Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG Roadster – more pix and info

More photos of the Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG Roadster have come about, as well as further details on features and kit. The vehicle, which rolls in at 1,660 kg (40 kg more than the Coupé), is of course due to make its official debut in Frankfurt in September before beginning to enter European markets before the year is out.

The car wears the same 6.3 litre V8 engine as the Coupe, and with the AMG Speedshift DCT 7-speed sports transmission in attendance, offers comparable performance – the 571 hp and 650 Nm on call offers a 0-100 kph sprint time of 3.8 seconds and an electronically-limited 315 kph top speed.

The fabric soft top, which can be opened and closed in 11 seconds while on the move at up to 50 kph, will come in three colour choices – black, red and beige, to suit the nine exterior and eight interior colours available for the vehicle. Boot capacity is 173 litres, just three litres less than the Coupe version, and this is the same with the roof open or closed.

As for interior trim, owners will be able to pick from the finest leather, matt-finished solid metal or optional, real carbon-fibre trim. Standard issue on the SLS AMG Roadster include black designo leather, AMG sports seats with heating, a slot-in glass draught-stop, Comand APS with DVD player, anti-theft alarm system with tow-away protection and interior monitoring, Thermotronic luxury automatic climate control and Keyless-Go start.

Single-tone or two-tone designo leather in espresso brown is available as a new interior colour – this dark shade of brown matches an optional new metallic paint finish called AMG Sepang brown. Leather-lined roll-over bars with integrated mesh in a “Silver Shadow” look are available with the optional designo Exclusive leather, and ambient lighting is integrated into the optionally available, electrically folding exterior mirrors.

Other available options include the Airscarf system, integrated into the backrests of the AMG sports seats, and a Bang & Olufsen BeoSound AMG surround sound system, as well as an Android-based AMG Performance Media system, replete with vehicle telemetric data displays and high-speed mobile internet access.

In addition to the standard-fit AMG seven-spoke light-alloy wheels, 5-twin-spoke wheels and weight-optimised 10-spoke forged wheels – painted in matt black with a high-sheen rim flange – are on the options list, and the SLS AMG Roadster wears 265/35 19-inch front and 295/30 rear 20-inch rear tyres, with a tyre pressure monitoring system fitted as standard. Large gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2266]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• SEX on Wheels!!!! WOW!!

• gunigugu on May 30, 2011 at 5:01 pm

I second that!!..although for some unknown reason I favor the gullwing more

• llgriver on May 30, 2011 at 4:20 pm

I’d prefer the iconic gullwing door for the iconic SLS

• Looks nice but i prefer Gullwing Doors :D

• niuhje on May 30, 2011 at 4:55 pm

what an insult to the majority of the rakyat!! when ppl are tightening their belts barely making ends meet, while some can’t even afford to do that, here we have a piece of obscene “luxury” that only a handful of ppl can afford!! Down with the corrupt govt!! shameless!!!

• wanfumi on May 30, 2011 at 5:26 pm

What the hell are u talking?

• Suren69 on May 30, 2011 at 6:14 pm

LOL

• Unforgiven on May 31, 2011 at 9:39 am

There’s also a free Rolls Royce up for grab, how do you think he’s able to afford that? By ‘0’ corruption?

• khaix19a on May 30, 2011 at 6:11 pm

you way off topic dude, there article doesn’t involve any G, if u have money just buy it, if not just shut up.

• Mohamad on May 30, 2011 at 9:27 pm

good for you bro. jealousy and anger wont get you anywhere. stay the loser you are and whine when you see me rolling in one of these with super hot chick in the passenger seat, top down(i mean the car’s soft top).

• SLS Lover on May 31, 2011 at 12:26 am

You really have a problem don’t you?

• blaze on May 31, 2011 at 1:09 am

Err, the Malaysian Insider commentary box is on a different site mate.

• sukasuki on May 31, 2011 at 8:52 am

his girlfren leaving him for rich man. dats why he become so emo with d govt. becoz he only can afford 3rd hand 1st gen saga.

• Bujang Lapuk on May 31, 2011 at 11:31 am

Where does the Government come into this, i wonder?

• Timothy Dalton on May 31, 2011 at 1:55 pm

What’s going on? We’re just talking about cars we can’t afford. We’re not stealing Rakyat Monies to buy these cars anyway. We’re not even related to Top Leadership in any manner either. Is that even wrong?

• i_swear on May 30, 2011 at 6:25 pm

Nice car but the front part so long and make it look like bat mobile. Really like the design

• i think i just had my orgasm.

• What’s AMG Sepang Brown by the way??? Nothing to do with bolehland i guess???

• The SLS is a beautiful machine. Pity the roadster version has lost the gullwing doors. I would have thought they would have found a way to keep the wings; especially since the SLR roadster had them.

• SEPANG brown? racist lool. Nuremberg White? :P

• Muddy on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:25 am

S2000 proportions from side view!!!

• christabelle yeo on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:47 pm

Paul! You have your own fan club? hahaha
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MvqaTB1i52E