signed the agreement (means she’s saying the car was received in good condition)…. when the problem (wire bitten by rats) is not a covered by warranty thingy… then it is a no brainer why the sc refused to fix the problem for free….

well i think if she tried hard enough she could get it done. but then opting for the tribunal is a good thing to ensure she get the compensation. however by going to news paper and annoucing it to the world… cheap publisity i’d say and a chance to tarnush proton effort to overtake perodua in recent days (something smell fishy here)… the news came out at almost same time as the news about new persona campaign… (p2 salesman behind this?) hehehe no offense…

• only people like you assume such genuine cases are attempts by perodua salesmen to undermine protong. i’ve seen many of your kind.

also, what does it say when a car is prone to rats biting stuff like wires inside? great design eh?

• BadBET on Apr 27, 2011 at 4:06 pm

DSZ… just fire all those useless people in QC department and replace them with new people. its easier to teach a new guy about dignity rather then to change the corrupt mindset of senior staff. Dont let those dishonest people to break your vision. by the way, I heard rumors that some QC guy accepted defect part due to bribery from supplier? I really hope thats not true.

• _xXx_ on Apr 27, 2011 at 4:43 pm

LMAO!!!!

• sagadevan on Apr 26, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Launched at a time when the company was set back with a range that didn’t have a car that appealed to everyone (ageing Waja, limited appeal for hatchbacks Gen2, Savvy and Neo),
    ———————————————————————————————————————
    First it was DatoLeeCW, now these 3 personalities
    but the fact remains.
    While others have progressed ,Proton is still left behind
    addressing its QUALITY ISSUES.

• HirumaKecil on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:05 am

Hey.. guess what.. i didn’t hear quality problem with the latest models Saga,Exora and Inspira… The issue always about copying and no creativity in design, but nobody talk about the quality… Wonder why… Or maybe Proton already built a better car than P2.. erm sorry, not p2 but T(made in thailand one) may be…

• puipui on Apr 27, 2011 at 2:04 am

u dun hav hear but i still hear alot of issue problem….. what i feel is better is proton use those money 2 improve on quality, RND or maintenance rather than spending money on these stuff…

• bebek on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:26 am

i also hear a lot of problem with other brand..especially p2 with the break and extractor..now i heard p2 also hv lot of power window problem.

• _xXx_ on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:04 am

no need to hear, if they are good (in quality and sale vol), why would they want to spend $ hiring celebs to promote?

• mmmmmmm on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:53 pm

OMG…..another ignorant buffoon (borrow the word from some guy here) who have no idea about marketing…sigh

• _xXx_ on Apr 27, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Oh, I just learnt a new word from you, buffoon=clown. OK, thanks, clown.

• Vincent on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:40 am

Pui Pui, spending money to solved quality issue in P1 will not work.

Reason been, those poor quality parts was supply by some one who has connection …….

• i want to know the issues… please educate me..

• mini cooper freak on Apr 26, 2011 at 5:55 pm

Nice no, WUD 7777.

• ericmaxman on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:36 am

lol 7 likes for 7777. let’s make it 77. or 777. or even 7777. hehe

• Naley on Apr 26, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Nice car for all! affordable and good handling..

• Unforgiven on Apr 26, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Good, go Proton, Persona is ready…

Let’s do that…

We are ready to have the same tax structure as other makes…

We are ready to bring down the price of Vios/City to the same segment as Persona…

Proton is ready to have a fair fight, man to man…

Right here, right now!

• Harris on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:06 pm

If we have same tax structure.. Proton would not survive unless they improve significantly on build quality!!

• 2016 laa… possibly extend to 2020.. kih kih kih

• Eyesore on Apr 27, 2011 at 2:10 pm

same tax structures as others? can we check please for the other countries with lower car taxes what are the income taxes, insurances, cost of car ownership etc….

you know, taxes are govt incomes… you cut one tax, other tax will be increase to maintain the income…. for me i would rather have high car tax then high income taxes….

reducing the car taxes n increasing other taxes… let say income tax, would hurt more ppl… making the poor suffer just satistfy the ‘not-so-rich’ b@$7@rds ‘nafsu’ to own an imported cars…..

• BadBET on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:33 pm

agreed, car tax = 3 billion per year. Cut that one out and maybe.. maybe we have to pay tax for breathing oxygen next year. What is the use of 60k honda civic if G increase tax or tarrif for sparepart, food, fuel, education, water, electric… and books :( .

