Honda recalls 2.5 million cars globally to fix gearbox software issue

Honda has issued a recall for 2.5 million vehicles globally, including 1.5 million in the US, for a software upgrade to the vehicles’ transmission control module. The models covered in the recall are the Accord (2005-2010 model year), CR-V (2007-2010) as well as the Element from 2005-2008, all equipped with four-cylinder engines.

The company says that if the transmission is shifted rapidly between reverse, neutral and drive, especially in an attempt to free the vehicle from being stuck in mud or snow, this can damage a secondary shaft bearing in the transmission. If damage occurs, this can lead to the engine stalling or make it difficult to engage the transmission into park.

The software fix eases the transition among the gears, and Honda says that there have been no reports of accidents resulting to physical injuries related to this problem. The other million vehicles being recalled globally are 760,000 units in China and 135,142 in Canada. No mention of the Accords and CR-Vs here being affected so far.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• why malaysian accord not affected?…are we driving an inferior accord?

• taboogen on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:22 am

dun worry honda will call their customer secretly for free service.. they this contest mah send your honda for service can stand a chance to win honda insight… that just a cover up…

• MoFaz on Aug 08, 2011 at 1:50 pm

that’s the power of dream… they sleep too much hoping for sweet & wet dream.

• kamaji on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:24 am

Correction, we’ve got the most advance & overpriced Honda here….so recall not included nor necessary.Small market to worry bout’.

• sagatron on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:30 am

oh..shoootttt…i hope mine will not recall…honda oh honda…baik pkai proton je…

• loveit on Aug 08, 2011 at 1:58 pm

you better change to proton faster…the Japs is getting inferior compared to anything nowadays

• squall_shinoda on Aug 08, 2011 at 12:07 pm

Because the TCU firmware in Malaysia follows the Japanese firmware. The TCU firmware in Europe and the US are different from us.

• is there any line in above article said malaysia accord not affected?….it say software not parts….same software in my knowledge are not different in quality but different version(eg full or basic, US version or Asian version….it still same software with spesific target but not quality)..it like u said W7 ultimate from US the best quality(software not packages) than SEA W7 ultimate(the bet diff those 2 only US version can be activated around the world and SEA version cannot…..still not quality)

• if u can download pirated software why u cant download honda software

• squall_shinoda on Aug 08, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Even if you can download, you still need the data cable to upload the firmware intu the ECU, which are only available in Honda Service Centres..

• sonatauncle on Aug 08, 2011 at 3:59 pm

honda not a good car. dun buy honda.

• jonny on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:40 am

agree. I use a honda civic hybrid and now i have problem with the “ima”. send it to honda, they said it has no problem. but the ima light already came out. i look at the internet about this.. its a major problem because it has relation with the battery. to change the battery, it cost me rm15,000.. my car is still under warranty, but they are making this thing like not important. maybe honda is not a bad car, but the malaysia honda management are bad.

• when can car implement auto update..

• Littlefire on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:20 am

If not mistaken the previous gen honda city wif CVT gearbox have auto update be4…

• taboogen on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:21 am

even on pc user have to click and get the update lor. same goes to car.. go to dealership and update lah…

• what a quality hondaaa~~~

• BeemerFreak on Aug 08, 2011 at 10:47 am

Since our country has such pathetic safety standards Honda might have chosen to cut cost and ignore us altogether.

• MoFaz on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:06 am

maybe because our crv and accord here never stuck in mud or snow. malaysian love their honda, never drive into muddy area :)

• taboogen on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:19 am

even we have high safety standard but when we have people like you… even a tank cannot save you anymore….. only talk talk and talk… I just want to asked how many malaysian follow the speed limit at highway…. and then argue why not increase the speed limit to 120kmh.. reason being that the car is much sophisticated and safe… now saying malaysia got no safety standards… pathetic people.. it is like saying .. hey world my daughter is prostitute.. come and order… haiyoooo

• Unforgiven on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:32 am

What to do?
      What car is worst than it?
      Even a 10 years old Sentra is better than it?

