New Hindustan VEER is an Ambassador pick-up spin-off

No such thing as living forever? Bet they haven’t found the Hindustan Ambassador from India. Based on the Morris Oxford III from the 1940s, it was once India’s most popular car, and is still sold today with little changes from the original. Not only is it still selling, Hindustan Motors has just launched a pick-up variant of the Amby called VEER.

The VEER is a 0.8-tonne (200 kg short of our usual 1-tonne) small commercial vehicle. Based on the (very) tried and tested Ambassador platform, it carries changes in transmission and suspension systems suitable for a load carrier. It is available in both diesel (BS III) and CNG (BS IV) versions. There are two models – VEER and VEER LX. While VEER has a separate load tray, VEER LX’s load tray is seamlessly integrated with the front cabin.

Hindustan says that the uniqueness of VEER lies in the fact that it offers the comfort of a car. Inside the cab is a three-seat bench. Priced at Rs 3.30 lakh ex-showroom Kolkata (RM22k), the VEER is now available in East India with plans to go nationwide over the current financial year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• taboogen on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:36 am

OMG OMG.. they still stucked at the 60’s

• Goniothalamus on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:37 am

it will be tyre screeching on sands. :)

• Unforgiven on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:56 am

What is worst than a Proton?

• autojohndoe on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:00 am

you?

• Unforgiven on Aug 10, 2011 at 2:06 pm

I don’t drive a Proton, so no comments on it.

But I think this looks worst than a Proton.

• autojohndoe on Aug 10, 2011 at 3:08 pm

and i hope it makes you to be grateful living in malaysia…

• Expatriate VN on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:48 pm

But Proton look worst than Toyota Thailand, so do I need to hope I am grateful to live in Tomyam land.

Another typical craptriotic statement.

• autojohndoe on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:15 am

if you wish to live there… its your choice… should i care?

it is my choice to be patriotic or not… i have more to appreciate than a car i drove…

• Unforgiven on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:22 pm

I need people like autojohndoe to be in M’sia.
            As I said, I do not need to drive a Proton but I need Proton to be there.

• Now I know where Potonggg get their ideas to design Potonggg Arena, hahaha.

• Imran on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:26 am

What do you think the price (plus tax) will be if it going to be sold in Malaysia?

• klguy on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:30 am

would look nice if souped up just like those old american trucks :P

• legend…
    from my first experience watching hindustan movie 30 years ago.. till now, still the same car can been seen in the movie (the one shot in india, coz nowadays lots of hindustan movie shot oversea)

• LatukBandar on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:34 am

no offense, i did go for any Chinese or Russian make anytime. Give me a lada now!

• mirror mirror on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:37 am

A beauty.

• squawk on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:54 am

Will this VEER off the road? :-P

• the title is so confusing

• Hey. If it’s FR, can drift after work. Hehe.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:09 pm

Old junk!

• BadBET on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:23 pm

the body looks strong…

• cardreamer on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Import one to Malaysia, and people will think it is a collectible antic car!…but nevermind, if it ever come to Malaysia, this car will be spoiled with skirtings! ha..ha..

• Mask Ryder on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:35 pm

Wow ! Gaya ! Retro looks pick up, love it.

• farisma on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:37 pm

amazingly its the competitor of our Proton Arena (jumbuck)…

• wow, reminds me of the 70 pickups still running around, especially in the pasar. but if it is solid, i guess it still can be used in the market as commercial pick up. whats underneat da hood anyway? 60s engine?

• kamaji on Aug 10, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Recalling the days in New Delhi & guys believe me, this classic are the work-horse there.Painted black…reliable & tough like the Russian T-72. The engine is basic & easily maintain even by freshie mechanic.

• Najib Bin Tulu on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:26 pm

What the hell is that ? what the hack india is doing ? my sub marine even better than this….

• Mask Ryder on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:43 pm

Hidustan Ambassador is a real classic beauty, can imagine become Shashi Kapoor or Amitabh Bachchan when driving it.

• cardreamer on Aug 11, 2011 at 7:36 am

No pretty girls during the lauch?…come on..don’t be shy…he..he..

• sammo on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:17 am

front looks alrite. has the classic car look. good if they have 2 door coupe version, with wide fenders

• Let’s hope & pray Proton and Perodua do not take this as their long term aspiration and inspiration. Go Malaysia !

• pekan on Aug 14, 2011 at 3:23 pm

proton did actually.. they called it Arena..
      it’s the same thing.. take an aging model and turn it into a pickup..

• I love Ambys and between a Mahindra and a classic I remember always preferring the classic when I was young. Those were the days when the only real competition was from Padmini and m800 was considered a toy car. Even today when I rent a car I ask for an Ambassador – one its cheaper and second somehow I feel safer. I am excited about Veer – I am not going to buy it but would love to see them around. They could have done a better job by widening the front and extending the length and it would have looked like a new vehicle something in the league of the old Tata pick up.