Peugeot 508 – new Lion to roar its way in later this month!

Click to enlarge.

Finally arriving on our shores, the Peugeot 508 sedan is – Nasim is set to launch the much anticipated Pug in Malaysia later this month.

The 508 we’ll be getting is arriving in just a single drivetrain form – that with a 1.6 litre turbocharged Prince engine, with the usual 156 hp and 240 Nm for numbers, mated to a six-speed auto tranny. No, there’s no 2.2 HDi FAP diesel, as intoxicatingly inviting as that one sounds.

The complete equipment level that’s available on the model hasn’t been disclosed, but the kit list will include quad-zone air conditioning, premium leather, a colour heads-up display (HUD) and an adaptive high beam system connected to directional bi-Xenon headlamps.

Click to enlarge.

Additionally, the car will come with paddle shifters and a 10-speaker JBL hi-fi system with a 500 watt surround sound amplifier, replete with Arkamys audio processing. No indicative pricing as of yet too, so we’ll just have to wait for the cheery news.

The launch coincides with yet another milestone recently recorded by Nasim. As at end September 30, Pug sales surpassed the 4,000 mark in Malaysia for the first time. “As at end-Sept, we have sold over 4,000 units, which is a new record for the Peugeot brand in Malaysia. This is double our sales in the same period in 2010, and surpasses our all-time record of 3,773 units in 2009,” said Nasim CEO SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin.

“The all-new 508 will further increase our sales volume this year. This premium luxury sedan will be targeted at executives and professionals that want a car with class, character and panache,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hitamputih on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Fap diesel? Fap fap fap fap fap

• seancorr on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Very exciting news indeed…this will go head to head with the VW Passat and the normal D-segment contenders. I hope they will include electronic front seats, front parking sensors and tyre pressure monitoring system. Built in nav should also be an option.

• The Enthusiast on Oct 05, 2011 at 4:09 pm

If it is priced the same as VW Passat CC, that would be disappointing unless it is CBU. My guess though being Naza, it is locally assembled. So it should be cheaper. And there’s a thing about Malaysians and Toyota/Honda. Despite continental cars being way better, Camry and Accord appear to be the favourite choice. Naza should not keep their hopes up on this one.

• Stevenlys on Oct 05, 2011 at 4:30 pm

he is referring to Passat B7 which going to launch in the yearend CKD ver.

• fortminor on Oct 05, 2011 at 4:39 pm

passat, not the passat cc…passat will be in the region of RM188k. i think this car ill cost less than that

• Wednesday on Oct 05, 2011 at 4:42 pm

My guess is it will be CBU but definitely not at Passat CC price. Passat CKD price will be nice.

• stephen on Oct 06, 2011 at 9:58 am

they better ensure good support beside good features.

• most of the stuff you asked for will most probably be included. even the 407 had electric seats already.

• namidub on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:55 pm

shame,if only peugeot bring in their HDi engines.
    nice car though.seen a lot of em in France earlier this year

• they can’t bring in till there is at least euro4 diesel available. the french are not taking chances with their engines with poor quality fuel.

• stephen on Oct 06, 2011 at 10:00 am

that really depends do our gov still have the same time line as announced around 2-3yrs ago to have our fuel meeting Euro4 standard. only 2 months left and they haven’t update when we can get Euro4.

• the lion on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:59 pm

The lion will roar louder than ever so is peugeot club malaysia and every proud owner of the lion. In no time the lion will tame the malaysian road but still as fierce as ever.

• mohsin on Oct 05, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Boleh tau expected “Harga Runcit Disyorkan aka RRP?
    kasi la hint sikit Bro!

• tattoo sleeves shop on Oct 05, 2011 at 4:36 pm

price price price?

• HirumaKecil on Oct 05, 2011 at 4:48 pm

le meilleur…..

• vincent on Oct 05, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Hope is a replacement of 407, and this one is selling at not more than 150k

• Bobby on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:04 pm

I am a bit confused about the BCD segment.

So this car will compete in which range ? Camry Accord Sonata range ? or Mondeo , C series or 3 series range ?

• Paul Tan on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:37 pm

Mondeo competes with Camry, Accord, Sonata what. 508 is the same. Mondeo doesn’t compete with C or 3.

• sonyman on Oct 05, 2011 at 9:41 pm

C and 3 compete with who?