• Unforgiven on Apr 30, 2011 at 4:37 pm

It seems that you are either driving a Proton or BMW F01/02… The current tax structure are mainly generating this type of people…

• BeemerFreak on Apr 26, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Put the turbocharged engine in it and give us the Tuah concept Persona R. That I would say to Proton “Best- Undoubtedly”

• bebek on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:28 am

ya..and put hybrid engine as well with a cheaper battery replacement price..sure H and T lingkup in boleh land..apatah lagi P2

• apitG on Apr 26, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Cool !!

• Malcolm Lim on Apr 26, 2011 at 6:45 pm

Persona is definitely a good car despite its annoying dashboard rattling issues, worth buying for sure even though i only own a saga blm and a forte :P

• avanza K3VET on Apr 26, 2011 at 7:10 pm

???…
    P1 good ahh…
    find those famous person to advertise production car

• Black Dog on Apr 26, 2011 at 7:22 pm

I’d rather hear ‘life experiences of Persona’ from Paul Tan’s readers than those who’s paid to do it.

But comments should be sincere, they should have driven other Japs or Euro cars before, then only can compare with Persona (how can u say it’s good when all that you’ve driven is just Proton cars and kap chai’s your whole life?)

• Ash Menon on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:37 pm

“I’d rather hear ‘life experiences of Persona’ from Paul Tan’s readers than those who’s paid to do it.”

Completely agree with this!

• hualian on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:40 pm

The oil consumption is high. I drove my friends proton to penang, we went to penang in 2 cars, the other is VIOS.

Mid way, proton need to drink petrol liao, VIOS still got more than half.

All I can say is Persona got no power, I don’t expect much because I drove a Honda City before, equally weak. I own a Kelisa and Civic 2.0 now. Drove MyVi before.

Well, I bet those with a 3.0 car will say my Civic 2.0 no power also. Actually, how u perceive a car depends on your past background and exposure.

• Oil consumption high? First time i heard this! LOL!!
        Don’t you mean FUEL?

Regarding the power issue, i’ve to admit because Persona doesn’t has CPS engine. Try drive Gen.2. It will surprise you.

• Bulls**t on Apr 27, 2011 at 7:06 am

You are talking with your knee. Driven already proof that Persona fc is less than Vios.

• carazy on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:39 am

me own persona m-line stick edition, and i would say, the overall satisfactory after I drove it for almost 2 years and abt 61K in the odo meter.

Persona car are very2 good, handing better than my friend civic and for sure lot better than my other friend myvee.

fuel consumption wise i dun know, but what i can say if i balik kampung from bangi to kuantan, vise-versa, it will eating minyak 1/2 from full, cost approximately 60/full tank (empty to full).

Power wise, adequate for my style of driving, 7000 rpm is no harm done, and it can go 170kmh with ease and lot of throttle to spare (i dont dare to go full throttle though)

last but not lease, Power window, no prob at all. :)

happy motoring guys,
        BKM50*7.

• Someonefromsarawak on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:49 am

I drives a Merc E240cgi now but I can proudly say that my first car was a Proton ‘Knight’ (still remember the car?). Still have my knight after 25 years and believe me it is still going strong. I don’t deny that I had the power window problem but it was fixed right away. I suggested to my wife to drive a Persona because I believe it is one of the better car in term of built quality, value for money, handling, comfort and not to mention fuel economy. Sometime my wife grumbles at me because I left her my Merc key. I just feel I accomplished my work better with the Persona. For me it is a car for all occasion.

• I had driven my office’s pool car, the Persona, and doing long distance travels many times..

if you are using the FIRST GENERATION Persona, then the fuel consumption is quite high especially if you are driving above the speed limit.. it become worst if you are driving above 150kph//

However, if you are driving at 90-110kph, I believe you will get to Penang with more fuel in the tank…

The newer generation Persona apparently had solved the problem.

• autojohndoe on Apr 27, 2011 at 5:59 pm

i drove my persona from shah alam to kuala terengganu.

start at full tank and arrive at kuala terengganu with fuel for another 52km…

• maxize on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:39 pm

totally agree!! I had own persona iafm since 2008. alhamdulillah no problem till now. fuel consumption is great.i’ve tried once,from shah alam to alor setar takes me 2 and half hours, about 160km/h average along the PLUS hwy. only half tank. but dont forget to service ur car when the time has come..

• what oil?
        Engine oil
        Power steering oil
        Gearbox oil
        Brake oil

i’m quite confius

• rebadge on Apr 26, 2011 at 7:27 pm

except its power window!

(i’m not a proton basher. i own a persona. i love it. comfy, good handling. my only dissatisfaction is the power window switch. broke down three times already. i dont repair it after the third break down, waste of money, because i know it will eventually break down again.)

