Perodua Myvi D54T previewed on Buletin Utama TV3

Buletin Utama’s Auto segment once again brings us a sneak preview of an upcoming local badged model before its launch. The last model previewed was the Proton Inspira, and this time we get to preview the 2011 Perodua Myvi D54T ahead of its launch this month.

We’ll feature some of the “key” images that was shown on TV after the jump. If you want to view the full episode yourself, you can watch it on Alt Media’s online video portal tonton.

Key design features over the current Myvi

Projector lense headlamps

Interior features dash-mounted shifter for automatic

The manual transmission model has a storage area where the dash shifter should be

Stacked level instrumentation cluster with multi-info display inspired by current generation Toyota Camry

Two different head units seen – this seems to be the baseline

And this is a hi-end touch screen with Bluetooth telephony

The touch screen even looks like it has a GPS system

There was a short crash test video shown – the watermark text says Applus IDIADA, which is a automotive testing facility in Spain.

Interior photo shows a two tone predominantly light grey interior

Boot space

Anything else you can spot? Share it with us in the comments. If you want to view the full episode, you can watch it on Alt Media’s online video portal tonton.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2275]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• haha..that’s not sneak preview..they’ve shown everything about the car..the interior, the exterior..how desperate is that?..just launch it already..huh!

• are u sure they are desperate?

• The new steering design is way better than current one….

Myvi actually not bad, but because of it is too common and you can see on the road 6 out
        of 10 is a MY-VI make it such a boring car.

I CANT imagine a male/guy driving a MYVI which is meant for female/AUNTY/UNCLE car !!!

P/S: The dashboard design and speedometer is a notch up from the proton one. Proton should learn from it

• Unforgiven on Jun 06, 2011 at 10:04 am

The major problem is the badge, because it’s still not carrying the original badge.
          We should fight piracy and buy original.

I want the original Toyota/Daihatsu badge on this car.
          I would also want to buy this car with the original Toyota/Daihatsu price without the AP/protectionism, etc.

I’m sure the original Toyota/Daihatsu is at least RM20k cheaper than this P2 Myvi.
          Do you think the same?

• Jonathan Lee on Jun 06, 2011 at 12:21 pm

How on Earth did you manage to get that idea?

You really think you can get a new Japanese hatchback with all the modern amenities cars come with these days for RM25k?

Even if the government were to scale down the import tax on cars to reasonable levels, a new Daihatsu Passo would still come in at the very least at the same price you can get a top-spec Myvi.

• Unforgiven on Jun 06, 2011 at 1:16 pm

If it’s not 20k cheaper than it’ll probably be at least 10k cheaper.
            If we buy a 3-series BMW, approx RM60/70k is going into the pocket of someone not doing anything, if you have an AP on hand than you’ll know.

If one day you get a chance to import Daihatsu Passo, CBU from Japan, then you’ll know the cost price. You’ll be laughing at the base price you see on the AP paper.

• TFazuin on Jun 06, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Not true la… You can get a 3 Series or a Lexus IS250 at BND60K, that’s about RM138. So yes a full specced Myvi would cost about RM35K.

• ong chin aun on Jun 06, 2011 at 10:13 am

Wah, car only for auntie ??, uncle can`t drive. so car got sex defination separation eh?

• Unforgiven on Jun 06, 2011 at 1:17 pm

The steering is too empty without the buttons…

• Second! on Jun 04, 2011 at 10:29 pm

very nice japanese style interior dashboard there!! remind me of honda jazz styling!! sure a top seller!! in comparison the saga interior is very very dull…

• i dont know why some of commenter here very hate perodua myvi…i dont think myvi ever kacau u all..comment2 from paultan commenter almost all cannot be use for tip to buy car either national car or foreign made car..when i talk bout proton some said im proton cyber trooper la, narrow minded la..etc(i dont know whether me or them r narrow minded)….i dont know what other people will call me if im commenting bout perodua…before till now im not myvi fan coz car is fat, no butt and girlie car(not hate just not my taste)…..other than that no other reason to hate myvi

• Relax … nothing strange about that.

As commented before, Malaysian is the only nation on earth who love to hate their own products or services. They hate it even more if that particular product or services is very successful. In the auto industry, they forever want to be controlled by European, then Japanese and now strongly welcoming the Koreans.

For local product (own R&D or JV), no matter how good it is, will never satisfy them. And the money keep flowing outward,

• nationalist on Jun 06, 2011 at 10:46 am

on a practical level, my experiences with p2 service centres have been awful (don’t know what to service, asked to go to outside workshop, no spare parts, long waiting times, rude and indifferent staff) . There seems to be nothing going for p2: design=copycat, manufacturing=cabut ke indonesia after benefiting from NAP / zero exports, product quality=low (relative to japanese standards), after sales service=fail. nothing going except to ride on the coattails of p1; happy to be just a bit better than the latter where it suits them to cannibalize sales.

• Wisdom on Jun 06, 2011 at 10:52 am

If u notice, here the commentor prefer proton more than perodua. That was due to the perodua stakeholder is still Toyota which means every unit perodua on the road will results ringgit cashflow gone to japan. Ringgit depreciate.

• Hafiz on Jun 06, 2011 at 10:54 am

Can’t agree more

Be realistic guys

• Unforgiven on Jun 06, 2011 at 12:04 pm

I heard that the Korean would prefer to sell their car as x-brand than Hyundai in M’sia. That would be probably the Inokom Sonata, or x-brand Sonata.

In their mind is profit and in order to sell cars in big volume in M’sia, they need to badge in in x-brand just to bring the price down.

They don’t mind to even badge it as Naza, so what? Because who’s paying for the car? Who’s brand will be suffering if it’s with lower quality?

Daihatsu Sirion received Euro NCAP, Mitsu Lancer received Euro NCAP, so the quality may not be the same and they won’t care about it because this is M’sia.
          The Korean and Japanese are brand conscious people, so they’ll make sure their brand is with good quality.

Who’s the loser at the end of the day? Inspira or Lancer? Toyota or Myvi? Kia or Naza? Inokom or Hyundai?

• TFazuin on Jun 06, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Yes I couldn’t agree with you more, Asians has an inferiority complex. Why else would you pay an expatriate professional more than the highest paid Asian in the middle east holding a bigger portfolio. Nak salahkan siapa? Its ourselves jugak for believing all the hype and grand show. We can argue till the cows come home… but this is one main reason why we have a pretty low wage…

• fuel cell phone on Jun 05, 2011 at 8:23 am

any changes on the engine / different model ?

• ForteLover2 on Jun 05, 2011 at 11:14 am

they replaced the aircond vent with the DVD head unit?OMG…
      but they miss out something important that can make the car super high tech like the kia forte…the push start button….if they include the push start button the car sure very reliable and FC sure best and quality sure best in class….handling will be the best too!design will be the top and proton can tapao….T&H,Beemer and Merz and Audi or aston martin or bentley all can tapao….

• Wisdom on Jun 06, 2011 at 10:55 am

Hmmm…. push start button can make a car more reliable, better fc, and can improve the built quality? Thats new.

• just go Ah Beng shop install ur useless push start button, RM500…. got money got button….

• nice wan … just go to half cut and buy cant get i even cheaper!

• raidenovich on Jun 06, 2011 at 8:35 am

whats wrong with u?