• I think they are actually C segment cars. Very high end/premium C segment cars. Paul, do correct if I’m wrong on this.

• Lim Kopi on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Car for car, spec for spec

FORD MONDEO still reigns!!

• Vincent on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:09 pm

1.6 turbo, with the tax strature that we have, It shall be price below RM150K… IF they can that for 3008, sure the same will go to 508.

• Power8003 on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:29 pm

I think you better check for the car maintenance before deciding to buy a car. Most of the ppl buying honda or toyota are mainly due to cheap car maintenance and spare part are much cheaper. continental cars maintenance are quite expensive. In addition, the second hand value of the car are also important.

• HirumaKecil on Oct 05, 2011 at 7:34 pm

hahaha… Same issue again.. Kamon la.. i have 2 peugeot… Maintenance cost more than toyota but cheap than Honda… Yes it is a continental car, but peugeot are not the same with BMW or Audi… Those BMW and Audi are in different class… If u can afford for toyota or honda maintenence, then u can afford for pug maintenence too.. Believe me.. But u also need to be more careful.. Singa ni memilih sket.. kalo hantar sebarang kedai memang jahanam.. Sistem dia x sama ngan keta jepun… lagipon kalau hantar kedai biasa memang caj mahal dengan alasan keta conti.. Tapi kalau hantar dekai kedai yang buat keta conti ni harga memang berpatutan.. nak murah macam proton x dapat la.. tapi harga lebih kurang ja ngan kereta jepun… Lagi pon pakai peugeot ni jimat sket.. contoh macam absorber memang harga tinggi sket dari jap car, tapi jangkahayat dia pon lagi lama… Kalau pakai keta jepun, lepas 9-10 tahun , overall condition dia akan jadi x cantek dah.. enjin bunyi.. sana-sini problem… Keta conti lama sket.. lebih 15 tahun pon ok lagi…

• fedpug on Oct 06, 2011 at 11:35 am

i luv this French chick :) but i’m afraid my love will gradually deminish with the aftersales support once after i get this car. I have bad experience with my 308 :( The car is superb only when you do not have complain to Nasim. I’ve been kicked around for the last year by G’marie service team for under-warranty job repair that still pending till now. Same old excuse – no parts, late, change of personnel …….. :(

• HirumaKecil on Oct 06, 2011 at 11:35 pm

Yeah.. i don’t like g’marie too… many people also complain about them…. poor service… better go to other w’shop… MZ auto and Geotauto buat kerja bagus.. harga pon berpatutan..

• anti-first on Oct 06, 2011 at 9:54 am

another useless drivel brought to you courtesy of T/H salesman

these guys NEVER FAIL TO POST whenever a new peugeot is coming.

orang tengah syok-syok nak enjoy kereta baru then these jokers come and pour cold water over you – what nonsense!

oi, get back to what you’re paid for lah – selling cars!

• stephen on Oct 06, 2011 at 10:06 am

Wrong… the money I spend to service my 308 VTI cost a lot less than my previous car VIOS…of course I am referring to service at UMW SC vs Nasim SC.

the benefit for Toyota is able to service outside…Honda….comon… everyone know you can’t service outside for Honda and its not cheap

• I agree with you. your post is the most accurate one. I also have a 308 vti, it doesnt cost more than toyota. My friend has a corolla altis, we bought them one year before, he has spent more than me on each occasion. I dont know for future, but so far the Nasim have given be very good service. Toyota already has a power steering problem, although they would repair it for free, but still there is trouble to leave the car, and who knows once repaired it will be like new one or not.

• teelim on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:24 pm

if they can price it below RM130k, I think it will sell like hot cakes with that kind of spec sheet.

but anyway I seriously hope Nasim can bring in more engine variants. The 1.6L turbo may be a good engine but one engine for all the different models make things seem boring. (easy job for mechanics and spare parts though)

• lion meoww on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:33 pm

ok what.. sharing part, more parts will available locally, reduce price oso..

• If you check the international Peugeot site, the only other modern engines available are all diesel and we know the familiar story about Peugeot strictly requiring euro4 diesel.

• lousy shit on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:27 pm

pug 508 is not 407 replacement. its actually a whole new segment of itself. well, my guess it will be at rm 160k- rm 175k. higher than that i bet no Malaysian will buy due to their honda/toyota mentality.. this car is a gorgeous babe..