• wa… only 3 times.. My Myvi SE broke down 5 times.! damn pissed off. i bought smart tag instead winding down window.

• power windows?!…dun worry dude, it will come with lifetime warranty

• littlefire on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:04 am

I have ask the Proton sales person, it said the warranty only cover the power window motor & not the switch!!! So if the plastic switch broken or what.. u still have to pay for it!!! Please retrify, i also a bit confuse… If real, really pandai the marketing ppl…

• HirumaKecil on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Hurm.. weird but many complain about it.. But still wondering why many people have problem with this p/w switch.. How they used it? my father taxi 1992 saga p/w switch still in perfect condition… and also his gen2.. he bought that gen2 in 2005 but the switch still in perfect condition.. and all my friends proton also have no issue with the p/w switch… 3 of my uncle use wira and wira e/b, 1 use perdana, 2 use iswara and 1 use Juara for his business, also my cousins… 1 use perdana 1 use wira a/b 1 use satria two use exora and i ask them but they say they have no problem at all with the car quality… Yes , my car is not a proton but many of my friend and my house-mate also use proton… but they never complain about quality except poor services at proton service center..

• squall_shinoda on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:49 pm

Then contact DSZ laa… he has just offered a lifetime warranty for Proton power windows what… ask the replacement for free.

• breaL on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:25 am

same thing happened to me, i jsut gave up….Proton CEO recent comment of giving lifetime warranty to shut up protons heavy associate with power window failure is certainly a breath of fresh air but warranty alone wont cut it if it keeps broken.

• fakhrulrz on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:44 pm

i prefer who own the Proton Persona, any prblm with car i suggest 2 settle n repair with srvis cntre… other than that i don’t believed bcause i think sc spare parts sell very cheap price with other srvice shop… i was compare receipt from sc between xxx shop, xxx shop more money to spend compare from sc…

• new persona r is even better

• ahmad on Apr 26, 2011 at 8:01 pm

ya, they can start telling how many weeks they have spent in proton SC to fix the defects. I’m listening.

• spontburn on Apr 26, 2011 at 8:32 pm

My Persona still making a lot of noise….when will Proton ever improve? 2011 model with so many crappy problems!!!! PR is not enough. I hope someone from Proton could read my words. If the CEO can give the cab driver his card, then I wonder when I can get mine. I have to many things to share about my Persona. This is too much with the noisy power steering wheel hoses and pipes being a generic problem and I was told that is factory spec and beyond that all affected owners will have to go to Proton Edar to solve it. I still haven’t receive call from Proton Edar to get it replaced!!!! Oh my god….still more to go…right and left front doors rattling noise…..dashboard noise…mis aligned steering since day one I got my car…wiper is not a the correct position….

• Bulls**t on Apr 27, 2011 at 7:09 am

Maybe you are the problem.

• spontburn on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:27 am

I was an owner of Iswara and also Wira for so many years. think again if you got a new car with so many problems and the service centre people didn’t resolve your problem. They don’t even have the initiative to fix my problem. I am paying for the car and you will know what it is like. I was not a basher back then but my real life experience had driven me to become one. Minor problem is ok (1 vs multiple rattling noise). Imagine that, stop saying I am a trouble maker and if you want proof then I welcome you to test drive my car. :)

• squall_shinoda on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:39 am

The top management of Proton has already done their commitment about quality… what’s left will be the commitment from the service centres and vendors. You should know that in any automotive industry, a carmaker does not produce all components in house; it only produces engines and body parts and assemble all components in place. Most of the components come from the vendors. Therefore, when it comes to quality issues, it is common for us to blame the carmaker rather than the defective vendors.

• spontburn on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:32 am

I am not so dumb to blame Proton alone. Most issues are from the production line and not from the components. No matter how low quality the plastic it, then the parts should fix into place. One side of my wiper was not at the right position and steering wheel was misaligned since day one. My right hand side door lock has a loud rattling noise (proton edar didn’t resolve the problem and ask me to drive first). Some parts of the car are not properly fitted (the skirt was not properly fitted then the rear bumper got a visible gap revealing the clip hinges). Overall the car is value for money and ride just fine.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 27, 2011 at 2:10 pm

If the spare parts are of the highest quality, then it should snap into place at one go only, and it should remain there for years without problem. That’s why in any production line, they have quality control to check the fittings. If the component quality is poor, maybe the appearance looks fine as if there’s nothing wrong and it fits nicely in place, and QC inspector gives a pass. But later after being used by a customer then we know if there’s something wrong. Alignment pun dah lari. There may be squeaks and rattles here and there. That’s why there will be huge differences when you use Japanese parts than local parts in your car, because it is the vendors who have their big cut for the quality issues. If you insist, then drive a Japanese-made Honda Civic and compare with made-in-Alor Gajah Honda Civic. The cars are just the same, but the feel will be different.

