Peugeot 508 to be launched in September 2011?

Is Peugeot launching the new Peugeot 508 in September this year? This classifieds ad looking for female models on local forum LYN seems to indicate so. The date of the launch specified is from the 2nd of September 2011 to the 4th of September 2011, in a prominent Klang Valley shopping mall.

The Peugeot 508 is built on the same platform as the Citroen C5, and in one go Peugeot used the 508 to replace both the 407 and the larger 607, while the 308-based 408 sedan continued the 40x lineage.

I don’t expect the 508 to be priced at the same level as the 407 currently (about RM128k to RM133k), since there’s the 408 (which will be CKD) to fill that segment. Perhaps a high spec Peugeot 508 with a 1.6 litre turbo BMW-PSA Prince engine could be priced something close to a Ford Mondeo.

Hat tip to Peugeot-owner reader Azlan for the pointer!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• one two three on May 22, 2011 at 8:01 pm

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/motoring/road-tests/peugeot-508-2198281.html

“It may not be ‘premium’, but this new GT matches anything from Audi, BMW or Mercedes”

“These new 508s are desirable cars which make a nonsense of the “premium” obsession. More than that, the GT in particular is as good as the much-praised Ford Mondeo in its driving dynamics and it stands comparison with a BMW or a Mercedes. Don’t believe me? Then try one.”

• Kevin on May 22, 2011 at 8:17 pm

if naza were to localise it,price shoud be less than 148k to make an impact

• Victor Hoh on May 22, 2011 at 8:42 pm

Hopefully it is not more than RM170K

• wow…rm600 per day for the model

• nolan on May 22, 2011 at 9:48 pm

NICE !!……interior matching the sexy exterior…..i waited for so long for PUG to show their talent….finally…

• Bro, Could the launch be the launch of the new facelifted Peugeot 308 Turbo ??
    cant wait

• Bro, could it be the launch of the new Facelifted 308 Turbo ?
    Cant wait, hehe

• azlan on May 22, 2011 at 11:52 pm

Meh, Peugeot Malaysia said they have no plans to bring in the FL 308

• The title of the model recruitment had stated itself its for the 508 la…..

• arch747 on May 22, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Rm600 p/day eh? Wow, i think i’m in d wrong industry :)

• harjeet on May 22, 2011 at 10:02 pm

peugeot CEO said in the tv interview on bernama that the price would be competitive…so it shud be 160-170k

• peugeot is a lazy manufacturer..selling cars here without making a proper conversion from LH drive to RH drive car..

• loveit on May 23, 2011 at 9:14 am

I somehow agreed… just look at those ‘localized’ 206 and 207

• najbest on May 22, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Maybe priced just slightly lowet than the current c5….the interior looked citroen like indeed

• hansem car. lausi distributor.

• Don’t agree with you…. Nasim is doing better than a lot of other car distributors…. They had a tough start but they are doing better now…

• problem with malaysian……a lot of bullshit comment which they heard from a friend of a friend of another freind bla bla…………..

• ezracopters on May 23, 2011 at 10:15 pm

yup i agreed.. people told me almost everything about anything that were bad about Pug.. once i drove it myself.. hmm not that bad actually..although still it is not my choice.. but don’t trust a rumor unless it came from the owner himself or better off try it yourself!!

• jalan54 on May 22, 2011 at 10:25 pm

This depends on how they want to market the car and their target audience. As what I know, the GT version of 508 is using manual transmission and peugeot doesn’t really has an automatic gearbox to support high horse power and torque,

In Malaysia, only enthusiasts will like to own a manual transmission luxury car, therefore, if Nasim is planning to only selling this car to those enthusiasts, a GT version will be launched here, but I doubt so, it is not making any logical business sense.

I think most likely they’ll bring in those other version of 508 rather the GT. If they do, hopefully they’ll price it within RM140k to RM150k, with price like this, it will be a big hit to camry and accord, it will be a big hit for the coming vw passat as well. If they really do so, I believe in the future, we’ll see more 508 than camry and accord… To be honest, this is the scene that I wanted to see for a very long time… lol

• i would like to have that refreshing scene too…but too bad this is malaysia, where people think about selling cars 1st before buying.

• 4G63T DSM on May 23, 2011 at 9:55 am

I think thier auto gearboxes are fine, since they have the new aisin srced 6speeder which handles the turbo prince just ok. Afterall, this is malaysia anyway so engine capacities will likely be limited to the turbo prince which is finding its way into almost all pugs of late. Besides the 155 THP is the only petrol engine for th C5.

Perhaps not to germans standards just yet but a good enough answer to what the japanese can offer in the 2.0 to 2.4l “executive” segment

• used non national car owner on May 23, 2011 at 12:34 pm

Price should target below 150k.

Then the sales would be good due to the tax benefit.

I would be one of the buyer for sure.

• or the sales will be bad??
        Mainly due to it’s 1.6. Malaysian mind will still fit a 2.0 engine into premium price range.
        and why not buy a nissan Teana or Camry or Accrod instead of this?

• 508 looks nice and luxurious enough for the Camry Accord Teana contenders …. pricing would be a key factor. NAZA should price it right …… the return on the Peugeot to its glorious days back when it was under MBf days …

408 to be CKDed ? When and how does it look like ? pricing ?

• shoon1983 on May 22, 2011 at 11:55 pm

if you want to know 408, read here
      http://www.topspeed.com/cars/peugeot/2010-peugeot-408-ar84131.html

thought 408 was mentioned gonna be launched this month. what happen to it? rcz that got launched instead.