• The 508 replaces both the 407 and the 607. It will straddle both segments served by the 407 and the 607.

• Gavin on Oct 05, 2011 at 6:30 pm

Peugeot france factory workers must be thinking

One engine for all their cars?

poor sods.

• shoon on Oct 06, 2011 at 11:24 am

They are ripping the most out of their engine R&D investment, which is wise for all businesses. Moreover, it’s a good engine which won many awards, so they can be proud that it can and is used in most of their model line-ups. Economies of scale man!

Proton is doing same thing with the old Campro engine, making various variants out of it, IAFM, CPS, Turbo soon to come. Of course theirs is not comparative to the much more sophisticated engines of the european car manufacturers.

VW does the same with 1.4TSI, having it in Golf, Jetta and i think even Passat.

People with business acumen will understand the rationale.

• Gavin on Oct 06, 2011 at 2:07 pm

The difference is my friend is they don’t offer OPTIONS , they give one engine and you take it or leave it. In other countries there is a huge variety of engines to choose from. I agree it makes sense to have one engine to fit all range of cars but to offer just ONE engine for ALL their models, NAZA is completely playing you for the fools you really are.

And don’t use euro fuel standard as the lame excuse it is to not offer a diesel option. Peugeots HDI engine is EXACT 100% the same as the focus TDCi which has been on our roads a looooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnngggggggggg time.

You don’t have business acumen, you’re just stupid and uninformed

• gavin, it will be good if you did a bit more digging.

1) the engines offered by peugeot for the malaysian market depends on what peugeot offers to malaysia. not what nasim wants to offer.

2) the engines in the focus and peugeot diesels may look exact but it also depends on whether or not peugeot wants to let their diesel cars be sold here. those engines may differ in terms of tuning, engine management, filteration so, there’s more than what is seen.

like i said, do a bit more digging. head info is good. reading car articles is good but what is published is not always what it seems to be.

• Gavin on Oct 06, 2011 at 3:49 pm

AFAIK the local dealers decide what to offer, Peugeot doesn’t care what they choose, they behave as different entities altogether.

If you think you can sell those cars then your choice, we will not take responsibility for poor sales due to your own choice.

Peugeot will prepare the cars as ordered, send them to malaysia and then expect payment for it. What happens in your backyard is your problem.

The engines were jointly developed tuning wise it’s different but hardware is largely similar, tell me what’s the point if Peugeot invested in PSA collaboration and then have do more work on their side once the engines were complete. If Ford can do it, i really doubt it will take sooooo much trouble and hardship for their engine to run on euro 2 fuels.

Nasim just wants easy way out and save on training of their staffs and cut costs and play the customers for fools

• gavin,

if you only knew what goes on behind the scenes, you’d be singing another tune. seriously. you have it all wrong and i can say for a fact. it may be how some car companies function but I think I have sources close enough to know. trust me on this.

• anti-first on Oct 06, 2011 at 3:06 pm

i think those sods would be happy to deal with problems related to one engine rather than problems with many engines.

now that’s “efficiency” by the french right there. ;)

and besides, even if they offer different engines, WHAT’S THE POINT OF IT as if you yourself have money and time to burn, testing out EACH and EVERY ONE of the variations?

• Gavin on Oct 06, 2011 at 4:29 pm

That’s because you clearly have never driven one of the diesels to appreaciate how big an improvement it is over the 1.6 turbo for a big car to have massive low down torque for cruising and high speed overtaking plus superb city drivability.

The point is to offer customers with a variety which isn’t what the national car haters have always been harping on that we just have to accept what is there and not discuss it.

take it or leave it.

If naza is such a ‘patriotic’ company they would do well to lead by example. currently they are the only ones who offer no variation of engines for their models

• anti-first on Oct 06, 2011 at 5:05 pm

you don’t need to sell me on the diesel, that much i know.

diesel IS the future. well, maybe not in malaysia just yet.

but when it comes to engine choices, regardless of make, Malaysian carmakers and petrol companies don’t care about you or I.

it’s all about making sure the ‘right fuel’ sold at the pumps flow into the ‘right cars’ sold here, which in the end, equals to maximum profitability.

and i don’t think naza/nasim is selling Peugeots for ‘patriotic’ reasons. if they were, they’d be badging and selling ALL their cars with the ‘Naza’ logo.

if that happens one day, i don’t know whether to jump for joy or smack my head in disbelieve.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 05, 2011 at 6:31 pm

tasty

• Jeremy Chia on Oct 05, 2011 at 6:48 pm

The front reminds me of the previous gen Honda Accord

• It may some resemblance of outgoing Accord, but once you witness this car in the flesh you’ll forgot about the Jap sedan. This car is so gorgeous especially the interior and 1.6Turbo Prince is decent engine shared with Mini Cooper S, six speed AT made Camry look yesterday.

