Renault Sport teases hotter Megane RS on Nürburgring!

Renault Sport, the sporting arm of Renault, has released a teaser video for what seems to be a hotter version of the Megane RS 250 Cup, which we absolutely adore in this office. The video asks us to look forward to June 17 for the reveal.

In this 1 minute 27 second clip, the boys from Dieppe are shown preparing a red Megane RS (with those sexy 19-inch spider wheels that are ill suited for our roads) for a run on the most challenging circuit in the world – the Nürburgring. The Megane is then seen blasting past the famous section of the ‘Ring where the tarmac is full of graffiti, seemingly digging into it with only three wheels!

Renault Sport teases hotter Megane RS on Nürburgring!

Two men are named – Philippe Merimee, Suspension Setting Systems Manager and Laurent Hurgon, Development Driver – but perhaps the more significant cameo is that of the Megane R26.R, the hottest variant of the previous gen Megane. That limited edition stripped out version of the already excellent R26 established a new lap record for a FWD car at the ‘Ring with a time of 8m17s back in 2008.

If they use the same formula on the more powerful new Megane RS (250 hp/340 Nm vs 230 hp/310 Nm), that time is bound to be topped by the upcoming king hot hatch. By how much? We’ll know on June 17.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• zaff1984 on Jun 06, 2011 at 9:40 pm

scirroco your move…

• ericmaxman on Jun 06, 2011 at 9:53 pm

whats hotter than hot? This

• Renault Megane RS on Jun 06, 2011 at 10:48 pm

I ‘vejust got mine for 6 weeks now , please Renault Malaysia dont bring this in too soon okay !

• sfssd on Jun 06, 2011 at 11:00 pm

wow, the way it took that corners barely oversteering but still maintaining balance is just terrific…! It’s like high speed drifting but minus the smokes……!

• grear car…when everything is working, despite nissan ownership Renault doesn’t seem to have a good reputation when it comes to reliability…Renault has been in m’sia for some time already but you hardly see any old 90’s Renault’s on the road anymore compared to peugeots,all junked

• klaka seram on Jun 07, 2011 at 11:29 am

wow! the hottest hot hatch is in the making
    good job Renault

• Speed Racer on Jun 07, 2011 at 10:09 pm

woots

• Grey Goddess on Jun 24, 2011 at 12:05 am

Sirocco Golf….and the worst pretender peugeot make sure you move a side when King Megane is up there on your rear view mirror…..
    UNDERSTAND!

RS 250/ 320i