• Anak tiri on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:46 am

3rd world country..no need to recall

• azrai on Aug 08, 2011 at 10:50 am

It is not a recall lah. It is “product update campaign”. :-) Again.

• i_swear on Aug 08, 2011 at 9:37 pm

/sarcasm
      Don’t worry, Malaysia Honda will have auto update and auto fix the bugs. It also includes anti virus and internet security. Since secure, it will not have to update
      /sarcasm

• swoosh3553 on Aug 08, 2011 at 10:58 am

As far as my software engineering background tells me, a software bug is a software bug! I am not clear as how HONDA operates on their software uploading into their similar model across the globe, but I am sure it is the SAME SINGLE software code used! How is it that US/CHINA/CANADA requires a software upgrade, but the rest of the world doesn’t? This shows that they may be using more than one main software code with destination specific. Different continent, different requirements? Why? Double standards? Triple standards? Something not logic here…..

• Adamtenang on Aug 08, 2011 at 12:53 pm

Honda in Malaysia no need to update software maa…

Nanti update, susah laa…itu dulu sudah bash Proton & Perodua users kawkaw, nanti sekarang nak recall pulakk..malu laaaa….

So, mana semua pemuja HONDA & TOYOTA yang selalu bash Proton?

Shesshhh

• hunterhead on Aug 08, 2011 at 1:01 pm

you’ll need to go back to school again then…

• Whr is all thr HONDA & TOYOTA supporter?

• kamaji on Aug 08, 2011 at 1:26 pm

H supporters are too busy at the SC now & with the SC guys also very busy telling them that the TCU here is more advance than in US & the rest of the world.So nothing to worry but we might hv another product campaign later.

• kington on Aug 09, 2011 at 10:12 am

Please use this forum to gain and share knowledge with regards to the automotove industry, not to bash Japs, Koreans, Europeans and American cars.

What do you get from it?

• so lets say if the gearbox breaks down due to this problem…owners bear the cost la?

• ikmal on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:43 am

all car honda in malysia can be recall (2005-2010)

• Surveyor on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:51 am

Now Malaysian car more better than import car.
    Hope going forward…

• malaysia car bukan tak ada problem, juz they ignore problem… LOL!!!
      try to drive a import car then you will know what is the difference… ^^

• Prismo on Aug 08, 2011 at 7:46 pm

which one? tata nano or chery qq?

• imported car for you ONLY means TATA and Chery? O.O

I only know honda, toyota, mazda, peugeot, audi, merc, bmw, porsche, ferrari, and etc… Those car which made in china, I don’t even wanna risk my life to sit into it while the price not really cheap too (ofocz I mean after tax la..) LOL…

• yeay for honda malaysia for not having problem.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 08, 2011 at 12:19 pm

Recall! That is the best sensible thing to do when there is a quality issue.

• Savvy88 on Aug 08, 2011 at 12:40 pm

Again.. Malaysian made cars prove to be the best in term of quality. No matter what recall occur globally, the Malaysian made cars didn’t affected AT ALL..

• hunterhead on Aug 08, 2011 at 1:05 pm

this news is so damn old….should be reporting ford and toyota’s recall by now….

• oleoresin on Aug 08, 2011 at 1:41 pm

Yes, sama je. Kes Ford, Toyota dan Honda yang terkini ni pun, mesti presiden dia kat Malaysia ckp market Malaysia tak affected. Then bagi alasan bodoh.

Bila eksiden cakap pemandu kita cuai memandu. Please, nyawa rakyat Malaysia bukan tak bernilai

• buskerhatesTnH on Aug 08, 2011 at 1:50 pm

honda city is standing strong… no need recall….

• jonny on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:43 am

i bet u use honda city and u made that statement to please ur self right?

• my crv is defect free, so far so good…so Honda is way better than proton, i know, i used to be Proton Powertrain engineer…it’s only software update…no biggie…

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 08, 2011 at 2:49 pm

This can’t be good.

If Honda softens the gearbox shift, then it negates the process or rocking the car to get it unstuck in snow.