• teamsleepnine on Apr 26, 2011 at 8:32 pm

I like the colour……mine is silver though..

• ong chin aun on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:50 am

COLOUR IS NOT THE REAL ISSUE. Engine and associated parts like break, steering , fuel consumtion n etc. are of great important. Beside, other accesories and maintenance ,services and sparts are also should be consider.

• HirumaKecil on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:23 pm

He just said that he like the color… It is his opinion that the color is nice.. why u bother with that.. and no need to tell him about

” THE REAL ISSUE. Engine and associated parts like break, steering , fuel consumtion n etc. are of great important. Beside, other accesories and maintenance ,services and sparts are also should be consider ”

BECAUSE

he already tell us that

“mine is silver”..

That’s mean he have a silver Persona already.. And U, who DUN HAVE a Persona wanna give and advise to HIM a Persona OWNER… Read carefully la Mr Ong before u condemned his opinion..

• redboy on Apr 26, 2011 at 8:36 pm

i tot they are clearing stock? look at the sale chart…it was beaten by many others..

• autojohndoe on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:25 am

which chart?

march sales showing the difference between p2 is 443unit…

• better than wira maybe!… but their rival… i doubt …other than the handling of course(real c segment rival… non the PRICE rival ! )

• confused on Apr 26, 2011 at 8:42 pm

kempen clear stock current persona…

make way for persona R~

• Anonymous on Apr 26, 2011 at 8:45 pm

I dun like Proton. I will not even giv it a damn……

If u wan to thumbs down, can go ahead.

SPeak honestly, will u guys get a proton if ur rich? Just answer to ur ur ownself is enough

• Yes, i’ll have Satria Neo CPS any day. I’ll use it as a car to pasar since i am rich.

• bebek on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:32 am

Q:SPeak honestly, will u guys get a proton if ur rich?
      A: Yes.
      Q: why?
      A: Because I’m a smart rich man!

• SidewaysSyndrome on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:36 am

If i’m rich, i won’t be getting a Honda, Toyota, Mazda as well.

Maybe a GranTurismo for work, a Bentley Mulsanne for balik kampung trips and a Ferrari 458 for weekend getaways.

• carazy on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:47 am

I will, and I’m really will, NEO R3 LOTUS, or jz NEO R3 2011 for my showoff pride and park in at teh Gardens or Midvelly (for sure jokes parking place) along with lambo, ferraris and mec or M3

• TFazuin on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:53 am

I still have one, and I also have a ’10 Suzuki Swift, a ’10 Saga SE and a 05′ Chevy Optra and contemplating to buy a 300G Mark X probably at year’s end. I am not rich, just average.

• BadBET on Apr 27, 2011 at 5:03 pm

If I am rich, yes, I will buy a Neo and put a ferrari grade rim fit onto it. Fit to show off, and fit to enjoy tight corners at my hometown.

• my persona window is not working too but i’m not complaining. very good car. impressed.

i’m rather bitter that proton does not price their cars properly.

my monthly take home salary in the US = $4,000, engineer 1 year experience
    entry level car cost = $15,000.

now back home, my take home pay is RM4,500, engineer 3 years experience
    entry level car = RM56,000.

proton your margin is too fat la.

• 4545er on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:51 am

then why come back..stay at US you 1America

• TFazuin on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:55 am

Because although the salary is cheaper, to fix the car is more expensive. Labour is very expensive in the US, and that is why they change cars and trade up in 3 years.

• Then, go back to America la, syooohhh…

• VoidDance on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:26 am

No 4545er. The right thing to say is that his salary should be around RM12k, then he wil not complained. Our salary is too low and I blamed it on our greedy business owners! And the G for taxing us too much!

• TFazuin on Apr 27, 2011 at 3:57 pm

Blame it on the business, they want cheap labour higher profits, no bonus, no benefits, and cut your leaves to the minimum 14 days. That is why the fortunate ones work for MNC’s where the pay pack and benefits are better, that too is under threat as MNC’s now outsorce all non-core activity such as accounting, tax, payroll, benefits, purchasing, logistics and warehousing when they have master contract in place.

So even that great job in MNC will go in a matter of time. To change all this would take an enormous effort since most businesses are too Kiasu and profit oriented to the extent that they lose staff to fledgling companies who manage to nurture their talents and address their personal concerns and needs as well as giving a condusive working enviroment.

So you’re options are to move on once you have learned everything there is to know about your job… Or stay and accept it as it is.