• Angra on Jun 07, 2011 at 9:27 am

That guy is simply sarcastic la. Can’t u all read between the lines? Now I understand why some people say many Malaysians are not highly capable of understanding sarcasm.

• LatukBandar on Jun 04, 2011 at 5:28 pm

I like the GPS thing but am not so sure about having the GPS thing on certain models only. Now the bad guys have even more reason to break into the car just to steal the GPS and sell it to those who bought the baseline model.

• This is going to be a hot seller for sure… Looking very cool and funky!

• gunigugu on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:30 pm

If it’s priced appropriately then I think it should sell like hot cakes..it looks alright and the spec list seem to be good so far..throw in a couple of airbags and ABS and price it about 50k+ and it should be a winner..so lets hope they price it right!

• oleoresin on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:55 pm

Are u insane? This totally overprice coffin

• Kambing Gurun on Jun 04, 2011 at 9:18 pm

They should have designed it to look like a coffin.

• gunigugu on Jun 04, 2011 at 9:29 pm

Hmm..what world do you live in dude? the current top of the line model is already at that approximately 54k..but it seems to be selling really well..this model seems to have some additional kit over the current one..so what do you expect? I will be extremely surprised if the highest spec model is cheaper than that

• i will be happy to hear that “highest spec model is cheaper than that”…. then P2 show Building cars for Ppl 1st….

• Rosmah on Jun 04, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Her rear side looks more like me, fat & short.

• its kind a good second car… will be consider to trade in my wife viva to this new myvi.. good for send our kids to school and go for shopping…

• Tail light looks like the CRV tail light.

• Aaron on Jun 04, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Body copy Daihatsu Sirion/Passo
    Meter copy Toyota Camry

Still a piece of copy and paste product?
    or should say re-badge of Daihatsu?

• Rockmebaby on Jun 04, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Your forgot who owned Perodua. Not M’sia government or M’sian. Toyota & Daihatsu owned Perodua. Just like Tata owned Volvo.
      Don’t say dumb thing next time. We have enough idiot here already.

• henryee on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:29 am

It’s called “INSPIRED” not copy, dumb ass!!!

• tommy on Jun 06, 2011 at 12:42 am

sure… at least they designed the logo! the rest… “inspired by toyota”.

• fadzly on Jun 06, 2011 at 9:39 am

erk, even the logo is still the same oval with only the different is the design of P and T..no wonder see many perodua passo with ‘T’ badge..highly swap-able..haha

• raidenovich on Jun 06, 2011 at 8:41 am

so what?proton have copy paste inspira.all perodua model is based on toyota/daihatsu model,what are u expecting?

• sick&tired on Jun 04, 2011 at 5:53 pm

no doubt it will sell very well in malaysia, but can it compete with cars like the 2012 Kia Rio?http://www.autoblog.com/2011/02/11/2012-kia-rio-looks-sharp-ahead-of-geneva-rollout/

Kia Rio is competing with myvi whereas Kia Picanto with Viva.

btw i hate to say this, but the back lights looks like the crv and the headlights like the new picanto.

• seriusSAM on Jun 04, 2011 at 5:58 pm

what meh

pengganti MYVI?

that’s mean that “thing” name might not be myvi meh?

• one two three on Jun 04, 2011 at 11:28 pm

it should be myvi, or at least the name starts with M… look at the photo with the projector lamp… the number plate has the word M on it

• TFazuin on Jun 05, 2011 at 8:35 am

It should be called Maybe… so can also claim little brother of Maybach for the common people.

• bongok on Jun 06, 2011 at 9:03 am

they will follow what jeremy called this coffin…the new name will be MaiVai

• is time to trade in my litter kancil now.

• cl_qwertyuiop on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:05 pm

This car packs quite a punch. And also the first local car with build in dash LCD screen if I’m not mistaken.

• rosdi on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Dash shifter? kah kah… mesti rasa macam bawak lori atau van… hahaha…

• jay79 on Jun 04, 2011 at 11:24 pm

what’s the point of having dash shifter when you can sit 3 in front for here jn Malaysia. stupid design,harder to sift gear only

• lagit hitam on Jun 05, 2011 at 10:21 am

Haiyooo…

The people that allowed to sit 3 in front instead of 2 is the one that should be blame for.

BTW, the dash shifter and column shifter is different one.

Lorry or Van got column shifter and nowaday small car or mpv got dash shifter, to accomodate more space infront for other purposes.

• vw_fan on Jun 05, 2011 at 10:58 am

seems like many people dont like the dash shifter design. i wonder how many have driven a myvi before?

i have a myvi in the house. because of the tall seating position i find that shift knob is a bit hard to reach especially for smaller size drivers. you would have to lean your left shoulder down everytime you shift.

the dash design makes a lot of sense for the new myvi as the seating position was never designed as a saloon car but one emulating more of a MPV in order to give a sense of spaciousness and larger size. the earlier myvi had the wrong ergonomic design by placing the shifter on the floor.

i never bought the myvi because of design, ride quality or comfort. i thought i was driving a toy when i first collected the car. but i needed a very practical and spacious car car for short city trips so the myvi was the best choice for its price range. so far i am happy with the purchase and the after sales which i think is much better than my more expensive vw. the main complaint i have with the current myvi would be the seats which are very uncomfortable. i wish that the new myvi would have better seats and you’ll have a sure winner for this segment.

• The APAM on Jun 06, 2011 at 3:17 pm

my previous job was at the factory where we make & assemble myvi seats. Its true when i own a myvi, such long distance traveling surely make ur whole body shaking due to the road condition & ofcourse the suspension system (body to weight ratio) is relatively small..might not due to the seats, as part of the automotive things i prefers the body weight and the suspension system.

• ride&handling on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:07 pm

answering the tv3 question – if this myvi still drives like a townbox and fails to isolate the bumps it used too..ppl might think twice..

• lan87 on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:09 pm

This is very2 nice… Interior wise – i like it a lot… With the touch screen panel and gps, and also the camry-like meters… Damn nice… And hv 1.5 engine some more… Even alza’s 1.5 is very responsive, this myvi sure will be better…
    I know there’s a lot of proton lovers who’s gonna bash perodua and this myvi, but for those ppl who cant afford expensive cars, this would be the better choice…

• OMG….Interior looks so nice and totally different from the old Myvi….and yet got ppl said Facelift..This new Myvi will sell well again…..Bye bye P1.

• this car wont be cheap also~ =.=”….

• Interior is much better than vios!

• kuikuikui on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:18 pm

i would rather say it is better compare to other national car brand…
    this means more malaysian driver will be exposed of using “high-tech” gadget in their car…
    not sure how long must we wait for other national car brand to put on these kind of gadget…

• The Dentist on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:19 pm

a nice city car. but i don’t know why, i just don’t like Perodua.

• simple on Jun 05, 2011 at 11:15 am

u r obviously a P2 basher…

• tommy on Jun 06, 2011 at 12:48 am

then u obviously p2 salesman.

• Arashikage on Jun 06, 2011 at 11:30 am

Obviously this is a free country where ppl can choose what they want… just b’cuz he don’t like p2…doesn’t make him a basher.. and just because he support p2 doesn’t make him a salesman either…

• mrakasy on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:25 pm

a duplicate of CRV. In some part. Like the viva, copy of stream in the rear. But with cheaper price, sure many Malaysian will buy this.

