Mazda Roadster goes the ‘BLACK TUNED’ path

Click to enlarge.

Mazda has introduced the Roadster BLACK TUNED, a special edition version of its iconic lightweight, two-seat, open-top sports car, for the Japanese market. The special edition Roadster (or the MX-5, if you will) is based on the premium ‘RS RHT’ and ‘VS RHT’ model grades, replete with a power retractable hard top, or the RHT, which gives the models their suffix.

The BLACK TUNED theme means that this one gets a Brilliant Black roof and door mirrors, black fog lamp bezels, body coloured door handles as well as gun metallic-finished 17-inch alloy wheels. Meanwhile, the interior gets the black treatment, with the decoration panel in piano black and the seats and steering wheel dressed in black leather, contrasted with sand-colored stitching.

No changes to the 2.0 litre twin cam mill, which drives both the RS RHT (six-speed manual) and the VS RHT (six-speed auto) in the BLACK TUNED operation, though two exclusive colours are available for the edition, these being Spirited Green Metallic and Velocity Red Mica, with the ever popular Crystal White Pearl Mica on the list as well.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Black Dog on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:03 pm

I love this MX-5 as an affordable entry level sports car (though can’t afford it yet) but I always wonder why it’s seldom on malaysian roads compared to the RX8?

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:52 pm

Mazda should at least once put its excellent MZR Turbo 2.3 direct injection mill into the Miata. That would make a really interesting for a limited edition Miata.

• An651 on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Sweet Johnny!
    Affordable sports car + Duties + tax= Ill stick to Local brand + force induction.

• LE buruk on Oct 04, 2011 at 2:00 pm

put a rotary inside it….sure can ‘tapau’ a lot of civic….

• sam witwicky on Oct 04, 2011 at 3:28 pm

meh..no need to go fast lah…yg penting comfort & good handling pun sudah cukup maa…

• LE buruk on Oct 04, 2011 at 4:05 pm

for good comfort and handling get a camry la…why buy a sport car when u don’t wanna go fast…

• good comfort and handling? camry? are u sure?

• mx-5 is a lightweight roadster,with 50-50 equal weight distribution ,the key to this car’s success is its handling.its not about horsepower.and for sure its target is not the civic or the sloppy camry.get ur facts right first noob.

• Unfortunately, many who posted comments here never actually see, let alone drove the vehicles.

I bought one bnarnd new from Bermaz and never regretted it although I could afford a brand new CAMRY and a brand new CIVIC for the money, or even other imported used sports car such as SLK, Z4 or a Fairlady.

Cars in Malaysia are expensive but total cost of ownership over the vehicle lifespan is about the same everywhere due to the lower maintenance cost and higher residual values.

• sam witwicky on Oct 04, 2011 at 6:09 pm

well..i tot u want to swap rotary engine into mx-5?
      no need to do that…why u want driving this car to tapau civic?
      this car for the purist and enthusiast owners…if u want a rotary,why buy mx-5?

• synzx1386 on Oct 05, 2011 at 10:00 am

u loose the true essense of the car..it was not built to be powerfull, but a great drive!!

• This is definitely a car for the enthusiast. I took it to Cameron Highland and its nimbleness make the journey so exciting. Overtaking slower vehicles on the tight and twisting road is a breeze, don’t need much space, perhaps a 30m or 40m was enough at 40-50km/h.

At 220k, too expensive for those who can’t afford and too cheap to those who can. it doesn’t have as much crowd appeal as a SLK but definitely a better drive.

Definitely it handled so much better than a CAMRY.