• accord on Apr 27, 2011 at 10:15 am

You are lucky. With only 3 years experience you got RM 4,500.00 per month……..
      Mine with 8 years experience got less than u… In our life my advice to u look at the people below u dont look above u in term of income… Of course everything is not enough…. till we die

• the truth of the matter, for majority of people all over the world they now live in debt. living is just to service loan and then die. this is the capitalist world.

the God says “YOU REAP WHAT YOU SOW”. but now the banks reap what people sow.

• Yes, I agree with that

But actually in your case
      Entry level car in Malaysia is not expensive
      Just your salary not high enough

Take this as a comparison
      Ratio salary & car price based on your statement
      Correct me if I wrong

US
      USD4000 : USD15000 = 1 : 3.75 (Toyota Corolla)

Singapore
      SGD4000 : SGD84000 = 1 : 21 (Proton Persona)

Malaysia
      MYR4500 : MYR56000 = 1 : 12.44 (Persona can get for MYR47k)

actually if your salary in Malaysia is USD4000 x 3 = MYR12000
      so your ratio will be
      MYR12000 : MYR56000 = 1 : 4.6
      not much different with US I think
      Better than Singapore

Actually world car price much likely the same
      mostly within 20% difference from one country to another country
      For example
      Toyota Corolla 1.6 Standard
      US = USD15000
      Singapore = SGD90500 = USD73486
      Thailand = THB751000 = USD26000
      Malaysia = MYR106000 = USD35616

Car price is based on material cost eg: steel, resin, glass etc
      All this material cost follow world market price
      We cannot aspect to get really cheap steel in US
      For example Hot Rolled Coil = USD663/tonne
      All manufacture & all country get almost same price
      Government cannot control material price
      What government can control is salary
      If JKR’s engineer salary MYR15000
      For sure public company’s engineer easily get MYR20000/month
      (put aside all inflation etc)
      It is an easy job to get a Persona
      Save a bit, can get Corolla in a year

So, don’t complain our car price
      Complaint about our salary

Cheers…

• MCdog on Apr 27, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Malaysia has low salary because our government/businessman don’t bother to invest much in R&D and produce mid to high end goods locally. How to be rich if most of the mid to high end technology goods need to be imported?
        and look at the the goods we are able to produce and export…
        Without enough technology we will always stay poor.
        Don’t get me started on brain drain issue.

• Rockmebaby on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:43 pm

Jack Lim drive a massive imported MPV to work. His Persona is for his Indon maid for market run, I assumed….lol

• I personally feel that Persona is quite a nice looking car especially the exterior. But quite disappointed with the interior. My biggest complaint will be the rear seat which is too low and straight up, very uncomfortable for long distance. I feel the Saga rear seat is better.

I have got some expats colleagues that used to be driving the rented Persona but they really don’t like it, they willing to pay more for a dated Sentra.

• I personally prefer low seat of persona but not the straight cut. A bit more slanted will be better.

• PROTON can gaining more market if they design FLAT FLOOR similar to Vious and Civic. Proton can put slogan Real Car for 5 passanger not likes others!. If FLAT FLOOR for sure I the first customer

• quattro on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:20 pm

what is so special bout persona this time????price discount??

• never heard of them.

• alfie60 on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:29 pm

This campaign reminds me of the 90’s when Bank Bumi wanted to change their corporate image by changing their colours and logo but it didnt fool anyone cause their service was still shitty.

If better than before proton should use technical datas and figures comparing against the earlier model. By trying to hoodwinks us thru songs and music than this new model is better dont make sense. Facts are facts.Proton might as well tell the government to put drugs in our drink tap water so we all walk around like zombies and do every thing they tell us to do.

Its like trying to tell someone that the dish is tasty because the photo of it looks good.
    Dont make sense! The CEO of Proton must be desperate to use psychology to sell his cars.27 years of nightmare of driving its shitty cars is still leaves a mental scar in our head.

The only way for Proton to improve it quality is for Tun Mahathir to impose a rule the other car manufacturers must lower the quality of their cars because it making Proton look bad.;-)

Guess the aspiration of the CEO of Proton is create a strong demand for its shitty and crappy product, he should use Trabant(east german car) marketing plan. The Trabant then has a waiting list of 15 years at least if you want to buy a new car.

• guest on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:08 am

Fyi, some of the other makes available locally had lower quality in their cars already. Go figure out.

• MCdog on Apr 27, 2011 at 3:20 pm

If you telling everyone you are good, most of the time you will trying to be good.

• exentric on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:30 pm

I wonder who comes up with Proton’s slogan. They’re a bit… funny. Not in a good way.