In my opinion, this car price shouldn’t dearer than RM150k; otherwise fewer Malaysians can enjoy a French connection. Toyota-Honda mentality still rule and you can’t blame them, that’s sensible thing to do.

Remember new Camry and VW Passat in the pipeline. Wrong pricing will never conducive for Pug brand or NAZA name.

• looks like it will be a C-seg car carnivals (with all these potential new launches from Toyota(camry), Kia Optima, or even Honda Acc? ) within the next half year

• slick shifts on Oct 05, 2011 at 9:59 pm

er, those cars you mentioned are d-segment. c-segment are civic, altis, 308, golf etc.

• HirumaKecil on Oct 05, 2011 at 10:37 pm

U mean D-segment kan… Coz camry,accord,teana,508,sonata and optima all d-seg car…

• Lion King on Oct 05, 2011 at 10:58 pm

You meant D-segment right?
      C-segments are the likes of civic, altis, forte, jetta, 3-series, etc.

• Lion King on Oct 05, 2011 at 11:01 pm

You meant D-segments right?
      C-segs are the likes of civic, altis, forte, jetta, 3-series, 308, inspira.

• Otai Ford on Oct 06, 2011 at 12:44 am

Nono msd kau untuk setengah tahun akan datang or maybe next decade kemungkinan model kereta seperti camry, accord, optima, teana kembali ke segment C?

• Masked Ryder on Oct 05, 2011 at 9:34 pm

Last generation Accord rebound, SUV rebadge Mitsu, Sedan copy old Accord, poor Frenchman, economic crisis in Europe must me real bad, poor thing.
    1.6 D segment u must be jorking. :-) i don’t care if u triple turbo charged it, is still a 1.6.

• segment is based on size and not engine capacity. that is how the automotive industry views it. you can disagree but it is a fact.

• shoon on Oct 06, 2011 at 11:30 am

do u know the output of Cooper S? go google and u’ll figure out the potential and performance of the engine.
      it’s on par with the jap’s 2.4/2.5l. Have you read the replacement of Alfa 159 might come with a 1.8 engine with near 300hp? Guess not…

• “Finally arriving on our shores, the Peugeot 508 sedan is”…

there, I fixed your first sentence.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 06, 2011 at 2:10 am

Holy schmoly, Batman! You’re absolutely right. Alternatively, “It’s finally arriving on on our shores, the Peugeot 508 sedan.” Redundancy with the latter ‘is’. Not as bad as ‘dead carcass,’ but smells nonetheless. :) Thanks for the spot. Definitely went walkabout there,

• shahz on Oct 05, 2011 at 10:12 pm

This baby will cost under 160k..

• RedBeanBun on Oct 05, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Scenario:

1) New Camry 2.0 – Rm150K range
    2) Accord 2.0 – RM140K range
    3) Kia Optima 2.0 – RM 130K range
    4) PUG 508 1.6 Turbo – RM 130K range
    5) Passat 1.6 Turbo – RM 180K range, then RM160K CKD

You selection?

• Japfans on Oct 06, 2011 at 12:21 am

Peugeot 508. Rm158888
      Kia optima. Rm148888
      New camry 2.0. Rm155000
      New accord. Not insight
      VW passat. 1.8. RM188888

Take my words….

• Otai Ford on Oct 06, 2011 at 12:35 am

i choose ford mondeo ecoboost…blue oval rules!

• PUG 508 1.6 Turbo will be priced around 158k, based on some postings by dealers online.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 06, 2011 at 8:24 am

hard to defeat the soon to be launch Camry if price is the same i guess..to upset the incumbent, you need to do extra…

• car lover on Oct 05, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Interior is very high class…..
    exterior, I just can say as not bad. Front grill very ugly unless for chrome version, can be considered as acceptable.
    Back seat roomleg & roof clearance are very good.
    This car is not in the class of camry, accord ,sonata,optimal.
    It is actually in the same class with 3 series, c class, passat,s60,A4,.
    But among that 5, this 508 ranked at 2nd last, passat at the last, while 3series, a4 and s60 be on podium.