• Celicazz on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:33 am

I just cant remember which one came out first, the stream or viva?

who’s copying who?

• sedusax4 on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Yes, Launch it already… public are anticipating…
    My comment: 1) Storage area for manual gear where the Auto gear shifter is suppose to be, I don’t “think” anything can be stored there… a handphone can’t fit properly, wanna put pen also it will be sticking out, tissue box won’t fit in, house keys ??? the keys might slide out if the car is driving uphill, maybe put some sweets or chewing gum, basically its pretty useless more for collecting dust…2) I can sense that the rear headroom isn’t as roomy as the old myvi cos it seems like the rear roof is curved, But we need to see the real car to experince the rear headroom and see if its bigger or older than old myvi… 3) Rear seats headrest seems too short… 4) I can see that the car’s interior light has been moved to the front where the “map light” is usually placed, cos from the pictures I don’t see any middle interior light compare to the old myvi….

Sorry for all the critic, but overall I can see its a more well sorted out and “seems” more refined than the old Myvi, since you posted anything we can spot, well this are what I’ve spotted… :)

• Gavin on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Massive improvement in the interior

• hayden on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:40 pm

this car is a he or she! xD

• Malcolm Lim on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:44 pm

This is gonna sell like hot cakes again, the overall design for the interior looks a lot better than the japanese version, thumbs up to perodua for doing a good job with the interior. The exterior part remains mostly unchanged except the front and back. All in all, depends on the price, i believe this one is gonna be more pricey since it has dual airbags on all models according to the report but will they take out the other essentials such as EBD and ABS? we’ll see.

• William on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:55 pm

y don’t show the picture of after the crash test??

• Unforgiven on Jun 06, 2011 at 10:28 am

Even our P1 top model Inspira do not have any crash test result so far…

• myvi replacement…will be called myvi?

• Amazed with the redesign interior, applaud for Perodua, 100X better than the Saga FL.

Now for sure MYVI FL beat i10 flat.

• alldisc on Jun 07, 2011 at 8:41 am

this is not myvi FL, it is all new. FL stands for facelift, or minor makeover.

pathetic newbies!!

• Gavin on Jun 04, 2011 at 7:09 pm

hang on tight for NEP, cronyism, subsidy, rebadging, t and h, fire storm discussion

• ziqov on Jun 04, 2011 at 7:10 pm

projector headlamps..
    touch screen with bluetooth & dvd enabled console??
    hope it comes with iphone jack & 5-speed auto at least
    will sell like hot cakes!

• hmm…where are all the basher?

Off duty due to public holiday?

• Karimsopian on Jun 04, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Okay, things are getting more interesting now. Not a really great car, but in certain aspect, this gives more choices for the target group to decide whether to ge this car or the other brand. We’ll see how much will it cost to buy this new one.

• arulkay on Jun 04, 2011 at 7:31 pm

im really excited wif this all new myvi……..but i have to waiting till next year for all new persona…….then i will decide which car would i buy…….sabar2….

• riphoff on Jun 04, 2011 at 7:32 pm

“mampukah pengganti myvi kuasai empayar automotif negara?”

with this kind of class segment & shit quality cars ? we deserve more than that.

pity malaysians…

• JeffLim on Jun 04, 2011 at 7:33 pm

Exterior wise: Little has changed. Interior: Front, Rear seats & Boot = Almost same. Only MAJOR Change is the Dashboard. Esp. Alza A/c switches and Camry Dash-meter. Oh! Bluetooth/GPS on highest spec…

• Nasai on Jun 05, 2011 at 3:03 pm

Don’t forget. The Alza A/C switches in this New MyVi is also quite similar to the Toyota Vios’ one.

• cant wait for the test drive/review about this car…myvi with 1.5L engine…hopefully not dissappointing

btw IMHO, design is so-so only

• atan senget on Jun 04, 2011 at 8:44 pm

the price will disappointing you..no 1.5L for standard variant, only available for SE variant which cost 10k more than lowest spec (43k)…

• laden on Jun 04, 2011 at 7:43 pm

i think this car will sell at least 58K n above….

• aiyoh the electronics make me drool…nah,it’ll be overpriced

• DArkerMarker on Jun 04, 2011 at 7:46 pm

what’ and why the suspense thing put up by Perodua??

In matter of days or weeks……the road will be crawlling with this myvi.
    In matter of years, the road will be clogged with myvi…

LAter, So many myvi until boring liow…….

• Mega/Liverpool on Jun 04, 2011 at 7:48 pm

Nice facelift, do we know anything of the rummor of a 2 cyinder 660 cc Turbo engine?
    mike

• aliff on Jun 04, 2011 at 7:51 pm

1.3 ??

• Dear Proton,

1) i lived in kl,so i would want a lightweight small car,with auto transmission so that while it is easy tho park the car or climbing hill,it can maintain low fuel consumption.
    2)gadjets will never harm a car,look at perodua,with shift stick located at the dashboard,it makes the cabin more spacious.my wife can lean her head on my shoulder.how romantic is that?look at that meter cluster,the bluetooth phone,the double din,the gps(i know those last 3 are the same thing)
    3)the only advantage u have on p2 are your car is cheaper n boot space,but don’t underestimate us Malaysian.we rather have decent car than decent food lol,we don’t care to loan for 9years as long our ride are nice.so plz take note

• tiadaid on Jun 04, 2011 at 8:21 pm

Show me a saloon car with a stick shift on the dashboard.

That’s usually seen in MPVs. And the Exora does have that.

• Paul Tan on Jun 04, 2011 at 9:41 pm

Not a saloon… But a hatchback.

Honda Civic EP

http://paul.my/lErKWt

Looks weird.

• Dewata on Jun 04, 2011 at 11:08 pm

Yeah.. weird .. just like DAYTONA arcade game console.

• Ash Menon on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:23 am

That looks like….never mind. I don’t think the women here will appreciate my comments about what they can do with it during traffic jams.

• point is imho its better to leave the space beetween driver n co-pilot free…they can always put the stick at the dash or at the steering column like toyota crown

• imma proton fan but its my honest opinion

• think ppl! free your mind~~ the top line that come with all those gadget sure cost around rm60k…BUT!! saga fl is around for rm46.5k only…but those meter cluster,oh… those bluetooth phone,ohhh~~ imagining my wife sleeping on my lap while watching movies on the double din….at the location of our 1st date…oh~~~~

• TFazuin on Jun 05, 2011 at 8:54 am

I can sell u Kenwood Double Din and with GPS, I Pod, HD Radio, Bluetooth, for under RM2.5K with active colour touch screen, retail above RM3.5K and not sold in MY… If you want MB Quart Germany manufactured speakers to go add another RM1.5K also not sold in MY, full dynamat roof, floor, door for RM3K. Still think its a great buy even when you add it all up? Better off buying the base model auto with the ABS.

• lalaz on Jun 05, 2011 at 11:21 am

those driving satria neo CPS, will have another guy on his shoulder and enjoying the fast cornering stunt, lol.

they are gay anyway.