• Submit on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:34 pm

So when Proton going to launch it for RM27,999? Only then i will interested to own 1.

• Dem Potong! my power window still no recall :(

• LatukBandar on Apr 26, 2011 at 11:12 pm

A good product doesn’t need any marketing, the product speaks for itself. Like Google, Facebook, Lamborghini, Porsche etc.

Giving away free cars to celebrities is probably not gonna work, might as well save the money and invest in something else or donate to the poor or children’s home or SPCA.

The only way forward is to stop producing low quality products.

• mmmmmmm on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:53 am

dont talk about things u ignorant about…….all product need marketing…..and no product speaks for it self……and yes unfortunately low quality product with good marketing can sell millions….and yes good quality product can fail with poor marketing…why do u think big small corporations give free stuff to celebrity sponsoring everything, donating, sponsoring ………please don’t get any grandiose idea that u know better than the rest of the world is stupid……….

• google n facebook free oso what.

• I don’t own any of Proton cars. I just wonder, teruk sangat ke kualiti most of Proton cars?

How about Inspira’s? Still that bad? Since it’s a rebadge car.

• nolan on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:42 pm

then you pakai kereta apa?
      dun tell me you have Honda as a first car…….hahahaha

• unfortunately yes, i own a Honda. it’s sad right because what you said is true.

• Desmosedici on Apr 26, 2011 at 11:51 pm

i love Proton so much..pls come out with new design + extra interior features + decrease the current price >.<

• persona overdue for replacement already la, good handling and ride, but poor engines, build quality and too expensive..read somewhere where most m’sians household are in debt and pay too much money for their cars recently…you can get the best stars or whatever or spend billions of f1 or what not but at the end of the day its your product that counts..in another words, you can pour as much perfume as possible on a piece of sh*** to make it look good but at the end of the day when the smokes of niceties settle you still end up with a piece of s**t.

• Myvi much more better.

• jimbet on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:06 am

Sad. So sad. They are indeed struggling.

So how inspira sales do any good to Proton as a whole?

• SeriuosSAM on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:22 am

struggling you said? no lah they need to make as much sell as possible just make sure they can pay back their recently multi million EURO loan

they should make bung mokhtar as their next paid testimonial PROTON user

lol

• mmmmmmm on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:45 pm

wahhh base on ur perception i think a lot of car company is struggling bcos so many promotion advertising……………… please la get out of the tumpurung and read a bit about marketing strategy………for example inspira projected 300 to 400/month now latest figure 1000/month….that;s marketing power

• Persona is definitely better than Saga

• Xefron on Apr 27, 2011 at 7:58 am

i own both Persona SE and NHC.Persona SE much more enjoyable to drive.But things can be improve like more efficient engine,new styling for interior.AND no problem at all even power windows.

• clemenza on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:06 am

proton nampak macam desperate bile buat mcm ni..sepatutnya duit tu bole digunakan utk RND enjin dn design kete baru

• autojohndoe on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:20 am

duit tu patut buat tu buat ni…

have you ever heard “BUDGET”?

there is budget for marketing, budget for RnD, budget for operation, budget for salary…

• morning peps…
    i own a persona E. its been a year now..so far no problem..obviously this is not the first car i ever drive…and i must say the ride and handling are pretty solid. The engine pickup always there when ever needed for over taking or climbing. It is quite impressive :). There is no major problems except for tiny sound of loosing screw/bracket in the dashboard which is no biggy for me..Maybe proton need to pay extra attention on the detail of mounting/fastening for interior(QC). Keep up the good work and make us proud…:)

• palon on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:54 am

strong ringgit shall be cheaper car….2010 – 2011 car should be lower 10% from last year price. trick is know reduce interest rate.

• blue ocean on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:29 am

heard a lot of good feedback from persona owners.. good job Proton. but for me, i want the PROTON TUAH concept!! so nice!! can’t wait!!

• ANTI-KRONI COMPANY on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:43 am

PERSONA 1ST DAY QUALITY? ANY IDEAS?

http://www.kosmo.com.my/kosmo/content.asp?y=2011&dt=0427&pub=Kosmo&sec=Negara&pg=ne_10.htm

• autojohndoe on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:04 pm

When first read it, i expect the car suddenly died on the road. but turn out that lighting issues…

this lady supposed to go to proton service center and make claim for rectification…

I think what tribunal pengguna will do is, ask Proton to rectify the issue…

• autojohndoe on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:06 pm

When first read it, i expect the car suddenly died on the road. but turn out that lighting issues only…

this lady supposed to go to proton service center and make claim for rectification…

I think what tribunal pengguna will do is, ask Proton to rectify the issue… same as what this lady should do…

• squall_shinoda on Apr 27, 2011 at 10:03 am

In terms of FC, Proton should retire the IAFM engine and redesign the CPS engine so that it can save fuel the way like a normal i-VTEC engine. It’s very simple actually and it should cost less to manufacture than a current CPS engine. For each cylinder, just put the switchable tappet on only one intake valve while the other one should use a permanent tappet. For the switchable tappet, the centre cam lobe which is usually for low lift should be replaced with zero-lift, while the outer lobe should have the same profile as the non-switchable cam lobe for the other intake valve.

