Ferrari technical chief leaves after poor start to season

Ferrari technical chief leaves after poor start to seasonFerrari’s poor start to the 2011 season – where they have scored only one podium finish so far, and are 110 points off the pace in just five races – has claimed its first casualty. The Maranello team has announced that technical director Aldo Costa has left the position.

The 50-year old Italian, who was appointed technical director at the end of 2007, will “take on new responsibilities within the company” the Scuderia said.

It’s more than just one person though, it’s a reshuffle. Former McLaren chief engineer Pat Fry is now the director of the chassis side while production will be handed to Corrado Lanzone. Luca Marmorini stays on as the man in charge of engine and electronics. The trio will report directly to team principal Stefano Domenicali.

The team in red will need to quickly find some pace to be in contention. Red Bull has been dominant from the start, with McLaren the only other team looking capable to match them.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• vince on May 24, 2011 at 11:24 pm

i think is a god idea if ferrari want to bonce back

• mr... on May 25, 2011 at 2:18 am

how about taking me to me position?? hihihi… :)))
    *that is my childhood dream to be in an F1 team.

• mr... on May 25, 2011 at 2:20 am

how about taking me to the positon?? hihihi… :))
    *thats my childhood dream to be in an F1 team.

• Alan Wong on May 25, 2011 at 6:57 am

Ferrari is just a name. What makes a team great is the people in it.
    You bosses out there better start appreciating good staff!! They are the best assets any company can have!

• SeriuosSAM on May 25, 2011 at 8:59 am

great team always need great people not just average dude without higher ambition to excel

that is ferrari.

• tokmoh on May 25, 2011 at 12:29 pm

The dream team is long gone: Jean Todt-Rory Byrne-Ross Brawn-Michael Schumacher

Today’s dream team is in Red Bull: Christian Horner-Adrian Newey-Sebastian Vettel

• steventan on May 25, 2011 at 9:39 am

Well somebody has to take the rap
    for their poor form. Big money is involved
    and Ferrari’s reputation is at stake.
    Doubt if they can come out with a more
    competitive package in such a short time span
    but desperate times requires desperate measures.
    Good luck guys but in the mean time looks like RBR
    may have just wrapped up the 2011 season if Vettel and Webber
    continue their winning streak !!

• bobdbilder on May 25, 2011 at 9:45 am

Hey O’Donnell, guess who’s your next door neighbour in Lithuania?! You should be in good company. You can sit at your local and talk about good ol’ days…

• Swift on May 25, 2011 at 11:34 am

Ferrari should fire team principal Stefano Domenicali instead.

• Bujang Lapuk on May 25, 2011 at 4:17 pm

And I take it there’s absolutely no way for Williams/Team Lotus/and other team with aspirations to employ him for the 2012 season?

• NoBrainer on May 25, 2011 at 5:03 pm

This is an interesting development. In the western world, if someone is not performing. That person has to leave. Not like in Bolehland, someone who can perform has to leave while non-performers get to stay and promoted.

• mat koboi on May 25, 2011 at 7:37 pm

ferrari must change their 2011 car….too slow…