New BMW X1 sDrive20i features 2.0L turbo: 184hp/270Nm

BMW has been on a roll overhauling its engine line-up recently, and the latest update is a new “20i” engine, finally replacing the anaemic normally aspirated 2.0 litre 4 cylinder found in the 320i in Malaysia. You can expect the F30 320i to be equipped with this new lump.

The new 20i engine makes its debut in the BMW X1 for the 2012 model year. The new BMW X1 sDrive20i now features a 2.0 litre four cylinder engine with a twin scroll turbocharger producing 184 horsepower between 5,000 to 6,250rpm, and 270Nm of torque between 1,250rpm to 4,500rpm. 0 to 100km/h will take 7.4 seconds. This new engine will be mated to BMW’s 8-speed automatic transmission.

184 horses is as much power as the current 20d range, but 270Nm is less torque than the 20d’s 380Nm. The 28i engine, also based on a 2.0 litre turbo four cylinder, makes 245 horses and 350Nm. I wonder if a simple remap will be able to take the 20i up to 28i levels, or at least half way there.

I would expect an X1 sDrive20i (or xDrive20i) to be introduced here in Malaysia to replace the sDrive18i, to satisfy those who want a little more go from their compact X1 but don’t find themselves warming up to the efficient xDrive20d model.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2347]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jimmy on Jun 28, 2011 at 11:24 pm

The foglamp is innovative positioned. Good job.

• thomstho on Jun 29, 2011 at 12:11 am

This is good….

• a twin scroll turbo is good, but will it rbe a direct eplace the 2.0 na unit? or will it be like the 528i and 535i? and if it does ‘add value’ to it, wont it be near the price of new x3 20d?

• I LOVE BMW on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:01 pm

The big question now is whether they will put the 20i and 28i engines in the BMW 5 series F10 and reduce the prices of the car.

They kept the F10 prices so high and blamed it on the duty and excise/taxes saying its 2500cc and above and that is why car is so expensive

So now, got this wonderful 2.0 engine, can the F10 prices come down? Say RM333,800 for a 523i? After all, they said the 520d is cheap because its a 2.0 and had lower taxes and duties.

• gavin on Jun 29, 2011 at 1:25 am

Great upgrade, had trouble doing high speed overtaking during my recent trip to Switzerland via Germany from Netherlands.

Massive shame thy didn’t give me a 20d

• seancorr on Jun 29, 2011 at 2:05 am

Mmm this is the engine for the F30 in Malaysia. Can finally catch up with C200 GCI haha. Would be interesting to know the price as I suspect its gonna go up

• tricycle on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:28 am

Paul, on thebmw.com.my, the only available spec for new X3 is2.0d with 184 hp and 380 Nm. 28i (2.0d)engine with 245hp is for which model? is it for Malaysia market?

• droll on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:54 am

this should appear in the 3 series. and then a simple remap will make it a golf gti contender??

• Awesome engine!Modern day turbo has no turbo lag,produces adequate power with low FC…Great future BMW.

• venven81 on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:38 am

2.0L turbo engine producing sub 200hp and it’s great? you must be kidding. there are many more other greater engines out there which can perform better and giving good FC at the same time.

• Fordylyngam on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:46 am

Don’t criticize if you dont understand how product positioning works. This is simply a matter of tuning. The same engine makes 245hp in the 28i. There will probably be a 23i later making 210hp or something.

Bet you didn’t know that the 23i and 28i both use 3.0 engine in Europe with different tuning.

• vincent on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:00 am

Power ‘turbo charged’, pricing also ‘turbo charged’ too?

• this a great car.. maybe some will say not, but believe me, i’ve own one of this x1 but 20d version, and its really fun to drive.. i’m not a ‘speedo’, the highest speed i’ve ever drive is 150km/h on PLUS. believe me.. i dont even realize that the speed touch 150km/h.
    salute germany automakers. i dont know how they can build car such as this..

• Limp Kopi on Jun 29, 2011 at 12:42 pm

PAUL

How about that 2.0 engine which produces 245 hp as per previous article by Danny ?
    Surely there no need for this 184 hp fourpot then ….

http://paultan.org/2011/02/14/bmw-twinpower-turbo-filters-down-to-4-cylinder-range/

• Gavin on Jun 29, 2011 at 1:42 pm

If it’s in the 320i i’m pretty sure the comments will be ‘eh turbo engine very high maintenance wan you know’, ‘turbo engine always got problem’, ‘turbo FC very high’, ‘my uncle cousins friends sister brothers father in laws mechanics second wife’s husband say BMW engine easy break down’

• This update finally made this BMW model to have a proper BeeEmm look, although I would still say that they missed the Hoffminster kink… just my personal opinion.

• Mr. Bean on Jun 29, 2011 at 2:58 pm

is this the N20B20 unit?

• busted on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:22 pm

learn how to design car from korean, they are doing far more better job

• KLdude on Jun 30, 2011 at 12:20 pm

well done bmw! finally you have caught up to your arch rivals mercedes-benz & audi.
    with he new engine and the 8 speed gearbox, you can finally have the specifications to take on your competitors on a more level playing field. as per reader “i love bmw”, i am also eagerly awaiting to see how well the engine goes in the new 320i and whether they are going to put that engine in the 5 series. of course, due to marketing, product placemet and pricing, it would not be called 523i but most probably called 520i? i am contemplating changing and/or getting this new vehicle if it ever arrives. probably sometime early neaxt year after the launching of the new 3 series? anyone with insider information, please kindly share with us. thanks!