I am right now own a Peugeot. Don’t ever apple to apple it with Japan cars.

Here what I can conclude about this 508:
    Interior – at par with BMW n merc, better than passat, s60 and audi
    Exterior – 1 generation behind than BMW and merc, at par with s60,passat, and a4
    Engine performance – second last among above 5 cars
    Glamour- last place

My 10 cents.

Regards

• car lover on Oct 05, 2011 at 11:41 pm

Where is my comment

• Hi all ,
    naza should give price 130-140k for 508.
    spare part with acceptable price and service after sales better than T&H .
    Naza top management to make changes in their management to make lion sales ahead from T&H .

• Derrick C on Oct 06, 2011 at 9:43 am

Hmmmmm… 1.6 Turbocharged? I suppose it should be powerful enuf to carry a big car like 508 on the road.

But for those old-timer thinking, one may prefer a 2.0cc (2.4cc) engine in order to compete with the rest, like Camry & Accord….

• These dudes though close to internet but not smart enough to read any article on engine tech. Their thinking merely confine within cubic capacity- no idea whatsoever about torque, efficiency and sustainability. S80 also sports 1.6.

Hopefully their maths or eyes were good enough to compare figure. Even American now changed. Previously, they’re after big cc.

• let them think what they want to think. it’s their loss from lack of knowledge.

• tattoo sleeves shop on Oct 06, 2011 at 11:28 am

pls Naza, make this car cheap than its rival..

• Bryan Toong on Oct 06, 2011 at 11:51 am

As said in earlier comments, i m a fan of Peugeot’s products but let’s be sensible here. It is better in ride , handling n etc but the factor of pricing, resale, reliability, maintenance n etc does play into the majority of Malaysian car buyer’s minds. U rarely sees great success when French cars like Citroen C5 and other Renault high end model priced their value abv premium Japanese cars. Mondeo is another example. Therefore, with 508 being a 1.6 liters engine, it must be strategically priced. It can make or break this model’s success/failure. There is no point reducing the price later when it receives lukewarm responses as it will only scare off future potential buyers like what has happened before to the earlier batch of betrayed early birds of Carnival, Spectra and etc. IF it is competitively priced, i m sure it will be a great success otherwise not only it has to compete with the Japanese but the current Sonata and incoming Optima currently being tested by JPJ will be a factor to ponder on.

• K-Man on Oct 06, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Thank goodness they Nasim has not jumped onto the discounting game. Yes, I remember the scary stories about the Carnival and Spectra. I think Kia does not discount too these days.

• Kaulsay on Oct 06, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Is it just me or is the styling of the 407 more sharp and distinctive than the 508.
    I would probably grab a 407 if they are trying to dispose of stock locally?
    Unless they continue to sell both models side by side until 407 production ceases???

• anti-first on Oct 06, 2011 at 3:59 pm

i reckon the 407 would still be around maybe two or three more years more until the 508 has made a good impact on Peugeot sales worldwide.

• SA said to me that there are no more stock for 407 in malaysia.

• slick shifts on Oct 06, 2011 at 10:14 pm

Yup. A few branches also said the same thing but some SA said got less than 5 units left.

• jaybond80 on Oct 07, 2011 at 9:19 am

Using the same 1.6 Liter turbo as the smaller 308 Turbo should’nt be a big issue as it provides roughly the same HP level as the 2 liter found in the entry level Accord, Camry, 6, Mondeo & Sonata (150 ~ 155 bhp). And as usual entry level engine is the biggest seller.

• Seen the 508 in peugeot glenmarie. Will launch in 18th Oct, sale agents did not know the price yet.

• Kaulsay on Oct 17, 2011 at 7:14 pm

Just checked out 508 at a dealer’s
    Looks better in the flesh and definitely getting a lot of car for the money.
    My main concerns:
    1] Level of electronics in the car amazing-can this conti take the tropics and have Nasim technicians been trained to fix 508 problems
    2] My 407 engine gave host of problems at 4yrs-what with more complex turbo engine??
    Checked out the Jap competitors-just not in the same league at all
    Want one but apprehensive cos so new.