• La Cremeria on May 23, 2011 at 12:03 am

Kinda great shape but performance still unknown. But price must be below than RM130K

• 508? Dont think so

• sick&tired on May 23, 2011 at 9:56 am

why should a car which is better built, better looking and better equipped be sold cheaper then the camry & accord!!?? go drive your myvi boy!

• Because they can. If there is a will, there is always a way.

• sick&tired on May 24, 2011 at 3:41 pm

naaaaah! toyota and honda should reduce their price, not peugeot. i think RM150k is reasonable for a car of this stature.

• La Cremeria on May 23, 2011 at 12:03 am

Kinda great shape but performance still unknown. But price must below than RM130K

• can it be the 3008 Hybrid4 as well?

http://paultan.org/2011/04/04/peugeot-3008-hybrid4-may-come-to-malaysia-this-year-408-sedan-set-for-market-launch-in-april-2012/

• Jolly_idiot on May 23, 2011 at 8:18 am

Such a big car comes with1.6 only? Quite dissapointing even its a turbo. Should be at least 1.8 or 2.0 with turbo. At least sounds more premium and closer to its rival H or T which offering 2.0 and 2.4 NA only.

• Peugeot cannot come close to AUDI & VW , without DSG gearbox they are one step lower.

Once you tried the DSG , nothing beats this as it is more faster than a manual gearbox and VW passat will be coming out with 7 gear DSG with 250hp and 300nm torque.

Comparing the reliability VW is much more reliable and 2nd value is still better.

Peugeot is still one class below the germans just like the japs.

• AIYA ANOTHER HYPE!!!!! German better than the rest of the world……merc bmw may be but VW ??? in US J.D. Power Ratng gives the Volkswagen brand a dismal 2 out of 5 for overall dependability and correspondingly low ratings in “body and interior dependability” and “feature and accessory dependability”. what? second hand value and reliability good ?? how many VW in Malaysia now? they just started aggresive marketing only not many old and second hand care to make a proper claim about reliability and secondhand value…

• Peugeot 508 can only sell well if they price it at Sonata YF range, after all that where their market value by Malaysian consumer preception.

• Unforgiven on May 23, 2011 at 9:52 am

If the price is same as Ford Mondeo then the sales is also the same as Ford Mondeo…

• Unforgiven on May 23, 2011 at 11:54 am

RM600 per day is a good money…

• lalaz on May 23, 2011 at 6:00 pm

well, u can make RM300 in 30 mins, if you’re in the right industry

• BennyG on May 23, 2011 at 1:16 pm

C5 selling RM200k. Peugeot salesman estimated at RM180k. Let’s see if he’s right.

• 206+/207 sedan on May 23, 2011 at 3:09 pm

508 is better than 408, as 408 does not make any European appearance.

• Espresso! Quick! on May 25, 2011 at 12:53 pm

i wouldn’t say better or not than the 508. it is just designed for a different customer segment. the 508 is to compete in d-segment while the 408 is in c-segment with the 308.

• mustafa on May 23, 2011 at 4:09 pm

If they really wants to sell the 508 the price have to be competitive ie in the range of the 2.0 Camry/Accord/Teana/Sonata.
    The ‘408’ should be priced as close as possible to the 308 it is based from.

• anti-first on May 23, 2011 at 4:47 pm

i feel sorry for some VW salesmen wasting time here dissing Peugeot.

Little did they know that their futile efforts are effectively translated into low sales volumes and ultimately may cost their job, hahahahaha!

go back to worklah! you wanna be fired by your principal, izzit? :)

• redboy on May 23, 2011 at 4:58 pm

I guess now the AP king is slowly bringing the car with higher price. Anyhow, they have no intention to make a market competitive, and SERVICE the customer. Its too much hassle for them as compare to doing the housing development now…bigger money.

• Always admire the nice looking 407.

• ilovepeugeot on May 23, 2011 at 10:50 pm

one day, i mean one day, i will buy a peugeot…

• mizzuddin on Jun 02, 2011 at 11:25 am

i nearly achieved that target with the 207 sedan for my first car…

but can only manage to own a persona elegance… i’m looking forward to own pug next three years!!!

• Lim Kopi on May 24, 2011 at 12:26 am

Wow … Didn’t know they hiring GROs nowadays to promote cars :)

• In Malaysia, 408 will have a strong sale. Reasons: By the time 408 is launched, Malaysians would have known about Peugeot through media as well as enough customers would have used Peugeot cars. Second, 408 is a good car. Third, the sale and service network would expand and become more efficient by the time. Fourth, its a suitable replacement for all the overpriced models coming from Toyota and Honda.

• Was hoping for the 308FL to be launch very soon. I am looking to buy a 308 now but since a facelift is just launched might as well just wait for it. Anyone has an idea when this will reach malaysia?
    asked the salesman, he said surely next year and will be more expensive. I am thinking he is just pulling my leg to clear his current 308 stock before the facelift models arrive fr France.

• 407PG on May 29, 2011 at 6:55 pm

Hi ,
    Peugeot name are excellent .
    BUT Nassim service center with mechanic and management are lousy.
    always TAICI NOT TO REPAIR, REPLACE PART when problem appear to car which still in warranty period.
    ? ,are they with bad and low experience to trouble shoot the problem@ LAZY is the answer.
    Kena di 3S auto city,prai .
    TOP management in KL action laaaa

• Bryan Toong on Jun 15, 2011 at 6:15 pm

RM 135k to beat off the competition. Sonata 2.0 is a factor in shape and engine capacity. At 1.6 litres, it must be priced lower than the latter since it has been quite successful in terms of reliability and design and most important thing the improved fuel consumption compared to the models of year 2000-2005. Peugeot 408 shud be around the price of 308.