The engine should start running as a 12-valve engine with the intake valves with switchable tappets being closed. Then the CPS mechanism should make the switchover to full 16-valve mode at about 2,300 – 2,500 rpm. To reduce pumping losses, the CPS mechanism should activate to full 16 valve mode when the throttle is fully floored even at low rpm, and the CPS mechanism should change to 12-valve mode during light throttle even at high speeds. When the throttle is fully released, the ECU should activate the fuel cut-off so that only a very minimum amount of fuel is consumed during deceleration.

Doing this should not be a difficult task, as Proton is now using 32-bit ECU and drive-by-wire throttle. The only thing is whether they want to do it or not. If Proton is really commited to provide engines that saves fuel, then they should start making this improved CPS now and retire the aged IAFM.

• Izhar on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:54 am

good idea…

• autojohndoe on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:00 pm

By this idea, i suggest you make a Master Degree…

If it is proven, you can sell the study to Proton and make money out of it…

better then other people realizing it, then you claim it is your idea…

• if DSZ reading this blog, in my opinion he should call up his engineer to check if this idea workable and economic. if not, then they should response on why this idea is not workable or why they cant further improve cps to generate more power at lower rpm and save more fuel, and what is proton next plan to get power train that save fuel.

other wise, street people will simply have the perception that it is actually easy to get cps to save fuel ( as squall_shinoda claimed, not proven ) and it is proton who do not want to do it.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:52 pm

That’s why we should urge Proton to try this idea, because this is actually not a new idea anyway. Honda had played with this idea for more than a decade ago by releasing the VTEC-E engines, followed by i-VTEC. So, in a nutshell, it’s just the same idea but different actuation methods.

• IAFM Campro engine supposedly to solve the ‘torque’ problem in which the old Campro is having. Turns out it created a new problem. The module itself is usually found faulty. Producing ‘tek-tek-tek’ sound. Turns out one of the ‘lever’ plastic arm within the IAFM module tends to break easily. The manufacturer told the rest of its Protong Service center to rather replacing the whole unit, they instead recommend to do a ‘surgical’ open up of the IAFM module, and cut short one of the plastic lever arm to reduce the ‘tek tek tek’ sound. Talk about Protong engineering at its greatest, sheesh, this is really embarrassing.

As for fuel consumption, comparing my parent’s old Campro Gen2, with my Persona IAFM Campro and my Gen2 CPS, my final verdict; there are NO obvious improvement in fuel consumption between these engines. All more or less the same. The fuel consumption for auto transmission is the worse (manual transmission slightly better in fuel consumption but depend on how you play with the clutch, keep on changing gears the fuel consumptions gonna be higher too). Manual transmission has another problem which I have repetitively complained to Protong but up until today no real solution.

These are just the tip of the iceberg, there are OTHER problems too.

Upgrade the CPS engine??? Nah, before that, what we want is Protong to improve the QC/QA of all of your parts and products. Then again, what to improve? It has been 25 freaking years. Its either Protong ‘gulung tikar’ or start firing some people. You’d better start to terminate those low quality parts suppliers. IF NOT, in the next general election (hopefully with a new government), Malaysians will exterminate the entire Protong once and for all. It’s either improve or die trying!

• autojohndoe on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:13 pm

hey brader…

i thought you solve all the above item with your grandis…

• what on earth possed you to own both a persona and gen2?

• Jerry on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:30 am

I do like to try out a Persona.

• Timothy on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:09 pm

Pesona, nothing to shout about.

• foxtrot on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:01 pm

Value for Money Car of the Year 2011 by Frost & Sullivan

• blacjkx on Apr 27, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Develop ur vendor. No improvement for years? Terminate.
    All proton HOD dont big head. Talk all good.
    U must always keep in mind that ur final product that reach customer is ur car, not ur talk.

• cheating. I’m owner 1st model persona AIFM m-line(M). Lot of problems. Used three years already. Tired to list what the problems are. next model : Proton Cheat

• I feel you man, I feel you (I am owner of Persona and Gen2 Cps) and in my case its the Double the Cheats!

