Service rebate, prizes for Hyundai-Sime Darby customers

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) recently beat 180 other distributors to win the Distributor of the Year 2010 award from Hyundai Motor Company, and to celebrate the success, the company is giving customers service rebates and a chance to win prizes.

From now till 31 October 2011, HSDM customers who send their car to authorised centres for service will be given a RM30 rebate for an engine oil/oil filter change, redeemable on the spot. They will also be in the running to win two iPad 2s and a Plasma TV – one prize for each month till October.

To participate, customers need to fill a contest form and attach the original (or certified true copy) of the service receipt and drop it into the contest box. The next step is to send an SMS to activate the registration. All details can be obtained from the registration form. For more info, contact HSDM’s Customer Care Line at 1300-13-2000 during office hours.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 01, 2011 at 9:48 pm

They will need to grab as much Camry potential buyers as possible.

The 2012 Camry is launching very soon. I dont know why some people still buy the current Camry when Toyota having promo lately to clear stock i guess. No rebate, no down price…why still buy the current Camry? 2012 model is out even faster than BMW3! Buy this new kids on the block Sonata infact! :)

• well most of these jap car buyers don’t even bother about what or when is the replacement model coming out. they won’t even test drive other options before deciding on the purchase.

that is why they are easily raped by the japs!!! sad but true…

• lkf0512 on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:53 am

Another sweet problem is after test-driving cars of equivalent segment from OTHER THAN T & H & N brands, I find myself blend in to those cars easily…

Let me put it this way: There more I see new car launch and recall activities, they keep reminding me of how jap car makers take Malaysian market for granted.

• Puzzled on Aug 01, 2011 at 11:40 pm

It’s true what the previous poster mentioned.

I think that there is a general realisation in the Malaysian market that Japanese carmakers are trying to give as LITTLE car as possible for as MUCH money as possible.

The fact the this current crop of Korean cars offer so much for such good value gives us an idea of how much the Japanese cars have RAPED Malaysian carbuyers thus far.

Excuses like “low resale value” and “bad service” will be things of the past because Hyundai has gained so much market share in other parts of the world.

It’s just a matter of time Japs.

• i agree with puzzled
      but certain car segments definitely the japs control lah like the pickup segment (and thats just because the koreans have nothing good to offer save for the actyon)

• Indonesia is getting the latest Hyundai model such as Avega hatch back & i20, yet we r still stuck with outdated obsolete Getz, Old Accent & Matrix, is SD short changing Malaysia Consumer ?
    Maybe should give another Award “Best Old Stock Clearance Distributor Award”

• yep if u read all articles on hyundai

the ” BEST HYUNDAI BASHER AWARD ” goes to J*Loooooooo

for evidence- pls reads all … i mean all articles about hyundai

anyway, cheers bro..

• deliberately waited for August to send my car for service. Was abt to send it in July but thanks to info from Paul Tan’s website abt the promo starting from August onwards

• Thetings on Aug 02, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Honestly i was the typical T&H guy, my last car was the 2003 camry and after my wife had another child, i sold off her perodua and gave her my camry, knowingly its a larger and safer car for her travels with our new son. So after knowingly seeing comments and reviews from paultan.org, i was intrigued to get the sonata last year.

My purchase ended up a waste after 6 months when my 2.0 HS created door jamming problems first which hyundai took care of for a fee, evenough it was under warranty. but after that, my car startes making sounds at the rear, like a huge spring sound that broke. I hve never drove my 2.0 over 110kmph and always on flat roads. I brought my wife and eldest daughter to the service centre before heading to klcc on a friday when the rear steering wheel suddenly collapses and a civic hit the rear right side and hooked on the rear right door before jamming into the cabin where my daughter was sitting. the door was gone and my daughters leg got caught..

Thankfully shes fine now but i am never trusting hyundai and their service. The car was wrecked at the back, there was intrusion, and the quality was bare, on top of that the service was the cause of the accident and hyundai is doing nothing, if you ever was on the tun razak road on feb 18th u know about the crash. Now my samsung tv is making lines that needs repair. I am nver trusting korean brands..

• carlito on Aug 02, 2011 at 7:41 pm

are you sure it really happened? judging from you last statement, it seems that you really have something against the koreans. if it really did happen, then I suggest you upload some pictures/evidence. If you do that, your story will be more credible, and I will also apologize to you.

• LULIAN JEE on Aug 02, 2011 at 8:20 pm

Toyota salesmen must be really desperate to create stories that are so open to defamation suits like this, interest in camry dropping since it is end of life?

• post some pics then we will believe it. i mean if its true, you’ll be compensated big time by hyundai. otherwise it will just end up as a fairy tale.

i can also say my new altis entire dashboard drop out of its place just barely 2 weeks old. no pics to prove so no point.

• The tings on Aug 02, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Since paultan did not accept my long comment, i am here to share my experience with hyundai, its service and how it was the leading cause to my february 18th crash that totalled my 2.0 HS Sonata YF and injured my eldest daughter.

Service dept did not fully check and varify the safety of my sonata that had lead my family’s day out to complete horror. Very bad and unexcusable service from hyundai, also complaining how badly my 2.0 HS was built, loose stering collumn and jamming doors.. All within 6 months of love and care, and they didnt accept my warranty. Im never buying hyundai and will never recommend it.

• Thank you Abu for the Award,

My friend who work in a small African Nation bought a i20 for the company back in 2009, yet till date Malaysian r still stucked with old Getz, probably due to Inokomised issue that SD still have tons of unsold stock, n still recovering from their rebadging investment.

Even country like India has stop selling Getz due to very low demand.

For what ever reason Malaysia end up been Smokey Mountain of obsolete Korean Junk.

• Phillip Zak on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:49 pm

Fully agree with you…

Even Europe hasn’t introduced the Honda City yet and even Toyota has not introduced the rush yet ..

This Japanese Car players in Malaysia are doing so much better than their counterparts in Europe or America ..

I think you should consider applying for the top management positions at Hyundai Malaysia … they should hire you since you know all the short falls of the company and I’m sure with your advisory you have provided so far be able to provide excellent growth and value to the Malaysian people.

• no problem bro Jolo,

u deserve it …with such a tremendoues effort bashing korean car , the T& H fan adore u

cheers

• Puzzled on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:09 pm

Jolo,

If you think that the Korean cars are junk, all I can say is that it is because of our pricing structure in Malaysia. If car companies were allowed to be competitive in this part of the world, do you think you would be driving whatever it is you are driving??

Looking at other companies, there is not much that they offer either. The Civic and Accord that we have has been facelifted endlessly. Toyota sells you cars that reputedly runs rings on reliability but in return you get Myvi quality materials.