UMW Toyota expands its parts distribution centre facility

In line with the increase in demand for Toyota genuine parts and motor oil, UMW Toyota Motor has completed an expansion exercise for its Parts Distribution Centre warehouse facility in Sungai Buloh.

“To accommodate the growth of our parts business and achieved customers’ satisfaction, UMW Toyota Motor has invested a total of RM30 million to build and expand this facility. With this expansion, we have completed our facility expansion plan for Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah and Sarawak,” said UMW Toyota Motor’s president Ismet Suki.

“Our parts business recorded RM456 million in 2010, a 16% increase from the previous year. Although Toyota’s production was disrupted by the Great East Japan Earthquake and Tsunami in March, we are pleased that the parts supply from Japan has improved earlier than expected, and we are confident to reach our parts sales target of nearly RM500 million this year,“ he said.

He added that the additional storage space will enable the company to keep more parts items and shorten the delivery time to reach Toyota service outlets and parts dealers.

The facility incorporates Toyota’s efficient 7-storage techniques in its operation, and is equipped with the electronic Bar Code System (TBIPS) to handle the high part lines accurately and more efficiently. It also utilises the Toyota Parts Automated System (TOPAS) software, an advanced system used by Toyota Motor Corporation for parts ordering, receiving, invoicing and also inventory control.

It will however upgrade its existing Toyota Parts Supply System (TOPAS) to the Global Toyota Parts Supply System (G-TOPAS) by 2015 – the system will enable the company to connect to the Global Toyota parts supply system to ensure smoother distribution.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kl_sadguy on Jun 23, 2011 at 6:51 pm

Yes is good but damn low service attitude from Toyota Service Center and customer service.

Low
    Low
    Low service attitude..

No more Toyota for me in the future..Say TAK NAK to Toyota Malaysia…

Really fed up and frustated and upmost dissapointed on Toyota Malaysia..

• jalan54 on Jun 23, 2011 at 8:00 pm

You are not the first one who complaint. I really don’t know what are they doing? Just because they have a lot of sales? Not only the service center sucks, the sales reps also sucks big time.

• kwlim on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:21 am

not only are the services below expectations, any parts that can be repaired they will also ask to replace. no wonder they can achieve another high revenue target!!!

• Bososuko on Jun 23, 2011 at 9:31 pm

Does this mean, they need a bigger stock to have replacement parts for all their recalls (i.e. ‘pedal of death’)?

• caryn on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:24 am

say what u want, their service centres still much better than honda. try going to klang bandar baru honda service centre, so bloody warm for customers waiting for their cars to be serviced. complaint to those jokers, even the manager also to no avail……..

• arrif86 on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:12 am

i used to work here hee~