• HirumaKecil on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:46 pm

Before this u have a gen2… Then u feel cheated.. and what is ur response to that? What u have done is u sold ur old gen2, then u buy a Persona and a Gen2 CPS!!! Whoaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I dunno what to say about u…. U feel cheated with one proton, then u buy 2 proton!!!

What the hell are thinking man?????

• autojohndoe on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:11 pm

haha… bro hiruma…

as we know… he likes to sell stories… where his power window sadness no longer valid…

• autojohndoe on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:10 pm

haha… suddenly his gen2 become gen2 cps…

hahahaha

• nolan on Apr 27, 2011 at 3:07 pm

nice car ideal for Gov servant……..10 years loan repayment and can be repaired under a tree….

• Harrish on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:15 am

One of them using BMW Coupe…. =_=”

• assam pedas on Apr 28, 2011 at 4:29 am

The person who owns the 7777 does not deserve a free
    car cos the wilayah plate would have fetched good money
    That tender number itself would have cost easily 2K
    so why is P1 supporting the already rich owner !

• kl_sadguy on Apr 28, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Last time I use to drive Proton Saga,Wira,Satria and Waja before.

4 of my last Proton problem as below

Saga – Power window & noisy on the dashboard other seems ok ( Beli 2nd hand (5y) = 3yrs
    Wira – Power window,brek light masuk air,total body kit always kena wash,suspension always condemn – drive 4 yrs
    Satria – Uk Specs – Still power window,also total body kit always kena basuh if not drive time feel like rabiit jumping or coughing and spare tyre water go in till like mini aquirium others seems ok for me coz export mondel,GOOD QC – drive 7 yrs
    Waja – Power window again,total body kit & the worse things is Fuel Pump had change 3x and door handle esily break – drive for 7 years too..

Actually Satria and Waja handling and suspension feel good for me and power not that bad maybe using Mitsubishi engine qua.Now driving Vios for few months and still rindu on my Waja but how to say,3 years Proton start to break here and there on the spare parts then think think better change to Jap car.

The things I change in Waja in this latest 2 years
    – Air cond pump ( 60K always service) also condemn
    – Fuel Pump – no need say jor
    – Door handle – lagi no need to say
    – Total body kit – on and off need to wash ( i always drive h’way & no dirty road) at lasts kena change (^%$^$%@$%%^&)

I never complain on Waja suspension coz I feel better than vios but only the accesorries..

P1 need to buckle up alot on the small small accesorries ler…

• spongebob on Apr 28, 2011 at 7:41 pm

I own a blm year 2009, a few months later already have problem with the alarm system when i open d rear door, the door will lock on its own and the room lamp won’t be on this is due to the button is not function properly, i already ask for fix at the SC, they but it come back eventually and their reason given is what u wish for this kind of price… me speechless.. and not even reach 30 k km already the rear break pump jam and have to be replace together with the brake lining, that’s why each time I start running the car got sound coming from the rear tyre. Furthermore got rattling sound coming from the front also.. I’m not a proton basher.. I used proton

• spongebob on Apr 28, 2011 at 7:47 pm

I own a blm year 2009, a few months later already have problem with the alarm system when i open d rear door, the door will lock on its own and the room lamp won’t be on this is due to the button is not function properly, i already ask for fix at the SC, but it come back eventually and their reason given is what u wish for this kind of price… me speechless.. and not even reach 30 k km already the rear break pump jam and have to be replace together with the brake lining, that’s why each time I start running the car got sound coming from the rear tyre. Furthermore got rattling sound coming from the front .. I’m not a proton basher.. I used proton

• EB16.4 on May 01, 2011 at 3:45 am

sudah2 lah proton… aku dah meluat tgk lampu depan n belakang persona kat jalanraya… nak buat mcmana, dah keta ko paling murah. kualiti mcm palat (stendet lah tuh) keta pun dah sezen since 2004 gen2.

malu woi.

• LeBronJames on May 03, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Hi All,

I own a Proton and I am proud to say at least 80% of my parts are from Japan. Well maybe only my chasis is Proton, ;0 What to do, cheaper mah….

• hello and i would love to hear from everyone….
    i am in the confused state now… I am thinking of buying Persona Elegance or the new Myvi (both auto transmission). But i like Persona’s handling, the air-conditioner is much more cooler than the new Myvi which i tested with my cousin on the same day. But, i want to hear from those out there who are driving Persona Elegance. How is the fuel consumption? How is the comfortable for the back passengers? Is there any problem with the persona elegance? Please advice. Thank u.