However..i do find something odd though. The CRV is an AWD softroader..with rather knobbly road tyres…….odd that the owners need to rock the car about to get it unstruck from snow….

I can understand the FWD Accord and the Element….but also a AWDer CRV? some of this just don’t add up if getting it unstuck is the excuse.

I think we may be looking at a weak gearbox?

• tishaban on Aug 08, 2011 at 3:37 pm

There is a front wheel drive only version of the CR-V produced alongside with the AWD versions.

• If u would to change to proton cars even worst because if their are any issues , they themselves would keep quiet and let all the customers to die.:).At least japan cars,they have the guards to voice out their own mistakes and let all their customers to know and find one best solution for them.

• alfie60 on Aug 08, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Agreed bro. If its Proton they just keep quiet and pretend nothing wrong ma. The fact they cannot give lifetime warrantty on the gearbox unlike the powerwindow,Proton knows of the problems ;-)

• if proton has to be recall..its proton…biasa la tu.famous with it “excellent” quality heheh…but if u spend 100K-300K for a Honda and they recall it…surely butthurt…hehe

• BeemerFreak on Aug 08, 2011 at 5:35 pm

Why when people give Honest statement they get thumbs down? I am all for you bro, if there was a campaign to condemn Proton, be sure to invite me.

• Maserati on Aug 08, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Hahahaha..one recall and you guys are taking this chance to bash Honda.Yeah you better enjoy it as you guys have very few chances to bash Honda.

This just shows how strong the Honda brand is in Malaysia.Really jokers lah you all.

• i_swear on Aug 08, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Dear Dear Maserati,
      This is the archive Honda recall news in worldwide and local for this year in paultan. Please justify is it 1 recall or not.

http://paultan.org/2011/08/08/honda-recalls-2-5-million-cars-globally-to-fix-software-issue/

http://paultan.org/2011/07/25/honda-stream-to-undergo-product-update-campaign-in-malaysia-1494-vehicles-from-my-2008-2010-involved/

http://paultan.org/2011/03/18/honda-recalls-18056-civics-in-the-us-odyssey-recalled-too/

http://paultan.org/2011/03/09/honda-recalls-36656-civic-hybrids-in-the-us/

http://paultan.org/2011/02/17/honda-malaysia-to-recall-21956-city-and-1680-jazz-vehicles/

• MoFaz on Aug 08, 2011 at 10:14 pm

bla bla bla… if proton make a recall, we can see 100s of comments from this maserati guy. really joker la this guy.

• macspeed on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:33 am

n u stupidly service your car at every 5000km in honda service centre..bravoo.. ur so so smart!

• Meowws on Aug 08, 2011 at 9:52 pm

what is Honda? “~”

• Honda the power of bullshit and inferior machine

Honda is better at making Kap Chai rather than car and had always been for ages.

Do not see any premium badge about Honda and would not accept Honda car as consider on Par with any established european luxury or premium badge Honda is still a step below in terms of specifications ,technology and safety ( soft body metal).

Honda car is just like a Kid trying to grow up !! just a crappy car

• MoFaz on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:12 am

honda bikes are awesome. i love the old police bike cbx750 and new cbr series. cheers!

• erm honda a luxury brand? only in malaysia where toyota, honda, vw etc are considered luxury. elsewhere these are everyday common cars. seriously 140k+ for a golf? 140k+ for a 2.0 accord that is not even the standard engine in other market? 130k+ for a tart up altis? worse still these models specs are lower than other main markets.

• wow more blind bashing …….haha. i don’t see anywhere in the article that says malaysian honda not been recalled, it’s just not been mentioned in the news release, maybe because our volume is too small or waiting for hq to disseminate the infor or becos there is a diff software version for left & right hand drive etc etc etc? hmmm

after the toyota fiasco most car companies make sure they issue recall even for minor defect/issues. this is good for us consumer, as previously all these car companies try to cover up. malaysia should really set up more stringent rules for vehicle safety including warranties and recalls.