• taboogen on Jun 05, 2011 at 8:43 pm

wait lah… dont you hear EMAS project from PROTON…
      they dont copy.. paste then rename that car.. they have to build it from scratch….i know all of you not in PROTON RND do just just shut up..

If you all really rajin.. just googled how the side mirror are designed.. you’ll be amazed how technical it is to create a side mirror..

• vigogoss on Jun 04, 2011 at 8:09 pm

behind the car like honda crv.. luls

• apalalu on Jun 04, 2011 at 8:18 pm

Nice looking dashboard but still no retractable rear head rest?

• Inderaloka on Jun 04, 2011 at 8:20 pm

What? Pengganti Myvi? It is Myvi! Oh come on TV3. You are a good spinner.

• Inderaloka on Jun 04, 2011 at 8:23 pm

What? Pengganti Myvi?? It is Myvi!! Oh come on, TV3. You are really a good spinner.

• CooShyRee CSR on Jun 04, 2011 at 8:33 pm

exterior wise, not of my cup of tea, but ok laa.. interior, quite nice. its not the design i like, but rather the things inside, such as the placement of the auto gear lever, the instrument panel, n the multimedia HU.. wonder how much the fully loaded one would cost??

• Other features include dual airbags across the range (even in Standard Models), EPS, Multi Info Display across all ranges.

• im sure those who wanna buy jazz, picanto, i10 will consider twice…myvi has the minimum requirements of a car and now even built in GPS and new projector lamp and who knows maybe even more..compare it with picanto, picanto dont even has all power-window and im not sure it has ABS…myvi is small without boot unlike saga but it really much better than the saga..and i dont think its overpriced if the price is around 50-60 because if u get a H.jazz u wont get this kind of equipments. just from my opinion….

• TFazuin on Jun 06, 2011 at 3:44 pm

People now have options and for someone who can afford a 60K-80K car, a Myvi is not in the top end of the list for a hatch. For god’s sake it looks exactly like the current Myvi.

I know Toyota is big in rehashing stuff, look at the Vios and the Altis, they look exactly the same with the model it replaced including the same power plant except of course for the 2.0 CVT engine.

Honda decided to follow the same rehash model and decided to remove the multi link rear suspension and opt for Toyota’s basic single torsion beam, the chassis looks the same model it replaced. Honda rolled over the old 2.0 power plant, will this be rolled over as well? God knows, hope not, if yes it means the japs has lost all common sense for the fight for fuel economy and power.

We use to make fun of Koreans i.e. Hyundai and their brethrens, but look 164hp on a 2.0L block is no ordinary feat. My bet the Koreans will fight back, remember Kia Soul is still not decided at this point to be brought in. You bring that in, price 60-70K, it will eat up Myvi’s share.

• RANNIE LAU on Jun 04, 2011 at 8:42 pm

i already booking today………the salesman tool me is the person 18th..

• I’m that salesman, I told eveyone the same.

• iamisiamwhatiam on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:17 am

I’m the boss, you should tell the customers they’re 3rd to book. Whole Malaysia!

• Boss, they’ll ask for for free gift/voucher and stuff if I tell them they are first 10 customer. No. 18 is fine, lucky no.

• mohsin on Jun 06, 2011 at 2:33 pm

OMG! Oh Mari Gelak!

• i m the salesman, i said u r the last… stock habbis… wait til next year… =.=”…

• mizzuddin on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:58 am

haiyyaa enough with comparing this car looks like that car + this car already… no strength with the point la…
        let’s bring up the technicals

for me, the graduates surely love this car… they don’t bother practicality much… owning saga will make them look too budget… for persona, the image reflect a man with a family…

• tokmoh on Jun 05, 2011 at 10:53 am

Wouldn’t a satria neo cps makes more sense then if practicality is nt an issue? Far nicer to drive n better looking.

• mizzuddin on Jun 05, 2011 at 4:59 pm

but girls do likes girly men nowadays la mate….

girls do like myvi n like the girly men driving it too….

• tokmah on Jun 05, 2011 at 11:10 pm

r u P1 salesman?

• Radzuan on Jun 04, 2011 at 9:13 pm

After all these years, all they can come out with is a facelift model and price increase? I feel sorry for Malaysians!

• this myvi design not same like the passo/boon 2011, p2 did some own design ke? or collaboration with japs like previous one? the office ladies, teenagers with rich parents gonna buy it for sure..anyway kudos to p2

• “teenagers with rich parents gonna buy it for sure” Are you nuts ?? you kampung boy is it ? Myvi for rich kids ?? That’s your level I’d guess Myvi for your kids. Good on you mate or kampung boy

C’mon teenagers with rich parents would have bought VW beetle, Golf TSI, BMW 1 series, Merc A class or anything above RM150k at least

• “teenagers with rich parents gonna buy it for sure” Are you nuts ?? you kampung boy is it ?
        Maybe he really is…….who knows……hehehe

• tokmoh on Jun 05, 2011 at 11:00 am

Very true. Come over to Taylor’s lakeside campus to know wat kinda cars rich kids drive. Scirocco tu da common sgt la wei…

• Talking abt rich kids in college. I remember 10 yrs back while I still study in Taylor SS15, those rich kids are driving Supra, RX-7, Altezza, 180sx, 3 series …..and those “not quite rich”, Civic, modded Putra/Satra GTI turbo…..Perodua? No way.

• I like Myvi eventhough Jeremy Clarkson will still hate it.

• VW_fans on Jun 04, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Engine wise, do they introduce 1.5cc???

• why still no RDS support on HU?…why perodua always bagi cheap HU. Although got GPS but the interface really look cheap…like china made one.

• sukasuki on Jun 05, 2011 at 10:00 am

they give brother’s accessories shop to supply it. yeah, look like china made cheap one.

• kololo on Jun 04, 2011 at 9:38 pm

huh.. no matter how many people love myvi, i will not buy a myvi. boring liao

• kuikuikui on Jun 04, 2011 at 10:33 pm

that will not effect their sales figure by even 0.1%…

• Prismo on Jun 05, 2011 at 1:12 am

really? if the price are nearly alza, ppls will rather choose alza.. either myvi kill alza or alza will kill myvi.. whichever come 1st.. <– mcm warranty claim pulak.. :D

• mizzuddin on Jun 05, 2011 at 5:02 pm

the youngs will never opt for alza laa…

• kuikuikui on Jun 05, 2011 at 11:14 pm

err…i’m talking abt kololo who does not want to buy a myvi and if he does not want to buy it, then that will not effect the sales figure by even 0.1%…and even kololo and you not buying it, also the same…

• either way it will erode Proton’s sales. haha….. eat your heart out.

• Put aside the exterior, the interior looks good, and if it is paired with K3VE2 and Koni suspension, near to perfect !

• It is convincing that Proton planting their cyber troopers here. Trying their luck to discredit P2 to boost up their sales.

• Prismo on Jun 05, 2011 at 1:24 am

which showroom that u currently working right now amoi….? These ppls actually a paultan readers and forumers.. they r not proton cyber troopers.. why r u soooooooooo buthurt?

• Shock isn’t it? News has been spreading out. No matter how you condemn a product, if it sells, it will sell.

• Prismo on Jun 05, 2011 at 10:51 am

we r not condemning the product.. everyone have their own choice and opinion… every car model has its own supporter and condemner.. Then why r u sooooooooooooooooooooo butthurt?

