Toyota raises Thai plant output by 40% for Hilux, Fortuner

It looks like the temporary setback that was the Japanese earthquake and tsunami is now firmly in the rear view mirror, and it’s full steam ahead for the auto industry. Toyota, for one, is raising the capacity of its Ban Pho plant in Thailand by 40% to meet growing demand. The expansion will start in September.

The biggest automaker in Thailand will invest 3 billion baht to expand the plant, which churns out Hilux Vigo pickup trucks and Fortuner SUVs, both of which received facelifts recently. Currently capacity is about 18,000 to 20,000 vehicles per month. Another round of expansion is expected next year.

“Even though pickup truck and SUV production has been expanded, we believe the total cumulative supply remains short of local and overseas demand,” said TMT president Kyoichi Tanada, who added that Fortuner production will continue to be shared between Thailand and Indonesia even after the expansion.

Besides Ban Pho in Chachoengsao, Toyota has another Samrong plant in Samut Prakan, and it has been investing to improve assembly speed there to increase production volume, as there’s no room for expansion. Combined, the two plants produce over 45,000 units of trucks and SUVs per month at present.

The Hilux (now called Hilux Vigo Champ in Thailand) and Fortuner are hugely important models for Toyota, which sold around 2.3 million units of both models worldwide from 2005 to 2010. Made in Thailand, they are exported to some 113 countries across the globe.

The facelifted Hilux and Fortuner made their debuts at the recent Indonesia International Motor Show. Click here and here to read our previous posts. They should be heading to our shores soon too, perhaps by the end of this year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hi Danny,
    Do u know why there is no engine upgrades for the Hiace? They share the same engine as the Hilux.

• Jonnie on Aug 02, 2011 at 9:59 am

45k units a month!!! what a volume. And mostly for export? Good for them. Wonder how many units Proton can produce a month and how many for export… then you know why RM will continue to die lor.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:44 am

Proton produce around 16K unit per month for both Shah Alam and Tg Malim combined. That is passenger car, for SUV, 4WD, Pick up truck, etc, it is NONE!

• blue-traveler on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:25 am

From the toyota sales man mouth; by end sept. to mid oct., (I’m thinking most likly end Oct) I will get my new Fortuner. I had put down the RM1000. yesterday for booking. And the GPS come with only malaysia map, unlike my other family cars, both come with singapore, malaysia ans thailand map.

• blue-traveler on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:29 am

From the Toyota sales man mouth; end sept. to mid Oct, ( I’m thinking most likely End Oct.), I will get my new Fortuner. I had just put the RM1000. down for booking, yesterday. The GPS comes with only Malaysia map. Unlike my other family cars. Both have Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand maps.

• UMW Toyota screwing us. They just confirmed that the new Malaysia Fortuner will not have TRC, VSC nor the 3 liter engine. It’s just a facelift of existing model. Our units come from Toyota Thailand. But while Thais get full range, we get the parts bin. Mengarut….man!

• Expatriate VN on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:31 am

Shame on T, it is time to phase out these old IMV models.

• hangmedan on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:46 am

I like this model sooo much! the front look like landcruiser prado… mantopppp makkk!!!

• pelams on Aug 02, 2011 at 12:27 pm

i hope they hv improvised d suspension in fortuner…i hate it when it comes to bumpy road

• Only one word…..ugly. Only Toyota can get away with this. Our company owned 1 unit Fortuner damn underpower. Seated 5 adult in it & u need to floor the padle to move the damn thing…..!!!

• agreed, esp the 2.7 petrol version ,….soo gutless…the 2.5 diesel is slightly better (higher torque) ..but cannot tahan if u have to sit at the 3rd row, stiff & really suffer my lower back…damn, stupid car!!

• kingjoke on Aug 02, 2011 at 1:08 pm

thick lips!..

• RedBoys on Aug 02, 2011 at 2:09 pm

toyota is the best choice for who want to buy new car…

• Lancermania on Aug 02, 2011 at 6:06 pm

the new Hilux will came in on oct…..
    even the catalouge ord printed..

• They still put the same old specs. No CVT, even the Saga now comes with CVT. I think it is over priced! Chevrolet will be out with a new Captiva soon. Then there is the new Ford Ranger coming. Better to consider all the choices available before making any decision. The new Mitsubishi Pajero Sports offers better specs. than Fortuner…..another choice to consider.

• van hohenheim on Aug 02, 2011 at 7:51 pm

new santa fe is much better than the pajero sport. the pajero sport is really underpowered with only 314nm and 0 to 100 in 16.3second!! bloody hell slow

• The 2011 Triton and Pajero Sport uses the new 2.5 with VGT that gives 178PS and 350NM. I agree with you the current version in Malaysia is slightly under spces. but with the new ones I think it would perform slightly better than it’s rivals.

• blue-traveler on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:26 am

Just an update, it seems that car sales mans do read here. Well not long after I post here, my toyota sales person call and fax me a update that “shows” the GPS details. It will come with Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei, MAPs. My Bad, or rather my slaes person’s bad.

• van hohenheim on Aug 04, 2011 at 6:51 pm

PL says:perform slightly better than it’s rivals
    umm, i dont think so with only 178PS and 350NM. santa fe has 200ps and 441nm