• learner on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:15 pm

so why bother?

• abzaja on Jun 05, 2011 at 3:35 pm

It is convincing that Produa planting their cyber troopers here. Trying their luck to discredit P1 to boost up their sales.

• pedobear on Jun 04, 2011 at 10:06 pm

price tag?
    i expected around 55k ringgit for it.
    hope the 1.3 model will have those hot gadgets built in with tag below 45k

• 55k for 1.5L Sport is a good buy, if 55k for base-line =.=” Say NO!!!

• confirmed on Jun 08, 2011 at 10:01 am

if that’s the case, then ramai la akan beli myvi baru. hihi.
        the price lebih kurang lama je. :)

• With all the latest and best gadgets installed, It will be a huge success to P2. good luck ! Btw I’ll buy one for my kid.

• razittan on Jun 04, 2011 at 10:11 pm

Way to go P2 for coming up with an improved package.
    P1 salesman and employees are green in envy and will
    bombard this forum to condemn cos they are feeling
    insecure due to the bad decisions of DSZ and his
    management who would rather pool their resources
    and channel it elsewhere.
    What synergies have Proton gained
    from Lotus and its involvement in F1 ?
    A fat zerO !!

• Not only P1 salesman headache.
      Hyundai salesman as well, read today Star Motoring they pay a some ding dong to write an article, to praise i10 despite that been launch long time ago.
      How low can someone go.

• bktay on Jun 04, 2011 at 10:49 pm

For me ,this car exterior still ok ,but the interior … really not so good … if ur guys see the original daihatsu boon and compare this R&D version … will know what i say … old myvi and alza is good for me coz compare the daihatsu version have not big change …

• U r really sick & tired + zero knowledge in car.
    What a joke to compare Kia Rio & MYVI.
    Rio is a full range B segment c/w both sedan & hatchback similar to VW Polo, where else MYVI is similar to Getz only come in 5 door.

If u want to compare Picanto try Daihatsu Mira/Cuore or Suzuki Alto those r cool car.

A segment RM 52,688 1.25 liter Inokom i10 is what i called “daylight robery”.

• Rosdi ni Katak berasal dari Gua Tempurung koh !
    Habis Hyundai Matrix tu Van ? Honda CRV tu Lori ?
    Sekarang ni biar saya ketawa pulah ha ha ha…

• this is not Myvi. this is Toyota. Perodua should be ashamed sebab jadi puppet to Toyota and Daihatsu.

• squall_shinoda on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:51 am

Even if Perodua is owned by Toyota / Daihatsu, at least this MyVi successor is not a direct copycat from the latest-gen Daihatsu Sirion. Of course the aircond controls are just 2×5 like Alza, but at least this model is really different from MyVi or Sirion. Honestly I must say this is a major milestone for Perodua.

• but same v vios

• squall_shinoda on Jun 05, 2011 at 8:17 am

It’s just the aircond controls only… but nothing wrong with that coz it allows for cheaper production and parts interchangeability.

• Celicazz on Jun 05, 2011 at 2:01 am

So skoda, seat, audi is VW’s puppet

Lexus, Subaru is Toyota’s puppet

Lincoln, Mercury last time was Ford’s puppet

hey schoolkid, have you finish ur school yet? this holidays you better study for your PMR, UPSR, SPM and get good grades so that you can understand business someday in the future…

for now, it is FF for Double FAIL for your grades on economics

stupid

• bill pagar on Jun 05, 2011 at 7:58 am

He called p2 puppet bcoz p2 only milking malaysians. No serious effort to to sell p2 product oversea. So p2 is toyota puppet to make malaysian think that they are an advance people who can make cars that they called their own, while they are only a subject of economic domination.

• at least p2/toyota gives malaysian chances to use the thing that did not found on p1…

• raidenovich on Jun 06, 2011 at 10:34 am

Haha! apa kau merepek ni FF??

• premjit on Jun 04, 2011 at 11:24 pm

just did a booking today taught it would be value for money for RM50k segment and of course its for rough use :)

• nazeem on Jun 04, 2011 at 11:50 pm

The front part looks more to Aston Martin Cygnet + Honda Jazz ..
    The rear part … I don’t know . but it seems to be a very big hit to our automotive industry .
    Proton .. watch out . Perodua is right behind you . Very close to you now .

• nolan on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:07 am

finally found a car for my 2nd wife……

• hantu on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:26 am

Why not you fulfill the wife quota until 4 same as Salih Yaacob?
      haha…

• vigogoss on Jun 05, 2011 at 2:20 pm

lul nicee

• nolan on Jun 05, 2011 at 6:03 pm

still early……3rd and 4th coming very2 soon…..hahahaha

• badabimbadabum on Jun 06, 2011 at 9:21 am

well if u buy every myvi ‘editions’ they will produce in the future.. confirm more than your quota..probably like 20 hahahahah

• Wisdom on Jun 06, 2011 at 11:09 am

Good for u!

My 2nd wife ask a Polo. Sighhh

• buy her myvi….get ur self a 3rd one….new ride better handling…..

• redboy on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:35 am

i think it has been too much MyVi news already, spyshot, this, that..want to vomit already…

• aminlife on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:38 am

P2, BTW Good Move, with interior cosmetics strategies….[malaysian eventually waiting for this gadget in Malaysian car] this idea might work. Hope P1 do plan for same tactics? hehaha lunch new model 1.6 with all this gadgetry… sure 1.3 & 1.6 owner “terbakar”… lg.

• squall_shinoda on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:47 am

Having a built-in GPS navigation system for the MyVi successor is a real cool thing indeed, so expect this new fella to be a hit if it is competitively priced. But hopefully Perodua should improve the audio quality of the radios without the “cap ayam” audio feel in Viva and older MyVi.

• atan senget on Jun 05, 2011 at 5:49 am

myvi baru lagi cap ayam…speaker depan atas dashboard…tiada tweeter dan speaker kat pintu depan…bunyi bergaung skit la…

• ketelaju on Jun 05, 2011 at 1:19 am

let us test drive first then make a new comment.

• here leaked TV ADV of all new MYVI, iklan kereta, tapi segan2 mau tunjuk itu kereta -,-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rs7MNHOtxnU
    ^_^

• OMG !!, already now got so many myvi’s with big noisy exhaust flying through our roads…find them irritating..

• lan87 on Jun 05, 2011 at 3:08 am

There also many Saga’s with loud exhaust noises… Conclusion is, no matter what car it is it depends on the owner’s…
      Don’t stereotype the car… Some retired uncles also owns myvi…

• learner on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:25 pm

at least handling in saga is better than myvi and it is not segmented for female. myvi is originally segmented for female (as boon in japan), so why wanna put noisy exhaust in female car? as both also not suitable for noisy exhaust, at least saga is more appeal for that.

• funny la ca also got gender…..female one can give birth or not……male one come with erector (oops i mean ejector) seat or not…..so hybrid /crossover car means what…for transvtte is it?….

• lan87 on Jun 05, 2011 at 9:59 pm

are you sue handling in saga is better? i have driven both the new saga and also myvi, and i hv to say that myvi’s handling is better. don’t believe me, borrow a friend’s myvi and compare it with the new saga…

saga and persona feels a little wobbly for sedans… and myvi’s handling isn’t that good, but it definitely is better then the saga’s… what do you expect from a cheap compact car??? u expect myvi to hande like a scirocco? or a 1series???

• learner on Jun 05, 2011 at 10:43 pm

how you drive? casual?

when you said that, nothing i can said except OMG. try taking corner or drive at high speed in saga and myvi, no need to high, just 140-150kmh is enough, then come here again, to confirm your feeling.

savvy is cheap but handle better than myvi how is that? cheap cannot handle better? why comparing with performance cars? scirocco? 1series? compare to saga or savvy is enough.

• Prismo on Jun 05, 2011 at 10:48 pm

is it really myvi handling was better than saga? Alborz Fallah, car advise Australia car journalist said,
            Quoted–> “Ride & handling is where the S16 stands out. Of course there is nothing in its price category that I could compare it to but even putting it against cars costing $10,000 more it still comes out ahead. Proton makes a big deal about their cars benefiting from Lotus ride & handling technology and you only ever really notice its validity when you’re going around a corner at speed in a car with tiny 13-inch wheels and it’s not missing a beat.”

As a car journalist, for sure he already tested most of the that available on the aussie market.

http://www.caradvice.com.au/55299/proton-s16-review-road-test/

Even top gear admit Proton car’s handling was good even tho they hate it… do u see JC face when he drove a myvi? :D

• badabimbadabum on Jun 06, 2011 at 9:41 am

i just read the article.. surprising that the there are lots of positive comments from them aussies about saga…even malaysians kutuk kaw kaw

• who cares about jc? he’s not God.

• Nicky on Jun 06, 2011 at 1:05 am

sure? hahahah…. i almost kill myself in a myvi… and haven’t been in that situation in a saga, even though how fast i am on the street…

• Strongly agree. Myvi is a 101% female car, developed with feminine features in mind. When a man drive a Myvi…it is really he he he

• agree, but the myvi wannabe racers really look dumb plus the cars looks is just simply irritating and ugly..

• Regularcoffee on Jun 05, 2011 at 2:30 pm

in the morning when u going to work i see alot of myvi owners are mostly woman or old folks , but come night time, i see young men driving fast in myvi..at least is better than mat rempit!

• well said jojo….

• so Saga is a sport car in 1.3 engine capacity with Lotus handling

• Effy92 on Jun 15, 2011 at 1:09 am

True,,better handling at car park and parking lot only..
        hahah

• shawal on Jun 05, 2011 at 3:07 am

the ‘lagi best’ commercial i feel mocks the Intelligence of Malaysian drivers ,I’m sure the most of the current gen owners would’ve upgraded to a bigger car …

If it was up to me, I’ll do an ad of montage of current myvi owners from all ages and their cars , can slap in the statistics on how the myvi became a regular sales leader which it is …. instead of mindless rant on how its better with so many negative comments already posted on the net about its mediocre ….

• shawal on Jun 05, 2011 at 3:08 am

** mediocre looks

• AngelMan on Jun 05, 2011 at 4:36 am

Okay, sincerely speaking the interior of Myvi looks better than Fiesta( Ancient Nokia 3310 design) plus engine capacity 1.5 just below RM60,000 blow away Fiesta any days. Without a doubt New Myvi will beat Ford Fiesta Hatchback.

• that’s the crappiest statement i’ve ever heard in years!! do you even know anything about cars? i know ppl like you think myvi can beat nissan 370z..
      myvi is myvi….myvi will never be as good as fiesta as myvi is still using ancient 4 speeder and outdated dvvt engine.

• Comparing Myvi with Fiesta is equal to comparing a kancil with BMW.

• fiesta family sedan with one airbag………over price manual 1.4…….Presumed Sporty version with semput gearbox…….mmm sounds like myvi

• jay79 on Jun 06, 2011 at 1:31 am

tell that to jeremy clarkson and u will the joke of the year in his show. seriously speaking, performance wise even vios and city cant beat fiesta la wey.

• jay79 on Jun 06, 2011 at 1:35 am

tell that to Jeremy Clarkson abd you will be joke of the year on his show. seriously speaking, performance wise, even city and vios cant beat fiesta la wey.

• badabimbadabum on Jun 06, 2011 at 9:28 am

hahaahahahahahahahahhahahah..

you know what…i’ll give u the benefit of the doubt that you’re actually being sarcastic..

but if not…thn OMG ahhaahahahahhahah

• In Malaysia, we’re hapless. Even though in most countries car/gasoline/diesel price issues not really matter but here, we have almost no choice and Myvi/viva is our default choice: whether you like it or not.

Kia new Rio can post a challenge to Myvi and competition is always better but here people won’t accept that and they’ll hate you. Rio is on par with Myvi elsewhere but l don’t think government will allow this because they really care of us.

If Proton or later Perodua never exist, car crazy Malaysians will be better. Weird, huh? Gas price follow world, car price follow Malaysia.

• Kambing Gurun on Jun 05, 2011 at 7:09 am

When it comes to manual transmission model, car companies nowadays often come out with bad looking features or removing the most sought after features on the car. The centre console for manual is just horrible, it is like trying to force people into buying auto model. Just like what ford has done with ford fiesta for the manual model. Otherwise the interior is just nice as compared to current Myvi model.

• okla..dari dulu, macam maner ngan enjin..baru ko ..samo ngan hok asal..

• Naz@AE111 on Jun 05, 2011 at 9:12 am

haiya.. kalau gini penuh la myvi d malaysia ni.. haha.. apa2pn, all the best perodua.. hopefully it will become a successful model..

• satria on Jun 05, 2011 at 10:59 am

Its interior looks so nice lor…but for external looks is same like old junk myvi..

• Rockdaboat on Jun 05, 2011 at 11:17 am

two tone interior no my taste……..but i love the instrument panel tough looks current…..

• lalala~~~ on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:25 pm

no black bumper for this model?hahaha

• hi possibility(or most probably) of being overprice..
    but what the heck, we’re in malaysia..

• kuncisudu on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:43 pm

this is a let down.

dash shifter? not attractive to the young ones who want auto.

put a price tag over 55 and this will be selling like hot cup cakes to the person who thinks he get a cheap toyota.

me, i just want to wait for the se version, se limited version, se executive version, special merdeka version, special merdeka se limited version.

• Another Kodok Bawah Tempurung, never seen a dash shifter.
    Halo ! The dash shifter for Auto only lah !
    Let me guess, U think is those 1970 car with manual shift behind the steering meh, ha ha ha..
    If u still don’t understand go n see Hyundai Matrix or Honda CRV.

• Alvin on Jun 05, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Dear Paul,

Just wondering are they going to launch the 1.5 together with 1.3 models? Heard from a salesperson that only 1.3 will be launched this June. Thanks.

• curious on Jun 05, 2011 at 3:56 pm

Whats under the hood?
    Same engine as before?

• Tan Si on Jun 05, 2011 at 4:02 pm

It is car for people who cannot afford a new Honda or Toyota. Pity the buyers!

• Meter on Jun 05, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Not much changes with the current design. Is this new passo generation? Seem like Toyota progress pace is not aggressive as other maker recently. I see now Korean car maker growing very fast, always come out with better engine n latest technology.

• atan senget on Jun 05, 2011 at 6:19 pm

Too expensive for a downgraded car =( . If there are no NAP, 50k car should be a car just like Vios, City and Persona or Forte and not for this FROG..this FROG must be cheaper than this….

Better save money to buy a house and have to working hard to get better car for my family…pity me

• Suggest on Jun 05, 2011 at 7:10 pm

haiz.. still ugly..this only call facelift but not new.. Fake new to lie… I think got new style.. but at the end make me sad. Now i got no idea to buy what car already due to this myvi so ugly also.

• What you expect then only consider is new Myvi?If all these only call facelift, then the P1 saga FL should call wat?

Anyway…this NEW Myvi will sell well again….Well done P2.

• Daniel on Jun 05, 2011 at 7:16 pm

While the Myvi is definitely a good car, given that it will function well and is manufactured by Toyota, it is still a disgrace that the nation is getting excited about a re-badged Daihatsu.

There is not a single country in the world besides Malaysia where this car will break into the top 3 cars sold by volume. Or win any awards. Please let me know if there is one. I doubt the Daihatsu Sirion is able to compete with the current releases from Hyundai and Kia is the subcompact markets.

In Australia, the top selling cars are the Mazda 3, followed by the GM Holden Commodore. The VW Polo and Golf’s are highly rated as well. Not a single Daihatsu Sirion is on an awards list or top 10 cars list here.

Therefore in conclusion, Malaysians are paying top dollar for an average product. What a disgrace. I blame the government. Malaysians work too hard for their money and are forced to spend it on a car not even highly sought after overseas, when they at least deserve a Mazda 3, Corolla or Golf.

But big picture wise, when you buy a Myvi..you’re not paying too much import duty tax which goes to the government. 50% goes to Daihatsu/Toyota. 0% go to Proton. So Myvi is the way to go.

• Bro…Daihatsu had withdraw from Australia market few years ago.

And Daihatsu also ceased their business in Europe not long ago.

• Jason on Jun 05, 2011 at 7:34 pm

This month only launching the new 1.3 version and not 1.5 yet right?
    When can we expect the new 1.5? What about the new selling price?
    Sure below Alza right? RM55k?

• Again, stop buying will stop killing. Don’t rush to book at least will make the price “cheaper”. Hardly we can achieve this, Malaysians is so desperate to get a Myvi or by other name replacement, Myeight (MyVIII).

Having said that, Perodua seems to rectify and improvised interior (l bet more younger couple will love the console autogear, ahem ahem….). Rear seat looks more recline though l still hate the plastic cheapo look.

Without CVT and new engine, the price should remain similar.

• I guess yr knowledge for auto industry is a shallow as a kid pool.
    Popularity of a car depend on many factor including road condition, type consumer, general usage & etc.
    Obviously it is different in every country, eg Ford F150 is top seller in US, Fiat maybe to seller in Italy, Peugeot may be to seller in France, that doesn’t they are going to be to seller else where.
    Pick up truck is very salable in Thailand becoz of road condition but not in Singapore.
    MYVI meet the criteria of Malaysian consumer taste bud & requirement that why it is the best seller, been low price, reliable, easy to maintain, very popular among young lady market (this is a fast grown n huge market, usually lady r more on to play safe, buy what most people buy).
    Keep me inform if u know which country best selling model is Hyundai i10 or Kia Picanto.
    Malaysia is much smaller country compare to Australia, people here do not travel as much, anyway who would ever want a Holden beside the oz.
    Almost every common car is available in Malaysia no one is stopping u to buy even Ferrari, Bentley, RR, if u want to, beside Mazda 3 merely cost RM 100-130K to own n consider cheaper than Altis & Civic, so what’s the frust ?

• vxxxxxx on Jun 05, 2011 at 11:11 pm

the 1st Malaysian car with auto flip side mirror

the 1st malaysian car with electric power steering

the 1st malaysian car with build in dvd, lcd, gps system.

Proton sure butthurt

• fairsyah on Jun 06, 2011 at 11:50 am

i tot that proton juara is the first electric power steering

• I tot 1st Malaysia car with auto flip side mirror -Proton Satria GTi
        I tot 1st Malaysia car with electric power steering -Proton Juara
        I tot 1st Malaysia car with build in DVD,lcd gps system -Proton Satria Neo R3
        I tot 1st Malaysia car with VVT-Proton Waja 1.8

• i think that neo R3 2011 has 1st build in dvd, lcd, gps(double din)

• the 1st Malaysian car with auto flip side mirror-Satria GTI
        the 1st malaysian car with electric power steering-Juara
        the 1st malaysian car with build in dvd, lcd, gps system.-Satria Neo R3
        the 1st Malaysian car with VVT-Waja 1.8
        the 1st Malaysian car with CVT-Coming soon Saga FL
        the 1st Malaysian car with Turbo+VVT+CVT-Coming soon Exora CFE

kihkihkih…P2????

• OWNED! on Jun 06, 2011 at 7:26 pm

New Myvi – 1st Malaysian car that come with all above

• littlefire on Jun 06, 2011 at 9:17 pm

The 1st Malaysian car which have the auto gear mouted on dashboard.. Alza..
          The 1st to use timing chain engine, compare to P1 timing belt all…
          The 1st to use LED rear lights…
          Still the most durable, tahan lasak engine, lot’s after-market spare part (chop-shop), bodykit modification (Passo, Boon & Justy)… Bla bla bla…

In the end, ppl choose which 1 they like.. If want to list down.. P1 do have a lot of 1st.. But did they manage to finish it gracefully without any complain?

• Saifulz on Jun 07, 2011 at 3:55 pm

The 1st Malaysian car which have the auto gear mouted on dashboard.. PROTON EXORA not Perodua Alza.. Exora launched 1st than Alza..

• i thought jpj gonna ban those screens in car?

how about this myvi?

• tokmoh on Jun 05, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Fuh fuh… I’ve been around paultan.org long enough for people to know I have a soft spot for Proton…

But this. That Camry-like meter with Hatsune Miku-ish green colour… totally got me. Damn, I hate to see Perodua best a Proton, but you deserve this. Fair enough, can’t win it all, I’ll just hope Proton responds well to this challenge, fuh fuh…

May Persona R have a more city-friendly fc n low-end torque. Nail that, and Proton’s gonna bag the glory in this battle for Msian market share.

• new Myvi price http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-ncAUPKbX35g/TeSJCnihHvI/AAAAAAAAGeI/IsV7m4GPCQE/s1600/price.png

• farghmee on Jun 07, 2011 at 10:13 am

price tu tentative je.
      ada kemungkinan juga rege baru = rege lama + 3k.

• Jantan kalau bawak myvi memang segan
    walaupun tak payah buka pintu bayar tol. huhu

• cheku77 on Jun 06, 2011 at 1:07 am

it hard to tell myvi user they’re driving only beatiful box…
    it’s not safe to drive daihatsu car, last time they got problem with insurans company because their car easily broken to pieces when involve in accident and insurans company had to pay a lot for that… then they able to convince it cost cheaper compare to people dead. Not dead but will be half broken you body part.

for not true driver, stop talking about myvi handling. It rubish… you must be driver with skirt or mini skirt for not realize that!

• Tan Sri Dato' Sri on Jun 06, 2011 at 4:50 am

I will never drive this car, not even if someone gave it for free to me. It’ll surely destroy my image as a Tan Sri Dato’ Sri.

• eimsperfume on Jun 06, 2011 at 7:48 am

erm…

pls tell where to see the new myvi crash test video..
    i mean… did they test the new myvi crash test @ 30kmh like they test the alza?

seriously, i realy do care about the safety..

• farghmee on Jun 07, 2011 at 10:00 am

alza got crash-tested?
      that ONE was Miros’ Underrun Crash rite?

• it’s not a safe car , build by recycled milo tin . peoples work hard but only manage to buy this kind of car

• Perhaps next Perodua should bring and rebadge Indian-market Toyota Etios(?) as budget entry sedan aka. Perodua Etios.

If Myvi killed the Savvy dead for good, Etios gonna kick the hell out of Saga lah!

Anyway, New Myvi = Proton Worst Nightmare! So what Saga 1.6? Throw in Savvy 2.0 lah complete the circus HA HA HA HA!

“To Kill Proton Is To Buy Perodua!”

• Unforgiven on Jun 06, 2011 at 1:04 pm

If P2 able to rebadge the Toyota Etios, it’s gonna kill Saga the way they killed Savvy…
      So P2, you may go ahead and rebadge the Etios…

• copy paste the Prius, Altis or FT86II better…. dream to have one….

• fernando on Jun 06, 2011 at 9:12 am

the pink or maroon or what ever limited edition myvi drive by a men is totally MAKYAH!!

• here another stereotype remark

-the big seven series or merc s class is own by guys with small peni$ and need big car to compensate is it?
      -heavily modified car from kancil to myvi to civic to bmw is own by showoff wannabe racer and 4 wheels version of mat rempit

any more ?

• makeitmine on Jun 06, 2011 at 9:42 am

What the fuzz about? Truely, it is only a “jaguh kampung” car.

It looks good because it can borrow designs from Toyota. If it’s so good, Boon/Passo would be exported to Europe. Something is wrong somewhere!

• Shaycoat on Jun 06, 2011 at 11:28 am

You should do more research on Passo. This new MyVi has no direct design language with the new passo. The design is extremely different for exterior and interior

• OWNED! on Jun 06, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Your summary is Savvi export their car to UK = Savvy is a better car than Passo?

JOKE OF THE YEAR!

• new myvi totally for a men to be a mak nyah@bapuk…hahaha

• maserati on Jun 06, 2011 at 3:32 pm

This car is going to sell like super hot pancakes. Even at 55k plus, it is going to kill Fiesta, i10, saga fml, and the rest.

Secondly, nvr ever trust australian or american car review websites or mags,
    Cuz they know nuts about cars.

To all those ppl who bought saga fml, sorry to say but you just wasted ur money on some scrap metal frm proton.

Great job p2, you guys r doin a fantastic job !

• nazri on Jun 06, 2011 at 9:21 pm

u must buy 2 , one 1.3 and 1.5 mr maserati… haha

• Bob Vettel on Jun 07, 2011 at 10:12 am

Funny, when it comes to P2 you say don’t trust OZ/American Car reviews, but in terms of P1, Western media is absolutely straight on.

No wonder P2 can easily con gullible Malaysians with the thought of Toyota “technology”

• runner on Jun 06, 2011 at 3:41 pm

awaiting for Persona R with head up display (HUD).

• Johnny on Jun 06, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Reading the first few post, already got some flaming going on…we are truly Malaysian la..

As for the car, let’s try not to judge it first until there’s a review and until the car is launched or until u drive it for urself..

If you were to get the same car with a Toyota badge, it would cost much more and wouldnt be very practical. We should thank Perodua for doing the work for us to “borrow” the technology from Toyota/Daihatsu and creating it locally for us to that we can enjoy the benefits of buying it at a cheaper cost.. Plus, why would you wanna drive a Ferrari/Lambo or any other high cost car at Pot-Malaysian-Hole roads?

• Unforgiven on Jun 07, 2011 at 10:26 am

The production for a real badge is always cheaper, a very good example is the Lancer vs Inspira price in Langkawi…

You are not enjoying cheaper cost for Perodua, you are actually giving free money to selected people…

• Global on Jun 07, 2011 at 10:33 am

At least it is a global engine and gearbox. That’s what makes a good car to buy. Even the Daihatsu van uses the same 1.5 engine and manual gearbox. This shows advancement of technology and robustness in them. Good choice.

• freshgrad on Jun 06, 2011 at 4:39 pm

saya mau!! saya mau!!

• This car is good if you want to became invisible.

• Hybrid?

• the car for the normal people but not for the majority of paul tan readers

• learner on Jun 06, 2011 at 7:08 pm

PT majority readers perhaps is male, but outside there majority myvi buyers is female, that is why.

• Rizal on Jun 07, 2011 at 11:46 am

one word could describe this car… BORING!
    3 words… BORING REBADGE CAR..

where is P2 RND… please wake up… build your own car..!!!

• Global on Jun 07, 2011 at 12:35 pm

At least it is a Better car to own than the obvious..Buying a car is one thing, owning a car is totally another

• Global on Jun 07, 2011 at 12:36 pm

R&D ? If it is going to benefit the masses out there globally then by all means go ahead. If is it not then forget it.

• Global on Jun 07, 2011 at 12:37 pm

I see many males driving it. What’s wrong ? I also see many families own MYVi. Anything wrong with it ?

• learner on Jun 07, 2011 at 4:46 pm

nothing is wrong as it is for easy riding, family oriented, first car buyers, and/or cute ladies.

BUT if modified like ahbeng surely is not right, Myvi with loud exhaust, big wheel, brutal bodykits, driven fast2 — think yourself.

• Come on lah.Dun just blame Myvi…last time P1 Wira & Waja also got many ppl modify it until same like Mitsu car…..

• Local on Jun 07, 2011 at 5:43 pm

nice car ..!!

• it won’t be myvi anymore. it’ll be called ourvi.

• Effy92 on Jun 15, 2011 at 12:36 am

The picture are distorted..
    Its make the car looks wider and fat !

• Jason on Jul 12, 2011 at 1:15 am

I would like to point out a very common factor in Malaysia’s market trend.

I may not be an avid perodua supporter nor am i a Proton enthusiast but exactly the opposite. The thing I like to point out is that with the next design for Myvi. it may just as well be the same as the old version. no teenagers is going to buy that car ‘ and maintain that shape’!! THEY RE JUST GONNA MODIFY IS TO A PASSO!! with spoilers and rear wings of those of the Passo, or with HIDS and LEDS all around their pathetic door slits and handles, bumpers, headlights, brakes and car plates.!!
    sure they have a totally different styling to the interior but with all those plastics, some may might as well just flank on some hairy animal-skin-like carpet all around its dashboard and LED that sucker up left right and centre.maybe some will just add on a turbo and change its exhaust and blast down the LDP with pride and arrogance thinking they can outrun a Satria, some pick ups or some BMW.

Dont waste your time on enhancing an already pathetic model and have it bespoked on certain parts. But ADD A COMPLETELY BRAND NEW model into the list of wonderful zipy cars and compete with the likes of MINIS, Clios or POLOS. its ok to have a higher price tag, as long as your car is worth that and nobody will blame you for sucking of the nations money!!